Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel zum Hofmaler 3 stars

Gutenbergstraße 73, 14467 Potsdam, Germany

#3 of 20 B&Bs and Inns in Potsdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 580 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are a bit thin, I woke up at night to the noise of the people in the next room and the sound of water from their bathroom

    The staff was very friendly. Good breakfast and I loved the bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Gutenbergstr. 78
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived late, and the reception was closed - I found a message on the door to call a phone number, which was not available for my (Swiss) phone. I was lucky to encounter another guest who let me in, otherwise I would have had trouble getting into my room. The password for the wireless was not to be found anywhere in the room, and reception was closed when I arrived, so I had no wireless until the next morning

    Very nice, tasteful room in one of the loveliest areas of Potsdam. Staff was very nice, and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Gutenbergstr. 78
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would feel better with secure parking, but it's quite a save town.

    Room and bed was excellent. Good enough breakfast. Requested an iron and it was nicely prepared in my room upon check-in. Friendly family hotel. Very good location if you need to work/ be in town Centre.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more pillows (as the ones we had didn't have much stuffing). Could have used a bedside table on both sides of the bed. The stairwell was too dark so it was easy to trip at night time.

    Friendly helpful staff. Clean room and delicious included breakfast. Excellent location close to restaurants, shops and transport.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment - Gutenbergstr. 78
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi is weak on the 2nd floor of the apartment. Heating system makes noise of water flowing. I struggled for unlocking my room door, which needs to turn the key twice.

    I enjoyed breakfast every day. The staffs are very friendly. The room is very quiet except of a little noise of a heating system.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best breakfast I have ever had in a hotel! Very professional and helpful staff and the location almost in the center in beautiful district. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Gutenbergstr. 78
    • Stayed 2 nights

    100m far from breakfast room

    Mu room was small apartment, very clean and nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of air condition

    breakfast in garden

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Gutenbergstr. 78
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prefer new part of main building where I stayed before than apartment part of hotel which is close by

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Gutenbergstr. 78
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom has a slippery floor.

    The location in the Dutch quarter of the town is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was great. Staff friendly. Very good breakfast. Great location. All for a vey fair price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Gutenbergstr. 78
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok

    Excellent place to spend some nights in the city centre of Potsdam

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment - Gutenbergstr. 78
    • Stayed 1 night

    very helpful personal, nice location, good breakfast, very big room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large room, comfortable bed, very quiet, good location, breakfast was OK. Great value for the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment - Gutenbergstr. 78
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Gutenbergstr. 78
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly and helpful staff. They went out of their way to bring me gluten free bread for breakfast. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable rooms, excellent breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Gutenbergstr. 78
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Gutenbergstr. 78
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, relaxed and homely athmosphere. Great location in front of park and near the center. Beautiful historical building.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A well located and very comfortable place to stay particularly if you are exploring Potsdam for a few days.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment - Gutenbergstr. 78
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location in center, good breakfest, helpfull staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Couple

    Furniture flimsy. Bathroom facilities impractical in certain areas: Why e. g. does the door in the shower-cabin open into the bathroom, so that you can't avoid flooding the whole room? Why its there no facility within the shower cabin where you can keep your soap, your shampoo dry and handy?

    Didn't have breakfast at the hotel. Liked the situation within the beautifull dutch quarter. Like Potsdam.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    heating was off when I got to the room, but maybe they thought I would not show up as I arrived late and they called me but I didn't see the call. Didn't realize the apartment was a 100m walk outside to the hotel, so had to get fully dressed for the cold winter to get to the breakfast. I will probably not book an apartment but a normal room next time. Not so good is also that there is no free parking. You can park on the street, but you have to pay from 8am, or move the car to the church parking, where you can park from free for 1 hour. You need to have the disk from 7am, showing what time you parked.

    very clean, despite being very basic in terms of furniture. Staff is very friendly and they remembered me despite the fact I had been there nearly 2 months before. Also good that they store billing address.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very expensive to park.

    Enormous room with a modern deep fill bath. Very close to the Dutch quarter and gourmet district, as well as the Christmas market.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    The scrambled eggs were very dry and looked uninviting at breakfast

    The location (the convenience for the hospital)

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    An excellent Boutique Hotel. we have friend in Potsdam so we are going to come again. we recommend it was great to stay in this Hotel !!!!

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very good location near restaurants and Caffee shops

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely rework of old building Plenty of room Helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very Nice location in the dutch part of Potsdam

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Browse Hotel zum Hofmaler traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: