Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Zum Ochsen

Pfinzstraße 64, 76227 Karlsruhe, Germany

#3 of 45 hotels in Karlsruhe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 258 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    A great place! The atmosphere in the hotel after a day skiing must be amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Lovely location, friendly staff even though our language skills were seriously lacking. Thank you all for providing a snack when we arrived mid afternoon. The village is really sweet, it must look amazing in the snow!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    The hotel is fantastic in all it’s aspects.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is fantastic in all it’s aspects. The room was big, confortable and clean. The owners are so kind and helpfull . Everything was perfect. Special thanks to Alex, he made our stay perfect 😎

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Charming hotel with charming decoration accommodation and staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found everything to our liking.

    Delicious breakfast. Very congenial host. Nicely situated hotel and very beautifully decorated.we would definitely recommend this charming place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful breakfast! Rooms are very comfortable, nice area, very close to the motorway. Hosts are very nice. The restaurant of the hotel seems awesome, Michelin quality, (but sadly was fully booked during our stay).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Impressive
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Everything was perfect - the service outstanding - The room lovely. The breakfast out of this world! Perfect little hotel. Will go again if I'm in the neighborhood!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic place in Durlach / Karlsruhe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place. It is a very old building, but everything beautiful and elegantly maintained. Staff very polite and service minded. The room had a lovely bed, long time since we have experienced so comfortable luxury.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Designer hotel in trad building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is via an alley at the side which was partially narrowed by scaffolding. Work was being done on the outside but this didn't affect the inside. The restaurant was closed on Tuesday so had to go out. The nearest was the breaurie which was good.

    The hotel is a classical german but has been altered inside by modern design, so the best of both can be appreciated. It also has aircon which proved extremely useful. Breakfast is waitress served.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Top class and top pick for a comfort lover! Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A better ventilation would be nice as air conditioning is not possible due to the authentic building

    Amazing staff. Helped with everything. Even served us a quick meal with amazing cheese, warm bread and strawberries as the kitchen was closed at the late hour of our arrival. Very nice room. And amazing breakfast as in the best restaurant - everything served per table, fresh croissants and bread, strawberries and creme brulee for dessert. Top class!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    My grandparents and parents stayed here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    My grandparents and parents stayed here. They loved the hotel and especially the breakfast. The hotel was very historic but also had all the modern amenities. Staff was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    8.8
    well travelled
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i booked a large double bed / room and got 2 singles we had to push them together? so you know where i spent my nights, on the floor!

    location was in working distance of all the shops, bars, Restaurants, travel links in Durlach. lovely place to stay . The first rooms have been modernized with the upper floors still living in the past but really lovely too, but up a narrow steep staircase. So if your not to good on your legs request a room on the first floor as there is no lift! The breakfast was wonderful, fresh and brought to the table with any hot food cooked fresh on request but no self service for coffee you try the local bar just across the road called Pablo's, for Spanish food (tapas) or a bit further a field the The Vogue Bar that brews its on beer/pils on site with a classic German menu with lovely food and friendly staff, also you can get there beer to take away in different size glass bottles freshly filled and reusable. Tram links in to Karlsruhe or out into the country side to the smaller villages with easy links on or off the autobahns

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.6
    Great room, bathroom and hotel character and design :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was a little on and off, but for our visit it was not really an issue. No real issues experienced.. I'd certainly stay here again! :)

    Great room, bathroom and hotel character and design :) Good location in Durlach, within walking distance of the town centre, trams and free onsite parking. Breakfast was made as you arrived, with a great selection of items available.. no complaints about this!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.2
    Great place in a quiet neighbourhood
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As an IT security professional, I can say that the open WiFi is not a good idea. Can§t find any other problem though.

    Quiet and very comfortable room. Staff friendly and helpful. And if you are a foodie, don't miss dinner in the restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    8.8
    Pleasant overnight stay for local Christmas market.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff somewhat offhand on arrival and no sign of owners (perhaps because this was a busy pre-Christmas weekend in the restaurant to which the hotel is attached). No local info or hotel info in room. Some traffic noise in "Provence" room (facing onto main road) but this was not an issue..

    Charming and characterful room, beds comfortable, spacious modern bathroom. Very nice breakfast, with eggs cooked to order, served at table by friendly owner.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    10
    Little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, nicely decorated rooms, just renovated and very clean. Comfortable beds and great shower. Great value for money and an amazing breakfast in the morning! On our way to our holiday destination we decided to stop here for the night. On our way back we targeted to stay here again, which should say enough. Unfortunately we arrived late, otherwise we would have loved to have dinner here as well. Located within 5 mins of the main roads makes it a great place to stop.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    10
    Comfortable room with lovely service.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved the bed. I have never slept in such a bed before. soooo high and comfortable. The cook deserves a kiss (at least one!). I loved the food there. Thank you for everything. <3

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    The whole atmosphere was great very personal and staff when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole atmosphere was great very personal and staff when i needed them were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    friendly and professional staff, comfortable apartment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    friendly and professional staff, comfortable apartment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Brief Great breakfast mostly known for restaurant..must reserve no priority for guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect reception, does all efforts for the guests.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect reception, does all efforts for the guests. Breakfast was served at the table. Perfect and well like is was in former times. Top 👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location, great breakfast & helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, great breakfast & helpful staff.I

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Polite staff, excellent breakfast, wonderful rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Polite staff, excellent breakfast, wonderful rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Good locations with great hospitality. People can visit this location for tourism.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    Rooms were very comfortable and food as well. The view from room was very nice. Easy to reach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Cosy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is very pricey and doesn't really cater for children. Still it was delicious.

    Friendly staff, lovely room, tasty breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Amazing Hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Amazing Hotel. Very clean rooms. Amazing breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    Great location for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to the 3rd floor.

    Breakfast was very nice. A lot of fresh fruit fresh orange juice eggs bread home made jelly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    7.5
    Excellent fresh made breakfast, including a small crema...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent fresh made breakfast, including a small crema catalana.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    9.2
    Excellent food!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent food!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Great Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location, redecorated rooms, size of TV, friendly staff, good breakfast with all The details almost perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    amazing breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    amazing breakfast!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    7.5
    Very atmospheric building of 1764, grand style, majestic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi did not work though router flashing, but hotel undergoing major restoration so that may be why (planned completion May 2016). Some inattention to detail e.g. lightbulbs missing or not working. Steep narrow stairs up to top floor where our room was = a bit difficult for older people like us.

    Very atmospheric building of 1764, grand style, majestic bathroom with all amenities. Comfortable bed, good linens and toiletries. Attractive four-poster effect. Good TV with different language channels. The restaurant was very attractive, serving superb food from a wide menu including truffles, lobster and more - so a bit pricy but worth it. Madame is the chef, and makes sure everything is served correctly and ceremoniously. We only wanted a main course, but were served with an amuse-bouche of salmon mousse, and afterwards a plate of petits fours. The owner, manager and other staff all engaged with guests and diners, so we felt welcome. Breakfast was amazing - included in the room rate. Our table was set with a good range of things, ample for two, fresh-squeezed orange juice, cereals, meats, various breads etc. But then came the offer of eggs, followed by some creme brulee, followed by hot croissants - and still offers of more.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.8
    Very nice and spatious rooms nicely furnitured in a tasteful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No wi-fi on the top floor and really no reception area where you could relax or be connected to internet. There was a strange smell in our room (Bordeaux) close to the left wall of the bed.

    Very nice and spatious rooms nicely furnitured in a tasteful way. The breakfast was very good and the brilliant friendly service.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    8.8
    free off road parking, no check in, sweet garden, perfect...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    little bit of steet noise. 30km speed limit seems not enforced

    free off road parking, no check in, sweet garden, perfect dinner with choice wines, vinotek with bio dynamic product, family run on Alcace traditions. Great old fashioned decor combined with super bathroom

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    6.3
    smart interior & decor,good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only 3 parking spaces for hotel then off road parking.rather expensive to eat in hotel.

    smart interior & decor,good breakfast

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: