Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Hauptstrasse 178, Altstadt, 69117 Heidelberg, Germany

#24 of 66 hotels in Heidelberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1133 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was construction going on so that all you saw as scaffolding from outside. The restaurant was dark and dreary.

    We liked our quiet and spacious room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seeing as it was so warm the room was very warm all night. Thats def not the fault of the company, the building is over 400 years old after all. It was just a bit uncomfortable is all.

    What a beautiful old building, nice big room and they allowed us our dog to join :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is located on the main touristic street, so during the noise from opposite bars can distort ones sleep significantly. Also rooms are quite narrow.

    Staff of the hotel was extra nice and helpful, all credits go to them! Friendly and responsive. The location is also pretty good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room didn't have air con but a small fan (OK for us as it was 20-25 degree during out visit). Though they have a lift but the way to our room is a bit complicated and needed to drag the luggage up and down some stairs before reaching our room.

    The location is top. Right at the square, heart of the city. It has great look from the outside (though it was the last days of the renovation of the front hotel so we couldn't really see the real view of it). Nice and helpful staff at reception. interior inside hotel is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is undergoing renovation and the entrance is in a construction zone. Parking was almost impossible to find due to major construction in Heidelberg’s Old City.

    Old world charm of a luxury hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If booking for a room at the front of hotel, expect a little street noise late into the evening from the many restaurants and bars in the Market Square and High Street. There is a certain amount of street noise in the early mornings as deliveries arrive to service the shops in the area as well. If you don't mind the noise, The views from the hotel are worth it. We had no air conditioning (just a fan in the room), which is understandable considering the age of the building.

    We liked the historic nature of the building and its timeless quality. The decor with oak paneling and suits of armour had a certain character. The location of the hotel was perfect for sightseeing to the Castle, the Bridge and the Old Town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were helpful but at times stand offish. You counldnt change your mind in the bathrooms (they were tiny). Housekeeping were frugal.

    Great location and historic building were great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Always wanted to stay here. When we arrived, the hotel front was under construction. Room was very worn, various levels to the floor and no AC. ( it was warm) At least they had a fan in the room. I expected a nice room and was very disappointed to see it was anything but nice. Looked like it belonged in a small hotel that costed a lot less. Parking was a hassle too!

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very expensive - we chose not to have it there. Construction in the building obscured the front of the hotel.

    General location was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    many steps in each floor to get to the room after getting out of elevator.bulding under construction. The whole front of the building is covered with scaffolding and plastic and the entrance was literally going through scaffolding they didn't even offer any compensation for the inconvenience at least a free breakfast but that was an additional 15 euros.

    Building under construction the hole facade of the building is covered with plastic and Scaffolding and literally you have to enter between the scaffolding to the entrance of the hotel. Breakfast was not included. Location was Central.far away from train statoon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was being repaired - the hotel facade was shrouded with a big vinyl photo of the hotel. When you open the window, you couldn’t see the street because of the vinyl shroud. I paid a “deal” price of €139 per night as it was a last minute booking. The room was not much bigger than Harry Potter’s cupboard-under-the-stairs. Again, I was short on time and this was a great location, but room was really small. The bathroom had an airline toilet - that small.

    Superb location in Alstadt (old town) - very close to the old bridge and the castle. If you park in Parkhaus 12 (P12), the hotel has made a deal with the parking agency so that you pay a flat rate of €8 for 24 hours (otherwise parking is about €17 in the parkhauses in Alstadt). Right outside the hotel is the big church and the Main Street with all the restaurants and shops (Hauptstraße). Again, the location can’t be beat. Very old hotel about 400 years old, and that makes it special. Make sure you walk to the tourist office diagonally opposite the hotel (opposite the church) and get the Heidelberg booklet for €1.50. It has a nice map with all the important spots marked. The hotel can also give you a free one page map and they can mark out some highlights. Basically, in Heidelberg do 3 things: 1. Take the funicular to the castle - there are two funiculars with separate tickets. A modern lower one that takes you to the castle stop. You can switch now to another funicular and go to the top of the mountain. The second funicular is very old and has its own charm. Spend about 30 mins at the top and come down and then go to the castle. It is a good idea to buy a combined ticket for both funiculars and the castle (about €20). Within the castle I recommend that you take the guided tour for €5. This is the only way to see the interior of the castle. However, all can see the world biggest wine barrel which is the main attraction. The interior is also interesting and the guide was good. 2. Walk the old bridge. It’s nice. 3. Continue on to the Philosophers walk - walk old bridge, then continue to Philosophers walk, take the parallel bridge back to come back in a loop (back onto Hauptstraße). There will be lots of crowds in Hauptstraße. Many different restaurants. If you have time explore the charming side streets, University area etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to have help with the luggage.

    The hotel has an amazing location, the staff is really friendly and the hotel itself is very nice, super medieval (which I love). The only thing is that our room was way back on the other side of the building so we had to walk for a bit until the end of a corridor, take an elevator and then walk again. If you have luggage have that in mind or ask for a room nearer the front.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot in the room as it was hot outside. They provided a fan. Which was good and we opened the windows at night which helped.

    The location and historic ambiance. Breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found that the hotel had all the modern comforts but was lacking on ambiance Seemed so empty, no energy

    The room was very large and the bed was so comfortable. The location is perfect, within walking distance of everything The restaurant in the hotel had excellent food and the service was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was located right in the middle of old town Heidelburg. We had a full view of the castle from the room and were less than a minutes walk from dozens of restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We chose this hotel for its architecture and historic features. Unfortunately facade was in restoration and covered by scaffolding. Nobody informed us when we booked. Tiny reception desk, with little room to check-in/out, like a boarding house. It has no 4 stars hotel lobby to hang around. Bit old fashioned feeling. Corridors ground floor need quite few reparations (cracks in the walls, paint).

    Room we got was spacious and very clean, facing the side street but quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t know they were refurbishing it. I’ve wanted to stay there for 20 years and the shock of it all covered up really stung and affected my enjoyment of Heidelberg. Should have been told up front.

    Location in old town and to the sights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We drove here but found it very strange to drive up to the hotel ( via sat nav) in the middle of a pedestrian area ! Resturant v quiet and lacked atmosphere. Perfect stop off for our drive back to Hoek van Holland from Switzerland .

    lovely postition , staff friendly and room clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms haven’t been refurbished in ages and they look really old, but not in a charming way. The heating is a real issue. We changed 3 rooms until we found one with working heating. The whole place smells old and the elevator door was stuck with us in it when we first got there. The breakfast is extremely poor. Staff are nice and friendly, but it doesn’t compensate for the bad conditions. Definitely not a 4* hotel.

    The location is great and the fact that it has so much history is impressive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very satisfied.

    Huge room with 3 chairs. Fabulous setting. Peaceful stay. Great big comfy beds. Excellent toiletries offered. Fresh milk supplied when asked. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the comfiest beds. No heated towel rail. Shower over bath and leaked onto floor a lot.

    The location was good for central old town and castle. Nice to stay in a place with history.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't have breakfast in-house as it seemed expensive. Only herbal teas were provided in the room. No coffee or black tea. Staff a bit formal - pleasant enough but not very friendly.

    The hotel was traditional in style, right in the centre of the old town close to churches, shops and cafes. The room was comfortable and clean with good bathroom facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Hotel. The most beautiful building in Heidelberg Centre. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are large and comfortable. My room was very quiet. The dinner in the restaurant was excellent and the staff again very friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back when again in Heidelberg.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the only issue might be lack of the hotel parking but it is available nearby so it's not too bad eventually

    we loved the little souvenir we received which was a coin with the hotel logo. we liked an traditional style of the hotel in a historic area of the city

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent central location in the old town. Perfect for the Christmas markets. Breakfast was excellent with typically German style breads, cold meats, cheese, eggs cooked to order. Discount parking €8 per day close by. Good size family room - great size bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not practical for large suitcases as there're too many stars to cross even with the small lift provided

    Very comfortable beds before a long haul flight

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such a comfortable extravagant night as we normally stay in hostels. Located right in the old town was easy to get to (both walking and catching the bus). Bed and bathroom's were great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfy, bathroom spacious. Hotel was right in the middle of town yet our room was quiet. The staff at front desk very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was good but not overly friendly (not rude at all, just not very warm).

    Amazing old hotel. The lift was handy with lots of luggage. Parking is off-site in a garage, but the hotel gets you a discount that makes it very reasonable (though it is 2.5 blocks away). Room had a modern bathroom and was very comfortable and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking in the parking house was quite distanced but ok - easy access and reasonable price.

    Optimal location directly in the old town – in the middle of Christmas markets. Clean suitable room and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, we enjoyed ourselves very well indeed. The only thing I would suggest is that you offer a package deal that included breakfast for a little less than if you pay for it separately.

    The location to the Christmas markets was exactly what we wanted and we really enjoyed our few days with you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    our vehicle was too high for the garage. They did find a garage for us but a little further away. That said, they went above and beyond to help us.

    an overall great experience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was on a business trip, had to work on my laptop, but unfortunately my room had no table to do so.

    Very nice historical building, excellent location, professional staff and very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom with a difficult layout. No airco, but you can open the windows.

    Top location, in the middle of the old town. Very beautiful historical building. Friendly staff at reception and breakfast. Spacious room. Safe in the room. Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location an very friendly staff! Parking situation looked complicated, however with the cooperation with a close park house, it turned out to be very easy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was drywall damage in one of the hallways that needs to be repaired. Does not look good.

    The staff was amazingly helpful with all of our question, directions and suggestions for restaurants and must see sites.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a 16c town house and is centrally located to all of the major sites. The dinner and breakfast were excellent and served by friendly attentive staff. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did have an electrical problem in our room that needed repair, and the front ordered the wrong size taxi for our departure after reviewing our needs thoroughly the night before.

    This was a gem of our Germany trip, with a beautiful old hotel with a great history and fabulous old world decor. The breakfast was very good, and the dinner experience was exceptional with a perfect waiter. All very high quality. Considering the location in town to all the lovely places, you could not ask for more.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing!

    This is a first class hotel in all respects. The location, staff, building accommodation, all excellent and the restaurant is superb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Renaissance-Arrangement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To be honest I got lots of updates and reminders about vacancies and cheaper deals for the Monday and Wed-Friday which would have been quite a saving. The fact that Tuesday was booked throughout meant that the two night deal was a bit expensive. Couldn't be helped I guess.

    Nice staying in an iconic hotel which I'd known about since I went to school in Heidelberg in 1972.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I fell, my fault- I missed a step and have some continuing problems - but they were very nice and helpful- and sent champagne to the room. Great location so it was very pleasant visit even though I couldn’t walk much

    Everything! The room, especially the view from the bathroom 😊, lovely dining room, the staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioner. For this season it's ok. we can open the window during night. In the first night, we worry about the safety. But seems ok during our 2 night resident there. It's so quiet even open the window in sleeping. Close the street, but not noisy. Wake up early in the morning, you can walk around the town, and go to old bridge, very quiet, no tourists arround you. You will enjoy the time in Heiderburg!

    This hotel is in excellent location! It's in the middle of the street. And it's a fantastic building.I'm so proud I booked this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Tight quarters in the bathroom.

    The whole ambiance of the place was super. My wife and I enjoyed it immensely. There is so much history and Zum Ritter was wonderfully restored and beautifully maintained. The location was superb, the staff alert, responsive and very friendly. Would stay there again if I were in Heidelberg, Germany.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a beautiful hotel located in the heart of Heidelberg's old town shopping/restaurant area. Parking is not available at the hotel, but is available just a short distance away (3 short blocks). The staff was very friendly and accommodating and the rooms were comfortable and updated. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a "deluxe room" with beautiful view, which in reality is a "standard room with ordinary view" in 3* NOT 4* hotel!!!!! The room was large but very modest, tasteless, no decoration at all. Half of the lights in the bath room were broken, no place put clothes or cosmetics, the glass wall on the bath is very dangerous, badly installed, not touching the bath surface therefore always closing and there was much more that wasn't working properly in this so called "deluxe room". The breakfast was very poor - no clean glasses, no juice, no hot water (got one only when we finished our breakfast). The plates were half full or completely empty, dry small pastries, only 3 pieces of bread.. even after 15 min nothing was re-filled etc.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is really in the city center. A hotel with history, it is in a building that survived son many events. It really makes you feel special walking in those hallways. The staff was really great. An unique experience and a good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Renaissance-Arrangement
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could have stayed longer.

    The attention of Mr. Miran Resnik who works at the Reception could not have been better. Besides a extremely nice and friendly person, he always made his best to make us feel really comfortable and happy at the Hotel and in Heidelberg. A true host who really cares about his guests. Definitely someone you must meet if staying at Hotel zum Ritter!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was in some public underground parking. Not too bad, but not good.

    A very nic e historic building in the center of the city, close to the dome, and the castle. A terrific restaurant in the hotel with excellent service and very good food. It felt luxurious to stay there!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn' like the fact that the hotel had no air conditioning. Since we travelled in full summer we were forced to keep the windows open at night, receiving an incredible amount of noise till late at night from the bars and the people strolling and in the very early morning from the trucks delivering to all the shops nearby. Basically we had serious trouble to rest at night. Unacceptable for such a high price hotel!

    I liked the location in the middle of the historic and central area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot to stay in summer. Even having a fan in a room, the wine is too weak to stay in a hot summer. In addition, the location is excellent but for a family, Friday night is too noisy to get a good sleep.

    Location is nice. Room is clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As summers start to get hotter air conditioning may become necessary.. When I lived in Heidelberg many years ago it wasn't.

    Best location, we stay here every time in Heidelberg/

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Andrea and Eileen at desk were welcoming and helpful. Nasreen at breakfast was great. Food excellent, Room was actually a suite with windows on two different courtyards so a good airflow despite hot weather. The building was built in 1593 and converted to a hotel in about 1610 and has been a hotel ever since then. The rooms are very large and the bathroom was modern and excellent. Perfect location and beautiful - it seems that every tourist takes a photo of it but few of us get to stay there. I would definitely stay there again. It is a very good memory of our trip. When we left we each got a little silk pouch with a note about the 425th anniversary year and a beautiful little golden coin as a momento. Very classy place with great breakfast including cooked to order eggs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stronger fans

    Awesome location! With global warming they may need better fans or air conditioning. It was super hot and there was no way to cool down except leaving hotel for a few hours

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was really difficult to find the hotel by car, including the parking that was suggested by the staff. I suggest to really check it upfront. You can arrive right in front, but we did not know how to reach it and had to walk with the luggage quite a Long way. The hotel has no air conditioning. The room in July was really hot inside and I could not even open the window because it was on the main street and really noisy until late night.

    The location was excellent. The hotel is really an historical beautiful building and the forniture and interiors are stunning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heidelberg is a little hard to get to from London. Flight then a train a train-connection then a bus.

    A lovely charming, vintage hotel in the centre of Heidelberg old town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room was a low standard. Would be comfortable in winter but west facing windows in summer with no cooling made sleeping difficult. May as well have been in a sauna. Very noisy revellers a lot of the night with the windows open. (Fri/sat stay)

    Great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In general super location and historical hotel the room was large and comfortable but very small bathroom and toilet hard to have a shower breakfast close at 10:00 , a bit early for a holiday area and weekend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view from the room. The lift needs to upgraded. The hotel feels dated. Breakfast was average.

    Location is great for exploring the town. It has the added niche of being the oldest (?) hotel in town. Clean, but startan bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning but didn't really expect it given the age of hotel.

    Great old hotel. All staff very helpful. Such a good location. Restaurant excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, great stay.

    We were on the backside with a narrow walkway between next building. But one should not go to Heidelberg to stay in the room so it was fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really a negative of the hotel (they have double windows and thick curtains) - but being on the 'main' strasse on a lovely Saturday spring evening = lots of revellers and thus noise...thankfully early Sunday morning was quiet! :) (and our room did face the street and was on the 1st floor, so this likely wasn't an issue for all rooms).

    At 425 years old, there are lots of little 'old' details to look at - pictures, windows, ceilings - a very charming hotel, with lots to recommend it. Front desk staff were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is to be expected but.... The elevator didn't reach the other side of the building so there were narrow hallways and a few steps to spam the different sections of the hotel. As long as you know this, it's an excellent choice.

    The hotel was like staying overnight in a museum! Everything in the hotel was spectacular to look at and learn about. The restaurant was spacious and had a warm cozy atmosphere and a great breakfast. The hotel is conveniently located a block away from the main car park, the cable car to the castle and is right on the main square to the old town! Beautiful city!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we checked in, we learned that we could have driven to the hotel to unload our luggage and then returned to the parking garage. That was too late. It would have been better for Booking.com to tell us that convenient piece of information before the fact.

    The hotel is at the edge of the largest pedestrian area, cobblestones all, of any European city. It is a very old property with upgrades and elegant modern amenities. Parking is almost non-existent, though, in this historic area so we found underground parking two blocks away and walked to the hotel. We had all of Old Heidelberg at our fingertips as a result, including coffee shops near the iconic university, walks across the river up into the mountains, and a blizzard of specialty shops of all types. We couldn't think of a better place to stay in Heidelberg to get a feel for the city's rich legacy and its modern pulse. Five stars!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Bathroom needs some maintenance. - No parking space in the hotel.

    The hotel is in the middle of Heidelberg near all the tourist attractions. The room was clean, comfortable and quite, although our room was on the main street. The bathroom was clean, but in need of some maintenance. The breakfast was good as well. If you have a car, I would recommend parking in the nearby P13 Karlsplatz/Rathaus parking garage.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was comfortable but i would have preferred one double mattress instead of two twins joined together.

    Location was AMAZING! Walking distance to the tram stop to reach Heidelberg Castle. Surrounded by the shopping street, lots to do right at the door step.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, I was ill however the hotel was not at fault and did everything they could to accommodate me. Best place I've experienced whilst very sick. Highly recommended.

    Historic building, location, ambience, cleanliness, service, furnishings and value. Phenomenal all round offerings, high quality hospitality, difficult to find any areas for improvement.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower took a long time to heat up and didn't drain well.

    Awesome location, so close to everything in beautiful Heidelberg. Friendly and helpful staff at front desk.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is an historic property and it is perfectly located for taking walking tours of Heidelberg, Germany. The food served in the hotel restaurant is excellent, and the menu is extensive. The hotel staff is of the highest calibre, is multilingual, and can answer any question which a guest poses regarding events available in Heidelberg. I would not consider staying in any other hotel in Heidelberg.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff all very helpful and friendly Comfortable room facilities were very good Bed comfortable and I can be very critical of beds ! Dining room staff excellent and food v good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are staying here and you cant do stairs, you need to say so. To get to our room we had to go up one elevator, go down a hall way, up a short set of stairs, and down another hallway, an then up another elevator. I wouldnt want to stay here with aging family members for that reason. Otherwise it was very nice!

    Right in the heart of town, the location was wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located, easily walkable to all major tourist attractions. Included breakfast was extensive, included eggs & bacon cooked to your liking. Staff were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With being at the center of the city's comes with risk of street noises - late night goers were quite loud through the night.

    Location is great- right at the center of the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sadly my wife had a fall in the bath and broke her arm on our first evening and we had to leave the next day to get home for treatment. Despite the fall being in the hotel, they refused to refund the four nights that we were unable to take. It would have been nice if the hotel would have contacted us to see how my wife was, but alas no.

    This looked like a lovely hotel right in the centre of the old town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant because it is so old fashioned; access to the room with heavy suitcases is cumbersome involving stairs despite elevator (no help offered); the internet was unusable; access by car is not all that straightforward although it is possible; no on site parking; the breakfast is sufficient but more often than not I get better in Germany...

    The historic building; the location could not be better; the restaurant because it is so old fashioned (there is nothing contemporary about it)....

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern comfortable rooms in a very old building. Fantastic location. Very quiet at night. Beautiful architecture and atmosphere. Very helpful and friendly staff. All with good English!

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: