Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ringhotel zum Roten Bären This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Oberlinden 12, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany

#29 of 50 hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 873 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi doesn't work at all in some rooms. There are not enough staff - the person on the desk also seems to be responsible for running the restaurant. There was no aircon in the rooms so it was very hot, though they do provide a fan.

    The location is excellent. The hotel is very easy to find from the rail station - just three stops on the tram. The staff are generally helpful too, even though they are over-worked.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location close to centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very warm although fan provided. Not the most comfortable bed.

    Fantastic location close to centre. Lots of lovely restaurants nearby. Decent breakfast. Friendly staff. Rooms clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Good location, comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested early check-in, Ringhotel zum Roten Bären wrote us: “What you requested can't be arranged ahead of time, we’ll do our best to accommodate you upon your arrival” But they made us to wait for three hours to check-in. Fortunately they extended our stay for one hour. Thanks. Secondly, they don’t have enough seats for the guests in the reception area.

    Breakfast, location, comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    Location is a+
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we called a day before for an extra bed, was not taken care of. We asked again at 19.00, at 22.00 when we arrived in the hotel it was still not in the room. When I asked one of the employees, the answer was they had been busy.... One more thing, no airconditioning.

    Location is a+

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.8
    Pending renovation, not really to be recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel had no hot water for several hours the first day. It was vastly understaffed: two staff members doubled as waiters and front desk staff all afternoon. Carpets are frayed. Hotel with great tradition very much in need of upgrade(supposed to take place this fall).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Well located in oldtown city center
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located in the oldtown city center with plenty of boutiques, bars and public transport in walking distance, quiet rooms, extremely friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    A characterful stopover in Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We missed having a fridge and kettle. The bed was only okay; it could have been more comfortable. The street noise meant we had to keep the bedroom window closed.

    The bedroom was fairly spacious and the bathroom beautifully decored.The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was a very enjoyable buffet. Proximity to everything was fabulous.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.3
    This summer is uncommonly hot and with no air conditioning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unbearably hot

    This summer is uncommonly hot and with no air conditioning at the hotel the room was very uncomfortable. The hotel provided a fan but the construction of this charming and beautiful old building made it very difficult to sleep or relax in the afternoon.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    The room was spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and comfortable. We loved the bear printed carpet and the quirky traditional decor. The breakfast was a carnival of variety: meat, bear shaped butter, cheese, cereal.... I could go on. The receptionist went far beyond what you would normally expect from your first point of contact.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small, very dated and shabby for €145. Staff not particularly helpful and breakfast poor compared to everywhere else we've started. It was advertised as having air conditioning which in reality was an electric fan. Bathroom had no extractor fan just a vent so was like a sauna the whole stay.

    Location but really not worth it over all its faults. I would not recommend to friends.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so hot in Friburg (34º) and in the room there was only a ventilator, not a climate, that didn't refresh at all. I knew there was a fridge in the room so I bought some food, but our fridge was broken, we don't know why, and they didn't do anything to solve this problem. They could not change the room, so they offered to keep our food (yogurt, fruits and water) in the hotel kitchen's fridge. However the food was not as cold as it was supposed to be! Also, breakfast has not so many choices.

    Location. It is located at the very heart of Freiburg.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No negative comments.

    Great location in old town. Good restaurant attached. Good breakfast. Very helpful staff. Convenient elevator. Very close to several restaurant areas also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Everything was ok!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minuses: - it was a bit too hot in the room, better air conditioning should be nice

    Pluses: - excellent location; - it's historical place :) the oldest inn in germany as I know

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast spread was superb, the staff very relaxed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were a little too soft and the water pressure in the shower was low.

    The breakfast spread was superb, the staff very relaxed, friendly and helpful. The location is also excellent- in the old town but still peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    Useless WiFi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi completely useless and they made a joke about waving your device out the window for a signal! Hotel prices should be reduced due to this. Also no tea of coffee facilties in room

    Good location and staff friendly and rooms clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Hotel is on great location in middle of historic city of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is on great location in middle of historic city of Freiburg. Couldn't be better really. Oldest guesthouse in Germany. I would still recommend to start working with rooms soon..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    4.6
    Worst is...difficult
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything. I booked a room with a double bed and a frigo bar. Arrived at the room, neither of those facilities were available. Talking with the receptionist (ir trying to, since her English Washington quite worst than my inexistent german), the answer esse: frigo kaput...so sorry...and bed...certo big...two but very big...and the worst was that nota evento the beds had proper linnen. 

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful - definitely EXCEEDED EXPECTATIONS!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most of the staff I met were either cordial or friendly; the only possible thing to complain about was that the receptionist wasn't there when I needed to check out - but I asked the lady in charge of breakfast, who fetched her, and I was able to check out and catch my bus without further issue.

    Beautiful and very historic hotel - in business since the 1300s! - in a beautiful historic center. A bit of a novelty. Spacious rooms, that are actual rooms in a building of wood and stone, not plastic hotel facilities. The shower box was also a bit larger than usual. The breakfast is excellent - amazing apple tourte, along with other baked goods, several different meats including smoked salmon, a good selection of cheeses including Camembert and a blue cheese, fresh vegetables and some fancy egg dishes. The list could go on, but basically it's not to be missed. The walk to the train station is 15 minutes, take you through the historic part of town, and is pretty straightforward. The receptionist when I checked in was very kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    I'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nada

    The location was amazing and they kept the hotel a comfortable warm inside although it was very cold outside. Next to plenty of restaurants, bars, shopping, and walkable to much more. 24hr access to your room. Walkable to the black forest, too. Staff spoke English and French.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyable. Freiburg is a very special city, with real charecter and charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A safe in our room(29) would have been appreciated.

    Location was excellent, less than 5 minutes walk from the Munster. Hotel was comfortable with lots of charecter and the food very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Oldest hotel in Germany in a postcard part of old Freiburg. A must.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Post card location, archeological dig in basement is amazing. If you want to stay in the oldest hotel in Germany - this is the hotel for you. Reasonable walk from Hauptbahnhof which was one of my criteria.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I decided to spend more than I usually do to have a good night sleep. I ended up having a terrible stay. The mattress and pillow are not comfortable and you can hear all the noise from the street in the bedroom ( even on the 3rd floor). The Internet didn't work in the bedroom, I had to stay in the hallway to use it.

    Good location, nice staff, historical place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Perfect location in the heart of the old city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue -- WIFI did not work in my room.

    Perfect location in the heart of the old city, yet moments from the Schlossberg for vigorous walks in the woods with beautiful views of Freiburg. The staff was helpful and friendly and, as I had requested, gave me a quiet room in the back of the hotel overlooking a small courtyard..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Zum Roten Baeren
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no parking at the hotel, we had to park 300 + metres away in parking garage which was little expensive, but parking is expensive in Freiburg, and the hotel gave us a discount to maximum 18€ at check in which helped

    Very quiet room at back of hotel on 3rd floor, we got a free upgrade which was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.0
    Nice stay in the heart of Freiburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room had no airco and the previous days were hot (30˚C) and it was hard to get this heat out of the room, because there was only the balcony door to open, no window. And of course I couldn't leave this door open leaving the room.

    This hotel is right in the city center, great location! Also the people from the hotel are very nice, front desk, breakfast lady, cleaners, all very polite and friendly! And bears. Bears everywhere! Keyfob, pictures, doorhandles, even the butter! :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel with an atmosphere, good location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel's restaurant was closed Sunday evening, though I think that was a temporary thing for that week, and there are several restaurants nearby.

    Excellent location in the historic city centre. The hotel has a nice atmosphere, kind staff, comfortable bed. My room looked at the shopping street where there is a tram, which was a bit noisy, but when I closed the window I did not hear much of that noise.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad & pillows not comfortabe. No wi-fi signal in our room. I was asked for payment in advance in the moment of check in!

    Great location and very friendly stuff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Our room was lovely but sadly dining room was not open...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that the restaurant was not open everything else was perfect.

    Our room was lovely but sadly dining room was not open Sunday night we had looked forward to our dinner there as we had enjoyed it so much last time we stayed..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, at an amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No A/C.

    The rooms are spacious. The building is a bit old, but nice. Our problems is that the rooms were a bit hot because there s no A/C, but we went in the summer, so it was hot. But there was a fan in the room which helped. The location of the hotel is amaaazing!! In the middle of downtown, and everything is accessible. Parking was a bit tricky, but there is a parking lot nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.0
    Pretty bad - would not go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    small room Date decoration Poor shower - dangerous to get in and out No A/C Overall hotel needs an update Poor value for money

    location, clean bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    3.8
    There is the worst
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying this hotel was one of my worst choices/experience ever. Pillows smell horrible, and they never changed towels while I stayed here for 4 days. I won't never visit this hotel again. WiFi was too bad,too.

    the good location only.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    5.4
    AP and Family! (Possible Loss of Laptop)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Parking is a distance away 2. We submitted a complaint that in our view we lost our laptop in the Hotel. While the staff was courteous in listening to our concerns, they mentioned that there are no cameras in the property so they cannot check if someone walked away with our laptop or a possible theft 3. No lockers; no cameras => Stay at your own risk. If nothing happens...good...else pray to God!

    Location and courteous front office staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    When I booked this, I had no idea it is possibly the oldest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since the hotel is within the walking district, you have to park at the parking garage about a block away. Not much of a problem and you can get a discount coupon from the hotel. Take your ticket with you as you need to pay and get an exit ticket before you drive out.

    When I booked this, I had no idea it is possibly the oldest inn in Germany - very historic. They even let you go down into the cellar dating back to the 12th century. Always nice to have an elevator in these places too. Staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    10
    History, comfort and style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the parking - however, it is a hotel that's almost 1,000 years old, within a medieval, walled town. The staff helped us navigate the parking situation nevertheless.

    This is the oldest hotel in Europe. There is a strong feeling of pride in the hotel's history, outstanding service and all the modern amenities - right down to computer-generated individual Wifi passwords. The staff provided absolutely appropriate advice for enjoying our 36 hours in Freiburg. This was definitely a highlight of our trip.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.1
    Good location but lacking in some essential aspects
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Apart from Restarant, no where really to relax with e.g. A drink. When restaurant full, no options but to go out , but I've just come back from a day out . 2. Wifi sporadic. 3. Sunday restaurant closed all day. So, no facilities . 4. Menu exspensive. Restarant manager a little bit too austere. 5. Parting gift at Reception was a plastic bicycle seat cover?? 6. Room fine but a little tired . 7. Certainly seems to have lost some of its historical family run charm having been bought up by the Ringhotel Hotel Chain Group

    Breakfast pretty good. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent historical hotel in fascinating City
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historical nature of the hotel, multiple internal gardens lent a quiet, country feel to a city hotel. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, and the restaurant was also excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel! Wonderful city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Poor internet connection. This is a small thing and the positives far outweigh this minor negative.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Really good breakfast, a fabulous location close to the tram stop. We will stay here again and would recommend the hotel without question.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.6
    Delightful & characterful hotel in the heart of old Freiburg
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi occasionally a bit patchy and the desk was quite small - fine for a little tweaking but I think it might not have been ideal if I had had more work to do. Though it was more than adequate for my purposes it might be better for a romantic getaway than a business-heavy trip.

    Absolutely charming old hotel with masses of character and the perfect setting for a visit to Freiburg and for soaking up the Schwarzwald ambient. Staff exceptionally polite and willing to help you, lovely location. My room had a little balcony/balustrade and you could see the top of the Schwabentor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic location, great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi was quite slow.

    Ringhotel zum Roten Bären has excellent location right in the historical Old Town of Freiburg, in a historical building. The staff is very nice and friendly. The room was comfortable with all amenities, even though it's a little bit outdated. Breakfast is fantastic. Overall, great place for visiting Freiburg.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    7.1
    was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed was very uncomfortable, a bit of noise from train No body lotion and shampoo price was extremely expensive for the facilities

    location, staff and room size

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.8
    Fair value for wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking, but city parking very close at fair rate. Hotel restaurant was closed during our visit, but staff helped with nearby options. Very weak wifi.

    Historic hotel just inside the walking district. Great brewery 5-minute walk, and all the old-town sites within an easy walk.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    8.8
    A step away from the heart of Freibourg
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Matresses (we had two twins) were saggy.

    Great location, charming building, accomodating staff, big room, modern bathroom and toilet in room. Comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.6
    A really nice well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked coffee making facilities.

    The staff at this very well located hotel were brilliant. The room was spacious and bed comfortable. Breakfasts were really good and the daily hiking weather note at the table was a nice touch. I also enjoyed the bit of history that goes with the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    8.3
    Historic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were getting a bit dated and could use with some renovation.

    The hotel is one of the oldest in Germany has a fascinating history. It is located inside the old town wall and is a very convenient place from which to explore the city of Freiburg.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    6.7
    Great Location! Strange Room! Expensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room layout - very odd configuration of the furniture

    Excellent location - in the heart of Freiburg. The hotel itself is somewhat quaint in terms of it's overall ambience. The room while being fairly large in size is laid out in a way that cramps it. The tv cabinet is laid out in a way that everything looks very odd as it relates to configuration. It's unfortunate because the rooms are quite sizeable and yet feel small. The room price, is primarily driven by its location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner Wait staff at adjoining restaurant not very accomodating

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Location,car park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location,car park

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Terrific hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb layout with courtyard and quiet rooms despite being in the middle of it all. A delight!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Historic nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad wi-fi

    Historic nature

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting long hours for check-in. They should change their check-in time.

    Very good Location, large and comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location and accomodation met our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were too thin. Need to provide better pillows. Breakfast was ok.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.3
    Don’t stay here in warm weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air Conditioning my room was an oven. To access the internet I had to wander around the hotel with my laptop to find elusive internet access.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service wasn’t great, you cannot say this a hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    Weather very hot and no A/C but fan made it bearable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have kettle on room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked for an extra bed, but it was never setup. We had to cramp in.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    It was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located.. easily accessible using public transport. Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    good location to discover Freiburg city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was great, we stayed 1 night, breakfast was also good according to Europe standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Wonderfully pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location, Delicious breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely situation in the coty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea / coffee facilities in the room

    Good wine selection Food as good as it has been on previous visits

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Restaurant and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Historical and comfortable!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the history! Friendly staff and clean rooms. The breakfast was outstanding. Enjoyed seeing the archeology in the basement.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    "Red Bear" is well maintaned. Well positioned. It provided a calm beautiful environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delightful staff and location. Quiet and in a historical area. Beautiful cobblestone streets...Shoppes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money. Very nice and helpful staff. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    There is a small hotel museum at the basement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a small hotel museum at the basement. Ask the frontdesk to get the key to visit. Excellent museum!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Agreeable stay, with very helpful and friendly staff. To be recommended.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent service, as well in the hotel as in the restaurant. Very friendly personnell.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel wi fi is not great

    The hotel staff went out of their way to spoil us for our wedding anniversary

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.6
    Superbär
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, history, and the quality of the restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Best location, great history of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furniture was a bit outdated.

    Best location, great history of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel, really enjoyed staying in a period Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows, but reception went out their way to assist

    everything was amazing, really lovely staff, restaurant food was amazing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, excellent breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location, excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was only there one night! could have stayed a year

    utterly glorious. lovely staff. amazing location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.7
    Great service & right in front of the tram stop for convenience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dated and in need of renovation. It's definitely not 4 stars. Maybe 3?

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.0
    Location, old style of hotel and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is old. Wifi is useless, it is terrible, they should not be able to claim they even have it.

    Location, old style of hotel and staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: