Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Zum Schiff This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Basler Landstr.35-37, 79111 Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany

#24 of 50 hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 229 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Expensive for what it was
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on the 2nd floor with no lift,not good when you have 2 cases and no staff to show you where the room is.The first room we were given had very noisy air-con and after some discussion with the reception we were offered the room next door which was marginally quieter.

    Room was comfortable and the breakfast was good value for money,we also had dinner at the hotel as there were few restaurants nearby and we were only there for 2 nights.The bus stop is right outside the hotel which was good as we continued our tour by train from the main station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.5
    We found our stay a bit disappointing by the standards of German hotels previously stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was Inefficient & it was an exceptionally hot night. The system was noisy & not producing cool enough air and we turned it off. There was no hot water in the taps or for the shower. The water was not cold but only warm. We spoke about these things when we checked out and the receptionist explained how the air con worked by using surface water and because it had been so hot the surface water was too warm. The hot water had been affected by a severe thunderstorm the night before and the problem was being fixed. She was very apologetic & gave us a complimentary bottle of wine The breakfast was very good.

    The receptionist was friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    It's a bit of a gem in the 'burbs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, really. It met our expectations.

    This is a nice, basic hotel. Very pretty, great parking situation, great restaurant on site, rooms a little small and dated. It's close to a few other restaurants, grocery store, drug store and a place with specialty foods. It's not a long drive to the old town section of Freiburg, which is worth seeing. Go on a market day by the cathedral!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.3
    We slept ok
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much noise from the road. Room was like coming to a 60'ies timezone

    Room was ok. Large but a bit oldfashioned. Nice bathroom. Ok breakfast. All in all nice and easy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice spacious room, restaurant offered good food, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , maybe distance to city center a bit long, but we had a nice walk of 4 kilometers and took the bus back

    Nice spacious room, restaurant offered good food, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.8
    Good hotel, parking hard to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is not near town, in residential area and not easy to find. Parking is across street in partially paved area, not easy to find when looking for hotel in unfamiliar area. No drop off area in front of hotel.

    Good Hotel, rooms clean and roomy, staff very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.6
    Nice surprise of German Family run Hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little bit too far to walk from train station.

    The Hotel atmosphere was really nice like a Real German restuarant/hotel. It was a nice large quiet room and bath which was very clean. Personnel was friendly. The breakfasts and dinners we e joyed very much. I will return and would be proud to recommend this hotel any time. Charles and Marlene. Greensboro, North Carolina. USA.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    4.2
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the cleanliness below standard. I also found it really unfortunate that the beds were not ready for our children - and that the bedding they received was apparently in a smokers room before (a problem for our asthmatic child). The living room part smelled of smoke. The hotel access to the room was a bit painful with various bags for little ones (stairs).

    The staff was very helpful - even though we arrived very late (past 23h) and they realised that they had not prepared for our 2 children, they were very helpful in quickly setting something up so that everyone could sleep.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.9
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms upstairs do not have lift, it is a little difficult for us as we have large luggages. Breakfast is just ok.

    Just so so. There is private parking downstairs. A little far from downtown but there is bus station outside.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    I have stayed hear a number of times in the past, its a good stop over point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con in the room was absolute rubbish, and to noisy

    Food, staff, coffee, location,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Room was clean and had an amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was hot and no fan provided. Pillows were too thin

    Room was clean and had an amazing view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent welcome (early arrival), spacious quiet room, meals were excellent, friendly service and v
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent welcome (early arrival), spacious quiet room, meals were excellent, friendly service and very happy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.4
    Unfriendly Hotel at good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is extremely unfriendly and not helpful at all.

    The location in the town is great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    A good choice of hotel for our stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Spacious accommodation, clean and very friendly and attentive staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Plentiful breakfast and dining facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plentiful breakfast and dining facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel. Handy for Freiburg with bus stop outside. Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Superb room. Helpful staff. Good parking underground.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Although a short stay everything was simply brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was excellent, very casual and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotee
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent facilities, friendly staff. Very clean. Modern bedrooms, Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Aangenaam hotel op centrale lokatie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room spacious and clean Hospitality staff Parking facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    10
    Every Thing
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Every Thing

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    Large comfortable room, traditional style dining room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large comfortable room, traditional style dining room, undercover parking.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Very nice and clean hotel with traditions and tasty food in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice and clean hotel with traditions and tasty food in the hotel restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    7.5
    Hotel was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: