Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel zum Walde This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Klosterstr. 4, 52224 Stolberg, Germany

#8 of 9 hotels in Stolberg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 327 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Not good value for money with all the extras to be paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults) - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luke-warm staff, spa not included in the price of apartment, no gowns supplied for the spa, silly way of accessing the spa area (changing room upstairs, spa downstairs, on the way to spa passing ridiculously close to people having dinner at restaurant - no gowns, just wrapped in towels!)

    Very quiet place surrounded by beautiful nature, spacy apartment and good spa facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.4
    will not be staying there again because of the problems at check out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Schwalbennest
    • Stayed 1 night

    If one were to be charitable the apparent surliness of the old man at reception could be put down to a lack of command of basic English - unusual nowadays in a European hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    5.4
    The radiators in the room were powerful enough so we could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Schwalbennest
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm not sure why in some naturist guides this hotel is advertised as a "naturist hotel". In fact, this is just a regular German spa-hotel, where nudity in spa area is obligatory according to German traditions. This is not meant to be a criticism, it's more of a word of warning for those who are looking for a naturist holiday and came here, as we did, by recommendation. This is NOT a naturist resort. For us, a naturist holiday looks as follows: you check in, take off your clothes and forget about them until the checkout. In Zum Walde this is technically possible, but you would still feel segregated, as nudity is only possible in spa area. There are, however, a number of concerns to the hotel too: 1. Bathrobes were not included in the cost, unlike all spa-hotels we've been to before. Understandable, though, as we saw many guest bringing their own. Just would be great to know that beforehand from the information page. 2. The scent of chlorine in spa area was too strong, it was uncomfortable to stay there for long time. Also, the same scent could be felt in our room too - there was an impression that the linen had been washed with some chlorine-based detergent. 3. It was quite unpleasant to come down to the spa area in the morning and find it dark and cold. Later we found out that in was not turned on to "save environment" because of absence of visitors (we stayed in low season), but that time we just came back to our room disappointed. Even if we were to call the staff, the sauna (as well as the whole area) still would have needed some time to reach comfortable temperature.

    The radiators in the room were powerful enough so we could be comfortably naked all the time we spent inside. We liked music selection in lounge area - very pleasant, unobtrusive and even romantic :) The Indian-looking waiter was very friendly and professional - he literally brightened the place wherever he appeared. The interiour used to be well-designed and thought through. Even though there's been a great deal of effort made to ruin it during the recent renovation, the design is still remarkable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    3.5
    15min drive away from Stolberg town, Extra charges, found hairs in bed, reception could be proactive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults) - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located 8.5 km (15 min) drive from Stolberg town - this should be marked on Booking.com as Stolberg-Zweifall per correct address. 18 eur Extra charge for baby cot. Extra charge of 15 eur per person to enter pool/sauna facilities. Extra charge if kitchenware is not clean upon exit. We also faced couple of smaller inconveniences; tv remote control did not work, the handle to bathroom fell off, also the sheets in main bedroom might have not been changed from previous guests as we encountered single hairs next to a pillow (pics attached). Minor, but still good to mention - as we travelled with a baby and friend, we had stroller, suitcases (on the reservation we asked for room on lower floors) we received one on the 3rd top floor in a building 2 min drive from reception - perhaps the front desk stuff could have said upfront that its on top floor in building without lifts. At the check out - no one asked us how our stay was (though we did not look like unhappy people, we accepted all with no complains at all as we were tired by long travel with a baby). My partner had to provide feedback as for the remote control not working so that the next guest could have it working ok - checking with guests how their stay was says a lot about the hotel and feedback can make you only better. Overall we were disappointed to have chosen that hotel and place. We would definitely stay in Monschau next time - beautiful and lively town with many restaurants and shops next door (that hotel was located in Zweifall with nothing around) and with all extra charges one can find an excellent hotel in Monschau for the same price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Cyling vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4 Adults) - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't an issue for us, but there is no lift in the Annex building.

    The apartment was very spacious and had everything we needed. Everything was spotlessly clean, the beds were very comfortable. The staff were very attentive and accommodated our last minute request for an extra bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.1
    Overnight stay for bicycling around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (1 Adult) - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was big, but under furnitured. No real comfy sittings, no couch or armchair, just a big empty space with a single bed and eating corner. The wifi was slow and unreliable. The breakfast was expensive and not really well organized.

    Friendly staff, beautiful surroundings, good starting point for bike rides in the countryside.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly personnel and nice restaurant on site.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room Landromantik
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rest room is separated from the main one by a sliding door with a rather poor insulation- this might lead to some awkward experience.

    Very friendly personnel and nice restaurant on site.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.3
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4 Adults) - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1/ We had a room in another building up a street (200m) from the main hotel 2/ The food (dinner) was not good. 3/ The carpet in the room was dirty

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location for exploring Eifel park and surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (3 Adults) - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When the hotel or restaurant is crowded the parking onsite might be a little difficult.

    The breakfast and dinner restaurant were excellent. The apartment was spacious, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    Fitness and wellness facilities great, nice bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Landromantik
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really hot (>30 C) while the rooms have no airconditioning - as a result it was pretty hot in the room as well. The pillows, I'd advice to take your own pillow with you if you want a comfortable head rest

    Fitness and wellness facilities great, nice bathroom (especially shower)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    5.8
    Outdated hotel but nice staff and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Schwalbennest
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinking water in sauna (Free) Clean bathropes (with no spots) No cold water bath near hot sauna Decoration could be better Better to have one big bed instead of two singles Pillow is big and not nice to sleep on Bathroom equipment is more than 40 years old? The wifi was a disaster. No connection regularly and if available it was slow

    Breakfast Deer beef Sylvester dinner

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.6
    Perfect and spacious wellness area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (1 Adult) - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    keep in mind some of the rooms are in apartment buildings just 1 minute walk from the hotel. positive; these rooms are specious.

    Perfect and spacious wellness area. Swimmingpool is bathsuit optional, which is perfect in combination with the good and warm (90` C) sauna, wellness sauna or turkish bath.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    6.7
    Overpriced for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults) - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the restaurant it was very hot, the food was not very good and was served one hour after the order. Even though we asked for the kids order to come earlier (we ordered simply pasta for them) it arrived also one hour later and they were already full with bread and butter.

    It was clean, well maintained.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    5.4
    Room was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (4 Adults) - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the beds was a sofa bed with a matrass that was not very comfortable. Room was clean but like stepping back in time, needs some upgrade.

    Room was nice

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.2
    A successful family week-end guarantee!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room Landromantik
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit slow service in the restaurant but no such a big deal.

    Quiet location and still not that far from the beautiful city of Aix-la-Chapelle. Spa is very nice (hot chocolate massage highly recommended!) and restaurant is of decent quality. Very sympathetic and helpful staff. I lost my sport watch is the spa which was found later on and sent back to me. Thanks a lot!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    good place to get relaxed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (1 Adult) - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all rooms in the main hotel building. However in walking distance of 2 minutes.

    The welness area is a real great experience. Very good and warm (90'C) sauna, and pleasant wet sauna and infra red sauna as well as a swimming pool and lounge area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent hotel with lots of character
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Landromantik
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, just wish we'd had more time to spend in the spa.

    Food in the restaurant was very good indeed. Staff very helpful. Room quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    3.8
    Extremply poor bedrooms, rip off your money, see photos you don't want to stay there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults) - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedrooms are terrible, old, cheap and ugly. Style,colors and fisnishing still remember 80's.Very noisy, can hear neighbours speaking, no hot water in the shower,poor internet connection, poor lighting in the room, and... TV omg, see photos please it will speak for itself (unfortunately cannot add more then 5 photos). Very dissapointed, had to shorten our family brake as we couldn't handle the noise and the overal feel of the bedroom. Luckily they did not make any problem with early check out. We were so happy to leave. Never again! I would not recommend it to anybody, for 99 euro p.n you can find a muuuch better deal. Simply rip off!!

    Food at the restaurant was ok, staff at restaurant was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    5.8
    OK but no easy access for people with difficulties to move (lots of stairs)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults) - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of lift or elevators. We were located on a 3rd floor room of the appart-hotel. During the booking process this should have been mentioned (really an issue for people with difficulties to move, including elderly and babies)

    The surroundings, the dinner and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4 Adults) - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    perfect location, quite, clean, very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Very interesting property on the edge of the forest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Schwalbennest
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very interesting property on the edge of the forest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Great breakfast, nice sauna facilities and easy location to...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room Landromantik
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, nice sauna facilities and easy location to walk your dog!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Excellent value, service and a delightful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Landromantik
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    A charming and very pretty location, good service and food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    great weekend !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Schwalbennest
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms (3*) are small

    excelent breakfast ! good place to visit Aachen and nature park Eifel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    5.8
    Only for spa
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Schwalbennest
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fitness area is a joke and there is no breakfast before 7 am

    The spa area is very nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    10
    Excellent setup,friendly staff and more relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room Landromantik
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Path from wellness area to room via dinning hall not so comfortable.

    Excellent setup,friendly staff and more relaxing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.6
    Quirky, relaxing, friendly and definitly to be recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Landromantik
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!!

    Quirkyness! Fantastic decorations. Very friendly staff. Very clean. Wonderful sauna area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    7.1
    A very nice family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Quite expensive hotel - breakfast not included in the price: 14 Eur for adult and 5 Eur for a 5 year old child. Pool and sauna with extra charge of 14 Eur. Small and quite expensive restaurant for so-so quality and service. Appartment room outdated, but clean.

    A very nice family run hotel. Some re-furbishments visible in the bar and in the restaurant. Good location, directly at a forest with good walking trails.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    7.9
    Restaurant great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Apartments very outdated, but spotless. Once programe of upgrading appartments is finished it will be great.

    Restaurant great. Main hotel lovely. Food fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.3
    Location is indeed gorgeous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Egg powder for the scrambled eggs at breakfast. Not good.

    Location is indeed gorgeous! The quiet and friendly efficiency of the whole staff. Really 5 stars! The "beauty farm" and our bedroom have been tastefully renovated recently. Food at the restaurant is first class. FKK certified.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing, this hotel can be certainly recommended!

    Very friendly welcome. Spacious appartments. Cosy place. Good restaurant and a really dilicious buffet breakfast. Very service oriented personnel. Good garage for our bikes.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    6.3
    excellent breakfast excellent spa & wellness area plus...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the room was nice but the bath was not in line for hotel 4 star. the girls staff nice but nobody speak English and the owner was bit arrogant. very expensive for what they offer

    excellent breakfast excellent spa & wellness area plus to be naturist but the water of the pool was bit cold

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    8.3
    quite area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room assigned at first was too small. we had to pay extra for a reasonable room. some of the staff are struggeling with English... (but did their best)

    quite area. nice dinner. nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    5.8
    Nice location, restaurant open as late as we stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast on request for 14 euro per person!!! We wnt to neares village and paid 6 in bakery breakfast restaurant.

    Nice location, restaurant open as late as we stayed in.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.9
    Cosy hotel in a small village surrounded by beautiful forest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    At least 20-25 minutes by car needed to get to Aachen. We stayed in hotel "apartment building", less comfortable then the hotel itself.,

    Cosy hotel in a small village surrounded by beautiful forest. Good swimming pool, sauna. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.8
    An important attraction is the naturist wellness area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed is a bit too soft to our taste.

    An important attraction is the naturist wellness area. The saunas should always, and the pool may always, be used nude. Most people liked that, as do we.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    6.7
    Food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything advertised was not available. TV chanels were limited for 4 stars Administration was not too efficient

    Food was excellent. Do'nt eat anywhere else.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    8.8
    Family room (apartment) was big enough, nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had dinner at the restaurant but my wife didn't get the plate she ordered. We told the guy that we are waiting another plate but he just said "OK, OK alles OK", but nothing happened. Most of other young staff took it seriously and looked like they tried to solve the problem, though it was too late for my kid.

    Family room (apartment) was big enough, nice and clean. Most staff was kind.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    7.9
    Room ok, good TV, good breakfast, probably good wellness...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    a bit overdone in the desire to make the place look 'rustic'

    Room ok, good TV, good breakfast, probably good wellness area that i didn't have time to use

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    8.3
    Friendly Staff, relaxing location, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel décor is a bit tired, except the Spa area

    Friendly Staff, relaxing location, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    5.8
    Lobby and main lounge
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bar service

    Lobby and main lounge

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    I loved everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I loved everything! Clean, cozy, peaceful, friendly, lovely spa. I'll definitely go back.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    10
    Very clean and warm with very private space
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very clean and warm with very private space

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.8
    Breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No problems

    Breakfast was great

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    3.3
    The room was at 150m from the reception and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was at 150m from the reception and restaurant. On the Booking site wasn't mentioned this fact. For 4 stars hotel I think it is not ok.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    Great wellness
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great wellness

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.2
    The appliances were a bit dated which is no problem for me...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The appliances were a bit dated which is no problem for me though might be an issue for some.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Everything. Self catering accom very comfortable and especially food in hotel restaurant top quality.

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Hotel zum Walde traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: