Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Restaurant zum Löwen This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Kremerstr. 21, Dellviertel, 47051 Duisburg, Germany

#29 of 31 hotels in Duisburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 440 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    7

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Perfect for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature in the rooms where a bit high and the keycard for our room suddenly stopped working so we had to borrow a main card to get our bags out.

    The rooms was fantastic, really good location. Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Great, coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise as it was right on the road next to traffic lights, small problem though.

    We booked this on the way, stopped driving at about 2100 hrs, it look okay. When we arrived I inquired if the room had air conditioning, it didn't. The very nice man saw the disappointment on our faces, he said he could put us in the other house with a balcony we could leave the doors open all night, perfect. It was very nice. We will go back for sure. They were very accommodating and did the best to make our stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    4.6
    Tv was not working / hairdryer was not working /...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv was not working / hairdryer was not working / lamp next to the bed was not working / although it was a nonsmoking room it smelled like an ashtray

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    3.8
    I’ll never stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the hotel was poor in every category, WiFi was terrible, room was dirty with a smell of damp, tv in room was unwatchable, all this was after requesting a different room, so you can imagine what the first room was like...

    Parking available, apart from that, the best part of the hotel was be able to leave early due to booking another hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    4.6
    Cheap, but honest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were tiny and dirty. The corridor stinks and there is no soundproofing. The maid woke me up at 8am on Sunday as she was hoovering the corridor. The shower door was broken and nobody seamed to care. The pilow was the tiniest I have ever seen and the room was covered in dust. Theplugs had years of dust accumulated. The walls were covered with stains the overall atmosphere is dark. The toiled was too close to the wash basin to fit a grown man.

    Good location near the city centre. Easily accessible, with plenty of parking opportunities. Their hair shampoo was actually quite good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    4.2
    Poor quality room not for feeling comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor comfort, dirty carpets, damaged furniture, bad air quality. Was obviously used by smokers once. TV not working.

    Friendly staff. But not much more.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    4.2
    It was a roof over our heads....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was lumpy. The outside appearance was not inviting; cigarette ends round the entrance door. Shabby ! The carpet was stained, particularly on the stairs. No breakfast was available. On Sunday night, there was no food available in the town centre that we could find. Staff rather off-hand. Bikes were left downstairs in the corridor while we were three flights up under the eaves.

    The room was very basic but apart from the carpet, which was badly stained, clean. There was lighting on the stairs, good safety feature.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Comfy,reasonable value and amazing food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street parking if I had to choose anything.

    Comfy room with en suite. Amazing food, the burgers are fab. Lovely friendly staff willing to help out with anything.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.3
    Decent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I was on the 3rd floor. The WiFi signal was weak.

    The staff was above and beyond. Made the stay great. The place was decently close to the train station, shops, and good food. They also made really good food in their restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    5.4
    Hotel ok but this one major concern .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not appreciate the terrible smell of smoke in the room. Even sleeping with window open didn't remove the smell.

    Hotel ok but this one major concern ...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Alles war seher gut.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelent

    Alles war seher gut.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Close enough to the town centre and the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a little update

    Close enough to the town centre and the train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Clean room, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room was little small but its sufficient for me

    Clean room, nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Good location for our cycling holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location for our cycling holiday. Clean, quiet and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    The location was good, nice staff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room are not in perfect condition, the walls and the carpet are not clean.

    The location was good, nice staff,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    very friendly staff, good location ,clean room
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very friendly staff, good location ,clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    The main signage is missing so it's slightly annoying
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main signage is missing so it's slightly annoying

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    Dirty stairway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty stairway. Construction material in hallway. Broken curtains.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast was good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small and no TV connection.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Simply good just everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Excellent Reception, Location, WiFi, ..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    3.8
    Very poor hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and smelly room.

    The room was very dirty and smelly.its nothing close to the pictures. I won't ever recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Staff, Cleanness, Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    4.2
    Bad hotel for the cost. Bad breakfast, dirty room and awful pillows.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed, cleanliness, the pillows were awful. The breakfast was poor.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice, can do it again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn't work

    The cleaning lady was very nice and let us stay in longer

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.8
    would not stay again , can find better accomodation for similar price.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    walls where dirty, socket was sticking out of the wall. Small bathrooms, difficult to move around freely.

    Staff was very friendly and pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    3.3
    A shame for the category
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They canceled the reservation without calling. We discovered it by entering the hotel. It is not worthy of the hotel owner

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    4.2
    Dirty.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    7.9
    It was like an IBIS hotel in the centre of town.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Like with IBIS hotels, most things could be better, but that costs extra money. You get what you pay for. So in this sense I liked everything.

    It was like an IBIS hotel in the centre of town. No frills, pay as you go. It was pure B&B.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    9.2
    Stuff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    You have to be very careful when leave your car, especially when You aren't german :) Local Police is very particular.

    Stuff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast very tasty ... especially coffee.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    7.1
    Hotel Restaurant zum Löwen is only 15-20 min walk away from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Could not connect to Wi-Fi during the first day and a half there, eventually resolved. I also had a problem with my lock in which I could not open the door twice due to a loose door lock which was rectified. I would ask for a room not facing the main road whilst it is not busy, you can hear vehicles zooming past throughout the day especially with the window open. No room safe and no kettle.

    Hotel Restaurant zum Löwen is only 15-20 min walk away from the train station. No nearly tube nor tram stops. My room was small but not unexpected. Bathroom was even smaller with awkward toilet position but instant hot water when required. Lift worked fine during my stay there even though I was only on the second floor. Some free toiletries in the bathroom. Generally the area is quiet and safe, not much night life with the city center is only 7 mins walk which is where the nearest supermarket is. Bathroom was cleaned, clean towels and bin emptied daily. Breakfast available at the restaurant on the ground floor but did not use. I enjoy my stay at Hotel Restaurant zum Löwen and would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    4.2
    .there is a horrible smell in the corridor of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    .there is a horrible smell in the corridor of the hotel .the carpet on the floor seems very dirty .rooms on the wide street are very noisy; it's difficult to sleep even the window is closed

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    6.7
    Good location, close to train station and a short walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lift was broken when we arrived. We stayed 5 nights and it was still broken when we left. The rooms do not have air con and in the height of summer this was very uncomfortable. Heavy doors in the corridors which slammed frequently also. Also, no fridge or coffee/tea facilities which was frustrating.

    Good location, close to train station and a short walk to the city centre. Petrol station across the road if you are driving and handy for water, snacks etc.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    8.0
    Got new (upgraded) room for same value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although being a bit late, the breakfast was very basic, say poor. Essentials in place, but selection of food and storage very limited.

    Got new (upgraded) room for same value. Scandinavian look and feel, very promising for future when compared to existing hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    4.2
    Dirty room doesnt makes me feel good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dirty room doesnt makes me feel good. I was totally uncomfortable when i stayed a night this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.1
    Staff amazing, very soft pillow 👍
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nicotine smell! Couldn't breath Left hotel 3am!

    Staff amazing, very soft pillow 👍

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.6
    Great location in the center of city,very friendly staff...
    • Solo traveller

    Great location in the center of city,very friendly staff,good value for your money.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    8.8
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    3.8
    No check in after 18.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No check in after 18.00 on sunday No breakfast on monday Shower broken Too noisy Velux broken

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    8.3
    Reception closed at 7:30 in the morning, did not know where...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception closed at 7:30 in the morning, did not know where to put my room key.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    6.3
    The heater in the toilet is bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The heater in the toilet is bad. I just have to manage as it never goes off.breakfast excellent.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    5.8
    The staff was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls need paint and new carpeting.

    The staff was wonderful. The food was terrific both days(morning and evening).

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    7.9
    - Bike friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Price was a little high for our standards

    - Bike friendly - Near the railway station - Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    2.9
    nothing
    • Business trip
    • Group

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    5.8
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Small room, very noisy due to cars pasing by all night long, poor breakfast

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Smelling

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    4.2
    kind staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Compared to the room rate, the room was shabby and small (room, bed, tv)

    kind staff

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: