Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Zur Eisenbahn This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Holzheimerstr. 8, 65549 Limburg an der Lahn, Germany

#16 of 17 hotels in Limburg an der Lahn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 356 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was situated in a very oldfashioned and poor buiilding. The building was located in aaaa noysi place near of the railway station. The elevator did not function, the furniture was old and n old building. The general uncomtable. The breakfast vas extremely weak. The price (100 EUR for a double room with breakfast) was to high for this place.

    Only the location. The hotel was situated close to the historical centre of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Card payment at check-out not possible as priniting paper ran out. Staff called management but bank transfer was not possible: “no account number”!? Had to get cash in town at an ATM. Very poor service.

    Quality in relation to price is OK

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room window was to an adjacent room, not to the outside. The light above the desk was not working. The light above bed was not working. One bedside light barely glowing, the other one not working. Very small shower room, where floor tiles were loose. Did not think I had to check these things in a German hotel on arrival. By the time we found out, there was no staff in the hotel, to report these faults.

    Walking distance from the old town. Parking on site.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and shower not clean, shower screen was inoperable. The room was extremely noisy The room was about 4 sq metres - too small The room smelt of stale cigarette smoke It was a double room which was two separate small single beds pushed together Booking.com needs to reassess this listing

    The lady that greeted us at reception

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poor for the price we paid, the muesli stale, the fruits rotting; the hotel personal were cold and unfriendly. The hotel is located along a busy road opposite the train station which made it quite noisy. It is not a pleasant area to walk around in (also quite dirty and shabby) although the old city is not far. The English translation of their hotel brochure had many mistakes -- when I tried to point it out to the lady at the reception she coldly told us that it was not her look-out, and that it did not interest her.

    The room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet signal did not reach our room. Hotel was notified five times in a two day stay. Problem remain unfixed and nobody followed up to see if problem was resolved.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rude and very unhelpful staff!

    We booked the "family suite" that included a dining table and stove but the hotel does not provide any cups, plates, utensils or even a pot or kettle to make hot water! :(

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good and the staff pleasant and helpful. They do not serve dinner but staff helped out by booking a table at a popular restaurant in the town centre. The hotel is next to the train station but we were not disturbed at all.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no shelf in the shower cabin where you can leave your bathroom'shelf accessories - shampoo, balm, etc. The rooms are spacious and would be more comfortable if the rooms have a siting area

    We were 4 people and we were accommodated in two connecting rooms that were quite spacious. Probably that is why the bathroom was quite large. Good breakfast Very polite staff Excellent location - 5 min from the station and a big shopping center, 10 min from the magnificent old town of Limburg an der Lahn Free WiFi - good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevator didn't work the second night we were there but we were one floor up so it didn't bother us too much.

    Front desk was more than helpful. Answered all questions, and assisted us with a small medical emergency. Turned on Sauna when requested at no extra charge. Breakfast was good and worth the price.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the family room. It had a working jacuzzi and a living room area. It could sleep 6 people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower pretty poor, can be upgraded for only 50 euro with proper showerheads. Elevator not very good quality. Wifi did not work.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were misled about the details of the breakfast so my wife was unable to eat most of the items on offer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tricky elevator, horrible pillows, slightly musty bathroom.

    Great staff. Very flexible with times and kids. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was not as in the pictures (very small)

    Hotel is located near the city centre(10 minutes walk with kids)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice staff, used hotel as an overnight stop over on way north.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was fine and the hotel was very quiet when we stayed. You get two duvets which is nice but it seems to be standard for the hotels in the area. The staff didn't speak any English but I made myself understood with limited German, just about. I was slightly confused by the name and we ended up walking down Eisenbahn Strase, before a sign pointed us back towards Holzheim (or Helmholtz or something) Strase, where the hotel actually is. But that might be my fault for forgetting the map.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not easy to find, easily missed in the dark, even with sat nav!

    Friendly staff, with small amount English spoken. Nice honest home cooked food. Clean even if decor a bit dated. Very suitable for a en route stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Carpets need attention

    Good location,friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wi-fi in the rooms.

    Charming and quiet location, friendly personnel, very clean room, comfortable bed, good and variated breakfast

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No wifi in rooms

    Easy to find good parking, close to the town centre. Family room arrangements were execellent

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Family with young children

    I did not like that hotel was closed at 2pm on 1 January .

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: