Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Zur Post This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Eisborner Dorfstr. 3, 58802 Balve, Germany

#5 of 8 hotels in Balve

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 167 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Very good, positives outway the negatives.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi slow or not working if your room is situated away from reception where I think it is located. A little bit cold, but ok after adjusting the heating.

    The staff were very helpful, the location views fantastic, country village almost free from polluted air. A pleasure to stay there and would stay again without any doubt.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.5
    Convenient and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spider webs in the bedroom. Very old shower/toilet room and tiny.

    Hotel wasn't too far from the Balve Cave we were visiting for a festival. Supermarkets close by. Some friendly staff. Clean and ok beds. Beautiful view from the window.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    We had a great stay and were very pleased with virtually everything. Will book again next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The windows only have sheer curtains; the opaque curtains do not close. That was my least favorite thing about this property; there was a path outside the window of my room and I couldn't close the curtains entirely, and at night if I have the light on in the room you can see into it through the sheer curtains.

    Breakfast was great, nice staff, clean rooms, great price, easy parking. Very nice property. Would definitely stay again. Also love that the shower water gets very hot which is hard to find in Europe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    very good value, restaurant food excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No World service or anything in English on the telly, first time in Europe in the last year that did not have this facility or any thing at all in English.

    all very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    10
    Awesome stay at a lovely location!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI was only provided for one device. Once my wife logged in on her smart phone, I was unable to log in on my phone or my laptop.

    The hotel was lovely; the staff friendly and helpful; the food outstanding, both dinner and breakfast! The room was well appointed and comfortable. Highly recommend this hidden jewel in the hills of Germany!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Great staff and very pleasant hotel located in countryside.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited WLAN connectivity.

    Great staff and very pleasant hotel located in countryside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    5.0
    Good food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room old furniture

    Good food

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Clean, quiet, good food, good price, great beer, great people !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet seems to be in the lobby, can it be moved inside the dining room?

    Nice attention of the front desk and blonde bar maid !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    8.8
    The staff were wonderful and so accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The facilities are a bit dated, but otherwise comfortable.

    The staff were wonderful and so accommodating. I was traveling alone with my small child, but I felt very safe and looked after. It's a bonus that there is a pool/spa to enjoy.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    8.8
    Food, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very little

    Food, staff

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    9.6
    Very pleasant hotel in a nice quiet location , rural Germany...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very pleasant hotel in a nice quiet location , rural Germany at its best with nice walks and towns near by . Added bonus is the pool

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    3.3
    Quiet
    • Solo traveller

    Every thing

    Quiet

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 12

Guests also reviewed these properties: