Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel zur Post garni This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Starnberger Straße 2, 82346 Andechs, Germany

#1 of 3 hotels in Andechs

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 276 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Breakfast was very well done. There was so much to choose from and well displayed. We were asked if we wanted anything else cooked for us as well as coffee refills. A great way to start the day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is the best I had in years, everything was so well done, they really thought on the little details in, which is the best comfort for their guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were visiting Andechs. This is walking distance for most and a short cab ride for those who have difficulties. This would be my choice for future trips.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We lived in the second building of the hotel - Villa Anna. The room was very wet.

    The breakfast was fantastic. The hotel has big internal parking. It's only 15 minutes to walk to Andechs Abbey

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning. Hotel zur Post offers bed and breakfast. For other meals we had to go to the monastery or into Herrsching, about a five minute ride on the bus, where there is a wider choice. We were in room 2 which faces onto the road so there was some traffic noise through the night. The church is also across from the hotel and its bells toll every quarter of an hour. we thought that this might keep us awake, but we soon got used to it, so it wasn't a proble.

    Picturesque building in a pretty location. The breakfast is fabulous with a choice of fruit juices, cereals, choice of yoghurts, a cold buffet, scambled or fried eggs freshly made and beautifully presented, fruit, bread, jams, cakes, served in a lovely wood-pannelled room. Tea or coffee . Our bedroom was bright and airy, well decorated and, like the rest of the building , full of character. Complimentary bottled water was provided in the room. The location is about ten minutes walk from the Monastery at Andechs, famous for its beers and 5 minutes from Herrsching on the bus. This is the only place I have ever stayed in where the drinks machine mostly contained beer, with a little lemonade and some shandy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Andechs itself is almost non existent as a town so after 9pm there is literally nothing happening. We were there for the Andechs beer, but not sure if that would be enough reason to stay in this area again were we to come back. The bells that ring constantly were a brutal wake up call as was the neighborhood rooster that started up at 4:30am. It was VERY hot so we had no choice but to open all the windows which make the noise problem worse - this of course is NO REFLECTION of the hotel at all, and only a side effect of staying in this location! If the summers stay warm, an investment in some room fans might increase the guest comfort.

    Beautiful 'shabby chic' boutique hotel just below the Andechs monastery. Every attention to detail was seen to, and the staff was warm and wonderful. The renovations and decoration choices are quirky Bavaria at it's best. Breakfast was one of the best of our trip, and the nearby lakeside town was nice for an evening dinner. The back garden was nice to sit and watch the deer and the owners have provided nice seating and swings to sit and enjoy. Don't miss the beer vending machine at the end of the hall which sells the local Andechs beer in bottles! We didn't see it until the morning we left! One of the nicest staff of all our stays in Europe.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stay at this hotel again and again both for its proximity to Kloster Andechs and just for itself! The rooms are impeccable and unique with various country themes. The breakfast is simply one of the best offered anywhere. Morning walks from this location are divine. The pride the proprietors feel about their hotel is evident in every element of this place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    EVERYTHING....

    We have stayed at this property before..... It is one of a kind. The staff is beyond helpful and friendly and the breakfast is amazing. A beautiful well run hotel. We will stay here again when visiting Germany.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Facing picnic table that people smoked and partied till 2 am with beer from vending machine. Could not eat breakfast because of food allergies, but still charged. Loud corner location to road.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There really are few options for food in this little spot ... get your dinner at the Andechs brewery if you are hungry!

    This hotel is lovely in every way! Such an authentically Bavarian experience - complete with dirndl dresses on the hostesses :) Rooms very updated and excellent breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit small. We had other rooms before and they were more comfortable.

    Breakfast is excellent. Staff warm and helpful. Always with a smile.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the third time we stayed at this hotel and it was as nice as the previous times. The room was nice and the breakfast is fantastic, very fresh, healthy and just lovely. Fruits, berries but also nice cakes, bread and everything else desired. We find the atmosphere typical for Bayern.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel in the middle of a beautiful area. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Nice location, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    farm environment and deer farm

    exceeded expections

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Delicious breakfast. Clean rooms with lots of personal touches.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO LIFT

    CUSTOM BREAKFAST

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Off the charts, best in Germany!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was absolutely excellent and abundant and the kind lady who attended was attentive and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff Awesome breakfast buffet First class

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alles war fantastisch!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel, very well decorated in a mixture of traditional and modern style!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable bed, clean room, rich breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet speed seemed a little slow

    Large modern room, hospitality was great with an excellent breakfast. Would love to return

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel staff is wonderful and breakfast fantastic. Location is perfect for a leisurely stroll up to Kloster Andechs.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shame it doesn't have a restaurant for dinner, but we knew that when we booked, so we can't complain,

    Excellent hotel, we would definitely go back. Breakfast was particularly good.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exceptionally clean, traditional inn in a quiet village ... with its own deer butcher! Shop and inn are managed by the same family, all of whom dress in traditional Bavarian costume, adding to the special atmosphere of this hotel. The rooms are decorated in modern traditional style, with (of course!) many deer trimmings. Very comfortable large beds. Continental breakfast uses high quality local ingredients including a hot course - bacon and choice of eggs. Staff very helpful in terms of directions to the best local eatery - a 10 minute walk to a beautiful monastery with its own brauhaus and gasthof, both of which are excellent and well worth a visit.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is on a crossroads which is busy at "commute" time. Watch out for the tractors!

    This place has the best breakfast. The rooms are quaint and the staff dress in Bavarian attire. It is walking distance to the Monastery and has convenient parking. Truly family owned and operated as the service/appointments are impeccable.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Breakfast was outstanding. Great selection. Loved the fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries; eggs to order. Overall great value. Andechs is a great first stop on the way to Bavaria if you arrive in Munich in the afternoon.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect for an overnight in Andechs! Just a 10 minute walk from the Kloster. Beautiful hotel, beautiful room and they have a beer vending machine!!!! Lovely!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were upgraded to one of the suites which was amazing! I loved visiting Andech's brewery from there. The breakfast was amazing with great service. The price was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room "personality" and coziness... The wonderful and tasty breakfast. Turned "yet another business trip" into a pleasant experience.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Great location close to Kloster Andechs and delicious breakfast. Excellent family service.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was our third stay. Everything is always perfect and the breakfast buffet is one of the best we have ever experienced.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice, clean and comfort! Plus, never met such a good Internet in hotel.

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast and the breakfast room were outstanding. We were very impressed with the variety and quality of the food offered.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Proximity to Monestrary

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our favorite stop in Bavaria. Very clean, great breakfast and helpful staff. Close to Andechs monastery and brewery.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice walk to the monastery. What a great staff. This was my second visit in three years.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location for visiting Kloster Andechs. Friendly owners. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The parking and breakfast was excellent. The room was comfortable and extremely clean. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excelent stay absolutly without problem

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic breakfast and lovely room. Very nice stay

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff made us feel very welcome. A very romantic environment for gay and straight couples alike.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Eveything was excellent. It has been in the same family for 4-5 generations. They know to do it right.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    restaurant or bar for snacks and drinks after a working day at the location missing

    romantic village, closed to the lakes

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Guests also reviewed these properties: