Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Absalon Hotel 4 stars

Helgolandsgade 15, Vesterbro, 1653 Copenhagen, Denmark

#7 of 107 hotels in Copenhagen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4878 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    10
    fabulous breakfasts, hotel staff extraordinarily warm and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    possibly coffee all day? that could be added

    fabulous breakfasts, hotel staff extraordinarily warm and helpful, great location - easy walk to and fro Central station, bikes free if housekeeping was not used each day,

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    10
    Everything about the Absalon was very good, great staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything about the Absalon was very good, great staff and location. Some really good restaurants near the hotel. Not far from the main attractions and the railway station. We used the hop on hop off bus to get about.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    8.8
    Very nice stay at a friendly place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer in room was poor, family rooms are on the smaller side compared to other places we've stayed for the price, storage space for clothing was limited, drinks were expensive given we were residents, and breakfast was manic!

    friendly and helpful staff - great cleaning service in rooms, lovely decor, phone in rooms to help find your way round was a great idea, free internet was superb also

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    8.5
    Neighborhood good for walking to main points of attraction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighborhood a bit scruffy at night especially when we arrived on a Sunday evening after 10pm

    Neighborhood good for walking to main points of attraction

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.2
    Location,Breakfast,Decoration
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging my credit card before arrival, because I want to pay in cash, So they refund money and I paid extra for theirewrong

    Location,Breakfast,Decoration

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    5.4
    Not worth the cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast felt very rushed: on Sunday they were supposed to serve until 11 am, but they started picking up everything 10 minutes before. Scrambled eggs are the worst I have had in my life: so dry they have the texture of sawdust. Toilet paper is like sandpaper. Toiletries were not individual but on the wall, which is uncomfortable. Only shampoo and conditioner provided, no soap or body wash. It has one of those attached to the walls hairdryers which you hardly see anywhere any more making it impossible to get ready in the room while your partner is taking a shower. The bathroom has a bathtub, another imcomprehensible choice, when these days all you see are showers. It is very high, so definitely a matter of time until someone falls and breaks a leg trying to get out. No air conditioning in the rooms, only on their "suites" (lucky for us we did not go in summer, which they said had been extremely warm). No ironing board or iron in the room. Bed was not Queen but two twins next to each other. All in all a very uncomfortable room.

    Cute decor, very nice and helpful staff, located close to train station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel near Central Station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just be aware of the location near Central Station. That makes it convenient but it isnt an area I spent much time in.

    This is a very comfortable and nicely decorated hotel. Wonderful brealfast choices and quality. Also, the hotel was quiet at night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    Stylish hotel with a wonderful staff, located just a few of blocks from the central train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not really a place to put suitcases - we had to open them on the floor.

    Our room was very clean and comfortable, and a welcoming gift of fruit was lovely. A huge bathtub was a relief after the many very tiny showers we encountered on our trip. Breakfast was generous and tasty.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Convenient, comfortable, friendly, great first visit to Copenhagen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our arrival, which was possibly an exceptional day with a new system, it took a while to be attended to by the young lady who seemed to be working alone while others at reception were preoccupied with other matters. Otherwise staff were really helpful and gave good advice when requested. The complimentary Smart phone was such a great bonus in so many ways.

    Comfortable room. Location, good and friendly breakfast with items replenished quickly. Tables cleared and quickly ready for next guests. Friendly staff. Good wifi.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant and relaxing stay overall and look forward to staying at Hotel Absalon in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice welcome pack of fresh fruit on arrival. Room very comfortable, bright and excellent standard of cleanliness. Staff very courteous and efficient. Breakfast excellent with consistent standard each morning. Good range of juices, coffee,tea, fresh fruit, cereals , bread /pancakes and perfect scrambled eggs👍. Very convenient location close to Central Station so easy access to great places to visit outside Copenhagen e.g. Helsingor just 45 minutes away.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    5.8
    Good breakfast, good beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had dirty pillow and floor. Asked a new and disn't get one. Asked a new and then finally gwt clean pillow. Still dirty floor. Very dry scrambled eggs Many drugaddicts around Dirty street

    Good breakfast, good beds. Nice interior.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    A great hotel to stay in, in a really good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast area was quite cramped so everyone was getting in each others way and people were getting grumpy.

    The room was clean and tidy. The breakfast was varied and plentiful. The staff on reception were very friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.9
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms could be bigger. No luggage stand in the room. Water pressure in showers is weak. No place for hanging towels to dry (a solitary hook exists, but how do you hang two towels to dry from that). I had to ask for housekeeping service every day simply because there was no hanging rod where I could leave towels to dry over the course of the day. It would be good to offer other egg preparations at breakfast (eg, omelette).

    Room decor (Armani style!) :-) Friendly staff. Nespresso coffee machines in the room. Location is fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    A bright, vibrant and charming hotel centrally located. I didn’t want to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, sophisticated interior design with a fun and modern colour scheme; the rooms are very comfortable, clean and quiet. Friendly staff with a special mention and thanks to the bar staff for their hospitality, making it the only place to stay in Copenhagen!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, nice facilitites, but sadly lots of drug dealing and prostitution just outside
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is not good, especially for families. We were kept awake all night until 8 am next morning because of heavy drug trafficing and prostitution just outside the hotel. This caused loud music, arguing, shouting, fights between some of the girls etc. If you come home before 23 it is ok, but after that the area is a no-go zone.

    All the facilities at the hotel are great, Nice rooms, super breakfast and Nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small, single beds. Really not what I expected. Reception staff agreed to put a double topper on the two singles but this didn’t materialise.

    Lobby area and bar is very luxurious

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Although not in the smartest area, Hotel Absalon was near...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no cause for complaint

    Although not in the smartest area, Hotel Absalon was near the station luxurious. The staff all spoke excellent English and were very helpful. The few small missing items were put right immediately. It was expensive, but so is everything else in Denmark. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel for a short stay in the city, particularly if you're travelling by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much really - the hotel is opposite an "adult" shop and there are a number of strip clubs on the same street, so wouldn't be ideal for families with young kids.

    Great location for anyone travelling to/from Copenhagen by train as it's just around the corner from the central train station. The surrounding area has some great restaurants and bars. The room was comfortable and clean and surprisingly quiet despite being in the middle of an area with an active nightlife.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    Everything, our welcome was great, room very clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, our welcome was great, room very clean, breakfast superb, staff very helpful and we were always met with a smile, spiral staircase lovely and location couldn’t be better 2min walk to the train station, loved our stay here

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    6.7
    Great location. amazing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpets in hallway were filthy. There are 7 steps in each floor where you must carry your luggage. This is really inconvenient. Standard room is small. Though ok for 1 or 2 nights stay

    Amazing breakfast. Great Location. Walking distance to Tivoli, train station and major tourist attractions. Great morning receptionist

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Great loacation, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room size was a little on the small side but nice and clean. Hot breakfast was very good. Great location, right by the Central Train Station, easy to get to from the airport. Free cell phone to use during your stay at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noisy bin empting and deliveries in the early hours of the morning. 6.30am ish on many of the days during our stay. Disrupted our sleep.

    Good value at the bar. Excellent choice for breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    6.7
    Convenient location but worn out decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite the hotel seemed to have gone through some renovation, the floor in our room already got scratches all over the place. We were taken by surprise that the room did not have air conditioning but only had a old fan. Fortunately, it was not a hot summer night.

    Convenient location, very close to train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    Very convenient and very nice hotel to stay at while you are in Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although it seems like the hotel is in a "dodgy" looking neighborhood near the train station, it appears to be very safe, so don't let that deter you from staying here. There are no negatives about the hotel, room or the staff, who were all very professional.

    The hotel is located two short blocks from the central train station and it is an easy walk to the hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Very good breakfast with coffee carafes at each table, for the coffee lovers. Good assortment of breads, rolls, eggs and sausages for breakfast. The room was clean and bathroom a good size. It was a very comfortable place to stay and there are elevator/lift.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    We arrived at 10 a.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 10 a.m. and could already check in. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We asked for an additional blanket and the request was immediately fulfilled. A phone to use for the duration of the stay was included to avoid roaming costs. There was the opportunity to not have someone clean the room every day, which is very environmental friendly. All in one, we really enjoyed our stay in the hotel!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just on the edge of a not so good area and a little distance from the centre.

    Had a lovely room and an enjoyable stay. Good breakfast but would have been good to have been able to have a snack in the hotel. Still, a really nice restaurant just across the road

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Five star service at three star prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little too warm when we arrived, but was fine after I'd switched off the radiators and opened a window for a while. However, I just prefer a cooler room: other people probably prefer it warmer.

    A really convenient location - a few minutes walk from the central train station, even with suitcases, but also easy to walk into central Copenhagen. The room was very stylish and had a super-comfortable bed. The staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was brilliant- good choice and delicious. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    If I return to Coppenhagen I will definately stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The street out front of our room was noisy from a bar on the corner but as soon as we closed the window you could not hear the noise. This is not the fault of the hotel and I was glad the windows are so well insulated that they blocked out the sound.

    The breakfast buffet was excellent. The baked goods were fresh and tasty. The buffet included a variety of cheeses, fruit, meats, eggs, cereal. The location was perfect. The main train station was a block away and the famous Tivoli Gardens was only 3 blocks away.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.8
    like i mentioned above, the DIRTY BED or ITCHY BED or SANITZE the room. i wont come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the most disappointing about the Absalon Hotel is that the cleanliness of the room, coz i dont know if they actually clean or "Sanitize the bed ESPECIALLY". Coz me and my partner was feeling itichy while we were sleeping on the bed, i thought it was the weather feeling dry which i thought it was me only, but then the next day i asked my partner if she was feeling itchy and she told me that she was feeling it too...i stayed in Absalon Hotel for 3 days and it was a promotion, quite cheap for the price i think it was around 500€ or 510€ for 3 days, i dont complain much about anything, the space for 2 person it was too small and it was not easy to move or to walk around the room(*which i need to let my partner enter the room first and close the door, just to let her walk uncomfortably near the bed then i could enter the room, imagine how tiny space it is) "but hey, it´s a promotion price, so what do u want?" for that price i dont complain for tiny space. BUT AT LEAST CLEAN THE BED OR SANITIZE THE BED PLEASE! IT IS ITCHY TO SLEEP OR ITS DIRTY TO SLEEP!!!!!!

    the staff was excellent, they were super helpful, they even help me out where they recommand a very good traditional Danish restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Location, breakfast, staff and cleanliness all excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room faced the road and it was very noisy at night when we tried to let some cool air into the room.

    Location, breakfast, staff and cleanliness all excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.9
    Good Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old elevators, they could be updated (rest of the hotel is modern). Small area for check-in / out considering the size of hotel. Shady neighborhood at night.

    Walking distance from Central Station, very convenient from/to the airport. Just minutes from downtown and great city spots. Clean and modern rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    O

    This hotel was so well located to get around and, two short blocks from the train station and one block from downtown. The staff was friendly and helpful. But best of all was the wonderful breakfast. So many choices.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    Great for someone just off a 32 hour flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Lomited supply of tea bags and no milk 2. Having a bath there is no soap within reach. Needs a soap dispenser low down at the side OR supply a bar of soap.

    Windows and curtains very effective ic reducing street noise and external light at my first floor room overlooking a busy street.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a great room with windows we could open all around, but there was a lot of street noise with the windows open. We managed to fall asleep just fine, but if noise is a problem for you, ask for a quiet room.

    Wonderful bed, delicious breakfast, great staff, close to the train station and walking distance to city center. Nearby restaurants--especially loved the Danish restaurant a block away that makes its own aquavit. Planned to stay one night and stayed three. Loved it!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Good Hotel in good location in a lovely City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a room on the corner of the building which was on a crossroads. It was very noisy at night with both traffic but worse people shouting on the street until 2-3am so even though it was very warm we couldn't open a window which made sleeping very difficult. Air conditioning would have made this Hotel perfect, If we were booking it again we would request a room at the back.

    The location was very good,so easy to find from the station. Given a travel buddy in the room so easy to find way around everywhere. We like to walk and this made it very easy for us to get about and see everything we wanted. The choice at breakfast was incredible. The bar area was comfortable, there was water available at all times.They give vouchers for various things,if you choose not to have a room tidy. One voucher for each day chosen. As we always think clean towels every day are a waste we found this an added bonus and spent the voucher having a drink in the bar. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and informative. Nothing was too much trouble. The outside area was also comfortable and quiet to sit in.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.8
    pleasant but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    generally good except the staff as mentioned earlier

    reception staff - Joyce n other young man was helpful. The others were not helpful. waiting staff at restaruant needs to be bettee trained to clear the used plates.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    This hotel was in a perfect location with a 2 minute walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities were a bit older. The hotel was near a few girly bars but it also was near some wonderful restaurants (try Madklubben)!

    This hotel was in a perfect location with a 2 minute walk to the central rail station. It is near Tivoli Gardens and other area attractions. The city is very walkable and this is an ideal location. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good location for a tourist visiting attractions of Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Handy location next to central station, easy to find. Close to the center at it's attractions. Good room with view (I have got a corner room with 3 windows). Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down side is that the hotel don’t do evening food which is handy with a young child.

    Great location!! Close to the station which made it easy getting to and from the airport. We walked about 30 miles in 4 days exploring the city and the hotel was nice to return to. Very clean hotel. Really friendly staff. Great breakfast. I really explored hotels in Copenhagen and chose this for its location and the fact that breakfast was included. I think it’s a really good hotel and offers a lot for the amount it costs

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    It was my mums birthday and the hotel helped me with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was my mums birthday and the hotel helped me with a beautiful cake and flowers in her room in the morning, and it was beautiful. I loved my stay and will definitely be staying again when I go back in December!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.3
    Closeness to train station and public transportation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet was ok but not any more. Very dry scrambled eggs for example.

    Closeness to train station and public transportation. Clean. The bed was so comfortable I wanted to steal it. :P

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Very Convenient to Train Station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small but adequate

    The breakfast was wonderful. Your own coffee pot on the table! Had a luggage room for which you were given an electronic key to store your luggage before check-in

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in handy location near station and tivoli, comfortable , great bikes and break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and helpful on checking in and when we hired bikes. The room was lovely and we enjoyed being able to make tea/ coffee . Hotel is very near to the station and tivoli and it was very easy to leave luggage here while we explored on our day of departure. Lovely breakfast and bikes very easy to use , lock and return . Very much enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Bed was comfortable and the location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleaning staff left the toilet brush in the toilet after cleaning, big suprise. The room was a very long walk from the stairs/elavators, through a very narrow corridor.

    Bed was comfortable and the location was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Booked for a Minimoon.🥂
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Wonderful breakfast and very central for all the sights. There was a lovely note from the hotel staff congratulating the newly weds and some local cake and bubbly! 🥂

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Fun place to stay and see the sights in Copenhagen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an incident in the hotel lobby where a man came in begging with a note and would not get away from us or take no for an answer. That was a bit uncomfortable. We had no problems walking at night in the area and were just more aware of our surroundings and the people who were out and about the streets.

    The hotel was very modern and unique! The decor was super fun and we loved how customer friendly they were. Water was provided on every floor outside of the elevators in little boxes as well as cookies and candies. We were able to access extra towels, pillows & supplies in closets on every floor when exiting the elevators. The staff was very kind and helpful. The rooms were good sized and the beds were very comfortable. We really loved the bathrooms and the fun lighting options we could change to any color. Breakfast was very good with plenty of delicious choices & plenty of seating. It was a super easy walk from the train station and easy to walk to all the sights in Copenhagen.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    Was pleasant but ridiculously expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast facilities to little for the number of people. Rarely got a table. We would have to wait. The street outside was noisy. Cars that drive past with load music. No aircon only a fan or to open a window and endure the noise.

    Comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    One of the most originally designed hotels in Copenhagen, with very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The room service disturbing us while having sex in the early morning (less than 10 am) - The sex shop face to the hotel closing too early - The breakfast a bit disappointing, not so much choice, and not so much quantity - No real facilities that are common to be found in 4* hotels (no pool, no gym...)

    - The nice design of the suite, very various colors, originality of the furniture, the room walls - Free snacks in the suite minibar, both drinks and crisps - Nice design of the lobby, the breakfast area - Super central location, very close to Copenhagen train station, also close to nice restaurants and some strip clubs

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay. Lovely surprise to have our room available upon our early arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too hot with just Doonas on the bed. I could only just reach the hairdryer which was above and to the side of the toilet (a short person would find it difficult).

    Large room. Mobile phone provided. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Loved this beautiful hotel and will highly recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Very comfortable mattress and pillows Very friendly and helpful staff. Special thanks to Joy in the reception who went oyt of her way to grant our requests. We were upgraded to a super superior room and really enjoyed our 50th wedding anniversary. Couldnt fault anyone or anything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    3.8
    noisy cleaning ladies, no respect for do not disturb, asked...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy cleaning ladies, no respect for do not disturb, asked and received late check-out but cleaning ladies were not informed and kept knocking on door. Even the reception desk was not informed and called me..; Breakfast only until 10, no restaurant, they offer take away pizza but couldn't deliver after 8:20 pm although communicated until 9. Bad curtains not keeping light out, bad pillows for neck, carpet in room smelled dusty, pillows not fresh

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.0
    This is NOT a 4 star hotel. Elevator and the. Stairs to lug our suitcases!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The eggs were not real eggs The tables were not cleaned off quickly so you had to hunt yo find a place to sit

    There was a breakfast with hot and cold items

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    A great hotel in Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We really enjoyed staying at the Absolon Hotel. As we were travelling by train and using the Copenhagen Card it was very well located for us, being just 5 mins walk from the railway station and walking distance to a lot of the city sights. Our room was great - comfortable bed and pillows, nice bathroom with toiletries, the buffet breakfast was excellent and the staff were very efficient and helpful. Also for those who need to get washing done, there is a coin laundry about 1km from the hotel. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for your Copenhagen stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area around little rough.

    Loved the phone in room, bed comfortable, staff were excellent. Gluten free bread at breakfast was amazing. Staff understood we were in hurry to check out to catch train, wonderful and smiling every time we walked in door.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful stay in Copenhag
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very friendly, helpful and kind. The room is big enough but if you have two big luggages, it is a little bit difficult to find suitable place in the room. Breakfast is very very delicious. Because of it is very close to central station I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit of a pain. There is a nearby garage so not that much of an issue!

    Everything, rooms were well appointed, food excellent location fantastic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Couldn't have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music played... techno style "band" in the bar/restaurant... but, this is a personal view, of course.

    Excellent location. Friendly, helpful and professional staff. Well designed, practical, comfortable scando style bedroom. Perfect breakfast. Anything and everything you would like, but not over the top. From herring to croissants to scrambled eggs to fruit muesli granola and youghurts and great variety of fresh bread. Tables cleaned and breakfest items replenished regularly. Bar open all day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, close to the central station which makes getting to and from the airport easy. Easy walking distance to centre of the city. The room was small but beautifully decorated, clean and functional. Due to the heatwave at the time the room was a bit warm (no need for aircon usually) but the provided fan and an open window solved the issue. Breakfast was fantastic. Finally, the staff are wonderful, so friendly and helpful. We were staying on our honeymoon and they sent up some bubbly, cakes and a lovely handwritten welcome note on our first evening.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    It was fine for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really didn’t like being on the first floor. Didn’t love how tiny the room was either, but it wasn’t a surprise. We knew ahead of time what we were getting, and for one night it was fine.

    We only needed a place to sleep for one night in CPH before flying home the next morning. The hotel was fine...close to the train station and the price was right. Staff was great and the room was clean, so we were happy with our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Awesome stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just no A.C. in room

    The hotel is centrally located, only 5 mins walk from the train station and the main local bus stops. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was smaller than expected - more like a studio apartment size with no AC. As we stayed here during summer - the heat was rather unbearable. If you can stand the heat and manage with fans than that should not be a problem for you - otherwise pay extra for an A/C room. I loved three things a lot about this hotel that I have not experienced at many places: 1) A travel buddy was provided inside our room - this is basically a smartphone with data connectivity and call connection that we could use inside the room and take it with us while in Copenhagen. This was super helpful to call local businesses, we often used it for GPS and placing online orders to book tours. 2) Buffet breakfast - a variety of choice, amazing staff service. Sitting outside in the courtyard was always a treat. 3) The hotel is super eco friendly. If you skip house keeping, they offer a few rewards in return. This was a delight and we took them up on it, by trading our house keeping for the hotel bike hire. Overall, the experience at Absalon was great - I would return to this hotel and recommend it to others!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    It was close to transportation and centre walk, also very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC was not effective in our room, and it was getting quite muggy.

    It was close to transportation and centre walk, also very clean and friendly staff. The front desk was especially helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.2
    Overall a good experience and a definite place to stay if visiting Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was the bathroom which was small and it would be dangerous for older people to climb into and out of the bath when having a shower. The side off the bath are quite high and there are no hand rails. Ok for us but something for management to consider.

    Location was fantastic, very close to Central station and city. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was really good. Room was adequate and bed comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Lots of choice for breakfast, cold and hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Didn't like the dressing table at the foot of the bed. Had to move it every day just incase we knocked anything in the night. Would have loved some Air con in the room as it was so hot the week we went. Leaving the windows open at night didn't help as it was too noisy from the surrounding buildings.

    Lots of choice for breakfast, cold and hot. Staff were quick to remove your dirty plates to make room for more! Clean comfortable room. Lovely welcome bag in our room. Nice touch with the free water in our room and spare left on a trolley in the hallway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Great base close to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small, and no aircon that i could see. But the location, breakfast and staff more than made up

    Super helpful and welcoming staff. A relaxing base.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.0
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disturbing the use of drugs in the neihgberhood. Publicly. No AC. Noisy location. The carpet needs some upgrade. The small double room is really small

    Breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    The perfect choice for a long weekend in Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No air conditioning in any of the rooms which, in any other year wouldn't have been a problem but this year the room was quite hot and it was too noisy over the weekend to leave the window's opened.

    This is a stylish hotel on the edge of the funky meatpacking district. Modern and contemporary with Designer's Guild furnishings, despite most rooms being small they don't feel claustrophobic. The bathrooms are tiny and the showers are quite basic but the complementary toiletries are very good. There was an excellent and very extensive breakfast buffet in the sunny bar area or small courtyard garden. The location is five minutes from the central station which is only a short train trip to the airport, so perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    We had a fabulous 5 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smoke in the court yard and just outside the hotel really bothered me, even though it is a smoke free hotel.

    The hotel is in a perfect location, the breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Perfect - will definitely come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - I liked it all

    Bed was comfy, staff were really friendly on reception, they even put a little birthday treat and note in the room for my boyfriend’s birthday as a surprise!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location, close to the Central Railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room wasn't clean enough, there were some hairs, dust, splatters and a dirty towel on the floor. It was quite hot in the room, though it was just + 18 - 20 degrees Celsius outside. The Karmameju Chill hand and body lotion 2 from the dispenser has a strange smell that differs from the same lotion in a travel-size tube we've got from another hotel.

    Great location, close to the Central Railway station. Friendly staff. Boutique style hotel. Nice breakfast and loose leaf teas. Luggage storage facility+++.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    if you arrive at hotel before check-in time, you have to store your luggage in the hotel luggage room in the basement all by yourself. wish the hotel have bell-boy service.

    Staff are very kind and accommodating. Great location, walking distance to most tourist destinations. Room are decent but not all the rooms has air-conditioning, make sure you reserve in advance if you're travelling in summer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hallway carpets a bit worn and diminished appearance of an otherwise modern and luxe looking boutique hotel.

    Friendly, courteous staff, very response. Fun decor. Fantastic breakfast. Absolutely delicious! Plenty of seating inside the beautiful restaurant (2 levels) and outside in the courtyard. Crisp lines and comfortable beds. Only issue was a broken faucet which was replaced in 12 hours (happened late at night).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Nicely furnished and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevators could really benefit from a major cleaning. They were so dirty that we had real concerns about the state of the room...luckily the room were in immaculate conditions.

    Nicely furnished and comfortable room. Really nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    No mat in the shower room and there was curtain that meant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No mat in the shower room and there was curtain that meant the floor became wet outside the shower basin. Coffee wasn't great and at breakfast there were only glasses, no mugs/cups for it. Good that it was on offer during the day. No access from the main street, so having to pull cases along a cobbled street to the back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.8
    Design of the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive for what it is;breakfast selection is small; female staff made it clear they are more helpful to male guests; no AC in rooms; beds are very hard and uncomfortable, definitely the cheapest mattresses possible.

    Design of the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Had a great time in Absalon (and Copenhagen) and will definitely stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon in the room didn’t seem to work properly, the room remained very warm.

    One of the nicest hotels I’ve stayed in. Very friendly staff, comfy room, great breakfast and very central location.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Absalon Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: