Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Avenue Hotel Copenhagen

Aboulevard 29, Frederiksberg, 1960 Copenhagen, Denmark

#30 of 102 hotels in Copenhagen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1562 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were a few signs of wear and tear in the room and hot breakfast items cost extra

    The staff were great, the breakfast buffet was lovely and the little garden was a nice touch

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room on street side, a lot of dust in the room and 25 euro for extra hour after check out time.

    Good bed, close to the city center and spacious private parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of my all-time favorite hotels! Excellent large rooms with comfortable beds and stylish furniture. Location is very convenient close to Forum metro station and nice walks. Organic breakfast is the highlight though! Staff is also very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit outdated, broken window and noisy bar below is not a good combination:-)

    Nice friendly and cozy atmosphere, the wine concept in the bar with a dj is a good initiative. Good location and easy to go around with rental bikes or public transport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms looked a bit shabby - a lick of paint might go along way. The first night we were woken around 6am by some loud noises - we assume this was maybe the cleaners starting for the day as it sounds like lots of hoovering and furniture moving.

    Excellent location - right around the corner from the metro and only a 20 minute walk to most of the main attractions. The breakfast was really tasty and staff helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We woke up a couple of days with the terrible noise of the cleaning trolleys through the corridor. I've never heard anything that noisy!. The bikes were a bit expensive in my view, although very new and in very good shape. It is not cheap for EU standards, but the city is expensive. The bathroom is very basic, but OK.

    The atmosphere is really "hyggeligt" as Danes would say. Very cozy, nice design, nice music ... The location is good without being extremely central. 5 min walk from the Metro station with direct connection with the airport. They rent bikes (20 eur/day). Breakfast is really fresh and good. The superior double room was very spacious. The offer complimentary wine for apero in the afternoon. Personnel is really friendly and welcoming. Mostly students as in many places in Copenhagen. It is my second time in this hotel and I'd come back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room - good size, but dated (bathroom taps wete grin and literally falling apart). We could hear every move outside our door, there seem to have been a very loud incident one night and nobody has appologiesed or reassured us the next morning that everything is ok). Sleeping for us in there was an issue.

    Reception area and the staff were lovely - great selection of good quality drinks and snacks. Staff lovely and welcoming. Location - nice, quite area within walking distance into the city center and tube station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit old, so it could benefit from a bit of renovation. Also, two of the throw pillows didn't smell that great. If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room on a top floor as the street can get a bit noisy at night, but for me it was fine.

    The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is located very close to downtown( 9 minutes away with the metro, 20 mins away if you walk). THey have a great lounge to have some tea or coffee and prices are reasonable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room decor tired and in need of updating, hotel overall needs renovation. Carpet dirty and bed (including pillows) had hair on it on check-in. Bathroom sink was leaking too and took a day to fix.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frankly speaking for that price lots of room facilities and services should be better. Ask for a supplentary pillow because pillows are really thin. There aren't plugs for electronic devices other the ones that connect lights.

    Wonderful and rich breakfast with espresso coffe too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was awful. They charged us extra when there was a reservation miscommunication from the online booking site, yelled at us for being late for breakfast, and were overall rude.

    The lobby bar was pretty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra bed policy not clear. We had a superior room that had a sofa bed in it and wanted to use it for our 2 year old daughter. They wanted to charge us EUR22 just to put on sheets as it’s considered an “extra bed”, even though the sofa bed was already in the room. Front desk girl was rather rude when talking to us. She said we should take it up with booking.com as they are the ones that put the hotel’s policy on their site. I told her that it’s the hotel that provides the information to booking and has nothing to do with it. She rudely shrugged her shoulders and proceeded to ignore me and started typing on her computer. This was after our first night there (we had a booking for 7 nights). She could have been a lot nicer in how she dealt with the situation (more apologetic in manner as opposed to her stern manner) but if for sure left a bad impression on us. Cleaning staff doesn’t vacuum the carpet (witnessed this as we were in the room when cleaning) and sink was often not cleaned well. Toilet was not flushing properly (no water). This happened 3 different days during our stay. Breakfast plates had egg crusted as it wasn’t washed properly.

    Quite a central location with a supermarket and restaurants conveniently close by. Spacious room although a bit sparse in amenities. Friendly staff except for 1 person. Promotion of 8th night for free. We only stayed for 7 nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building is old but well maintained so the bathroom was kept bit old school which is cool but not exactly practical. The bed was not very comfortable and unfortunately being close to the lift and staircase, it was incredibly loud in the mornings. We were waking up every morning early with housekeeping starting work in the other rooms and in the corridor.

    The breakfast was very nice, free bubbles on offer , nice juices but you have to pay extra for cooked breakfast. The wine hour for guests is a great idea, the lobby was buzzing with all the guests. The building and neighbourhood is nice, staff friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was located on a busy street so there was a lot of traffic noise for rooms on the street side of the building.

    Very comfortable hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was wonderful. Close to the metro station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was on the first floor near the stairs and the cleaning services room so it was very noisy plus cleaning ladies were slamming the doors and talking so loud very early every morning.

    Great breakfast, mostly organic products based. Metro within 5-8 min on foot. 15 min by metro from the airport. Very nice and friendly staff, always keen to help. Comfortable bed & pillows, warm & spacious room. Good Wi-Fi. Loved the free wine between 17-18.00.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Contrary to the pictures shown in Booking.com, the rooms need serious renovation. We stayed at the first floor, room 102. Furniture was outdated (scratches, holes etc), the carpet and the walls had stains, there was no refrigerator, the bathroom was basic and in bad condition (things kept falling apart) and we had to leave the window open in order to avoid the sewer smell (housekeeping did the same). There was no soundproofing and we could literally hear each step. Also whenever someone in the corridor closed a door we could feel the temblor in our bed. The curtains were white and did not cover the windows properly and thus we woke up at 6.30 every morning. Lastly there was a head speaker outside our window and there was music up until 23.30 but it was good music so you can count this comment as neutral (based on our taste though).

    We were allowed to check in 3 hours earlier, the breakfast was fabulous, although quite expensive and everyone in the hotel was really polite (that goes to all the Danish people). The lobby is cozy and there is a nice and peaceful porch. Also the hotel rental bikes were in great condition and the renting price reasonable. Lastly the hotel is very close to the Forum Metro station (5 min walk).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Screwed up our booking 1st night so the family was split into two tiny rooms....with no rate reduction. No water, tiny beds, extractor fan going all night - what I imagine boarding school is like. No room service or kitchen (seemingly) after breakfast so had to hit the 7/11 (their suggestion) as most restaurants were shut - classy. Noisy, people clumping up and down the stairs and there was a party going on above me one night. You have to demand tea/coffee at breakfast or it ain't gonna come. Expensive for what is, essentially, a high end B&B. Quite the hike into town. It's a bit 'all hat a no cattle', it takes more than Franklin Gothic Condensed and some fancy throws to make a decent hotel. My advice to them would be: 'basics, people!'

    The breakfasts were excellent, nice toiletries and the rooms were very clean. Staff were friendly and all smiles but service was...relaxed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was noisy as the bed head next to staircase so impossible to sleep - changed rooms next day but having ask for a quiet room this was definitely not it. Also I had paid for an upgrade on arrival which was completely unnecessary, new room was quiet and peaceful night was had. This hotel is situated away from the centre of Copenhagen & public transport is complicated and expensive, cheaper day tickets can only be bought at Metro stations - most people use bicycles!

    Reception staff very good & Breakfast was good - My room was larger than most hotel rooms and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic a stay well enjoyed.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, reception was also the bar, there was a small lift to the floors, room was easy to find, looked fantastic and clean. There was24hr service. Room was quiet and the breakfast was organic and a really good choice of things to choose from, including a gluten free choice. Best gluten free bread roll I've tasted and you could eat as much as you wanted., plus staff ensured that the food was replenished so it did not matter whether you went in fisrt thing or last, you all got a wonderful experience, the outside seating area was lovely a nice relaxing area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very stingy on bathroom supplies - no Kleenex at all, only given 1 soap for the entire 3 night stay (not even one for the sink and one for the shower/ literally one tiny soap for the entire stay); no cream rinse - shampoo only. The toilet paper already was down to a quarter roll when we arrived and was not replaced until we actually ran out. In addition, we had requested 2 extra towels, which were provided for the first night, but once taken out by housekeeping the next day, they were never replaced. For $360 per night, we should not have had to share one tiny piece of soap and worry about running out of toilet paper. It was ridiculous.

    The lounge and bar are very cozy and comfortable to hang out. Really liked the area around the hotel; a bit of a walk (4+ long blocks) to the metro, but close to the bus stop. The bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel breakfast was excellent and the wine in the evening was really nice. I would stay here again, despite the short-sighted way they handle the bathroom supplies.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located near the Forum metro so its very convenient to get around Copenhagen. Central is about 10 mins bus ride from the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed their wine-happy hour and would say its worth it. Their breakfast buffet was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The comfort of the bedding could be slighty better. The hotel is older than expected, some things in the room could do with some refurbishing (electric plugs etc, for example).

    The young staff at reception were really friendly and nice. The common areas are well designed and cosy to spend time in. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk away from the main shopping street, but really close to the metro if coming from airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower was very small, noisy road in front of hotel (so window open is not an option during the night).

    Very friendly staff, excellent breakfast, comfortable bed, close to metro station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms look a little bit old, with a tainted carpet on the floor. In the bathroom everything looks old.

    The breakfast was excellent. The bed was comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift broke after the first day. Stairs are Imposdible for me but I managed to go up the one flight. They were able to get it fixed on the third day. They were very kind and helpful about it which I appreciated

    Breakfast was fantastic. If you want eggs or pancakes you pay a bit extra. The staff were very warm and friendly. The location was perfect for us. When I first arrived, I was disappointed but everything was fine. They gave us a room with a shower which worked well

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely comfortable hotel, rooms are HUGE, staff are lovely. Highly recommend adding the breakfast, as it'll be super expensive elsewhere, also theres a wine time deal from 5-6pm, meaning free wine! Hotel is a little walk from the main busy areas but there are great bars and restaurants just a stone throw away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room wasn't prepped in the way we had booked it, there were no separate like we had requested and there was no way they could fix it before the next day. Also the bathroom had a really bad smell so we had to air out the room whenever the cleaners had left it open while we were out and inside the bathroom the smell was just always there.

    The beds were comfy, lobby was nice and the hotel staff was friendly but we expected more of our stay there, especially our room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I didn't like the fact the cleaning lady would leave my leftover food on the table, days even

    the bathroom floors were heated!! loved it! small elevator, cute.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtains or black out blinds in our room & our room was on a main street so not ideal! Sink in bathroom had plumbing issues - loud gurgling sounds!

    Good breakfast - organic choice and for a small fee could get hot extras, e.g. bacon and oatmeal. Free wine hour between 5pm & 6pm every day!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lovely breakfast lots of fresh food and choice, perfect location between the 3 best neighbourhoods, bikes for hire, happy hour for wine at the bar with music, very relaxed, lovely room, great staff, one of the best places I have ever stayed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar was expensive - not sure how a double gin and a large sauvignon blanc could be DKR300.

    Very large room; nice, clean bathroom; out of the centre, but perfect for the concert we were attending, at the Danish Academy of Music.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m dissapointed with hotel.only in nr thing I like was lobby ( where I spent only few hours before flight) and location which was quite central ( 20 min to main attractions ).Other than that not great experience.room and bathroom were dirty .same as sheets in bed.even if room was double same as bed requested was separate 2 mattresses.size of room was small. Service woke us up on Sunday at 9 am asking if f they can clean room . At the end would be nice at least to have kettle and 2 glasses in room.absolutely nothing was there.

    Lobby and location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fist had a room that had faulty electricity wiring which caused a clicking noise and light switching on and off all night.

    very friendly staf , excellent breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunate issue with bathroom's plumbing.

    Comfortable and spacious hotel. Close to city's attraction and great restaurants. Hour with free wine each day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so unclean.... And there was a situation that we wanted to order food in a restaurant. The girl said that she will gonna ask a chef for pizzas. But after ten minutes we saw that the guy from the pizzeria next door came with our food 😂 so save your money and eat somewhere else :)

    It was in a perfect location. The staff was good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Really clean rooms excellent comfy bed, a great location to be based, 2 minute walk from the forum metro station, so pleased me and my girlfriend have booked to go back there in April...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pipe of our bathroom was blocked like it hadn't been cleaned in a long time and we fixed it because our bathroom got flooded with water. when we told the recepcion they just said "oh okay thank you" but no one came to check it. The breakfast was nice but warm food like sausages, bacon or omelettes are not included. The cleaning service is kind of loud in the morning even when you have the "Leave me alone" sign

    The rooms were really big and had a lot of commodities. The beds were amazing. The breakfast was really delicious. We went during winter but they have an inner patio that looked great to have a drink. We had a drink in the lobby/bar and it was great! really cozy. We will come back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Room facing a busy road, noisy. Ear plugs recommended - No kettle nor coffee / tea in the room - Switched off the heating 3 hours before check-out, made us feel like we were being rushed out.

    -Good sized double room - Clean - Heating on at all times - Decent sized bathroom - Overall comfortable room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little cold in the bedroom and we didn’t have an iron in the room.

    Breakfast selection was excellent. The staff were very professional and the sofas and beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms and very tiny bathroom.

    Staff is super friendly and the location is great. Easy to access with metro that works 24/7. Good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, uncomfortable matress (slept very badly), room on the side of a very noisy street, bathroom needs to be refurbished (water doesn't sink down, no shell to put your stuff under the shower), dirty windows, staff friendly but could do better (i.e.when I asked them if they could send my stamped postcards since I couldn't find a mailbox in the down, they replied: "we need to ask" whereas it's only about passing your postcards on to the postman), no computer from which you could print your stuff

    Good breakfest, nice reception area, very good connection to the airport

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located near the Forum metro station, so it was very easy to get there from an airport. Staff was very friendly. Rooms are rather small but clean and quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is great as only 5 mins away from the Forum metro station (direct link to airport about 20 mins away). You can also get a bus into the main city centre, but it's only a 15 min walk too. Breakfast is amazing (but nothing hot).... Free wine hour at 5-6pm is a nice touch! Will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no kettle in the room but you can get hot water from reception Need to pay extra for parking Breakfast was slightly limited and if you wanted scrambled eggs you will need to order as an extra and get charged - however everything is organic Parking entrance was a bit tricky

    Bathroom was spacious Bed is comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bad odour our room...

    Cosy and relaxing athmosfhere in the lobby and bar in the the breakfast aerea. Very good service and fabulous coffee and breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located on Aaboulevard, which is like a six-lane highway with heavy traffic until after midnight and from four o'clock in the morning. The hotel would provide a quiet room only against an 'upgrade' fee.

    The location is quite convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is not much that we did not like. Our room faced the main street and there was a bar on the other side. It got a bit loud one night but it did not bother us too much. Some ear plugs help. ;-)

    We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. They really thought of everything and keep an attention to detail. It starts with the wine hour every evening, to the terrace outside on which they offer coffee in the morning with blankets to the amazing breakfast. The breakfast offers everything one can wish for. The rooms are spacious. The hotel is a few mins walk to the main attractions/city center. The staff is really helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was a bit chilly and as it was raining whole weekend we would have enjoyed a little bit higher temperature in the room. There were no minibar/fridge in the room even though there was clearly room for it. It would have been great that some warm dishes would have been available at the breakfast at no extra cost.

    This is a cosy hotel situated in Fredriksberg. The closest metro station is Forum (5 min walk). Staff at the reception and the breakfast were friendly and helpful. We got a nice room facing backyard so it was very quiet (no traffic noise). The room was nicely decorated and I gather our room was a slightly bigger than usual with a separate area with a sofa and a table. Breakfast was really good. A complimentary wine-hour (every day from 5-6pm) was a really nice surprise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Toilet failed halfway during our stay, so we were moved to a different room at the front of the building - the new room had a cramped bathroom and really suffered from traffic noise, so avoid front-facing rooms if you can. Lift was ridiculously small - it can only take three people without luggage, so forget it if you have a pushchair and luggage like we did. Not enough power sockets in the rooms - it isn't ideal to have to unplug the TV and table lamps just to get a free socket.

    Location was five minutes from Forum metro station, and easily walkable to the city centre in 30 minutes. Breakfast was great and high standard, with enough choice to be varied over five days. Wine hour was a pleasant way to end a day out, and the lounge area is comfortable and relaxing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit blocked so almost overflowed every time we used it. It was a bit cramped for us and our 20month old & they had a ridiculous charge for a cot (so we brought our own). Everywhere else we stayed on the trip the cot was free.

    The room was comfortable and clean. The wine hour and breakfast were great and they packed a huge breakfast for us when we left early on the last day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The stay we had booked was for 5 nights and I found the breakfast choice boring after day 2 It is organic fair / produce and anything extra pancakes / bacon was at an extra charge so expensive for what was on offer for breakfast

    It was a quiet area near the centre and some nice nearby resturants

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Way too expensive for the standard provided. Old key system where keys have to be delivered at the reception before leaving the hotel. We first received a different room type than ordered and were later handed the key to another room and luggage was removed from the chosen room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service is slow as staff don’t seem to notice you for a long time. So you give up and sit down and then they are surprised by your presence. That happened both times I’ve visited.

    good beer and wine choice in a nice bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are old. Most of the switches and lights don’t work. There is no refrigerator. Pillows were not comfortable.

    Breakfast was good. Personnel were helpful and friendly. Location of the hotel is relatively good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not bang in the Centre but walkable and near public transport.

    The staff are exceptional! The room perfectly nice, comfy and clean. Breakfast is very good quality and you can pay to add waffles etc but we didn’t need too. Complimentary wine 🍷 between 5-6pm. Really appreciated the extra touches.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked restaurant in hotel or bigger choice locally but we knew in advance about the hotel/area. Kettle in room would have been good but it's not the norm in Scandinavia.

    The staff. They really were friendly and helpful and it never felt insincere. Copenhagen is expensive but this hotel is reasonably priced. Superior room was a good size and bathroom/shower were well appointed. We asked for (and were given) a room facing the back to avoid the busy road outside. With metro access close by, the hotel location was fine and it is in a nice (mainly) residential district. The lounge area/bar and outside terrace are really pleasant, comfortable and welcoming. We had breakfast at the hotel and loved it! There is not much in the way of restaurants in the area but if an Italian cheap meal is wanted, then the takeaway/sit in place right next door was good. We'd definitely stay here again if visiting the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check in process was a disaster of Faulty Towers proportions. We were initially charged for the wrong room and were then charged again for the room we should have been allocated. We were told that "Booking.com often make mistakes like this". I'm pretty sure that the fault wasn't with Booking.com and 4 days later I am still waiting for a refund. When we were eventually given the keys to our room we found out that there was someone already there!! To be fair we were given an upgrade to a room on a higher floor but this was a very poor experience.

    Lovely hotel in area not too far from all the sites of Copenhagen. Rooms were clean and good quality. Breakfast was excellent and the "wine hour" was an unexpected bonus. There are some nice bars and restaurants near to the hotel too and it is easy to get to and from the airport by Metro.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is delicious! Friendly staff, nice (and small) rooms. Very close to the metro station Forum. Wine tasting everyday between 17h and 18h is a plus

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were not very informative about local restaurants, the price of things in the shop etc. The decor of our room was plain and a little disappointing.

    We especially enjoyed the delicious breakfasts, the cosy and convivial lounge area and genius Happy Hour where you can drink complimentary wine from 5-6pm. It is a fair walk to the city centre (25 mins) but it did mean that we had fun exploring the residential areas around. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms are fine, but a bit lacking compared to all other facilities.

    Very nice breakfast, nice rooms and friendly staff. Great to relax in the lounge area of the hotel with a glass of wine after a long day of walking trough beautiful Copenhagen. The hotel is within 5-10 min walk from the metro station (forum) which makes it easy to reach from the airport (and also the city center). In the neighborhood are some good restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My booking had "breakfast included". However, some items like "fried eggs with bacon" were offered for an extra cost. So it was a "partially-included" breakfast, which was not quite meeting my expectations.

    The lobby near reception was comfortable. The breakfast was nice, with various vegetables and bakery (those were the included items, see the "didn't like section" as well). The room key was a classic one made of metal, which looked nice and original when those magnetic keys are almost everywhere. The iron was available upon request.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There had been a technical mistake during the booking.com process and the reception staff did not handle the situation professionally. It was a very disappointing - and expensive - experience. This also ment that I was put in a room facing the street, with heavy traffic, but at this hotel I have always stayed in rooms facing the courtyard, because I´m a light sleeper. So I spent a sleepless night.

    Breakfast totally wonderful. Rooms spacious with high ceiling. Lounge nice. Interior tasteful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we arrived we were promised a proper double bed which we had asked for on booking, the room wasn't ready so we went for lunch and then when we came back the only rooms they had were two beds pushed together. After some arguing we were given a room with a proper double bed but it was extremely small a noisy with large windows overlooking the main road.. also there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room - pretty important when you are up early for work purposes -we complained again and we had to upgrade to a junior suite (and pay and extra 400DKK extra per night) which had two beds pushed together but was quite and had a kettle. We had to ask specifically for the cups etc in the room to be replaced each day - in general the stay was OK but we weren't there much and when we are back in CPH we will find somewhere else to stay...

    Breakfast was excellent lots of choice of fresh produce and great coffee. Location is good close to Norrebro, Norreport and the lakes away from the downtown hustle and bustle. It was reasonably priced.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking entrance could have been a bit bigger. We had a Mazda CX7 which was a bit too big for the hotel parking. Therefore we had to find a city parking spot and park there.

    The staff were really nice and hotel is located in a really convenient location. The breakfast was really nice and the lobby also had a nice bar where we could hangout during the evening with a Cold beer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost of breakfast is a rip-off! If you have a friend over they need to pay 26€ for breakfast and if they want hot food like egg and bacon you need to pay another 7€ so 33€ for an average breakfast!!!!!!! There is many other good hotel breakfasts for 12€ if you go for 20€ you get a really good one and both of them are included egg and bacon. So if you stay there book with out breakfast and you could save a lot of money that you can use for a lovely brunch anyware in Copenhagen. Also the charge you 4€ for tee in the evening.... so i assume thee is more hidden cost....

    In generell it was a nice hotel, not super central but good enough.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice and cozy hotel at a good location close to all the retaurant and bar offerings at Nørrebro and yet close to the lakes and the city centre. Great service and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location wasn't the greatest, a very busy street with loads of traffic and rather far if you walked to town and then walked the sights... Bus/metro was available but it takes time to find that out when you are new in town.

    The lobby was very cosy and invited to sit and talk and have a glass of wine. The breakfast dining room was elegant and breakfast was good! Rooms were fine, we had one towards the garden so it was quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping forgot to visit to make bed and bring clean towels

    Excellent organic breakfast - delicious, fresh and lots of choice Enjoyed the complimentary glass of wine between 5-6pm Super comfy bed ensured the best nights sleep

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A list of local bars and restaurants would of been nice.

    The breakfast was truly amazing, full of fresh organic fruit,breads and meats. Best part it was included in the room price. We also made sure we attended wine hr, which was also a nice treat! Very happy with the room and close to town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Confusion about whether Booking.com price included breakfast (it didn't, when we thought it did). And hotel staff stating that they didn't like visitors using booking.com and said it would be better to do directly through hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs some refurbishment. Also the cleaning service should include a more often change of sheets/towels. (No sheet change during our 5 days stay, change of towels after request.)

    It is a design hotel, easy accessible from the airport via metro, close to the center of Copenhagen. The breakfast is excellent with a variety of gluten free products, fruits etc. There are are many interesting places to eat around the corner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there were some negative aspects with the property. The beds were not very comfortable. Also there are no tea or coffee facilities available in the rooms.

    The staff at the Avenue Hotel Copenhagen are very friendly and helpful and welcoming to all their guests. Despite being an older hotel it is well maintained and very clean. The ensuite has a good shower with high quality toiletries provided. The hotel is located within a 5 minute walk from Forum metro station which accesses the airport in approximately a 20 minute journey.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast, especially on Saturday with live jazz music. Comfortable, cosy décor, yet clean and airy. Friendly and professional service. 24 hours bar. Very comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very very loud if your room is towards the big street. you cannot open Windows and - probably because nobody is doing that - the room was a bit smelly. i asked months in advance for a room towards the backyard ... but first didnt work out. Staff was, in general, not very responsive and many little things didnt work: room couldnt be locked at first, TV remote Control was broken (and no one cared about it even after two calls to the reception), ...

    Great breakfast good design late check out was possible

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a blocked drain in the bathroom meant that the bath and shower could not be used. The problem should have been identified by the cleaning staff, and fixed.

    The attentiveness of the check in staff, and preparedness to accommodate an early departure, and provide a "breakfast bag".

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Avenue Hotel Copenhagen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: