Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Axel Guldsmeden 4 stars

Colbjørnsensgade 14, Vesterbro, 1653 Copenhagen, Denmark

#7 of 102 hotels in Copenhagen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4289 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Central placed eco-hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning could’ve been better.

    Perfect placed eco-based hotel with personality. Staff very friendly. Beds are lovely. Great eco-products in the room to use as much as you’d like. The garden is nice and cozy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Cool hotel, great vibe, fab restaurant, sitting in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small, the bathroom was tiny. The bed squeaks and if you walk to the city Center, it takes about 45 minuets. But it’s close to Rivoli and station.

    Cool hotel, great vibe, fab restaurant, sitting in the garden, loved the breakfast. Close to the station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    Did not get much sleep - overall experience average - would not go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room small and very hot. Very noisy neighbourhood (near night clubs and sex shop around the corner) so not possible to open the windows. Witnessed theft in street outside hotel and constant noise and fighting at night. Organic coffee also not so good.

    Location close the the central train station. Eco friendly hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Very good bikes available for hire. Good breakfast for vegan and vegetarians.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Relaxed and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms looked great but in practice the basin was useless for functional purposes (other than teeth cleaning) and the bath likewise.

    Great location, interesting decor and rooms. Nice garden area for bar, breakfast in summer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    Good stay, easy walk from the station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we initially checked in I was told I had been upgraded to a roof room. However, when we got into our room it already contained some other peoples things. The reception team gave us another room but didnt really seem that bothered. Fortunately the inhabitants of the room were not in, it could have been very embarrassing for all concerned. The new room we received was not an upgrade and so although lovely a bit disappointing when compared with what we were originally given.

    The room was light and airy. The hotel was a very short walk from the station. We ate dinner in the courtyard and that was a very nice meal. The waiting staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Location is close to everything, property has fun design.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the street was crazy, all night. Shady people partying till morning outside hostel across the narrow street + vehicles. There is no ac so room is hot at night unless you keep windows open-didn’t sleep first night. Front desk moved my room next day, there was still street noise, but much less.

    Location is close to everything, property has fun design.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.1
    Toilet amenity is gd,.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So noise at night,. No air condition,. Staffs not friendly,. They will have extra charge if u are using foreign credit card,.

    Toilet amenity is gd,. Environmental friendly. Location is super good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed this rather quirky hotel and had a good night’s sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have preferred more space in room for our 2 large suitcases. Sofa was too soft and saggy. Loose rugs in hallway made it somewhat difficult to roll our suitcases

    We liked the eco products available in room. The bed was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.3
    Location is excellent and close to everything , very eco...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast, some of our family had rooms facing the noisy street and as red light district near they could hear noise at 2am

    Location is excellent and close to everything , very eco friendly , cool courtyard , funky decor

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.7
    I can't understand how this establishment got 4 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't understand how this establishment got 4 stars. The room and bathroom are so tiny. The beds are very small and not comfortable. There is no AC, so you have to open the windows and there is a pub on first floor. You can hear the screaming patrons till 1-2 AM.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    GREAT HOTEL WITH A DELICIOUS ORGANIC BREAKFAST
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Axel Guldsmeden is an excellent hotel with great service. It’s situated right in the centre of the city, close to the railwaystation. However the roms are very quiet and serene. Beautiful design! The breakfast is absolutely delicious with almost 100 percent organic ingredients, a lovely variety of bread, homemade yoghurts, marmelades and cheese. It’s great with a hotel that takes responsibility for the environment. So many hotels just make a greenwash-statement about the environment. The Guldsmeden hotels on the other hand is for real and are taking these issues really seriously. We will defenitely return!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Central to lots of things we wanted to do in Copenhagen but in a bit of a gritty area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hand held shower over the bath. It was hard not to get the bathroom very wet as the shower curtain was inadequate.

    The room was big and airey and the bed comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.8
    Would rather have stayed elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning and street too noisy to open window. Broken fan and no replacement available. Staff uninterested, looked like they would rather be somewhere else.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    The organic nature of the hotel, the food was superb, the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The organic nature of the hotel, the food was superb, the professional and friendly nature of the staff was just great. Really enjoyed staying there and will be back!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice, clean and well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a very unique decoration, all the rooms are different in size and distribution, but are nice. The hotel is very well located. Their internet work great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, in particular the garden and conservatory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a room facing the street and it was very noisy. The location is good and convenient for the station but in the middle of a red light district. I would still stay again but ask for a room facing the courtyard.

    Lovely hotel, in particular the garden and conservatory. Rooms was very small but had everything needed and the bed was comfortable. I loved the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay at a beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful, I love the dècor, it definitely exceeded my expectations. The location couldn’t have been better! It was within walking distance of all the sights and the trainstation was just up the road. The staff were helpful and the hotel provides really good bikes to rent for a small price. Our room was super clean and had lovely toilettry products.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Great Location! Eco Friendly! Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall, it simply was a great place to stay and I would stay there again. The only sad face is, construction was happening across the street so the noise in our room first thing in the morning was louder then what we wanted. This is no fault of the hotel.

    I loved that it was Eco friendly. The breakfast was amazing! great healthy choices. Bed very comfortable. Great location we walked to everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location just a few minutes walk from central station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite noisy in our room. Noise from people walking outside our room and also from the shower system.

    Good location just a few minutes walk from central station. Nice decor and good amenities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is just exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check in and check out process were a bit slow

    The hotel is just exceptional.. everything about it is extremely well thought off. Loved the attention to details and the fact that it's environmentally friendly, the breakfast buffet is everything you want! It has also a great location, its definitely my number one choice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable in Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed to have been put in a room facing the street with no balcony (as stated in our booking category). There was no air conditioning and it was quite warm in the room so you needed to open windows for fresh air - but this then made it way too noisy to sleep. The fan that was provided did not work, but this was replaced immediately on request. No blockout curtains so also a lot of light from the street lights at night. Our room was a good size, but felt really cramped due to a full height wall that had been built at the end of the bed to take the tv panels - this effectively cut the room in half and made it feel really pokey. Suggest requesting an internal courtyard facing room if you stay here.

    Good location near to the Central train station and the Tivoli gardens with plenty of bars, cafes and restaurants nearby. The hotel has a very warm, relaxed and comfortable feel and a bohemian vibe. Loved the garden area for relaxing with a coffe or a glass on wine. Breakfast was very good, but really expensive - like all of Copenhagen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning made the room very hot. Opening the window was very noisy. Not a huge issue but annoying. Maybe a thicker blind rather than the slated one. Food is all organic so is expensive. No more than any usual organic place though and definitely delicious.

    Room was cozy and all the organic products were fun. The restaurant had excellent food and staff. Hotel staff were very helpful. Wifi was perfect. Location couldn’t be better if travelling by train.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Close to Tivoli Gardens and Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very hot and stuffy with no air con and if we opened the window at night time, it was quite noisy with cars passing and shouting on the street, therefore had to sleep with no duvet over us. We really missed the lack of kettle facilities. The location is good as it is super close to the main attractions but as we got out of our taxi from the airport, the taxi man warned us not to go 3 blocks down from the hotel as there are drug dealers and prostitutes. One night my partner was chatted up by a prostitute whilst having a smoke outside.

    Beautiful reception area. Super friendly staff. Can't beat location as it is a minute walking distance to Tivoli Gardens and 2 mins to the main square. Fab room with a four-poster bed and organic wooden furniture. Toiletries and toothbrush and soft towels were there for use. Gorgeous waterfall shower and cute little courtyard area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Super hotel for CPH weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wooden floors in the corridors so is a bit noisy in the evening

    Beautiful rooms and excellent location next to main train station. Friendly and helpful staff. Didn’t use facilities but all seem excellent. Great value for CPH, would recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    I like the hotel decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was not appealing and 15-20 min walk to sights. The lighting in the room was not adequate. There is no AC but luckily it wasn’t hot.

    I like the hotel decor. It look serene. It was close to the train station and the Tivoli Park.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Very homely and great size family rooms.
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms really should have a small fridge and tea & coffee making facilities. I was very surprised these facilities were not available for a hotel of this standard. Whilst the rooms are quiet because they sit at the back of the hotel. The family rooms back onto the lift which can be noisy if guests are leaving for an early morning flight.

    Very homely and great size family rooms. Beautifully decorated and seriously comfy beds. Couldn’t have been happier with the family room. Very quiet rooms at the back of the hotel that look out onto the courtyard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location and cool design and bars downstairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanning was issue. We stayed 4 nights with connecting room. House keeping lady doesn’t seemed clean the rooms properly, she only did tidy up the bed but nothing else cleaned. Floor was dusty and my Kids have a dust allergy so they were suffering. Bathroom n shower never seemed clean as well.

    Good location and cool design and bars downstairs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    The staff were super friendly and were there for any...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were super friendly and were there for any questions we had. The breakfast included a great selection and the hotel itself had a nice atmosphere. The decor was unique and our room was beautiful ! 😁

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    We had a great time in Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast time was very busy with crowding around the self service food tables.

    This is a quirky, fun hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. The location is excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Location was perfect, great for airport access and in a cool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to access the spa whilst our room was getting ready but it is only avail last after 4 pm! Also it would have been great to have a fridge in the room

    Location was perfect, great for airport access and in a cool neighbourhood. Liked the decor around the hotel and the bar. The garden was particularly comfortable as was the conservatory area. Food was nice and abundant. Bed was excellent as were the toiletries and staff. All made us feel very confortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Such a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Such a great location! It is right next to the train station and there are plenty of shops and restaurants in the neighborhood. Very short walk to many attractions. The hotel itself is very chic and cute. Our room was the 2 twin room and while on the smaller side, it was sufficient for 2 people. The bathroom was very clean and modern. Our room had a juliet balcony and although it opened up to the back of the property, it was nice. I really enjoyed our stay here and would absolutely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is disappointingly small and there's no bathtub. I was expecting classic luxury but it turned out to be a hipster boutique hotel - a nice one actually, but I was just expecting more cachet.

    The breakfast is great! Healthier than most and in a nice setting, in the courtyard. The bed was very comfy too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    absolutely nothing

    There was nothing to dislike and everything to like in fact love. Great breakfasts, lovely outside area. Not only a green eco hotel but warm and welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    A special and nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom, and there should have been a cold minibar.

    The backyard was very nice and lovely in summer season, and the rooms were nice decorated. The bathroom was hopeless. It was hopeless to take a shower without having water everywhere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Great value, excellent location, cool place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was super hot. I opened the windows and could smell the smoke from someone smoking in the other room balconies. There were long hairs in the pillows when we first arrived.

    Excellent location! The room is very nice, and the eco-friendly things are super cool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    We walked 10 miles daily. Enjoyed our stay in CPH
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed in the std. room with a small living room area with a large screen tv. Also had a large tv in the bedroom area. Shower is totally open. Water goes all over bath floor. Floor stayed wet, making it unsafe when walking around the bathroom. Stayed 3 nights. Faced the street and the Urban Hotel. Didn't vacuum under the bed. Nice toiletries and hair dryer. Ask for a FAN when you check in. Rooms have No air condition.

    Proximity to the Central Station!! Had to be at the airport at 6am. NO taxi was needed. Station had many fast food places and money machines. Interesting fact; 7 Elevens have all kinds of fresh sandwiches and food. They are super popular as they have affordable items.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Another great stay at the Axel Guldsmeden
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Based on my past stays, I booked a Superior Double Room. In the old hotel, these rooms were situated on the courtyard side of the building and thereby avoided the street noise. This time, however, I had a Superior Double in Building 1 (315) and, unfortunately, it faced onto the street towards the Urban House, which is a hostel. There was a lot of noise from this hotel. Next time, I will speak to the hotel staff to ensure a courtyard facing room. I liked the separate shower and tub in my room however I would suggest that a simple curtain be rigged to separate the shower from the toilet. After a shower, there is water all over the bathroom, which makes using it difficult when you are clothed or have socks on your feet. Still love the hotel, though.

    I have stayed at the Axel Guldsmeden at least 6 times. I keep coming back because I really like the ambience and the style of the hotel. This time, I visited for the first time after they completed their renovations and expansion. The new lobby is lovely and there is now a restaurant onsite. Also, the courtyard has lots of nice tables and couches to enjoy a drink or breakfast. The new rooms have maintained the Balinese style of the original hotel. The breakfast is fantastic. Organic everything... beautiful freshly baked breaks, fresh salads and cheeses, Love the juices here. The bacon is awesome (although really salty!). This is, in my opinion, the best hotel close to the Central Train Station (and I have stayed at many).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    Really nice mini break in Copenhagen. Everything we wanted . Great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks in the room could have been chilled i.e. in a mini fridge but realise this is probably because it is an eco hotel.

    Relaxed vibe, very chilled. Very comfortable beds. Great breakfeast buffet with loads of choice. Great location for station easy to get to. Lovely courtyard garden for a relaxing breakfast or drinks. Helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    The interior & design of the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an eco hotel, there wasn’t any air conditioner. A table fan was provided which was doable during this time of the year. Just concerned for when its a hot summers day!

    The interior & design of the property. It was super clean. The room and bed was super cosy and comfortable. The toilet amenities were organic and locally made. Works really great and smells, natural and good. You can purchase them if you like. The in house restaurant/dining it lovely. Looks really good for breakfast, though we didn’t have the time to try it out, since we stayed for a night. Convenience for f&b was no issue, if restaurants are closed, you can find the 7-11 next door. Service and help from the staffs were not a disappointment!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Tastefully furnished room, really cosy with the canopy bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning so during our stay it got really hot inside the room. No coffee making facilities in the room. Due to central location, noise from the street throughout the night (room facing the street).

    Tastefully furnished room, really cosy with the canopy bed! Excellent location right next to central station. Nice courtyard. Efficient and friendly staff! Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.0
    Never accept a ground floor room or you will not sleep at all
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was to Copenhagen to do a very important work interview and need a good nights sleep before doing it. I had hardly any sleep at all, and this severely compromised my work the following day. Frankly, it was a total nightmare, something I would not wish on my worst enemy. I have never slept as badly in any hotel before, including a horrific airport hotel in Amsterdam where I was lodged one night years ago because my flight was cancelled. I arrived on one of the hottest days in Copenhagen for many years. The hotel cannot be blamed for not having air conditioning, as few Scandinavian hotels do. But the staff can be blamed for putting me in a stifling hot, airless ground floor room where just a few mini-windows high up could be opened a few centimeters (which had no effects whatsoever). I was given a fan, and it helped a little bit - or so I thought. Until I woke up in a panic at three o´clock, boiling hot, feeling claustrophobic. I rushed out to the night porter, and he immediately moved me to a room on the 3rd floor with normal windows that could be opened. This happened although I was told the night before that they had no other vacant rooms! My rescue me too late. The second room was perfectly nice and i slept well for the two following nights, but my stay was ruined because the first night was the essential one for me. I had deliberately chosen a Guldsmeden hotel because I have tried one before (Babette), which I really liked. Another, minor, experience: I hurt my knee at one point during my stay and was bleeding: I asked one of the staff at the reception i they had anything to rinse the wound with. He seemed to believe I was asking of plaster (and did´t seem to understand that you don´t want an infection). Anyway, the hotel had nothing, and the young man told me that the pharmacy at the Central Station was open. Along I went, my knee bleeding, but the farmacy was closed - and i did get an infection.

    The places has a nice decor, sort of Asian colonial, and a pretty back yard where you can sit and have your breakfast or just hang out. The breakfast itself is good, though not spectacular.ly so. It is better at Babette Guldsmeden, another Copenhagen hotel in the same chain; Guldsmeden has a nicer, although perhaps slightly less central, location as we'll). They use ecological products throughout in this chan, including in the bathroom, which is great. The mattress was really comfortable (room no two - more about room number one later). The staff were friendly, again with some (rather important) exceptions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Conveniently located eco hotel with comfy rooms, eco products and spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room, only a few organic mini bar products. Room was small and the sofa was under the TV on the wall rather than being at the end of the bed and facing towards TV. Had to sit on narrow bench or lie in bed to watch TV. We ate at the hotel restaurant, Cafe Nord, as we vere too tired to go out. The ambience in the courtyard seating area was okay but a lot more could have been done to it decor wise and to make it more relaxing. We had two tea light holders on our table. The tea lights were finished and needed replacing. No one bothered to check or light new tea lights. The service in the restaurant was very slow. The waiters looked like students. The steak arrived before my soup starter. When I pointed this out the waiter apologised and said it was a mistake and offered me a free pudding. The food was very good, all organic but the experience was let down by ambience (lack of) and poor service. I was expecting something more like Soho House - more sophisticated. They are making a great effort in some ways but are let down in others.

    The spa in the basement (one extra payment of 295K (£35) for your length of stay) is reallly worth the money. The outside dining area was pleasant but could have had better decor. Hotel interior nicely done. Our standard double room was in a separate building (2) with nice rugs on the floor. Room was small but tasteful. There were eco friendly products in the bathroom including bamboo toothbrushes. Comfy four poster bed. Very nice organic buffet breakfast was available. Hotel reception staff were helpful and nice. Not the best area of Copehagen but very convenient for Central station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    The decoration s room and the hotel s position.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not have a fridge.Strange for a 4 star hotel.... Noisy spot and the wifi so and so Breakfast not included in the overall high price

    The decoration s room and the hotel s position. Close to the train station and the city centre.Clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    2.5
    Noisy, cramped and very hot
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t understand the good reviews? Is there something I’m missing here? We could not sleep because of the traffic and other noise from the street. Thankfully we were only staying in this place for one night. I suppose it was exceptionally warm in Copenhagen when we stayed, but the hotel just isn’t fit for purpose. The windows, even when shut, cannot block out the noise from the busy street. I went down to complain and was told, too bad you didn’t realise you were booking s city centre hotel, that’s what you paid for!! You were then give a fan which didn’t really work! We were also told the noise dies down after 2am...it did not!!!! I must add, this was a weekday, Monday night. One of the 2 men at reception was really rude and dismissive. The rooms are so small, it’s like a bed in a box, with no room to walk. If you put your suitcase down, and heaven forbid, open it, you can’t walk around the bed. The showers are tiny and dirty. The toilet had stains and looked like it hadn’t been properly cleaned. There is a dirty, yellow shower curtain which gets gradually darker as you follow it down, from the dirt and water stains. The shower room is so small, you don’t have any space to put your toiletries, you just have to keep carrying them in and out of the room if you need anything. The hotel is banking on the eco-friendly ethos to carry it through and generate business. Don’t let that fool you. It’s just a bunch of slogans. The decor is already tired and dated. Breakfast is too expensive, we just walked to a local cafe. I cannot believe the amount of money they’re charging for this place. Save your money, save your time, and if you want to sleep at night, book somewhere else. I wish we had.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The next time I would request a room facing the courtyard. Because of the proximity to the station, there was a LOT of noise outside my window (I was on the 3rd floor). Drunks, car stereos blaring at max amped up volume. One night the sanitation department spent about two hours cleaning the broken glass and crap off the one block stretch in front of the hotel. As a result of all the noise, I generally could not fall asleep til 5 or 6 am.

    Close to the central station so transportation was a cinch. Staff was very friendly. There was a wonderful interior courtyard for drinks and coffee. The room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Amazing hotel but do not get a room on the street side
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was impossible to get any sleep, rooms on the street side are very noisy. Up to 2am noise from people outside coming back from nearby bars and from 5-7.30am constant noise from garbage trucks under our window. When mentioning it to the front desk we were kindly given breakfast for free and informed that next time it's better to book a deluxe room at a higher rate as they are on the courtyard side. Staff was very nice but I don't think a hotel should offer rooms at all on street side as they are aware of noise levels.

    Really beautiful hotel, great atmosphere, nice staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    3.8
    Don’t waste time or money on this dump
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in a trashy neighborhood, we were assigned a room in building 2 facing a noisy street with people shouting well past 4am each night. One could hear the commotion despite closing windows, which we were reluctant to do on warm days with no air conditioning. We learned this is a drug-infested area rife with head shops and strip clubs which account for much of the commotion. Staff were brusque and getting demands from other guests to change rooms because of the noise. Breakfast bar was a joke. All-in-all, poor choice which spoiled our visit to this beautiful city.

    It’s difficult to say anything positive. This was a terrible visit and I would NOT recommend staying here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.4
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was adequate but poor value for money. Bedroom was disappointing. Hotel seems to think gimmicks and slogans compensate for poor facilities. Noisy location but not the fault of the hotel! However, proliferation of smoking in the public areas pervades the hotel (pity the guests that get rooms above the restaurant eating areas). Contradiction of 'Eco / Socially responsible' hotel and encouragement of public smoking was not lost on the observer.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    LOCATION,SERVICE,QUALITY,UNPRETENTIOUS with class!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel's rental bikes are in much need of servicing.

    GREAT location...only 1 block away from the Central (main metro) train station. Transit (buses) close by too. Close to several restaurants,coffee shops, shopping. 5 minute walk to Tivoli Gardens & Stroget (pedestrian street) The hotel is very unique. On site restaurant/bar. Amazing/cozy courtyard where you can sit in anytime for a glass of wine and have your daily breakfast( if you choose to pay $40 cdn a person) Lots of selection for breakfast BUT very expensive! Our room was on the 4th floor with a quite little balcony facing the inner courtyard. We enjoyed our bright & modern room. Had a beautiful canopy bed with a great memory foam mattress. The bathroom had a nice deep bathtub but NO individual standup shower. The staff was very friendly & very accommodating. This is a cozy, unpretentious & very environmentally conscious hotel. Stayed 3 extra days.....We LOVED it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Cute, boutique, charming, green hotel centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, and it was very warm, but they did provide a fan. TINY room with no place to open my suitcase. There was a luggage rack but it I used it I couldn’t walk to the bed. Also lack of space in the bathroom for my “stuff”.

    Adorable, charming little room in a “green” hotel. My stay here was unexpected (a canceled flight left me stranded overnight in Copenhagen) and I was grateful to find this little gem. Good location if you use the metro but beware that the neighborhood is borderline sketchy with a strip club down the block and what appeared to be a porn store around the corner. There is a super adorable courtyard plus a cafe. I didn’t use either but if I had been staying for a more relaxing vacation I definitely would have! Finally, the room had a cute little porch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    General area improving but slightly sketchy. No problems really, and busy so not a real concern.

    Convenient to train terminal, and city in general. Staff helpful. Breakfast expensive so bought it at train terminal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Felt very at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere. Amazing breakfast and comfy beds. The ambience is very chilled - felt very at home. And their bathroom products smell amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.8
    Nice staff, good location, guest room cleanliness might have been better. Bed was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little too organic for my personal taste. They seem happy they do not use normal cleaning supplies and I did not find that too comforting. Shower tiles looked a little rough and very dimly lit. In bare feet you could feel wooden floors were not real clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Close distance to railway, city centre, shop and...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very small. The idea of four-poster bed in such tiny room souds like a crazy idea of interior decorator. Bathroom very small as well.

    Close distance to railway, city centre, shop and restaurants. Quality of breakfast was really amazing. Everything was delicious. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location. We caught the train from the airport and were unpacked within half hour!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can't think of is they only have organic cola. A very minor thing!

    The ethos of this hotel is amazing. Everyone is very friendly and there are so many little extras.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    The interior lounge and outside dining were nicely decorated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite the proximity to the bus and Tivoli, the neighborhood was not that great. We had to walk a ways to find food and drinks because all of the restaurants in the area were a little cheesy. And there seemed to be a bit of construction. If I come back I’d probably stay in the Christianshavn or Nyhavn areas. The room seemed very small. Breakfast is very expensive. Overall the hotel was pretty expensive for what you get.

    The interior lounge and outside dining were nicely decorated and comfortable. I loved that the rooms came with substantial shampoo and body wash, even chewable toothpaste. Tho we never took advantage of the mini bar options it was nice to know the room came equipped with a bottle of wine! And it was very close to the bus station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice outdoor courtyard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning

    Nice outdoor courtyard Small spa area Convenient city centre location near station - 10/15 minute walk to attractions Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location, but over-priced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was overpriced in my opinion. Also I underestimated the eco vibe, it made the decor seem a little basic which reinforced the over-pricing. Our room was GF with no view. It also wasn’t made clear at booking that the spa wasn’t included in price, which seemed quite poor given the price of the hotel. Same that breakfast wasn’t included.

    The rooms were clean and the courtyard was nice. Location great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would be good to be able to book a table for dinner. But they always had space when we turned up which was good.

    Lovely hotel in good location. Staff helpful, clean and tidy scandi rooms. Free coffee in the morning was a nice touch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.3
    not come again and not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    poor infrastructure: small/slow lift; slow sewer; permit a service but rejected it later; always occupied when calling front desk but 2 person did nothing when came; no towels at all on the second day

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.1
    The environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carrying luggage over to building. Size of room was a lot smaller than the double room with seating area that my friend got at the same rate.

    The environment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    thank you for having us.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At 5 in the morning there was a loud blowing noise coming from the bathroom and the noise never stopped...

    The room was really nice, the bed very comfortable and the beauty products luscious

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    This hotel is very special for mid-priced range and good location. It is a real gem :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The outdoor atrium area is bright, cheerfully decorated, great for relaxing in a comfortable chair, having coffee or breakfast, or an afternoon drink. The bar is cozy and the lobby area very cozy. Everything about the hotel is great! And we loved the "green" concept everywhere, natural high quality towels, focus on saving water and energy but in a very comfortable way.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    It was very nice and look forward to staying there, or there other locations in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy at night with people leaving to catch flights.

    +The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was very nice. I also appreciate the green emphasis.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    enjoyable except from midnight to 4:00.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street side was very noisy all night long with young bar patrons. We had a difficult time trying to get any sleep. Next time I'll ask for a garden side room.

    Quaint, friendly, clean, good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Very expensive for the standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom was very small and the shutters were useless so impossible to sleep: the sun was entering in the bedroom in the morning

    Good location & good breakfast (not included though)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Great location and facilities just a shame about the insulation of the glass as it kept us awake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was great but resulted in it being very noisy on an evening, we had street noise until early hours of the morning both nights which made it very difficult to sleep.

    The bathroom products were fantastic, clean beautiful rooms and the general style of the hotel was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Lively friendly place - nicely styled and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - one of the nicest places I've stayed. Hope to be back soon.

    Fabulous vibe - friendly staff, excellent breakfast buffet, good beds, great outdoor courtyard for just hanging out, nicely styled - and all eco-friendly. Excellent selection of restaurants nearby in the meat packing district.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Wi-Fi problem, otherwise good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-fi didn't work on our room, that was frustrating and big disappointment. The price of the breakfast was too much.

    Nice room and hotel. Staff was friendly and everything was clean. Nice ekological place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable venue, well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Tea or Coffee making facilities

    We ate out so didn't experience the restaurant. Breakfast Expensive at £22 per head ... but Copenhagen is not cheap. We ate breakfast nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.3
    Super lovely staff & hip decor in the ghetto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got moved on day 2 as our original room was on the road and my god it was like sleeping in the middle of a crack den! prostitutes and drug dealers fighting outside. Drunken people shouting ALL hours of the night and morning. Everyone talks highly about the location, but we didn't like the location of the hotel at all - it's not at all hipster or cool (in my opinion and I lived in wiliamsburg for 5 years)...it's just ghetto.

    The staff were outstanding, really really outstanding. The decor is cute. breakfast was delish. good bikes. 100% stay in a courtyard room!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    We would definitley use Guldsmeden hotels again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Difficult to get served in the cafe / bar area in the morning if not eating breakfast. Perhaps more staff needed on duty here.

    We liked the independent feel of the place and it's emphasis on sustainability. Decor was really funky.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    It's a great hotel with a perfect, central location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very expensive, even for Copenhagen standards.

    It's a great hotel with a perfect, central location, just a few minutes walk both from the central station and from the city center. Our room was very nice, cosy, clean and silent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice room in central Copenhagen that is a great value for any traveler!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very disappointed by the shower curtain not having a good fastener apparatus which took away from the experience of using the shower. The pillows were also slightly small than what we were used to but we did not have an issue with this.

    We thoroughly enjoyed the room furnishings, location and sustainable, unique hygiene products.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Me and my friends had very nice days in Copenhagen with good food and many nice experiences.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In my bathroom did not some lighting work, no water in shower in second morning and second day the wc did not work at all. It was a good breakfast but the food was late all the time.

    The bed was excellent , I love the ecologic thinking, the hotelgarden was calm and nice, the location of the hotel was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Axel Guldsmeden traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: