Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bretagne 4 stars

Sauntevej 18, 3100 Hornbæk, Denmark

#1 of 3 hotels in Hornbæk

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 267 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 23

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2018

    6.3
    Slightly disappointed
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a standard room and it was very standard. There was no glass to drink from only bathroom beakers. no water or coffee making facilities where provided. Towels where very small I had to use both after my shower. Would have been a very small room for 2 people

    Beds where very comfy and the tv had a good screen quality. Wifi was very good even though I was on the 3rd floor. View over the lake

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Very nicely renovated and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The yard was covered with round pebbles, which caused a lot of noise to the room in the evening/night when a car drove to the parking area. Overall a nice small hotel, but the air flow was bad/nonexistent and a suffered from a clogged up nose which started when I entered the room and stopped when I left the room. So there was something wrong with the air inside the room. The windows are too tight and I could not see where the air would come in to the room, only outgoing. I don't recommend this hotel to people sensitive to problems in the inside air in buildings.

    Very nicely renovated and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    My stay far exceeded any expectation I had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was sorry I had to leave.

    The entire staff were super helpful, professional, and friendly. Everyone was committed to ensuring all our needs were met. The food and service was exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Very comfortable stay in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no dislikes

    The very friendly atmosphere, beautiful decor, lovely food & well located for the fantastic beaches. Our rooms had balconies with fantastic views over the lake & the sea - We were able to sit out & enjoy the lovely sunsets. We were so pleased with our choice of hotel. it is ideally located for exploring this part of Denmark. An added bonus was the great weather. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    A beautiful hotel in a lovely location but a little overpriced. Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel lacked some atmosphere and warmth and staff did not appear overly interested. We had a top floor room which was extremely hot and no fan was available and had no wardrobe! Hotel lacked some touches we would have expected for the price e.g tea and coffee making facilities, mini bar and safe.

    The location was excellent for restaurants shops beaches and trains and ample free parking. The decor was very pretty and the hotel had been recently refurbished to a very high standard. Breakfast was very nice but quite sophisticated - not your regular fare.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable, well-sited hotel which benefits from great hands-on management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was very little to dislike about this well-run hotel. The only quibble would be the noise from the floor of the room above us (top-floor) and I suspect the people staying in the room below us would say the same!

    Great location overlooking the lake and a short walk to the marina and beaches. Wonderful food, beautifully presented at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Good selection of wines but surprised to find no Prosecco! However, the house Champagne was excellent and reasonably priced. Helpful staff, good free WiFi and hotel parking right outside.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel in prime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little party noise from the neighborhood in the evening, but nothing major to diminish a wonderful experience.

    Excellent location and beautiful grounds, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel in idyllic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant does not cater for vegetarians. We booked a table in advance and specifically mentioned that we were vegetarians. However, on the evening of our meal the staff were not aware of this, and there was a long delay while the perplexed waitress consulted the chef. Eventually we were presented with a modest plate of vegetables and quail eggs. The prices in the restaurant are very high by UK standards.

    Beautiful, stylish, newly decorated hotel. Convenient location within a few minutes walking distance from the railway station. Lovely view over the lake from the restaurant and terrace. Direct access to lake via garden. Excellent breakfast buffet. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.3
    For a short stay, it's ok.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was small, very small (I never had such a small hotel-room before). Breakfast was very simple, scrambled eggs cold, ...

    The view from the breakfastroom is beautiful. WiFi is ok. Warm welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic restaurant on site with great wine list. Staff friendly and service minded. Peaceful, silent with amazing view and just a few minutes walk from centre of town. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Charming and handsome hotel in danish riviera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would like to have lake view from our room. :)

    Recently renovated in classic style is very bright and pleasant. Near a beautiful lake we made a beautiful ride to the sea. The breakfast and the breakfast room are not to be missed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.5
    A great start to our holiday in Denmark
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Information on hotel facilities. Notice in our room said restaurant was only open Thursday- Saturday. If fact it was only shut on Sunday night and we only had one excellent meal. Nevertheless there were some lovely restaurants in the town.

    Restaurant and overall ambience of hotel and Hornbaek. On line photos of the hotel showed no people but all staff and guests were warm and friendly. Hotel was nearly full all the time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    10
    Super easy to get on the train from Copenhagen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super easy to get on the train from Copenhagen. Only 5min walk from the station. Beautyfly located close to the sea, overlooking lake. Tasty and good quality b'fast. Shops and reastaurats close by. Strong wifi. We'll be comming back shortley 🙂 Great, newly refurbished hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    The breakfast was extraordinary good with a nice view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was extraordinary good with a nice view throughout the lake and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice quite location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice quite location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.3
    Expect at view over the sea when staing at at place like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expect at view over the sea when staing at at place like this. Not a parkinglot with noizy trucks at 7 am

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic staff, super helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic staff, super helpful. The breakfast was incredible. Highly recommend this place

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Nicely decorated room with a beautiful view on the lake and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nicely decorated room with a beautiful view on the lake and the sea beyond. Excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    All of it
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All of it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    The owner was an amazing host.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner was an amazing host..the hotel was charming and clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Hornbaek 😎
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure!!

    New and lovely renovated room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Really good quality decor and excellent welcome from host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Views and decor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far to the beach, no facilities on site

    Breakfast. Nice sunset from the terrace

    Stayed in August 2017

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 23