Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Broholm Castle 3 stars

Broholmsvej 32, 5884 Gudme, Denmark

#1 of 2 hotels in Gudme

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 121 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 17

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property's exterior was under renovation when we visited, so the pond/lake and the moat were not very pleasing. I thought there was plenty of places to walk around nearby, but we pretty much walked around the castle and that was it. The location was very far out in the middle of nowhere. I was glad we were able to reach the property before dark. Otherwise, we may not find it at all.

    friendly, helpful staff. Big family room with a separate bedroom and a kitchenette. A castle that you can actually use and touch things. Nice scenic drive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place to stay for a romantic get away at this small castle. Don't miss the afternoon tea in the fantastic living rooms in a separate building.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were upgrading the place, so a few construction materials around. But I would say it's necessary to keep the place looking great.

    The castle is charming and cozy. Service/staff were impeccable. Travelled with our 5month old baby and they were very accommodating. Dinner was delicious partnered with amazing service. Not used to leaving baby in pram outside but apparently it's common in Denmark.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No TV in the room, construction works and revamping all over the place until 2018, was a bad surprise. Breakfast was at extra cost of EUR approx. 20,- p. P. Expensive, simple standard breakfast, questionable value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not told about the works at the front of the castle prior to our arrival. Double bed rather than two singles pushed together should have been expected in the suite.

    Fantastic location to stay in. Very interesting house and grounds to explore. The room was a good size and comfortable. Very spacious bathroom with a decent bah tub. The restaurant was great for dinner and for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room is on a basement floor

    The stuff was very friendly and helpful. The castle was full with atmosphere and countless hidden treasures. The garden and surroundings are beautifull. There is a lot to do around the castle.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a fabulous castle where you feel a bit like The Lord and Lady of the manor. Surrounded by a moat the rooms overlook either open countryside or the pretty courtyard. The rooms are comfortable and furnished beautifully with antiques. The restaurant was excellent. The food was of a very high quality and beautifully served by friendly but professional staff. After dinner coffee was served in the candlelit rooms of state in the castle itself. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The castle is very overpriced. The breakfast was expensive for what was basically a continental with no hot dishes. The family room was in the basement and had a separate entrance so it didn't really feel like we were staying in the castle - a disappointment to our kids since we had chosen this place because it was a castle. It was large enough, but the couch was very uncomfortable and we felt that the facilities did not match the cost. Overall it was fine, but a bit overpriced.

    It was a nice setting. The castle was pretty and we enjoyed the grounds and exploring the old rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a unique one of a kind experience! Such a beautiful castle filled with history! Service was excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent food and very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of something

    Lovely spot, wonderful surrounding, great hotelrooms and very very very polite and helpful staff!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I can't think of anything I didn't like.

    This is a beautiful castle in a lovely rural setting. The staff are fantastic! Even though we were a late arrival they really went the extra mile to accommodate our needs! The food was fabulous and the castle itself charming, interesting and well-maintained.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    N.A.

    The hotel is beautifully set in an old castle, surrounded by a moat where swans swim. Absolutely romantic and full of history, including some slightly creepy aspects. The room was spacious and charming. The hotel has also a restaurant with decent food.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything. This was a two night treat as part of a lovely holiday and worth every penny. The food, wines and charming service cannot be beaten. Don't hesitate.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience. Room was not extraordinary but it was fine, comfortable and clean

    Had fabulous dinner in the restaurant! Enjoyed having the run of the place.... We were able to enjoy the grand surroundings like they were our own.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful castle in rural aetting. Great hosts. Excellent restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was slightly cold in the room

    Great historic castle and confortable too.....

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 17

Guests also reviewed these properties: