Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Color Hotel Skagen 4 stars

Gl. Landevej 39, 9990 Skagen, Denmark

#6 of 12 hotels in Skagen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 562 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room lacked some facilities. As a minimum there should be a fridge, a water boiler and aircondition.

    Staff very friendly. Restaurant and breakfast food very good. Nicely situated buildings, nice swimmingpool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    good hotel near the city center and attractions with nice staff - beds not so comfy
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we didnt get our room cleaned nor refilled (soap, paper)

    beds are just ok, nothing great. Pillows look more like napkins, pretty uncomfortable to be honest.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Great breakfast, friendly staff and a wonderful atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast, friendly staff and a wonderful atmosphere! Dined in both the cafe and outdoor (grill buffet) - all was good. Rental bikes available, but not for kids.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Loved our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel with very helpfull and friendly staff. We asked for a map and they immediately explained everything on it and gave advise about when was the best time for a visit. Very good and large breakfast. Nice swimming pool, surrounded by small dunes to separate it from the terrace. Good location, you can rent bikes and explore the area that way. There's a cafe (small menu, but really good food) and a restaurant (more sophisticated). Nice rooms. Also ideal for a longer stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.0
    We didn't stay much in the hotel, but when we did, it...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't stay much in the hotel, but when we did, it was pretty good. The food at the cafe is good, and they have bikes which you can rent and return at the hotel, which is pretty nice :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Best value for your money in Skagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool had odd opening hours. It was from 4-6, a time frame where you are out sightseeing in Skagen. Maybe it was the time of the year we went, but we were really looking forward to spending some time there, but maybe next time.

    The breakfast was amazing, best I've ever had. So much to choose from and all tasted amazing. We had a room in the corner of the property, away from everything. It was so nice and quiet, we really loved this place and would stay here again, when we go back to Skagen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    2.9
    rac ist staffs, definitely NOT a 4 star, it is a MOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a MOTEL, not a 4* hotel ! NO WAY this place could be called hotel. It was horrible. Staffs were raci st and very often were very upset to even look at us. At the reception or even at the bar for a well deserved drink we had the impression not to be welcomed. Back to the room, not even a toothbrush.

    Good parking, good breakifast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.5
    A comfortable Hotel but the rooms did not match the rest of the Hotel facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was basic and had insufficient furniture to store our clothes, we did not fully unpack our case. The room needed decoration.

    Breakfast was comprehensive. The room was quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Typical Overpriced Northern European Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typical Northern European hotel: very warm in the rooms, no top sheet on the beds, no A/C, can't open windows in rooms near Resturant as the smoke and noise come into room. The hotel is a fair walking distance from the Centrum, so be prepared to walk as there is not much parking during week 29.

    Beds were comfortable, breakfast was very good, service was good, employees were pleasant, well stocked bar, working ATM.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    2.5
    Terrible hotel and terrible stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything. The rooms need update and renovation, even some IKEA furnitures added to the room would have been an improvement. The bathrooms needs hooks for clothes, and a shelf for ones articles to be placed on. The price does not adequate for the standard of the hotel. It ahs four star, but should probably only have two.

    Nothing. My overall score is 0- nothing else. Terrible rooms. Nowhere to put clothes, bathroom tiny. Maid service very unsatisfactory. Absolute not value for money. Should have charged less than $ 100 per night just to sleep. I would never chose or recommend this property to anyone, and I am a very seasoned traveler worldwide.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, really

    Super breakfast. Excellent diner, charming waitress

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.2
    Worms on the wall :((((()
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worms on the wall :((((()

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Place to go again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So windy !!! the door key is not perfect and so it took for long time to lock the door...

    Polite service and Great landscape !!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.4
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very average all round for the price paid

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.2
    Easy to rent good bicycles with a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to rent good bicycles with a good price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Not cheap but a wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee/tea machine, safe and fridge in room

    Location, location, location as the real estate agents say

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.2
    Dejligt ophold
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and competent staff. Nice facilities, and good food and service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Pleasant stay at a fantabulous place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was simply amazing.. rooms were like you are spending your time like a king :) Good breakfast and round the clock bar open.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could offer a bit more.

    Staff, quietness and the restaurant

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast was really good, the room is amazing and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is a bit far from downtown, and if you don´t have a bike or a car it can be a 2km walk. However they offer bikes for a reasonable price, as long as you get them early, because they have a limited number.

    Breakfast was really good, the room is amazing and everything was clean and organized.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    9.2
    Central and Nice staff😋
    • Family with young children

    When we arrived the Hotel very late the kids beds were not made up .. The Hotel staff came in with bed linen but I felt it was appropriate that they made the bed up, not us..

    Central and Nice staff😋

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    9.2
    The place is inviting, the staff were very helpful and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some of the other travelers kept up until rather late with music and drinking

    The place is inviting, the staff were very helpful and the place had many facilities such as a garden, place for children to roam, etc.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    9.6
    We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at the Color Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 nights at the Color Hotel. Our room was nicely appointed and very clean. The staff were very accommodating. We attended a special party at the hotel and the dinner was fantastic and your wait staff were extremely professional. Well done!

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    5.8
    Clean rooms and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Quite worn down facilities, specially activity room. Relatively high price compared to value (paid DKK 2300 per night for familiy room/ apt.). Breakfast below average (did not try other meals/ restaurant)

    Clean rooms and facilities. Nice and polity staff. OK selection of activities. Central location in Skagen.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.8
    Nice Hotel - great location - beautiful poolarea - good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor cleaning of the room Dirty floors and bathroom Would like it to be better next time Change bed every 2-3 days - wasn't change during our five days stay

    Nice Hotel - great location - beautiful poolarea - good service

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.2
    I liked the family room and the interior of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I think the children's menu in the restaurant was unhealthy. We chose the fish and it was far too fat and salty for children. There was a small playground that was nice, but we would have liked if there was a bigger playground for children.

    I liked the family room and the interior of the hotel. I loved the furniture in the hotel and the swimming pool area was clean and nice. Also liked the mix of hotel rooms and Apartments.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    7.9
    Restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No entertainment for children - a few toys or crayons would be a nice touch in reception or cafe area. Also, smaller bikes would be beneficial.

    Restaurant

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    6.3
    Spiderwebs over bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spiderwebs over bed. The room reeked of smoke when we stept inn.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.5
    spacious apartment, fully equipped
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    you have to pay to rent bikes

    spacious apartment, fully equipped

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    8.8
    Everything was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was ok. We had a nice stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    5.8
    Position Of the hôtel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Flying Ants everywhere in the bathroom and near the bay Windows, Paying againt for minigolf what a rip

    Position Of the hôtel

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    5.8
    Location and space around hotel for Children to play.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The apartments don't have daily cleaning and fresh towels.

    Location and space around hotel for Children to play. Pool is a hit.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    7.5
    friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    friendly people

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    6.7
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.9
    Hotel staff are great, wifi very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed poor.Duvets too heavy

    Hotel staff are great, wifi very good.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: