Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Comwell Borupgaard 4 stars

Nørrevej 80, 3070 Snekkersten, Denmark

#3 of 3 hotels in Snekkersten

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 583 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    i will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location is very good for many "places of interest" as luisiana mus. and helsinor. very helpfull stuff. private, free, parking. very quiet. very good breakfast. i had a rtee at my window...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice - will definitely be back again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was the lack of air conditioning in the room - it was quite stuffy during the night and I wasn't able to open the window.

    The hotel was excellent, the rooms were clean, the staff were really friendly and helpful and the food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Good Facilities and Friendly Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No laundry or dry cleaning facilities. No air conditioning and all rooms very warm. Room required general refurbishment and improvements to electricity sockets. You must carry luggage up stairs in order to reach the lift. In my global experience, more of an excellent 3* hotel with excellent spa and business meeting facilities than 4*. But my stay overall was positive.

    Very friendly andvhelpful staff. Good overall facilities, cleanliness and ambience. Spacious room. Close to Snekkersten railway station. Plentiful breakfast. Dinner options limited but tasty and wholesome. Good beverage selection in the restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    This hotel is a hidden gem in that area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a hidden gem in that area. You have a direct access to the trains and can easily reach Copenhagen center within 35 minutes. 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    I would definitely recommend staying here, just during a cooler time of year.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was unexpectedly warm for the time of year and the rooms were a bit too warm as a result.

    The food for breakfast, snacks, and dinner were all really great! The staff was extremely helpful with whatever we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Good food, friendly waiter/waitress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See through curtains - not fashion, but staff said they are due for a refurbishment and black outs are to be reinstalled!

    Good food, friendly waiter/waitress. Quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    3.8
    terrible service ruining the full experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - hotel was under works, no carpet in hallways of bedrooms areas, signs lying on the floor...: not mentioned during reservation - we went to the pool with our kids: we didn't know that it was not allowed under 16 year old!! Receptionist told us impolitely (nikki) to get out and mentioned we have nothing to do in this hotel as it is an "adult hotel". I am not sure the manager of the hotel would have agreed, but I was not allowed to talk to him. - breakfast is limited - rooms are old looking

    bar/common areas with nice design

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    A great place to unwind. Spa is awesome.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant is over priced. There used to be a cozy pizza and grill restaurant next door but now that it is gone, there is nowhere else to quickly go to grab a snack or a meal other than the hotel.

    This was our third visit here. We come from just about an hour and a half away for a weekend of R and R and this place never disappoints because of the AquaSpa, the pretty surroundings, and the nearby beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.3
    Technical problems interfered with our stay, the staff did their best to compensate us though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to a technical problem, no hot water and no spa on the day of our arrival, making a stay in a spa resort pretty useless. The next day most problems were fixed, but still no outdoors jacoozi. We were compensated to the best of their ability, but it was still a bummer..

    The food was great, the spa was excellent (once it started working) and the room was very comfortable and big.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.7
    Good location to visit Copenhagen and Kronborg castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parking places on first day of stay, restaurant fully booked and not available for us, some lights in room didn't work

    Close to railway station to Copenhagen

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Simply the best of Denmark: modern with plenty of "hygge".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comwell Borupgaard was a perfect blend of modern and traditional. The sleek fireplaces in the lobby and bar gave a relaxing, spa-like mood. The thatched roof building outside the breakfast room reminded me of old Denmark. The breakfast was spectacular: all organic and with a cool Danish presentation. The staff was outstanding. I was greeted warmly by the receptionist who remembered my phone call. I would love to come back to Borupgaard!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous hotel, especially the night before a big presentation!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet connection in my room was crazy weak. As I needed to make a video conference call, this was a concern. However, I went to the front desk and they accommodated the concern by opening a conference room I could use for the call. As a note for any English speaking people: the pool, sauna and fitness room require an additional fee of around dk300- per stay (whether one night or several days), but there is no English info in the rooms about this. If they do not give you slippers and a robe upon check-in, you've not paid it.

    The premises are breathtaking and you can walk down the hill to the cutest village and little harbor in a matter of minutes. During my stay, there was a bit of construction, but there was never a noise issue. It was a business trip, yet, the surroundings and calm made it feel like a mini-break. I needed to present the following day, and that was a success, too. Thank heaven for good pillows.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    6.7
    Large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We miss´d information about the hotell. Would like to have a map over the area and places to visit för Tourists. Information about when breaksfast is served and when to check out.

    Large room. Good parking. We can have our Little dog with us!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    6.3
    would not go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast only til ten am. Checkout time 10am, too early. Offerings in restaurant heavy on meats, almost no fish, in Denmark? extended stay, from 1 to three nights because of location mostly, rates jumped unreasonably in our view; construction going on in hotel (drilling). Staff seems overworked and dour.

    Room and bed good. Parking good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice people. Very helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing. Scrambled eggs looked and tasted like some sort of wall treatment and there was no Danish bacon

    Comfortable rooms - the renovated Ines that is. Helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    Quite relaxing but could have been so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When entering the bedroom there was a stale smell. The easy chair was stained.The milk in the room was a sachet of powder.There was little choice for the dinner menu in the restaurant.When we asked for a vegetarian alternative we were offered fish!The dessert seemed invisible but we were told it was a Danish favourite.

    We had a warm welcome at reception. The facilities were good.The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location and very friendly staff. Rooms need some work and updating
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are not of the same standard as the rest of the hotel, but are undergoing current renovation we were told. Guest rooms as well as bathrooms need attention and renovation: new mattresses, new carpets, flooring and completely new bathrooms. No double beds are available, only single beds, which can be pushed together. Breakfast was excellent with a big variety for every taste and needs (including gluten free products), but unfortunately there is no choice of coffees, just regular, fairly poor filter coffee. However, everything else the hotel has to offer makes up for the the few negative points and we would deifinitely stay here again.

    Excellent service, all public areas are very nice and create a very relaxed athmosphere. The breakfast was excellent, except for the coffee. Hotel has 2 very good Spa areas with inside and outside rest areas. Location of the hotel is very good, yet the hotel is very quiet. 3 minutes to the train station and 5 minutes walk to the seaside and 10 minute drive to Louisiana museum. Also very pet friendly, we even had a bag with dog food upon arrival in the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.2
    Another great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit tired and needs modernising.

    Great spa, relaxing, quiet, nice staff, modern reception area, pillow menu was nice and good to have a kettle in the room for making tea.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel but staff might as well have been robots.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult stairs to rooms assigned to guests traveling with dogs. Elevator only for regular guests. Staff not super friendly. Lunch buffet gave me stomach ache.

    Beautiful modern building with restaurant, bar and spa. Spacious green surroundings.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    7.9
    A peaceful break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bedrooms are somewhat basic and a bit outdated. The worst selection of abstract art that I have ever seen.

    Friendly helpful staff. Nice quiet bedroom at the back of the hotel. Good breakfasts. Evening meal and bar food good also. 2 Minutes walk to train station for Copenhagen - really handy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    7.1
    Our room was on the lowest floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the lowest floor. The room was like being in a basement. While we had a window, it was still very dark in the room. The lighting was not very bright to offset this dark room. Be sure and park in the gated lot, which is a walk from the hotel, as the closer lot which is ungated has signs warning of car breaking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.9
    good hotel with nice people
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    have been in one of the recently renovated rooms. Have to say that I prefer the former style. It was less decorated - what I prefer.

    your People are really nice and the new beds are more comfortable / softer than the old ones. Slept ver nicely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    7.9
    I would recomend this hotel to other colleagues traveling for business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had a room on first floor with very poor view, I found also spiders. I don't mind however for this price they should have not been there.

    The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were just great :) I liked it very much

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    10
    Near to the train and near to the sea
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wall to wall- carpets, the washbasin was nice but very unpractical especially for shorter persons the water came on the wooden bench

    The bedlamps were great and the magnifying glass on the mirror and we liked the size of the room and the breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    a really nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    5.8
    The carpets was dreadfull.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets was dreadfull. `Perhaps the worst I have ever seen

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Work.... but the hotel acts like a balm...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff are so friendly and attentive

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast

    Nice surroundings

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful hotel and location, I really appreciated the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa is not free! And it's not so incredible as we must pay for it

    Wonderful hotel and location, I really appreciated the atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.4
    Poor cleaning in the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor cleaning in the bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel with nice spa area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cooked breakfast was disappointing (anemic scrambled eggs and mini sausages when Denmark is famed for its bacon)

    Comfortable bed and quiet location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    5.4
    Too warm in the rooms in the Summer
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too warm in the room even with windows open. The hotel need air condition for sure!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    6.3
    Förfärliga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Middagen medioker

    Förfärliga. knöliga kuddar

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    8.8
    Nice accomodation but very high priced
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    price/worth relation a bit pricey

    Breakfast was excellent, Food as well, Spa area was good, although the swimming pool is pretty small.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful grounds and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The interior is dated. Needs new carpets, and some new furniture.

    helpful staff; wonderful breakfast; lovely grounds; close to train station

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    6.7
    Close but not quite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seems like a hotel that wants to be nice, but is in transition. They were updating rooms while we were there. could turn out nice.

    External facilities

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    9.2
    nice service at an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    swimming pool in spa not really a swimming pool

    location, service, art, breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    10
    Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean and modern and well located for Helsingor and the railway line to Copenhagen.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    7.9
    good atmosphere
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathrooms on the rooms

    design and calmness in all the areas, and an excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    6.7
    Enjoyed the beautiful garden, spa and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi signal in bedroom, limited English channels on TV. Tried to book a package for our anniversary but no discount or incentive given. Superior room just a standard double on a higher floor. Have to pay extra £20 each to access the aqua spa and gym

    Enjoyed the beautiful garden, spa and pool.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    The hotel is surrounded by a beautiful park, located in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is surrounded by a beautiful park, located in a quiet area but not too far from the city center by car. The facilities of the hotel are good, and the rooms are large and comfortable although quite simple. The breakfast was really superb. I do travel a lot and I’ve rarely saw a breakfast so diversified and also with a great variety of local dishes.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    7.5
    Very nice and peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lack of furniture to put cloth in. Hair dryer dirty. Difficult to get response about requests. Use of the "danish system" charging extra fees with use of credit cards.

    Very nice and peaceful location. Excellent breakfast. Most of the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.6
    The air is great i needed fresh air, dealing with lung...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The air is great i needed fresh air, dealing with lung issues. Wow, the window opened to the forest, the birds were singing, i could watch the rain. I stayed 5 days recovering, the sauna, pool, spa area just so peaceful. Great art and sculptures on the grounds, i took a cup of tea and just sat outside in the courtyard looking at the beautiful old perfectly maintained buildings with thatched roofs. Took day trips to helsingor, lousiana museum, and copenhagen ,being the furthest at a pleasant 40 minute train ride. Get the 24 hour ticket for day trips to save about 40% on train ticket, buy it at 7-11. The restaurant was classy, comfy, good food, not to disappoint even this home cook. All in all not bad if you are the kind of traveler who wants to slow down and regenerate. Not good if you have three days to see copenhagen because the train times my feel too wasteful, but lousiana art museum is just 15 minutes away by train, so i guess it really depends on what you want to see.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    10
    The people, the restaurant, food and staff both excellent,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The people, the restaurant, food and staff both excellent, and loved the modern design in the hotel and room. The location was perfect for out trip through Denmark and we will stay here again on our next trip.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    6.7
    Had the suite with a large room 50 sq meters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Properly the surroundings is more interesting at summertime with green leaves etc. Though from the room, suite, the view was a bit borring, either down to the yard/buildings/spa or other direction too a chimney, I think you could hear it at night, or something else it was, anyway if you are a little sensitive to sound its not good. Curtains did not fully cover, but was fair. In general clean, but had to clean some red spots at the bathroom myself, the personnel thought that it was something that could not go off, which is not okay. I would prefer to be able to controll the exhaust for moisture, I did not find that. There is a little modest fitness room, no heavy handweights, but there is running machines etc, so still ok. In the couch I miss a pillow. For the chair something for the legs.

    Had the suite with a large room 50 sq meters. Good deal. Two nice toilets, works better than from pics I think. The large toilet had a nice big bathtube and heat in floor. You can easily take a walk to the sea. Had a balcony where you can sit with a table (at summertime). Breakfast with smoothies.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    7.9
    The spa, the grounds and close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Need more comfortable bed.

    The spa, the grounds and close to the beach. Breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    8.3
    friendly staff, nice food and breakfast, nice reception area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no bath in the room

    friendly staff, nice food and breakfast, nice reception area

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.5
    Location, just 5 min walking from the train station, where...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, just 5 min walking from the train station, where you can catch a direct train to the airport. Nice dinner and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    8.8
    Modern hotel, good facilities and wifi, breakfast has...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Modern hotel, good facilities and wifi, breakfast has excellent variety with plenty of healthy options.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.8
    Located in a nice green area, a beautiful place with a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Located in a nice green area, a beautiful place with a nice indoor and outdoor spa facilities. Amazing!

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.8
    Location and buildings beautiful - very peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and buildings beautiful - very peaceful. Staff incredibly friendly and helpful. I love the large artworks throughout the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.2
    We loved the location and the spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the location and the spacious room

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    7.5
    Location, environment, sorrounding areas, breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location, environment, sorrounding areas, breakfast

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Browse Comwell Borupgaard traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: