Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Comwell Hvide Hus Aalborg 4 stars

Vesterbro 2, 9000 Aalborg, Denmark

#2 of 23 hotels in Aalborg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 576 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was missing a keddle in the room. Communication between staff could be better regarding my breakfast. I got a very nice reply a few days previous to my stay how I should just let the kitchen know about my arrival for breakfast and they would put something vegan together. And so I do. One older waiter brings me a whole 1l soy milk I can pour over musli. And show me the fried tomatoes and apples. Hmm 🤔 not impressed. I sit a bit. I'm here for work and will need better lifeforcefood so I find another waiter who look at the computer, goes to the kitchen and return letting me know the chefs are cooking something for me. Little stressed I wait half hour and the most amazing vegan dishes comes in. All is good. Next time I will stay here again. Please make sure the information is given from the beginning.

    Nice interior. Beautiful view. Nice food. Quiet room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be good to have a small store in the lobby with necessities like water and colas as well as small meals as minibars are not in the rooms.

    Always nice to stay at Comwell. All facilities are fine, excellent breakfast, soft beds, iron in room, good lobby and bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked barman for a glass of Martini for my wife and got something with very strong smell and taste of vodka. He claimed it was a pure Martini but it was not. Cleaning could be better (dry traces of water on walls in bathroom). Balcony door, windows, on wall hair dryer seems to be at least 30 years old.

    Good location (exactly what was needed), nice and spacious room. Comfortable lounge areas. Decent breakfast. Plus we got a good discount.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cold in the room, heating is not strong enough. The business area is next to the entrance and heating is not strong enough, those people working there on their lap tops were wearing winter coats everytime I passed by.

    A beautiful sitting area with fireplace and nice atmosphere. Very nicely designed and I loved the couches and blankets. Nice balconies and very good location with parking garage available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no drink making facility in room. bed too soft. menu choices for room service very limited

    Check in Clerk Ditte was extremely lovely, welcoming and pleasant. Hotel environment was very lovely and clean. Food was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was sold as a double room but there were two separate beds, two seperate mattresses and two seperate duvets. It was certainly annoying when the beds kept splitting druring the night.

    The view from the hotel was beautiful and beds were comfy and soft and the lobby was so warm and welcoming and so were the staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy at the weekends with concert near by and events going on. The rooms were very basic and a little tired - they could do with a makeover like the reception area!

    Good location with a nice breakfast. Gym was basic but has a good view! Helpful staff who spoke v good English. Comfortable bed. Decor in main reception and bar area was modern and stylish.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both bathrooms needed better cleaning. Bed was fine, but we did expect a single double bed rather than 2 single beds not properly fastened together. Price was in the higher end.

    View was good. Location was fine too - very close to the concert we attended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated bathroom, water pressure low. Very warm in the room, no aircon (leaving door to balcony open resulted in lots of musquitoes). Soft beds (personal preference of course, but we did not enjoy them).

    Spacious room with nice sofa and chair. Friendly personel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was expensive to park our car on site. Credit card charge (1.8%) and the account was taken from the credit card without giving us the option to pay cash.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was so bad. Food ok but they didn't wanted me. Find your table yourself, couldn't recommend a wine, had to go to the bar to ask for dessert and coffee, nobody came to the table etc.

    Everything was perfect except the restaurant. Upgraded room on 14 floor with fantastic view over the entire city and area. Good facilities in the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing specific.

    Our room faced the park which provided a lovely view, quiet, and privacy. The breakfast was very good with a variety of choices. The room was comfortable but not plush. Beds were very good. Everything was clean and neat. The staff was professional and very helpful. The location is very good, although there are few restaurants and bars near the hotel. The neighborhood is nice and the area is safe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    restaurant service very stripped back for time of year so only had breakfast in hotel a kettle in the room would have been appreciated there was no radio station included on the otherwise excellent television

    breakfast selection very good room very spacious comfortable armchair excellent desk and lighting very comfortable bed good balcony [all rooms have a balcony] very convenient for going to centre of Aalborg - with a very direct route via adjacent park

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No complaints.

    The breakfast was terrific. Fresh. The terrific kitchen staff made a custom appetizer for us at one point. Nice views of the City. Easy walk through the park to shopping and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow could've been firmer, and the breakfast was merely ok, nothing spectacular. But now I'm nitpicking.

    Shower, internet, bed, all great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. We've never been informed we'd practically stay in the middle of the carnival. We could have planned the trip to avoid it. 2. Carnival ended by 10pm, but the party in the hotel continued until 2am and restated around 4am. Hotel staff were completely careless towards the other guests of the hotel, taking no action to cool things down. 3. The hotel was only marginally refurbished. Probably built in the 70s, showing visible signs everywhere. Price exceeds by far the offering. 4. Breakfast focused around fried products, totally unhealthy.

    Good location, just a 10 min walk from downtown area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As another reviewer mentioned, the rooms door have to be slammed to close, so there is a lot of noise coming from this. Also, the commercial-style soap dispensers in the bathroom detracted from an otherwise nice room.

    Lots of parking (paid), good Wifi, helpful staff, was able to walk to town in about 10-15 minutes. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was lovely but could be even more personal - though they were very busy due to Easter. Please do more to accomodate gluten and lactose allergies....some lactose free yoghurt at the breaky table isn't good enough anno 2017.

    Clean room and lovely furniture though it's an older establishment. It's super close to the city centre walking distance approx 5- 10 min. It's airy and calm.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    For the price of the room, there should be possible to get a cup of coffee or tea or a way of making one. A little fridge in the room would have been nice as well.

    Excellent location and facilities. Beautiful view from the exercise room in the 16th floor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were comfortable, but the room was a little warm, we had to turn the heat completely off and open the door a bit. Luckily there was a very nice balcony that allowed us to do that. The heated floor in the bathroom was an added bonus.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matress was much too smooth - woke up with pain in the back... Should be replaced! Door to balcony and bath old fashioned. Fee for paying with credit card is unacceptable.

    Very friendly staff. Nice furnitured rooms and facilities. Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room entrance doors needed to bang to close creating unnecessary irritating noise on the otherwise quiet environment. No kettle or mini bar in room, charged 20 Krona for a kettle of hot water from the bar. Concrete wall separator between shower n toilet is an eye sore compare to the newly renovated `modern` design. No designated house guest parking spaces, parking always taken up by short term diners or conference attendees.

    Centralized location, open and bright rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Diary products was not kept cool at breakfast, resulting in a disappointing experience. On a hot day, No air conditioning, couldn't open windows or door to the deck, because other guests was smoking. Overall OK, but not for the premium price they were charging.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like that when you sit in the toilet, if you lean on your back the flush would go, it was scary.

    All was overall good, clean and in good condition.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The gym facility was small and the equipment was limited it would have been nice if there would have been a rower

    The hotel is very close walking distance to downtown and everything else

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tired. We were told we would have a balcony as we ordered a superior double room but it was a tiny balcony with no view except for the pipework. Very disappointed as we had expected a view of the park

    Perfectly located off the main route

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too crowded at breakfast buffet

    Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need to be renovated

    Great location and restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was moderate

    Nice view from the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs to be refurbished

    The view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb breakfast, very friendly staff, we really felt that we were welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for parking - horrible shower

    Big room and balcony

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking is right outside entrance

    Very comfy sorroundings, close to center of Town, Beautiful view from upper floors, GREAT breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff. Went out of their way to help!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No problems, very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The "Vesterbro" restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    75,- for at parkere sin bil :-(

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice staff Comfy bed Good Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great rooms with great views. Staff were very pleasant and helpful!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent. Charming staff. Very comfortable rooms. Extremely convenient location. Excellent food

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheet and glass for drinking from bathroom weren't clean

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym facilities

    Room was spacious, separate bathroom and separate shower.Good view of the nearby park

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly especially in reception and the bartender

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet location in a park, designer hotel, great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great people

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Since the room has a bathtub and since you sell the Comwell spa line in the reception it would be nice if you could provide bath oil or bathing salt to put in the tub as well :-)

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Seemed disorganised at times, My early check in was approved beforehand but they had no record of it. - Check out had issues - they thought I was already checked out - No mini bar or tea facilities in any room - Noisy at times, walls seemed very thin

    - Excellent Staff, very friendly - Modern, sleek furniture - Relaxing - Excellent Breakfast facilities - Brilliant views

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no way to make drinks - i..e tea or coffee in the rooms and the cappuccinos from the bar were extremely expensive. Bathrooms needed an update

    Location of the hotel was good rooms were fine Breakfast was amazing loads of choice and plenty of food provided. Nice communal atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not very well organised, staff friendly but seemed to be under pressure. Food good but v limited menu,

    Liked the hotel decor, good food in the restaurant, good value, but definitely not 5* facilities

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Although the room was described as superior plus, the bathroom fittings were aging and marked. There was a fairly large dirty mark on the carpet.

    The location of the hotel was ideal. The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent! Though a large hotel it had a 'personal' feel. Very near to airport and train station. Lovely parkland.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very long waiting time for the elevator. It took about 20 minutes to get the lift from the breakfast floor to get to the room.

    Nice view of the park and very large room.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Avoid at all costs: dirty rooms, hair and stains everywhere especially in the bathroom - toilet was not cleaned at all, old elevators, quite far from the central Aalborg. We traveled with another couple that had the same dirt in the room.

    Breakfast was OK.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower is not 'closed' very well from the rest of the bathroom so everything is wet after showering. Breakfast was very crowded.

    Good parking lot and basic room with everything you need. Good food at the bar.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The staff had too much to do(?) and forgot our room service. I had to wait for a long time to order food. The phone on the room didn't function. We arrived at breakfadt app 40 min before closing time - no forks, no coffee.

    Loved the bed and cushions and linnen!

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Upon arrival, we were greeted by a pleasant receptionist, and we're asked if we wanted to upgrade our room for free if we registered with an email etc. Great! But when we entered our room, the carpet was sand and even had rough gravel on it that was uncomfortable to step on. Then it was the bathroom; the toilet had been used by a man, as there was half dried, yellow urine stains on the rim, and at the bottom there was still stains of another color. We decided to tell the receptionist about this when we left the hotel for a walk in the city and dinner, and when we arrived in the the evening, nothing was cleaned. I told the staff once more, and that I cleaned the toilet myself but that I could not vacuum the floor myself. Later in the evening, a friendly person knocked on the door and would like to vacuum, but we had already put our infant to bed. We stayed at the nice Comwell in Aarhus last year, and would stay there again. But probably not Comwell in Aalborg. We never got an excuse and not offered any compensation for my cleaning of the toilet. The next day when our room got cleaned, there was still some gravel...

    We got upgraded, but... read what I disliked. Nice breakfast. Really nice Park outside the hotel!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basins and loos in private and public rooms were all really poorly cleaned. A real let down for an hotel like this.

    Great location at the edge of the park, super rooms views and breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking administration is rather clumsy, you have to buy a ticket at the reception desk and put that back in your car. We found this element out of sync with the overall luxurious experience of the hotel.

    Spacy, comfortable and modern room with balcony. Large parking facility. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved this hotel, good gym, pay parking, close walk to center, overlook park, v good bfast. Comfy, modern room. Very quiet room up high views. Loved aalborg!

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not like the very weak shower. Cleaning was not at all satisfactory in the bathroom. Lastly, there was a lot of noise from the hall since the doors are not fit with the frames and they shake and whistle with the wind.

    We enjoyed the spacious room, good beds, good storage, good wifi and good, central location.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was much too warm. I found no a.c.

    The beverage spender during breakfast operated by ipad touch. Obviously ( elevators) an elder building with a well done modern camouflage. Big rooms. Nice view.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There should be free parking - no charge !!! There should be a water boiler in the room and free coffie and tea - or free coffie / tea in the lobby / reseption.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A member of staff had doubts about a Danish name if it was a family name or a given name. Somewhat surprising. Another thing. You may say that the location is less amusing, but if you know a shortcut, it is absolutely fine!

    I liked the room, it's furnished (Danish design!) and the view from my window. A good place for work!

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit expensive the restaurant, with not a lot of choices.

    Staff very helpful, good the free car park and a lot of great small details in all the areas of the hotels

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean and big rooms, good location, very decent breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old hotel under refurbishment.

    Awesome breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Absolutely fantastic breakfast. A lot of fresh fruit, spinach omelet and nice bread.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Large space, nice rooms, well organized, simple to check-in and check-out.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed too flexible.

    Really polite and honestly smiling helpful staff. Clean, newly renovated internal spaces.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant. Excellent meal

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Car parking - confusing and multiple layered, but I will know next time

    Location and room

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Couple

    very friendly and helpful staff breakfast was great also

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is just average, but ok.

    Nice clean hotel with friendly staff. Location is good and important for me is that there is a parking garage.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    renovation only partial some part of hotel very old not enought clean on terass

    good location

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice view from the upper stories. Our room had a balcony. 10 minutes walk to the city center.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice hotel surrounded by park. Staff friendly and helpful.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Comwell Hvide Hus Aalborg traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: