Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Copenhagen Admiral Hotel 4 stars

Toldbodgade 24-28, 1253 Copenhagen, Denmark

#19 of 102 hotels in Copenhagen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5440 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful, sleek room in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The window didn't let in enough cool air at night to sleep, and the "AC" didn't really cool the room down. It was hard to sleep without cool air or a fan.

    The rooms had just been remodeled, and the style was very clean, modern and updated. The rooms really matched the theme of the hotel. The lights could be controlled from the bedside, which was very convenient. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was gorgeous, and the products smelled great. The shower had both a rainfall showerhead and a handheld wand, which is always nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    The right hotel for business worldwide meetings
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Water View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It wasn't possible to switch-off some lights in my room during nights. Either the switcher was out of order or I didn't understand the system.

    The location, the building history, friendly staff, room properties, the water view, Copenhagen...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Pitstop
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a one night stay. Found the hallway lighting a bit dim and the light in my hall wasn't working. Many thanks to the cleaner who helped me get in the room. Numbering system a bit weird.

    Very quiet and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been cleaner. The table was sticky and hadn't been wiped. Also our tea and coffee making facilities were not replenished.

    The room was huge! And the view of the harbour was amazing. The hotel overall was really nice and the location is great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Charcterful, smart hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have given an even higher rating if I hadn't been given a room next to the ongoing building works - could hear them banging away in the morning. Also I know Copenhagen is expensive but it's a pity breakfast wasn't included in the price.

    Great location on the waterfront, very close to Nyhavn. Very large, lovely room, lots of character. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy with traffic and people coming out of bars all night and no air conditioning. We were moved to another room on the water side for the second night - much better!

    The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.3
    Good location and nice building. Small inconveniences
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not super friendly and helpfull staff. Room was too warm. Bad sound isolation as you could hear your neighbours talking. Bad smell coming out of the drains in the bathroom sometimes, but not all the time.

    Perfect location. Good breakfast. Unique building and rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location! Great Hotel! Great Food! Great View!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They are busy with renovations but as the rooms have sound dampening you barely hear it. Only downside was the very hot room and no aircon but I believe this will be addressed with the renovations

    Pros: Great location! Great Hotel! Great Food! Great View! Amazing Staff! I would recommend staying here and would definitely come back again and again! Looking forward to the new look!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    great hotel, superb location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel is lovely. the rooms are o.k. restored granary and great for those appreciating history and nimble. for aged folk, less nimble, one might knock a head on beams. and no air con apart from the lovely open window.

    the location is superb. there is everything one wants very close.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Historic hotel on the water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Water View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Historic hotel, recently renovated rooms and very comfortable bed. Located in the midst of the tourist attractions and right on the water - excellent! Would recommend staying here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Good value. Near Hop on Off bus, canal boats, restaurants and Palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Water View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately they didn’t have cool airconditioning for the heat, but they made up for it with pedestal fans.👍

    The position was excellent. The restaurant Salt was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Hotel very comfy and well situated, just 200 meters to Nyhaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Size of the room iniatilly gave to us, with no place to fit our luggage

    When we complained about the small room we were offered a change to a bigger room immediately caring for a good experience for us at the hotel. Breakfast buffet was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    Brilliant stay, fabulous location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con, had to use fans instead which were noisy whilst trying to sleep.

    We loved that we were upgraded to a junior suite! Room was fab, real Scandinavian feel to it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately renovations were happening at this time so it was quite noisy at 7am. Once the renovations are complete it will be excellent.

    The location was excellent. Staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. Room was a good size with everything we needed. Taxi stand just outside front doors so easy to get to airport etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    Location is great but....
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are squeaking . Decorative wood posts are nice but you can hit your head easily to it. You need to be always cautious walking around the room near the post. Wrong placement of wall lamp over my bed. I could easily hit my head by it.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.4
    Beware of renovations avoid room 121
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is undergoing renovations we were in a room badly affected by this. The hotel should not have rooms open anywhere near work being done. We were not advised before checking in. The noise level was ridiculous from early morning (6.30 -7.00) We did complain and got free breakfast only 1 morning, on checking out the girl advised that we should have had our room changed !, Bit late !!

    The location is excellent, staff friendly for the most part

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.8
    We switched to a different hotel after one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Level Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very old and dirty with very small windows very high on the wall. Felt like a prison. The stuff is not helpful, looks like they are used to unhappy clients.

    The location is excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is very nice, room is new and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no door for shower room. So the water is flooded to the toilet floor.

    The hotel is very nice, room is new and clean. Location is convenient/walking distance to all interesting places. The view of room is also excellent. Staff is helpful. Breakfast needs to pay additional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    a wonderful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no air conditioning on a hot night

    The room was excellent and the views were excellent but unfortunately we happened to be there when the weather was extra hot and no air conditioning made the stay a little uncomfortable , the small desk fan helped

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too warm and the elevator of the hotels own construction yard took first up and down tour around 0555 Monday morning and woke us up.

    The location. We participated Ironman Copenhagen and the race center is located less than 100 m away

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Overall, a nice couple of days stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot weather and no aircon anywhere in the Hotel ( however, a fan was provided). Room was very small for the price. Daily room rate was excessive. We booked a double bed but only single beds were provided.

    Location was excellent. Great view from Balcony. Within walking distance to most attractions. Modern decor in the hotel. Good restaurant - Salt. Excellent mini bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    Unplasent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is pole in the side of tge room to hold the rooftop its couse an injury in my sister head And there is no air conditioning in the hotel

    Its in the centre, and behind it the canal

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.2
    Apart from the location this hotel has nothing to recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather tired room with minimal hanging space for clothes. Zero drawers or flat surfaces to store clothes. Cramped bathroom but the shower did work well. Our room faced the street which was very noisy (presumably about 50% of the rooms also do). No chance of opening the bedroom window whilst sleeping - no air conditioning. Part of the hotel is being renovated with hammer drilling and similar excessive noise beginning promptly at 8.00 am; so we had to be up at 7.00am to wash, dress, prepare ourselves for the day and get away from the unbearable noise by 8. It is a big hotel swamped with large parties of American and Japanese tourists.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.6
    Would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning , Hotel under renovation so very noisy early morning , rooms and bathrooms are old . Double bed turned out to be two singles pushed together ! Found desk staff to be less than helpful.

    Loved the outdoor restaurant .Location is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Very nice place to stay because of the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Water View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in the bedroom was not very effective. We reported this and the maintenance people looked at it but it was still too warm in the room after they had supposedly fixed it.

    Really great location. Hotel cafe outside by the canal was a great place to have a drink or food and watch the world go by.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    We were delighted by the whole experience .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was above the main entrance on first floor and weather hot. .. with balcony window open I was disturbed by late night revelries and early morning deliveries etc. So air con would have been good!

    We were delighted by the whole experience . Very impressed by friendliness of staff and quality of food. Fabulous central harbour side location . A luxury for us but worth it!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Location fantastic, close to Nyhavn and the Palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is being refurbished and so there was some noise during the day.

    Location fantastic, close to Nyhavn and the Palace. Food very good, even though a tad expensive as expected in Denmark.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Fave Hotel in Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price level should stay where it’s at now - and not get any more pricey.

    Hotel d'Angleterre might be the grande dame in town, but Hotel Admiral is certainly the ADMIRAL <3 My favourite hotel in Copenhagen with the best location, right by the harbour and Amalieborg Palace. Nyhavn og Ströget Shopping street just a 10 minute walk away. The atmosphere is so tranquil and casual. Great breakfast with lots of fruit and organic products and good coffee and scrambled eggs. Newly renovated room with the most delicate bathroom. Recommend Admiral’s Salt Restaurant for lunch, so nice to sit outside by the water and just chill. And the food is very tasty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    I like it the hotell and the rum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like it that before the departing time, the staff was knocking on the door asking when we were living the rooms.

    I like it the hotell and the rum. Also, the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Warehouse wonder!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and especially bathroom needed udate dark and very brown bedding could be improved.

    Location and building great restaurant and terrace fantastic great architecture!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.0
    Too little value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi only worked in some areas of my room and even there it went on and off all the time (2 devices tested). I pointed it out at the reception but they simply told me to log into the right account (to which I was already logged in so that advice did not really help). The room felt somewhat "worn". Traffic outside was disturbing. This was my fourth stay at Admiral but it is unlikely that I will return after this last experience. Too little value for the (high) price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Mindful that this summer was not the normal summer. However, air conditioning should be considered!

    Receptionist who checked is in had excellent customer service skills.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Stunning hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Water View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had asked for a twin room as it was for my daughter and I, but the room has two beds pushed together with fitted side tables which can not be moved. Luckily there were two separate duvets. The room and especially the bathroom were really hot, but it was an exceptionally hot weekend, and a fan was available, so they made it the best they could.

    Stunning building, lovely rooms and an amazing view out across the water. Wonderful terrace bar/restaurant overlooking the canal. Brilliant location. Out of the bustle of the centre but still within walking distance to sights. Felt like we experiencing the distinctness of Copenhagen.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location, gorgeous hotel and extremely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    With the current summer heat, rooms without Air-conditioning are sometimes a bit too hot.

    Great location, gorgeous hotel and extremely friendly staff. Located next to the waterfront. Most Copenhagen highlights in walking distance. I would really recommend booking a diner at the inhouse restaurant Salt, the food is extraordinary.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location on the water within reasonable walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Water View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic location on the water within reasonable walking distance of most things. Very nice restaurant on the water -"The salt room". Only disappointment was it was very hot in our bedroom due to lack of air conditioning - only a small fan. However hotel is being upgraded so hopefully in future this will not be a problem.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    3.8
    Unimpressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service was appalling and lacked customer centered services provision. During our check-in the reception staff member was more distracted on what was happening behind the desk then the customer who was infront of her, which let to inadequate provision of information and/or the option to have in-house breakfast if we chose to. The team leader or manager did not set a good example either by distracting staff member during her interaction with customers doing his daily tasks of billing paperwork and phone conversations. Nevertheless, we felt the interaction among service providers throughout Copenhagen was extremely poor to the exception of a couple. Hence, I am not sure that's cultural differences or simply lack of training. But people on the street were nice and approachable. Our check-out reception staff member was on the contrary delivered his service professionally. Rooms were 2-stars standard rooms than the 4-stars it advertised. Standard room had a staircase to climb to get to bed was terrible and we were not asked if that's will be an issue. Rooms were stuffy and capet sticky. Toilet and shower were dirty with soap scumb. Drinking cups and mugs had stains that needed good scrubbing. The only good thing about the hotel was its location.

    The location, near water and provided good access to other vicinity by foot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.3
    It was so hot in the room. No air condition! We could not sleep at all!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air condition in the rooms. Our room was hot like an ofen and it was absolutely impossible to sleep!! Such a good hotel but no air condition in the year 2018? This is a complete no go!

    The hotel is good but...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice spot right on water and close to famous Nyhavn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was pricey, at least it seemed that way by US standards, but it packed in nice crowd every night so maybe not unusual by Danish standards. We passed on the $25 breakfast offering in favor of nearby coffee shops.

    Nice spot right on water and close to famous Nyhavn. Easy to get to via Metro and bus , just minutes from Central station. Rooms are large and comfortable. Ice available on every floor.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Location was excellent and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Level Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and floor lift lobby/corridor was very narrow... bathroom very small

    Location was excellent and very helpful staff..we forgot our mobile in the room and hotel staff send it to the Copenhagen airport on a taxi...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.4
    Horrible, frissly overpriced hotel but a fabulous city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Level Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable “suites” for my family. ill-equiped to handle warmer than normal temps (no A/C) very loud at night from the partiers (til 3am). Music, people yelling, dogs barking. Again the facility and staff ill-equiped to take care of their guests. At $1000/night for our two “suits”, a complete rip off. LOVED Copenhagen and will definitely return, but wouldnt stay at the Admiral if it was free

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Convenient, historic and vibrant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning, but the supplied fan worked well so not a problem as such. Was quite noisy at night due to proximity of the swimming area on the wharf, but as it was very hot for Copenhagen this was understandable. We were offered the option of street facing but preferred the water view and thus the noise. Also lovely for catching the evening breeze.

    Excellent location, lovely views of the harbour. Good sized room and bathroom - loved the bath. The terrace was delightful for drinks on a hot night. Loved the historic feel of the place, bed was very comfortable, and felt safe with the windows open.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Super location, but noisy and without air conditioner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    During our stay, there was +28...+29 C degrees warmth outside, and there were no air conditioners in rooms. Construction works in front of the house can be quite noisy early in the morning.

    Super good location, just next to Amalienborg Palace, 5 minutes walk to Nyhavn and 10 minutes walk to Little Mermaid. Opera House just right across the channel. Very generous breakfast table.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    the lobby services and staff were superb~!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There isn't A/C in the room so we had to open the window but the construction downstairs was too noisy and so were the evening pedestrians. Breakfast was not included in our room price, I expect the breakfast staff to remind us before we enter for breakfast. But instead, we've got a little goodbye surprise before we check out.

    the lobby services and staff were superb~! Location is perfect. Nice restaurant downstairs but could serve faster on the 4/5 course meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location, lovely hotel, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beam in our newly renovated room meant I (of only average height) had to bend and be careful each time I walked to the door or the bathroom.

    Great location, lovely hotel, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Water View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Theres nothing i didn't like about this Hotel.

    The rooms where clean, the view over the harbour was excellent. Great choice for breakfast they cater for ever one.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierege to help find restaurants in the area would help

    Outdoor cafe- and restaurant Air cooling in rooms Room view on water Clise to everything! Walkable for major sites

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    I would recommend it to my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a lovely hotel with a stylish lobby and large rooms with Scandinavian teak furnishings. We didn't try the restaurant, but we liked the outdoor waterfront cafe/bar. The neighborhood has good food and culture and is a short walk from the historic district.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel with good location en excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room were nice but old, however renovation is ongoing.

    The hotel staff was very friendly. The breakfast is excellent. The location of the hotel is great, can't be much better for a city trip in Copenhagen.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    3.8
    Don’t do it. DO NOT BOOK THIS. BOOKING.COM - this is the first time I feel like you’ve screwed me oo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They haven’t really cleaned or updated anything in 40 years. Even when you stay multiple nights, they can’t be bothered to actually clean your room. The cleaners may remove a towel, but not replace it. You’ll find the take the coffee mug to the bathroom to rinse it (ick) but they don’t actually clean it or replace it. If you remove something from the mini-bar, it will be replaced right away. However, those two satchets of insant coffee and two pots of creamer? Those are meant to last you your whole stay. The key cards are wonky, and when you ask for new ones, you’ll be accused of sabotaging the one that doesn’t work. They don’t want to help you - they just want to argue and be right. Lastly? There is no air conditioning, and the rooms are either west or east facing. Because of the noise, at least thurs-sun, you won’t be able to sleep with the tiny window open. So choose whether you want to be suffocatingly hot in the morning, or in the evening (and just generally uncomfortable in the opposite)>

    The only redeeming feature is the location... it was my first trip, but I will try every other hotel in the vicinty before I stay here again. Also, booking.com... this is the first time you’ve failed me.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No aircondition, and the weather was beautiful so actually too warm in the room. Tiny window to open (and too noisy at night to keep open) so it was too hot and stuffy. Would expect aircondition in such a hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely stay but very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Water View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    That breakfast wasn't included in the price

    The Hotel's position in the City is super. Right on the quayside with lovely views and in walking distance of Nyhavn and the surrounding area, with a lovely walk up to Kastelett. Nice outdoor bar area..great for people watching.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.8
    Too hot and chinsey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very very hot. No air conditioning. One small, door/window. Awkward room, poor furniture, cheap looking and functioning poorly. Bad design everywhere.

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is being renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is being renovated. We were waken up in the middle of the night two days in a row before we finally changed rooms. Rooms facing the harbor are much much nicer and quiet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Exceeded our expectation, hope to visit again some time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom a little dated.

    Staff, location, excellent use and design of a historic building. On the waterfront within easy reach of Nyhavn quay, royal palace, opera house, theatre, city centre. Opportunity to go to sea on a schooner, didn't have time but maybe next visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Ambience of the hotel and pleasant environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no air conditioning in the room and it got rather warm also, there's no extractor in the bathroom, ventilation is poor.

    Ambience of the hotel and pleasant environment. Location is very good, transport is very convenient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Location is fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the middle of a heat wave and the room we were in had no aircon (and I realise this is typical of Scandinavia, but if summers are going to be like this every year, hotels need to consider it)

    Location is fabulous. Very friendly staff too

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.4
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Water View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled like urine was all over the floor. I checked and found that it came from the toilet. Had to flush it while using the bathroom and closed it during the sleep. Bed broke down so a guy came up and fixed it. I really wanted to ask them to change the room but we were too tired to repack as we checked in 11pm after long flight.

    Location. View.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    Dishonest policy with customers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dishonest policy with customers Watch out to the price showed on booking and what you will gonna be charged. I payed in cash at the check in the full amount. Was told that, because I earned so many discount coupons, breakfast would be free. Guess what? They charged me room taxes(?) and breakfast. They were supposed to analyze the situation and contact me, but I am still waiting. Of course, I could not leave the hotel without paying the full amount charged, much much more than announced on Booking. Pay attention if you are going in the summer. There's no air conditioning or pool. And finally, the hotel is all in renovation. So construction everywhere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    we were happy anyway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast could include more bio products and better yogurth and cookies at the restaurant outside I was served a filet américain I could not eat; very unusual preparation with raw meat , and just dips of green and orange sauce on the side Parking difficult to get in front of hotel: this might bring us to choose another hotel f next trip to CPH

    location is outstanding room was comfy and quiet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    View and location are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Water View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner is very uncomfortable in this hot weather. I requested for another room, they changed it for me. Reception was busy when we checked in. They are not welling to help to my concerned questions, such as making a 4am reservation for taxi on the check out date. The girl just answered ‘taxi is everywhere on the street. Latter I requested again, the other person made the reservation for me. Where can you see taxi running around at 4am? Basically it’s a popular hotel, reception is busy all the time . Maybe that’s why you don’t feel any warmth. Bed sheet made me itch. I asked for changing the next day, and they did.

    View and location are great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.7
    The property is in a lovely old building and a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location isn’t great if you want to be near all the sites as a base and there aren’t really any nice restaurants close by. Staff were friendly but on more than one occasion we were given wrong information regarding attractions I don’t think you get value for money considering the price of the hotel. The rooms are dated, not fitted with air con so we boiled at night. A small thing but in my room directly above the bed was a the lamp/lampshade positioned awkwardly so I hit my head when sitting up

    The property is in a lovely old building and a quiet location. Staff are friendly and rooms aren’t a bad size

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location and good ambience. Friendly staff would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A temporary situation they were UNDERGOING RENOVATIONS. therefor A LITTLE NOISY at times otherwise all other aspects very good . Excellent location comfortable room but far from lift not good after a long flight.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Water View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was expensive . It does not include breakfast which given the rate isn’t great

    The location on the waterfront was lovely. The staff were helpful and the rooms were very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    A superb Hotel in a superb location - Stay there if you can.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Water View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As said in my positive report all Hotel Staff were excellent and the majority of Restaurant staff were too. However one waitress (Henrietta, very dark hair) was particularly surly and gave the impression she did not enjoy her job - a pity really. This was the only negative comment on the whole trip.

    The location was excellent, could not have been better. Wonderful views of the water and very safe area in which to stay, adjacent to the Embassy of many countries. Also some superb restaurants close by. Convenient for River boat and No.66 Bus to access all of Copenhagen. Walking distance to Metro station (10mins) and many tourist spots, eg Amalienborg Palace, The Marble Church, Kongens Have etc., Hotel reception staff were excellent and very helpful, especially Christian. The food in the SALT restaurant was superb. If you do not wish to eat in the SALT restaurant there are wonderful snacks and small meals to eat on the terrace. Breakfast was good - it was very pleasant to sit on the terrace to drink coffee etc., after breakfast. We will certainly stay in the Hotel Admiral again, this time in one of the refurbished rooms - which look stunning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant stay, good service, upgrade to the rooms would warrant the pricetag. It was not great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Level Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    fish was overcooked in the restaurant, which for an expensive meal was disappointing. Good wine selection though, nicely planned dishes, and the staff were good. In our junior suite we got a seaview which was lovely. The décor ( I know they are upgrading) was a bit old.. and the sofa bed pretty uncomfortable and lop sided. Hairdryer was on it's last legs...

    liked the location and the overall building, the location for me was perfect!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Level Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and outdated. We had a 3 person room which consisted of a loft and a pull out bed below. The ventilation in the room was poor and the upstairs loft was hot. Given that there was extended daylight hours, the curtain was ineffective at keeping the light out and it was too warm. The room is over priced given that it’s so outdated.

    The hotel is in a great location. The outdoor cafe was a perfect spot to hang and have a quick bite or a glass of wine. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Great waterfront location as a base to explore Copenhagen !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Water View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was quite small & in need of modernisation. Better toiletries & more soap.

    Great location for walking Copenhagen, especially viewing the Changing of the Guard at the Royal Palace . Hop on Hop off bus stop at the door . Taxis at the door & a short ride to the airport. Great cafe waterside & a cosy bar inside near Reception. Rooms are small but a water view is worth it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Really nice place to stay in Copenhagen, excellent location and the room has everything that you ne.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we were in a loft style room, it can get quite warm in the upper area where the bed is located. A portable fan was supplied which helped but suggested that the hotel is aware if this.

    The location of the hotel is fantastic wit the rooms very comfortable and well appointed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Absolutely wonderful stay! The hotel it perfectly located right on the Harbour. They are undergoing refurbishments at the moment, however we were lucky enough to be given one of the already renovated rooms, overlooking the Harbour! The staff were wonderful and very happy to help. The breakfast was amazing - lovely variety of options. Cannot fault anything abou our stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Best location. Great view. Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was a little hot. There’s no concierge & we had to wait for a taxi out in the street for an hour.

    The location is fantastic with a view over the canal (ask for a canal facing room). It’s great to walk along the canal and the restaurants are all around this area. The room I had was renovated in a modern style & was clean. It’s was also quiet. Great to base yourself here. It has a rain shower!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay with a wonderful view of the ocean and Dronningsskippet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel room was a bit out of date. I read that the hotel is being renovated. It will be great to see how the hotel is when it is modernised.

    Our trip was too short to get a very good idea of the hotel. We did not eat at any of the restaurants in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel, excellent staff!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read above

    Excellent hotel, excellent staff! And the location is superb ...except the midnight-all night revelries were LOUD. (I had the waterfront room) Of course it’s not the hotel’s fault and it was the start of summer. So I let their enjoyment be a part of my fitful sleep. What was the hotel’s fault is that the air conditioning was not cool enough, so that’s why I had to keep the window open.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    comfy bed in the room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dated room (but the hotel is being renovated as we speak), breakfast was very hectic and unclear about where one could be seated etc.

    comfy bed in the room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.0
    Expensive stay... Should have been less for building works and lamp situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lamp was directly above bed... Far too low.. Had to sleep at side of it cos too low and was banging my head as turned in sleep. Building work commenced very early so noisy in the morning... Not generous with coffee and tea facilities.

    The Staff were amazing... Friendly and very helpful. The hotel was beautiful... And the location fantastic... Bedding gorgeous... Pillows and quilt were to die for.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Overall it was a very enjoyable break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Water View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No Air conditioning. When the hotel became busier during our break breakfast was a bit of an ordeal with various rooms having to be opened up to cater for numbers. Sometimes it was necessary to wait for a table.

    The area where the Hotel is situated at the harbour. Very close to Nyhavn, lots of restaurants and several Museums. Bus No. 66 started at Saint anne Plads and easy to get to Central Station. The Salt restaurant at the hotel provided meals of the highest quality. If planning to visit a lot of the main museums, trip to Helsingor etc a Copenhagen Card is the way to go. Available at Hotel on arrival.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Copenhagen Admiral Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: