Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Copenhagen Downtown Hostel

Vandkunsten 5, 1467 Copenhagen, Denmark

#42 of 102 hotels in Copenhagen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3477 hostel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice hostel, friendly personnel, good location, you need to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather small room, very loud, there is a bar inside the hostel where the location is located, many people are there up late

    Nice hostel, friendly personnel, good location, you need to pay for lockers and also for the storage of your luggage but everything is well organized. Good breakfast, pizza was also delicious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Great base for exploring a wonderful city. I would stay here again if the price is right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Very expensive. For the price I paid, I would have expected at least a bottle of water in the room and a kettle. - Locker room in the basement was too hot and needs a fan during hot weather. - I had a private bathroom in my room, which is great. But it is tiny and would be difficult for a bigger person.

    - Perfect location, felt very safe at night and lots of great places to hang out nearby. - Helpful and friendly staff. It was my first time in Copenhagen and I appreciated the warm welcome. Thank you! - Very clean and comfortable room. Room I had was exactly as shown in the pictures. - Good wifi - Great social area / bar with good programmes

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a shame that there is no common area where you can hang out exept for the noisy and crowed bar. Apart from that everything was fine

    perfect location. friendly staff and super clean. perfect dir 1 or 2 nights in copenhagen

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Quality Time of stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No facility of Dinner

    Simply excellent in all respect. Plenty of breakfast of Continental standard, staff were very cooperative with spontaneous response in smiling face, very helpful to guide properly and effectively.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Copenhagen downtown hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks are expensive at the bar, cheaper in other pubs close by. You have to rent a towel which is fine but they are tiny. Nothing else to complain about to be honest. Remember to take ear plugs though. It’s not excessively noisy but in the summer you need the windows open so it will be quite loud.

    Good lively location and all the sights are in walking distance. Great friendly atmosphere in the hostel and in the bar. A real mixture of age groups and nationalities. Would gladly stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Great, sociable hostel
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff super friendly and helpful. Love this hostel, second time I have stayed. Always good prices, and the bar is super social - perfect if you are travelling alone, or if you just need a cheap bed for the night!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Great Social hostel for solo travelers in awesome Copenhagen location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doesn’t have a kitchen and the prices in Copenhagen are pretty expensive so if you like cooking your own meal and saving some money that would be a problem.

    Great location. Awesome breakfast for a cheap price. Really cool vibe in the bar downstairs where you can meet fellow travelers and socialize. The rooms were pretty big and comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location just in the city center square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First floor is a pub so if you are not there and try to sleep it can be problematic because of loud music and people.

    Perfect location just in the city center square. Very helpful stuff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    The room was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the window open for some cooler fresh air but the noise from the street below was active most of the night. Bring earplugs or headphones. Also for being a person of 6 feet 1 inches the bed was a bit short.

    The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Great location, very clean and facilities very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very clean and facilities very good. Didn't have a single problem whilst I was there. The value is really good given its close proximity to the centre of Copenhagen.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Check-in at 11:30am .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor point ...slightly smallish room because top floor ceiling is angled so part of the room has a lower ceiling. Get more craft beers ... already had enough Tuborg/Carlsberg/other usual style.

    Check-in at 11:30am .. yeah ! Mara, from Croatia, very considerate, cheerful, some humour, and helpful ! Go Croatia in world cup ! Good vibe in the bar / cafe area, and across the street, so almost like a neighbourhood street corner vibe watching the Denmark game ....and courteous/respectful Danish groups ... thanks Denmark !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable - I didn't get much sleep but it was clean and relatively cheap.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's really noisy with the bar being part of the hostel downstairs. The dorm room was very stuffy despite the window being wide open. The lockers on the room need padlocks bought at the reception, try traveling light with that! The beds aren't too comfy either.

    It's very close to the train station and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast seemed a good offer for 70 DKK but I didn't need it so didn't buy it. Cheap for Copenhagen (but I bought my room in a special deal). You can buy some useful stuff at the reception: ear plus (you'll need them), padlock for luggage locker, shampoo and toothbrush.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Good space in rooms, as long as everyone used their lockers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be cool to have a separate area to hang out if you are still wanting to meet people but not at the bar area.

    Good space in rooms, as long as everyone used their lockers. Beds comfy and party atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Met our expectations, good value for your money. Will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    But if you want peace and quiet, that wont happen here, With the bar and nightclub downstairs, both were quite busy during our stay.

    The location was excellent. Helpful staff, great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Good atmosphere and Hostel.. Read my tips and you're onto a winner ;0
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Charging people to leave their luggage when they check out is extremely mean in my opinion. I've just stayed 5 nights, spent a load of money in the bar, on top of my accommodation and then as a goodbye, they want more money.. and for what.. leaving a bag... take my advice and change that.. you will have much happier customers for doing literally nothing :) There is no kitchen, if that is your thing. I remembered, but advise you don't forget to bring a lock too.. one that is big enough to lock around your thumb as the lock hook is quite big. Other than this, I have no negatives. Keep improving the little things Downtown and you will be onto an even bigger winner :)

    Overall, I liked this hostel. It has great intentions to make everyone feel comfortable. The atmosphere is good, relaxed. I was there to party and I did. Easy to meet people. Nice to sit outside the bar and chat. The rooms are small. From reading reviews about noise, I asked for the top floor and was given it. Still a fairly noisy place, but only in the morning when they are cleaning on the top floor. You will hear from the bar from the lower floors. Showers are fine and toilets. The place is very clean. They printed my boarding pass, no issues. Staff were very helpful and friendly. They work well together and have a laugh, which is always nice to see. I would recommend Downtown Hostel. Excellent WI-Fi too. I stayed in a 4-bed dorm. I'd pick that if you can afford it, just for less chance of lots of noisy people, when you want to sleep, not that I did much sleeping (and was probably a noisy one myself ;) Nice crowd staying and met loads of people. Close to the centre in a nice area. Copenhagen is wicked. Enjoy your trip :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.4
    The room was too expensive with low facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hygiene. I should pack bed linen before chek out and I founda big blood mark/trace on matress under the sheet. Disgusting.

    Lokation is fine. Its near transport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Delightfulsmall, private room with toilet and sink, friendly helpful staff, warm environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wish the price of breakfast would have been included in this expensive hostel.

    A wonderful private room with sink and toilet in this energetic and lively hostel. Meeting people world wide is always a plus for us. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Best hostel i have been so far. Definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was super well designed. I had a place to lock my stuff on with enough space! The toilets and showers were really clean and very spacious. The bar downstairs was really good. Lastly, super friendly staff. Great location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Great place, great staff and great location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A bit noisy, even after the little hours and even when the window is closed. the shower was licking and there was barely water pressure to take a shower. on my last day at 9 am, the cleaning lady came into my room like nobody inside!!! even tho the checkout was supposed to be at 10 am... besides that all good! breakfast was nice but for 8 euro more or less better to go to one of the restaurants in the city.

    Great place, great location. very young atmosphere. the staff is super kind!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    3.3
    Horrible, noisy and run down at central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid at all cost. The place is run down and extremely noisy.

    Ok the location is good and the bar has some vibe (though too loud for my taste) but causes noise and weed/hash smell

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location, awesome bar
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music at the bar was too loud. It was hard to sit down to have a chat, which made us change location to another bar. The bed was a bit uncomfy

    The staff is awesome, very open and chill. The rooms are cleaning and toilet and shower aswell. The bar is an awesome place to meet people. Overall this is an awesome hostel which I will choose next time I go to Copenhagen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.4
    See you never, Downtown hostel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Paying more than 50 euros / night here is a swindle, even for CPH standards. Breakfast coffee absolutely horrendous.

    The location and the Portuguese employee, a very hard working and nice chap.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.8
    The best thing about Downtown Hostel is its location for...
    • Couple
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared Bathrooms were not clean at all. I have tried breakfast and it couldn't make me happy. I chose 4 mixed bedroom, it was like a cabin in train, too narrow for my luggage 😐

    The best thing about Downtown Hostel is its location for visit city, also if you are looking for a nightlife in Copenhagen, it's a great place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Quick stop overnight in Copenhagen with a comfortable bed, quiet room and affordable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was at a very noisy bar, which made it a little difficult to hear what each other was saying. The lockable under-bed storage wasn't well thought-out; with the locker for the _lower_ bunk being under the ladder to the top bunk, instead of the other way round. Also means that if you want to keep the floor tidy it's almost impossible to access your items while you're in bed. Lockable under-bed drawers are a much better solution to look in to.

    Beds were comfortable and built solidly into the wall, so no problems with waking up when the person above or below you rolls over. I stayed on the 5th floor, which was surprisingly quiet given the area amongst lots of bars and restaurants. I like that the showers and toilets were separate from the sleeping room; means less noise in the room and no waiting in line to shower or go to the toilet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Great hostel, just got
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was awfully hot, even though my visit coensided with a heat wave in Copenhagen, the addition of fans would have made the nights more bearable.

    The best parts about this hostel is the bar and the location. The bar was a great location to hang out at after a long day of exploring the city, or a place to chill out during the day on the patio. But the hostel is located near basically everything you’d want to see.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Good visiting Good service of Hostel personel. We like this hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevalator is not good funktion. Sometimes it did not work well. And we have to take the steps. No convenient at all.

    Very good location neraby central station and other touristic places of Copenhagen. Quiet area. We are old ladies and felt safety any way. I will recommend my friends to stay here next August.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    It's a hostel to be fair so we were not expecting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a hostel to be fair so we were not expecting anything amazing. However, shower was awful. Little more than a hole in the ceiling which dripped water on your head.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    The staffs are helpful and friendly, I had a smooth check-in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I lived on the 1st floor and the window is facing the street. There's a bar on the opposite side of the road, and there were drunken people talking and yelling on the street until 4:30am! I am not very sensitive to noise and was exhausted, and yet I still couldn't fall into sleep. After the people have gone, then comes the noise of the fountain which is literally like a small waterfall. Around 5am, you'd probably hear the noise from the garbage truck. It's really annoying even with the windows closed... The staff had told me that this week is the worst since some event is going on, but I think you must be prepared for the noise if you are going to stay there.

    The staffs are helpful and friendly, I had a smooth check-in and check-out experience. The room and the beds are clean, and I like that there is a sink in each room. The shower and toilets are fine, I can't ask for more as a hostel. Location is good as well, can walk to the central station within 10 mins.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    excellent location, staff was great and welcoming :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    maybe sort out the booking system :)

    Great location, I walked to all the places I wanted to visit. Only reason I have given a “Good” is when I was checking in my booking was not available in their system. Luckily staff was very kind and manged to sort out a room for me. A special thanks to Eddie at the reception who is excellent in customer care and sort my booking out. This place is full of life and character, you will get to meet quite a bit of fellow travelers. Enjoyed the breakfast too and take advantage of the free walking tours they are great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Location and bike option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was awful. There is no dedicated place for bath. Shower head is exactly in the middle of the bathroom. And the flush was not working properly.

    Location and bike option.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good position in the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy during the night in the weekend

    Very good position in the center of the city. The room was very very nice and cleaned and the people at the reception were always nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.4
    I won't go again because I need my sleep at night. Probably a good place for younger people.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being a hostel the price for double room with bathroom was too expensive. The facilities were not on the level of the (hotel) price. The weekend partying on the street below the window was hard to tolerate: no sleep because of the poor sound insulation.

    -

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Great with best like minded souls!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Location was amazing.. and the bar was open all night 😁 just dont forget to take a small lock for lockers as it costs 47dkk and you might feel the need 😊

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great place to meet new people. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the bed was very comfy, and the breakfast was good. I didn't have any problem with the noise from the bar downstairs, but then again my room was on the 5th floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Part of a lively bar so loud at night. Our flush on the toilet was broken. Reported it to reception but didn't get fixed.

    Great location. Clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay if you’re travelling with friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing missing was a kitchen and the wifi wasn’t that good - it kept shutting down.

    The bar attached was fun with a really good happy hour. The staff were great. Very friendly and helpful. The showers were very clean and nice and hot and the dorms had windows you could open for fresh air.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    It’s okay for a short trip, if you spend most of your time exploring Copenhagen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one sink on the floor, and we had to wait really long in the morning to get to it: The room is really small, so that only one person can walk there. I would advise to travel with friends, so that you feel more comfortable there and don’t have to stay with strangers.

    The location is really nice. Toilet and shower are quite clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    In the heart of the city, with fair services
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is certainly not a place to rest, especially if you stay there during the weekend. The parties around will not allow you to sleep earlier than 4 AM and I wished to anticipate that. Also, the „living room” of the hostel was a bar. The storage places were not comfortable and also the sheets were low quality with synthetic materials that would heat you up during the night.

    I liked very much the location. The hostel is situated in the heart of the old town of Copenhagen, with many attractions in just a few minutes walk. The hostel was also very clean and the bathrooms were many and accessible, with private showers and toilets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, food and drinks were too expensive so I did not try anything. But it is Copenhagen itself to be very expensive.

    Bed comfortable. Bedlinen clean. Great staff. Access to the room via electronic pass.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    I was very positive and I would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I got hurt climbing the bunk bed, something slashed my hand so I would ask people to be careful.

    Great breakfast! Comfortable bed and very clean room. They were fixing the pub so it wasn't the best first impression at the reception, but I did like my stay there and would return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    4.6
    Good location but minimal service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For its cost, what they offered is really minimal. We stayed 2 nights in a private room and no one cleaned the room. The only thing they did is to change the trash. Shower is just above the sink, so whenever you wash your hand, be prepared to get a shower too because the water keeps running down.

    The location is perfect, although it can be loud/noisy outside

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    LOCKERS/ STORAGE SHOULD BE FREE. BEER IS COSTLY
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE PRICE OF LOCKERS WHICH IS SUPPOSED TO BE FREE FOR BEING A GUEST WHILE WAITING FOR A ROOM OR CHECKING OUT. IT SHOULD BE FREE WHEN U LEAVE YOUR THINGS. THE BEER 50DKK IS EXPENSIVE EVEN U ARE A GUEST AS A HAPPY HOUR. BETTER BUY OUTSIDE AND DRINK OUTSIDE.

    I like the location.. the bathroom and the first floor where they booked me. The bar is lively and smoking outside is great BUT up to 12midnight only.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice place if you enjoy night life
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a bar downstairs and unfortunately they have a pretty good sound system so you can feel the base few floors up in the night.

    Great staff & location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location, friendly and helpful staffs and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restroom and shower rooms were shared. It would have been better if the restroom is inside each room.

    Good location, friendly and helpful staffs and nice restaurant and pub downstairs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    The location was excellent - very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The minor improvements I would suggest are privacy curtains, a drawer for storage, instead of what they currently have which is the a divider, which you can lock individually. Also the floor entrance door was broken, with a note to say it would be fixed, but it would be useful to know when it was reported and when it would be fixed.

    The location was excellent - very central. The staff were super friendly, which was a great way to start my stay. The shared facilities were clean considering the amount of people they were shared between. I had read reviews saying that it can be noisy on the first floor, but the hostel provided ear plugs at reception, which worked like a treat :) The beds were clean and the duvet provided was warm and the individual lights for each bed is a great addition. Each room (at least on my floor) had a sink and toiletry storage, which is useful. They seem to have a number of activities on, so it's great if you have no plans. They also give you a wristband tat gets you money off drinks at their bar, which is a nice extra. Overall, I really liked my stay at Downtown Hostel. I'd recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice place to stay, I would definitely join again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the first two days we arrived the key cards weren't working. Which was unfrotunately little bit enoying for us and the poore staff who always had to run uf with us to the 4th floor to open up our room.

    Perfect location, nice cozy rooms with all you need. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice view from the 4th floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    I won't return, even if I have to pay twice as much elsewhere.
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lounge is full of smoke from the smokers who sit and puff in a bank of chairs along a row of wide-open panorama doors. The breakfast is sub-standard.

    Beds, rooms, toilets, and bathrooms are fine. The staff range from outstanding to impertinent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    The room and facilities were very clean and the bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited quantity of sinks - one in the room and one in the bathroom

    The room and facilities were very clean and the bar downstairs was a great place to relax and socialize!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Definitely recommend, just do not forget to take own towels and lockers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room windows were on the street, and music in bar downstairs was loud and playing until 3 am. So we were not able to open windows, and it was really stuffy in the room. And there were no towels available - that was really surprising for me.

    Super cool location. Like up to 10 minutes to the greatest places. Lots of places to eat nearby. Tivoli garden in 5-minute walk. Bicycle rent is available in the hostel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Good hostel for young people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only problem of the hostel was the noise of bar parties until late hours at night (two days until 4am/5am).

    Very kind staff, nice rooms and shared bathrooms very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a bar in the ground floor of the building and it is very noisy at night. If you arrive at night, don’t be shocked that the check-in counter is also inside the bar.

    Good location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.1
    The hostel was really cheap and it is located right in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilets downstairs were disgusting. They were better on the first floor but still nothing impressive. There were no paper towels or functioning fans. And considering this, it's pretty funny they are bragging about "cleanliness award".

    The hostel was really cheap and it is located right in the city center. They also have neat happy hour. So if you are looking for a place to stay overnight, it is a good choice. Otherwise, I have been to much better hostels...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a bit annoying that you have to pay for leaving a suitcase, but from another side you get the locker and can come and leave something else or take something from your luggage. Very loud, have to be prepared for it!

    Location is perfect. Internet has a good speed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Great atmosphere and happy staff. Very easy to talk to anyone-everyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sound reduction needed on first floor (VERY loud music Saturday night) Toilet seat and shower broken. (but 'do-able') Would have liked a tea kettle/boiler in the room.

    Location. Personal. Atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Very comfort beds and great location in city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hostel was the only place in city where I was charged % by every credit card payment. Extremely loud and noisy from the street especially on Friday evening.

    Very comfort beds and great location in city centre. Breakfast is really cheap for Cph

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Good location but no elevator
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no lift so I had to choose between carry my 20kg. luggage up to 4th floor or leave it in the locker. The Locker cost 40 DKK per day. Other than the lift, everythings was good. The room was nice and comfy. They gave an earplug to every guest so I didn't hear any lound noice from teenagers in other rooms at all. Good thought!

    The location was great. Close to the center and everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are dirty toilets. But most importantly some rooms haven't a sink,hair dryer and 6th floor hasn't sinks at all.

    The location is perfect,very beautiful places around. The stuff is nice and helpful. I like that every floor has different design!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    In overall I am very satisfied - for that price living in the centre of Copenhagen - just purrfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only concern was a shower - a bit little space in dry area.

    The biggest benefit is location and tidy and clean rooms. And breakfast was quite good (and actually thank you, Denmark, for generally rich and delicious food #rødgrødmedfløde). Also they have bikes rental, which was also very handy for the city with such good infrastructure for bikes

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception area is in the bar area, not very comfortable when check-in with children as it was noisy. Little one needed toilet and her sibblings didn't feel comfortable waiting in a bar on their own. Dad was busy trying to find a place to park (not easy at all). Staff were very friendly though. Lost property management could improve: My daughter left behind in the room a brand new pair of Adidas trainers which I remember she placed under the beds, in the lockers area. When we rang the hotel they said trainers were not found. In the past we have to reclaim lost property in other hotels and the items had always been located and returned to us.

    Good value for money. central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.8
    Is close to everything in the center, the stuff was really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are okay, but the beds don't have any privacy.

    Is close to everything in the center, the stuff was really nice and friendly, the bar have a good prices for the city in general.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.2
    The worst hostel that I've ever been to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a terrible experience. The first floor is a bar - super noisy. They open even at midnight. The bed and everything look old. The bed smells terrible - I doubt if they even clean them.

    The reception is nice. The location is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice hostel, friendly staff, ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was actually ok but expect loud music. If your room is on the 1st floor, the staff will strongly recommend earplugs upon check-in. The bed bunk was a bit high (not recommended for those who don’t like heights)

    Nice hostel, friendly staff, ideal location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Easy access to city centre and discounted drinks at the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were renovations for new toilets on the floor I was staying in, so I either had to go floors above or below to use the toilets. The bedside lamp wasn't working by my bunk.

    Easy access to city centre and discounted drinks at the bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Loved it. Will definitely stay here again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is fitted on the ceiling.the entire toilet will be wet after a shower. Not a big deal if you have flipflop to enter and exit the toilet/shower.

    Everything. Very cool bed. Space was utilised correctly although small.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.4
    The bar under the hostel was cool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is a kind of disappoinment! We rented a room which has a private bathroom, but it was extremely small and the shower was just top of the toilet!It means it is impossible to take a shower without wetting everywhere! We have never seen this kind of bathroom style, it was complete failure!

    The bar under the hostel was cool! Prices much lower than in any other Copenhagen bars. Besides, the location was good!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    Good location. Dirty sheets. Noisy at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets were very dirty with blood stains. There was also a dirty shock from the previous guests. The reception of the hostel is a pub and it was really noisy on Saturday night, even though we stayed at the 4th floor. Also on the website it says there is shampoo and there is not. And there are only two wall hooks with two hangers to hang your clothes.

    The bed was really comfortable. The location was really good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    The place is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place is amazing. Probably the best hostel to stay at in Copenhagen. The shared bathrooms and toilets were exremely clean for a hostel and the beds were comfortable as well. The bar is what every young tourist wants and if you get hungry they have good breakfast and also serve meals during the day till 8 pm. The location is also perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Very recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bed in 8-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleaning people were very noisy on the hallways in the morning.

    I love the location of the hostel as it is very close to the main places to visit in the city. The room was good and not noisy at all except of the bell sound from the near church. The showers of the 5th floor are amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Best hostel, despite some short comings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell around toilets can be improved. But the staff was doing its best to do that. A for efforts but entrance of every floor stinks.

    Awesome location, friendly and helpful staff, very friendly environment. It was my 2nd visit to this hostel. So, I knew what to expect. Despite having some short comings in cleanliness and sound proofing department, I think it is the best hostel to stay in Copenhagen. Please keep in mind that it is a party hostel. Which saves you a lot of time, effort and money as you can have everything inside the hostel. But then some people complain about hearing music in rooms. A tip is to get ear plugs at the reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    Great location, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bunk Bed in 10-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a twin room with bathroom but no soap in room strangely. Staff didn't offer any recommendations about Copenhagen.

    Great location, close to everything. Comfy beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    Good and polite staff,cheap and absolutely good breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower and the Window of the room couldn't close completely so cold air goes into the room..

    Good and polite staff,cheap and absolutely good breakfast with many choices,discount on the bar,free walk tour arround copenhagen,absolutely good area,rent a bike from the hostel which Is very good,games at lobby,every day special day on the bar and lobby area,live music events and of course happy hour from the bar with very good offers!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    nice and clean hostel in the very center of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bunk Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restrooms on my floor were under construction at that moment, but I think it won't last long

    nice and clean hostel in the very center of the city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location, great staff, room was not that good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a single room. The bed was by the window and there was a drought. The linen was clean but the bed felt not very hygienic because of the carpet like cover on the wall by the head. The bathroom does not have a proper shower, its a wet room and everytime you turn on tap in the sink it start dripping on your head. Its not possible to use the bathroom after showering for a while as the floor is really wet.

    Location is gteat! Staff is very helpful and friendly!The price is not bad.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    4.6
    Overall, for a hostel, it ticks boxes for safety and hospitality. But the facilities need a revamp!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was extremely dusty. If toilet space is ever a problem for you, pls note that the shower head is almost right above the toilet bowl and there is no where to hang a towel.

    Comfy bed, safe area, food options available close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Great staff, clean room but small for a twin.
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, clean room but small for a twin. Close to city center and shopping district. Lovely experience. I recommend to take the free Copenhagen tour from the hostel too.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Copenhagen Downtown Hostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: