Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Copenhagen Island Hotel 4 stars

Kalvebod Brygge 53, Vesterbro, 1560 Copenhagen, Denmark

#22 of 102 hotels in Copenhagen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3149 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was clean, fairly well located and staff were very helpful. Set on the water side, the city centre is a pleasant 20 minute walk along the board walk, very enjoyable after a day of conference!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is very good, near the urban train station (2 minutes walking distance). The hotel room is pretty clean, decorated in a modern way. The check-out was very quick and convenient as we needed to catch our flight early in the morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the rooms have view exactly on a road, moreover the road is on very high level - at about second floor.

    Everything was good Nice room, excellent view from the restaurant Very convenient bicycles rent service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - breakfast - very poor for the price, hot station looked like McDonald food with no eggs being cooked fresh by the chef which is normally the case in 4 star hotels, not much choice, one of the worst I have recently seen - staff at the reception - very unprofessional, not willing to help, very arrogant and with the "what do you want from me" approach, sometimes you can see many people chatting but when there is a customer nobody wants to help, it looks like the hotel lacks of management - room - small, plastic cups for coffee and tea which I found ridiculous - entrance - there is no one to welcome, there is no proper lift and there was nobody to explain that I have to use the lift for the wheelchair in order to bring my luggage to the reception level - very expensive for what it is

    - nice location close to the water, good place if someone likes walking - close to the airport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No dislikes really

    The view over the water is awesome. I also like the fact that the hotel is quiet and well placed near the shopping mall and the meat district (loads of cool restaurants). It is a nice walk from the centrum and in a good weather it is so nice to walk on the bank of the channel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking spaces were limited and the hotel is a good 20 minutes walk away from the city Centre.

    Modern hotel on the water and next to a shopping mall and elevated cycling path. Friendly and welcoming staff. I really liked the thoughtfulness of placing flavored drinking water next to the elevator, almost prompting guests to remain hydrated. The restaurant had fantastic views!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bigger room.

    The bed head is unique...design of a sail. Standard room small. Would be nice to have a Harbor View. Convenient as the Copenhagen Mall is next door to the Island Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot. Inspire of adjusting the temperature level it was very very hot in the night time and I had to keep the window completely open.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was dust under the beds. Mostly melons in the fruit salad. Bathroom products - poor! The bed could not be separated. The trafic outside - three roads! The rooms to that side should be cheaper and able to choose..

    Beds good. Breakfast - very good, exception the fruit salad that consisted of mostly melons. Nice staff, good service! Nice design in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Agree with another reviewer,china mugs proper milk for tea and coffee.

    Wonderful staff - so friendly and helpful Great location - just outside the centre but 5 minute public transport ride in Bike hire - great place to cycle and walk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the restaurant staff were less than welcoming...

    Stylish rooms, excellent breakfasts and dinners. Parking availability. Proximity to centre of Copenhagen (on foot) or by bicycle (available)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good and varied buffet breakfast. Possible breakfest to bed too. Good sleeping even in room situated to street view. Hotel is not so far from small train station tah is only one stop from central station. Good connection to city centre. Shopping mall Fisketovet next door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    booking does not transfer to the hotel the double bed request So call before arriving to make sure you have a double and not two single beds

    Good breakfast We were upgraded to a great room with a view on the canal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our last morning we wanted a coffee outside (after checkout) but staff in the bar tried to say that we could only pay by card and not cash! Had to hold our ground on this.

    A very comfortable and friendly hotel. Buffet breakfast was of high standard and set in very pleasant location. On the whole the staff were brilliant. Easy to get to by train from the airport. Walk to city centre pleasant along the waterfront but bit further than info suggested. We did not not mind this as we had great weather. Not so good in the rain.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a window into the bathroom from the room which made privacy in the bathroom a bit of an issue!

    Very light and airy with modern rooms. Close to the train station and big shopping mall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Up grade the in room tea and coffee facilities

    Great Room, Great Staff, Only had breakfast but was very good with large choice of fresh ingredients. The only negative was with the in room tea and coffee this was poor particularly the cups which were card board. I would have liked to have a proper cup or mug and not a single use item.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I´d wish the single bed would have been slightly larger . Also this is not a value for money situation , but Denmark is generally a very expensive country .

    The staff was very professional and helpful , the views from the breakfast hall were amazing , the bathroom facilities were great .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel organised a taxi for Airport drop for some reason it was 50% more expensive than the direct taxi taken while arriving from airport

    The hotel is located right next to a huge mall where in you can get access in 2 minutes to mc donalds, etc that helped for quick bites..the hotel is slightly away from main centre but again all public transport is available walking within 10 mins.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a standard room and requested one over looking the water. We got a room overlooking a building site, railway sidings and a motorway. We had to pay £25 per night to get a standard room with a partial view of the water.

    Discovering that the boat service was included in the railway travel pass. Not much else.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was charged twice on my credit card for the room - upon arrival and on check out. Had to contact them twice to request the refund and it took them more than 3 weeks to do so.

    It is a nice hotel, good for a short stay. The room was clean, but a bit small. Breakfast was mediocre - they could offer more of fresh fruits, vegetables and juices. Has a nice view from the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately I had a room over the gym and this was very noisy. It was not possible for me to change rooms as fully booked. However, I waited until after 10pm (when the gym was supposed to be closed) to ask reception if they could turn down the music in the gym - which they said ought to be closed. It was only a few more minutes and they resolved the issue.

    Great location. Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit expensive Restaurant and bar should have a discount for visitors which are staying in the hotel

    We had a wedding event and our experience there was amazing. Such a good place and good location. Our view was amazing. Definitely highly recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. It was what I expected from the photographs.

    Good breakfast choice. Functional rooms. In a business area so quiet as we stayed at weekend. Nice breakfast eating area. Close to centre of town. 15 minute walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only tea and coffee provided for one night and not replenished. Clean towels left on outside door handle the next day & not brought into room. Parking was expensive for off street.

    Nice room with a bath. Tidy and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely and the bed was extremely comfortable. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious and the service was great. Great location, quiet, one stop outside the city centre easy to get in and out. Next door to hotel was a lovely shopping centre with restaurants and supermarkets and a Cinema.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room size was small , not waterfront view for standard rooms (this was not mentioned at the time of booking , pics shows waterfront view only) .Water kettle was stained heavily , couldn't use it even after cleaning .

    Breakfast was awesome , lots of options for vegetarians .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was a bit costlier - cups were provided for 2 whereas room booked for three - paper cups not replaced on following day

    Good and cosy for a holiday destination

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking Garage was not good. After I have removed a number off garbage in one of the corner I manage to park my Volvo S90. To do it easier the morning after I move my car to the huge parking area beside. I was of course aware of that this was a parking lot for NYKREDIT. All other NYKREDIT parking lots was empty due to Easter. I went up for breakfast and back after 20 minutes and got an negative surprise. Parking Fee 750 DKK :( . I went up directly to information desk and hope that they should manage to convince EUROPARK to take away the Parking Fee away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were awfully warm in winter, air conditioning wouldn't work. Bathtub wouldn't work (the valve to block the water from draining). The view is far from good unless you pay extra to be on the nice side (not the standard room). Everything just felt overpriced

    They have a nice sauna and decent gym room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I was lied to! It said breakfast was included in the price but found out at the hotel that it wasn’t which was hugely diceiving!

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the hallways were incredibly hot. It was 6 celcius outside and apparently they were still heating the hotel? Even applying make-up I was sweating like a pig - I had set the room temp to 15C and turned off the bathroom floor heating first thing when checked in - and packing on the check-out day should’ve been done butt-naked to be tolerable.

    Bed was very comfortable and breakfast in the room good. The best quality of the hotel is their co-operation with Airluggage. Location near Fisktorvet (both mall and train station) was very handy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot and uncomfortable for sleeping. Be sure to make it down early for breakfast.Transport is expensive.

    Excellent bar food. Crusty bread with mushroom mayonaisse was very tasty. View from our 5th floor balcony was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather outside was so cold, windy and icy that we weren’t able to take advantage of out balcony!

    Location , the views out across the water. Easy access to the metro. Found a lovely Italian restaurant within walking distance. The hotel was warm, the staff welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in the shower on the 4th floor could be a bit warmer and the breakfast prices are a bit ridiculous but otherwise there is nothing to complain about

    Great location, friendly staff, comfy bed, right sized room and bathroom. Altogether a very good experience!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t so pleased about the fact that the air conditioning only had hot air coming out of the ventilator. Also there was much traffic noise when I opened the window.

    The hotel was quite amazing, and I really enjoyed my whole stay there. The staff was very friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners banged on door 10 times one morning, even though we were checking out at 2pm, several people came and bothered us from 10am. Room was not cleaned if we did not leave before 1pm. Bag of towels left on door handle. Disorganised. Charges to our bill (breakfast, laundry etc) that we’re not ours. The hotel was nice but definitely not 4 * standard.

    Staff pleasant, view nice, bar open until 1am.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely bright room overlooking the river. Shopping centre and cinema next to hotel. A short walk to the Meatpacking District, recommend food and beer in Warpigs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness. While the building itself is contemporarily, the interior of the rooms, and the restaurant is tired. I also felt nickle and dimed.

    The architecture

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedcover in the room was dirty and also the bathroom had yelloness in the corners , which looked ugly. The bed was uncomfortable and mattress was not up to mark (definitely not in accordance with the price) When my partner moved on bed, I was woken up. The walls were thin and we could hear the people above us. Most importantly, the hotel claimed to provide a view to the city but the rooms do not give any view. It is blocked by the large building in front of it. So infact you only get view of a building in front of you ! The hotel is further away from the Center so not very convenient.

    The staff was friendlier than we expected and offered us to rent a bike on hourly basis.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff never made it clear that our payment was not taken on our first night, even though it showed on my account it was, This was not explained to us. Then on the day of check out when we thought we were only paying for the mini fridge/drinks we were charged again for the room on my partners card. We were very upset by this because it was the only money we had left for that day before our flight at 8 in the night. This ruined our last day on holidays and feel could of been prevented if your staff were more vocal and communicated exactly what was going on. This situation caused a lot of stress and upset trying to arrange money to be sent from Ireland.

    The room we had was comfortable and modern.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet was a little higher than other toilets that I've used, just thinking maybe it was designed for taller people. Little bit far from the main area where everything happens, so may need to catch a train or walk around 25 minutes to the main area.

    Quiet area, so wasn't too noisy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not soundproofed well so you can hear everything from the rooms around you. We had to move at 4am after being kept awake for an hour by the women upstairs - was awful!

    Rooms were modern and well equipped with great heating, needed after a day of sightseeing in the snow

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit more light in the room would be nice. The last 2 days, the water of the toilet was flowing non-stop, which was a little unpleasant.

    Comfy bed, delicious breakfast, beautiful view, good wifi connection, friendly staff, ...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast could use improvements. It was eatable but I could not say that I liked particularly. The bacon was too salty for my personal taste and I would have liked to see some milk alternatives since I have a dairy allergy, but that will not be a problem for most people.

    Nice hotel which is close to the mall, easy to grab dinner, and is close to a bus station that makes traveling to the main area quit easy. The rooms where nice and clean. The hotels has a business like atmosphere. For standard room expect the windows to face the streets, not a good view, as they ask for extra payment for rooms that face the ocean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel for the first part of my husband's birthday trip and I'm so glad I did. We arrived at the hotel a couple of hours early and they allowed us to check in which was great for a lie down after a very early flight. When we got to our room we were very happy, the water front view was gorgeous (I had emailed ahead requesting this), and the bed was soooo comfy! Location was great as it was right next to a train station into the central area. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. Would highly recommend this beautiful hotel. :-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double bed was actually two singles pushed together with two single duvets, & not enough pillows. No plug sockets next to bed for phone chargers etc.

    Very stylish hotel, with nicely presented reception area. Great location next to the harbour.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel near some bus stations,I still feel it far away from the centre of city.There was a little problem with my accommodation deposit,but finally it been solved after about half month.

    The room is tidy and clean,mordern facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The singular issue, is that it is not particularly close to the city center (walkable even in less-than-ideal weather). However, the taxi service was rapid and well organised even when there were many people from different companies who were all waiting for taxi raides. I would choose this hotel again for business travel and will consider it strongly for private visits as well.

    The hotel has everything a business traveler would want, including a full restaurant in the hotel that is conducive to business meetings, a bar that likewise is good for short business discussions, a full business center, good connectivity, sufficient work space in the rooms, a fitness center, a modern & bright enviroment and a very supportive staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no scale for the customer to weigh the luggage. Although the service people here claimed that they had one, but just cannot find it out twice I visited the reception.

    The transportation here is very convenient. And beside the hotel there is a big mall which you can get food and do some shopping in it. And you can borrow the bike from the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My Weekend City Break At The Copenhagen Island Hotel. Upon A Late Check In I Went Up To My Room To Find The Room Has Not Being Cleaned Yet. So I Returned To The Front Desk And Recieved A Free Upgrade The Staff At The Front Desk Where Very Helpful. The Room Had A Balcony Looking Out Onto A Small Harbour And Views Of The River. The Location Was 10/10 The Copenhagen Mall Is Right Beside The Hotel With Lots Of Restraunts , Cafes , Cinema , Supermarkets And Clothes Shops. The Dybbolsbro Railway Station Is A 5 Minute Walk And Copenhagen Central Station Is 5 Minutes Away By Train. I Would Highly Recommened The Copenhagen Island Hotel And Cant Wait To Return

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra pillows can be requested from lobby, but those provided in room were very flat and uncomfortable. In our room, only a single accessible electrical socket (located away from bed and desk, near door).

    Breakfast was excellent. Location nice and quiet and safe - but easy walking distance to metro, central station + main sites / entertainment. Staff lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is off the center. It could be nice if you visit Copenhagen for the business and the office nearby but maybe a problem if you want/need to be close the center / Tivali Park.

    The hotel is new and apartments are nice and clean. The hotel has gym with a sauna which is definitely a plus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow check-in, slow check-out. Upselling: car parking, room. The rooms were noisy due to badly isolated windows and street noise. The rooms were small. The rooms were to pricy for what was provided. Someone entered the room at 06:00 and turned the lights on.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Minor criticism - breakfast on the Sunday - overcrowded not enough seating, would be better with a staggered breakfast time

    Great staff, good breakfast, excellent connections to the city centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Road noise from outside even when the windows were closed. Room service ends too early at 2200.

    Very comfortable bed in well kitted out room. Short easy walk from the main station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Parking at the hotel. We paid 20 Eur/night in parking belonging to Tivoli Hotel, which was suggested by Island Hotel. Room for new married people was regular and quite small. In total we paid more than expected.

    The staff was very kind.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view and the rooms

    The hotel was everything I expected our room view was amazing. Beds super comfortable and it was a wonderful location. Rooms very spacious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are very soft but did manage to sleep. When there is a function on the bar is closed for guest to use. No other alternative other than to walk 20 minutes into town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was a bit too expensive, food was good but way too pricey. Breakfast wasn’t anything special..

    The Executive room with a balcony and a view over the harbour was definitely worth the money! Very quiet room on the third floor, and the bed was really comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area was not enough place with high number of residents

    Next to a shopping center yet needs 20 minutes walk to Trivoli garden and city center which can be hard in winter.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed was to soft,but it is only me I like to sleep on hard bed

    nice staff and location,good resturante at the hotel,it was clean,we just loved it, shooping mall next door with all you need

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast with room service was very disappointing. Who wants to eat freezing cold scrambled eggs? No thank you. Next day we asked for EITHER boiled eggs OR a bacon sandwich each. We received and were CHARGED for both and the toasted bacon sandwich had some kind of hideous mushroom paste on it. We ate out for breakfast on the other occasion! All made worse by me sharing my photos of the completed breakfast card and complete denial by the management. Not the friendliest bunch either; we seemed to be invisible. Also note the hotel is quite far away from the main areas, seems to be a financial district except for the HUGE Mall and cinema next door. Not sure I'd pay extra again for a view of the water.. Not cheap by any means! Check your bill before leaving.

    Comfy beds, nice room though didn't feel special.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOTHING

    VERY CLEAN, EFFICIENT, HELPFUL STAFF, BRILLIANT VIEWS AND GOOD LOCATION - GOT THE HOTEL ON AN OFFER WITH BREAKFAST INCLUDED - BREAKFAST GREAT - WIDE VARIETY OF GOOD QUALITY FOODS, FRESHLY BAKED DANISH PASTRIES - LOVELY TO FINISH OFF THE BREAKFAST!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I disliked that it was not any vegetables you could have on your fresh bread just bowl med vegetables. Should be very happy if you could serve slices of tomatoes and cucumber our paprika slices

    I liked the fresh bread, pastries and the hot dishes tea was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is not great. It's OK, but certainly not in Copenhagen center. There is not much around besides a boring mall, and it is not directly accessible via public transit, with buses and trains stopping about half a kilometer at the closest. We also had trouble with the front desk staff. Our wakeup call on departure day came about 15 minutes late and when we requested a cab, they booked a fixed fair to the airport even though we were only going to the central train station.

    The hotel was clean and modern. The rate was the most affordable we could find within a reasonable distance to central Copenhagen. They accommodated an early check-in and the room was well equipped with mini bar, coffee / tea, etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located very close to Tivoli gardens, on a shore of the river, makes for amazing views and plenty of things to do nearby. Rooms are comfortable, clean and inviting. Bathrooms spacious and immaculate. The hotel staff is there for you with whatever request you have, and they do it all with a smile and friendly approach. Breakfast offered is very good, with big selection and very tasty food. If you're a shopoholic, there is a huge mall next door. If you like to do your sightseeing on a bike, the hotel offers plenty of rentals, all shapes and sizes, at affordable prices for a day or more. Next time I come back to Copenhagen, this hotel will be my first choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Taxi's were very convenient however pricey - would recommend getting the train or even walking it (if you have walking shoes). The weather was a bit on the sad side - it rained every day! Make sure you bring a waterproof jacket, that's not incredibly warm, as it's not really cold, just wet!

    Very friendly staff, clean hotel (even free fresh water in reception), very modern. Loved the room, even though a little small (standard room). I went with my partner, best friend and their partner - we had a great visit and was able to easily walk to the Centre (20 minutes walking) or occasionally we got the train (5 minute walk).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My sofa bed. Although comfy was a squeeze in the room shared by 2 other adults. Space certainly NOT thought out. No where for suitcases, desk unable to sit at, not enough wardrobe space. Need to have rooms to cater for 3 people comfortably especially at the price!

    Staff helpful when needing extra English teabags, 3 adults in the 1 room, needed more facilities. Clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was promised free breakfast from booking.com but was charged 370 dk (almost $60 usd) for 2 breakfasts that consisted of pastries, scrambles eggs, and cold cuts. Ridiculous

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not like walking in the front door...tired after a long journey being immediately asked if we wanted an upgrade...

    It was spotlessly clean...everywhere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant manager did give us a slight passive attitude when we went down for dinner, he let us know they were short handed, and obviously stressed. The waitress went to seat us, only for the manager to tell her not to sit us. He had us walk back up the stairs to sign us in and then went back down stairs to sit us in the exact same area we first were? We were tired from traveling all day and starving, so it just didn't put a good taste in our mouthes! But the food made up for it!

    I loved EVERYTHING! The location was perfect, just a short walking distance to the hop on hop off bus stop! Right next door to a great mall with good food and an IMAX movie theatre (for the cold rainy days) The concierge were all spectacular! Our room had a great view of the harbor! The chicken ceasar salad was absolutely wonderful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to change my arrival dates two times, at the last moment. There was no free cancellation anymore, nevertheless this hotel accepted two times my cancellation without charge me anything....!!! So, ten thumbs up for this hotel!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people may think it’s a bit out of the centre. We didn’t mind the walk though. Took us just over 20 minutes to Tivoli Gardens

    We were upgraded to a higher floor so had a good view of the Harbour . No need for a taxi from the airport, it’s easy on the train

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great view of the city, shopping centre right by the hotel and close to the main train station. I booked the cheapest room possible because I was only staying one night. The room was on the smaller side but very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Still awfully expensive overall - for a hotel not located exactly in the centrum moreover with very small rooms. It is a general plague in Denmark but it doesn´t change the fact that this is quite poor value for money.

    Pleasant hotel overall, nice lobby, nice location by the water.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Copenhagen Island Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: