Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Danhostel Ishøj Strand

Ishøj Strandvej 13, 2635 Ishøj, Denmark

#4 of 6 hotels in Ishøj

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 261 hostel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hostel. Linen and towels included (as it is a hostel you have to make your bed). Staff very friendly and polite. Room cosy and comfortable, well heated and isolated. Plenty of free parking space close to the rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We payed extra for lining and towels....and I can say that was a strange experience for us. I have never experienced such a demand in any of my more than 30 years of traveling around the world. And more of that...we had no idea about that before arrival. I have had no bad feelings on paying extra for a service but guys, this is not a service, lining and towels are basic stuff for accommodation. You must prepare the room, not the paying guests. To come with extra 5 kilo in your luggage and to prepare yourself your own bed for sleeping....we are in our leisure time or not !? Feeling like in my army service was not the best way to use my time in that place.

    Far away from city noise and crowd, an excellent option for those coming by car. Good city connection using S-Train. No need to reach Copenhagen by car. Need only 20 minutes from Ishoj S-train station to arrive in Norreport in center Copenhagen, straight in front of Botanical Garden entry gate. Trains every 10 / 20 minutes week/weekend. You will find S- rain station five minutes walking, in same place with a local commercial facility. Large rooms with all you need including free wi-fi and flat TV. The metal flap bunking beds amazed me with their simple way of using. Must find the maker company ! Parking was free and safe. Btw, for those with small kids you have a full automatic laundry facility (including dryer). If needed, you have to pay 40 DKK laundry and 20 DKK dryer usage, in 20 DKK coins.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-out time could be changed to 11 am instead of 10 am. Wifi at the rooms and also TV is paid extra which is a bit strange compared to other hotels that i have stayed.

    The shared space was very big.The room was also big and had all the facilities.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its a little out of the way for anyone who isn't looking for the family campground experience, however the train station is relatively close.

    It is a nice campground that I would recommend to families looking to vacation in the summertime.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay extra if we wanted sheets and towels. The beddings were very dirty, had to sleep without a blancket. A lot of dust everywhere, generally very dirty bathroom and floor...

    Good location, nice landscape

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed sheets were too expensive and we had to pay almost 400 danish krona extra for four people. The bathroom was really dirty and stinking.

    Although it was located far away from the city center, it was cosy and nice area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a "comfort 4-bedded room", but actually it was an ugly six-bunk-bed hostel room with rudimentery equipment. At first glance the price might seem interesting, but one gets charged for everything in addition: - bed linen - WLAN (100 DKK/week with only 1 device allowed at a time!!!) - Credit card fee (112 DKK, 5% of total amount) And as the next train station was closed due to maintenance, reaching Kopenhagen center took much longer or required a car)

    Breakfast was o.k. for a reasonable price (DKK 75).

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    UNEXPECTED NEED TO PAY ADDITIONALLY FOR WIFI PER PC and SMARTPHONE IN ROOM. STAFF NOT INDICATING THAT COMMON AREAS HAD WIFI, SO WE BOUGHT TWO LICENCES. ALSO CHANGING TOWELS DID NOT OCCUR ALTHOUGH YOU PAY SAME PRICE PER DAY AS PEOPLE STAYING SMALLER PERIODS. IN ADDITION SOME VISA ERROR MADE US PAY MORE THAN EXPECTED AS COMPANY CHARGED US DAY OF ARRIVAL THROUGH ANOTHER SYSTEM ADDING COSTS TO PAYMENT DUE TO VISA USE (NOT INDICATED ON BOOKING.COM)

    SPACIOUS LOCATION WITH KITCHEN FACILITIES NEAR SEA SITE AND COPENHAGEN WITH READY ACCESS TO TOWN THROUGH MOTORWAY AND S BAHN. BUFFET BREAKFAST WAS EVERY DAY SAME BUT LARGE CHOICE.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When taking a shower water was everywhere and there was nothing to clean the water.

    Surroundings are nice, it is close to the bus stop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleanisses of the matlasses. Noise protection from neighbors

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An own fridge would have been nice

    Place is clean and well maintained close to Copenhagen city

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No special

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower not great

    Beds comfy and accommodation clean and warm

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is around 15 kms from city. But with good connectivity including weekends, we can reach there in 30-40 mins.

    Excellent facilities and atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location, convenient for travelling to Copenhagen. I will definitely use it again next time, on my leisure travelling....

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Costly

    Surroundings

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The kitchen was not really clean and the hostel seemed to be better for summer guests. If you are visiting Copenhagen it's better to pay a little bit more to stay in the center, the train is expensive. The hostel is expensive, you don't get a lot for what you pay. The breakfast is not worth the price.

    Nice staff and good playground for children, guess it's really nice in the summer with the beach close to the hostel. Not far walking distance from the train station and super markets. Kitchen and parking.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Much too expensive for the hostelstandard. Ridiculous that we even had to pay 100 dkr to watch tv in the room.

    Near the place where we had our activities

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Group

    Had to pay extra for remote control and internett.

    Quiet and lovely breakfast and wasn't far from the ice hall we where on an ice hockey tournament!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor value for money - I had expected some basic comforts at the price (3000Kr for 3 days) You pay extra for linen, towel, internet, breakfast, etc Bare basics room - no tea / coffee making facilities or fridge, bathroom felt like it belonged in a hospital, uncomfortable beds, grotty carpet that showed every speck of dirt (not cleaned while we were there), etc. Very disappointing breakfast for 75Kr per person - fruit was all gone and not replenished, no hot dishes (e.g. eggs, bacon, sausages), no pastries, apple juice was heavily diluted, coffee was almost undrinkable (I bought a jar of Nescafe so I could have a reasonable cup of coffee in the morning) We left after 2 days of a 3 days stay - forfeited our money for the third night and booked into a decent hotel ---- what a relief! While I concede that this is positioned as a hostel, and presumably most of its customers know what to expect, the value for money is really poor and a few small changes would make for a far better experience. Why not have a kettle and a few cups in each room? Why not provide a decent breakfast (charge a bit more if it costs that much to provide undiluted apple juice)? Why not make the rooms feel a bit less like a hospital ward and a bit more like a place to have a holiday?

    Nice grounds Reasonable kids playground

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Stayed in the Standard Quintuple Room It's not look like in the pictures at all from the picture it's look like a nice cottage/cabin but it's turn out to be low level hostel, it was dirty and maintain in poor condition. Note: bed linen and towels cost 65 DKK per person and you need to set them by yourself. They also charge 100 DKK for paying with visa although it is not mention in Booking.com rules. Note2: No twin beds only bank beds Over all we could find a nicer hotel for the total price they charge us

    Friendly staff Great children's playground

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    at reception they have put note"no cash, pay by credit card only"...and charged 3.75% fees for it. not good!

    away from city and close to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - bikes for rent could be in better condition - quilt could be more clean

    - nice location - nice big room - beach near by - free Wi-fi in the mess

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Miss a redigerare in the room

    The room and the jump thing for the children

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our kids liked the playground with inflated "bouncing mat"

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room lighting insufficient brightness for anything

    Quiet with clean room. Comfortable with good breakfast Parking good

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming staff. We were allowed to check in before the time. Really liked this...

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    spacy rooms. very good wifi

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: