Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of First Hotel Kolding 4 stars

Banegårdspladsen 7, 6000 Kolding, Denmark

#8 of 15 hotels in Kolding

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1582 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    Possibility to check in online speeded up the whole check-in...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could be cleaner.

    Possibility to check in online speeded up the whole check-in process, access to the hotel by car is easy and you can leave it in the garage.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking cost extra each day. No hour pay. Not the best for short stay.

    Nice hotel. Good standards and ok location for train passengers due the close access. Best for travellers without car.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    A room to sleep in Kolding town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable beds. Utilities in bathroom were poor. Needs improvement in the breakfast. The best was the expresso machine and this one broke on day 3. The restaurant staff was not helpful. Having to pay extra for parking seems unreasonable in a town. The hotel is ready for a make - up if wanting to continue bringing guests.

    The staff was very friendly in the reception. Actually, best staff wa have encountered from any other hotel in our trip. Good tips for visiting around. I also like the fresh water with lemon and orange in the lobby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Perfect value for money and suitable for pets
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing related to the hotel as such, but some crazy people made a lot of noise at the square outside in the middle of night. Other than that, nothing negative to say.

    The location is great, also for pet owners like ourselves. A walk around the nearby lake is perfect. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is delicious. Beds were very comfy and the room (standard double) was is big enough. Bathroom and toiletries are also great. Everything you expect or mentioned on the website was present. We'll definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.7
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the room needs an urgent facelift. It can’t be that you wake up to see a sea of stains...

    We liked the breakfast. Excellent value for money and super friendly staff. The receptionist was a darling and more than helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Located very close to Kolding Castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located very close to Kolding Castle. Parking possible in hotel garage or on a large public parking behind the Hotel (parking fees apply). Walking distance to restaurants. Small supermarket opposite hotel. Good breakfast and room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    4.6
    The danish breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buisness Room upgreate 👎🏻 To hot in the room No air conditioner (this was broken?) Dirty carpet

    The danish breakfast The cold lemon/orange water

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant hotel, easy to get to and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Errr. can't think of anything...ah it would be nice to have some bottled water in the room!

    Excellent location, very quiet hotel. Breakfast was excellent. Would definite consider staying again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    3.3
    Breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dirty. There was somekind of diarrhea or vomit on carpet. The towels were dirty. The beds were really small. The room was really hot and loud because of its location next to railway station and no ac.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Professional staff + comfortable rooms + great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    We arrived quite late and received a very warm welcome. The check-in was pleasant and very easy, it took literally two minutes :) Our room had everything we needed and even more: an iron and ironing board, extra pillows and blankets, kettle, hair dryer, magazine with information about the town etc. All was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the room price and was really good (very big selection for every taste).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in Kolding centrum - Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative experience was that when we checked out we were charged for an upgraded room instead of the double room we booked but that was fixed right away.

    There was some misunderstanding when we arrived and we got a room for one person instead of two! The man in the lobby was very nice and gave us an upgradet room because of this misunderstanding. The room was very nice. The bathroom was small but nice and had cosmetics and even had hair straigthener which I have never experienced before! The bed was big and comfy and the bedlinen were soft. But what exceeded all my expectations was that under the chair was a washbasin with sea salts to put a tired feet in after a stroll in town! We really loved the free coffee and refreshments in the lobby and the breakfast was very good. The strawberru Smoothie was really delicious. Parking was great in the hotel garage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay there after we lost our train and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay there after we lost our train and the staff was kind and so helpful after we got stranded there. Clean facilities, loads of stuff available, closest to the train station, best service!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Right next to the train station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast I great if you can eat anything. But is lacking if you are vegan or lactose intolerant.

    Super location. Comfortable bed. Nice staff. I got a cheap deal so I found great value for my money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Hotel arbitrarily changed the type of room, claiming that in...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel arbitrarily changed the type of room, claiming that in a reserved room I could not sleep with the dogs. As a result, instead of a 30m2 room we stayed in room 17 m2. So the room was little (mainly bed) as well as the bathroom. From the window lousy view of the roof of the lower hotel floor. Terrible coffee. Price high in relation to the offered standard – no safe, no fridge, tiny wardrobe

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Run down carpets on the 2nd floor. Could do with somewhat better shampoo and amenities in bathroom.

    Excellent staff, friendly and hospitable. Good breakfast, included in price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    I will find another hotel next time - at least if it is hot outside
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No possibility for air in the room. The only way was to open the glass door which lead out to a passage connecting to other rooms. The little window in the room was permanently closed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    okayish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room carpet had some mysterious stains, overall the rooms weren't cleaned very well

    Great location next to the Central Station and Koldinghus, free parking space next to the hotel, nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    Could n't open the drapes because the apartments across...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could n't open the drapes because the apartments across the way could see right into the room. The manager came to the room at 12:15, when we were just about to leave, and extremely rudely asked if were aware that checkout was at noon - in a tone not even appropriate in a high school teacher speaking to the most delinquent kid in class. We're world travelers and have never been treated so poorly upon checkout...this is a manager who should n't be allowed to deal with the public.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in a great spot.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    It looked like there was a restaurant and bar inside of the hotel, but while I was there this area was only used to hold the breakfast and closed down at 10/10:30 AM. It was used later in the day for seating for guests to have bottled beers from the front desk, but I wouldn't really call it a bar and restaurant as the building states. This isn't a huge deal though since there are many restaurants very close by. Also, the hotel is relatively new but the room I had been in looked like the carpet and curtains hadn't been updated since it was built.

    Breakfast was pretty good, I like that there were multiple styles of eggs available every day and not just scrambled. The bed was actually pretty comfortable as well (Never know what to expect in a hotel). The staff was also very friendly. It is located right across from the train station which is super convenient. I also like that it has a fitness center on site.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a nice comfortable hotel in the centre of town next to station. Staff are pleasant and very attentive and helpful. Breakfast is excellent. Would highly reccomend as a good place to stay in Kolding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    2.9
    Terrible experience - the "bribe" voucher and animals in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is appalling with flakes and stains all around. You are offered a 3$ voucher just to not inform others about the condition of the room. I was disgusted with this form of "opinion bribary". PETS IN RESTAURANT. I came to a hotel, not to the zoo! Having pets all my childhood I cured all my pet-related parasites and really do not want to be reinfected. Cleanliness and comfort -> 0. WiFi needs constant re-confirmation of the terms and as a little troublesome to use. I could live with it.. seen worse conditions. Once connection is estabilished it works good till you are disconnected. Breakfast is all classic cheap stuff, unfortunately not well done (e.g. soft eggs have nothing in common with soft). No real options if you are on low carb, low gluten, healthy diet.

    Unfortunately there is not much good I can say.. The bed is comfortable and that is the biggest plus of a sleeping place called hotel. The location is good but with some fantastic view to the bus parking place. Ok. One more thing - windows are openable. And another one - TV is so old that thanks god even my partner did not want to watch it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.8
    If you need a place away from home this is certainly far from home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked worn. Lights in the room where complicated to turn on and off. Awful upbeat music during breakfast. Maid took dirty towels and reused them instead of giving new ones. TV old and outdated. No good parking, except paid. Concrete ceilings. Carpet stained...

    Shower had good water pressure. BBC on TV. Beds and linen were nice. Close to the city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.9
    Friendly and attentive staff, good breakfast, clean.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The socket is located in the far corner of the room - none near the bed, a short and narrow blanket, Carpet is urgently needed to replace - dirty and colored spots everyhere on it which gives not very comfortable feeling.

    Friendly and attentive staff, good breakfast, clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    Overall a good experience. One or two shortcomings that need attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shortcomings were the lack of catering facilities in the hotel. Only sandwiches available in the hotel "shop" . Lack of coffee making facilities in room. A kettle was supplied but not the ingredients.

    Pleasant location right by a quiet square.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location within th town centre and close proximity to the motorway
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the city centre and not far off from the motorway. The breakfast was a lot better than I was expecting. It gives you the chance to fill yourself up before your journey, an extra positive the Ekologic peanut butter :) .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Friendly staff, decent breakfast, nice sized room, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I expected a little more for the price, there wasn't any complimentary toothpaste and the TV was a bit basic.

    Friendly staff, decent breakfast, nice sized room, great location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.5
    Ok value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi is horrible to the point of unusable which is not acceptable. Breakfast is just called that. Room could be cleaner.

    Hotel is located next to the train station and in the center of Kolding. There is a paid (expensive) hotel parking but there is also feee parking 2 minutes away. The beds are soft and the bathroom is roomy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    Efficient and warm
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing important. Kolding bland and quiet but had a great meal at Cafe Bleu in city centre.

    Generally comfortable, good room with plenty of space, warm and clean. Breakfast normal Scandinavian standard, although the creeping march of the press-button coffee machine continues

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    Cheated
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room with a double bed and got 2 single bed, we paid ekstra to get the double bed. there was a lot off stains on the flor in the room. The shower was like the ones from the 80`s no water.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    5.0
    Will not repeat
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was dirty. The carpet looked like something that should have been replaced long time a go with large stains and dirt marks. The bathroom was not properly cleaned and waste was not removed from the room by cleaning staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    6.7
    With some small investments the hotel can make the stay much more comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small window to ventilate. Temperature was too warm, despite of putting regulation on -5. Door to outside can set open, but everyone can walk in. Bathroom big, but place to shower small. Shower-curtain not hygienic. Water from the shower poor (not much water sprayed).

    Location & breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    The hotel is in a very good position, right in front of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a very good position, right in front of the train station but also convenient to reach by car. The garage of the hotel is also very convenient. The hotel offers simply everything you need.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.1
    Convenient and standard business service.
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Onsite parking was expensive, there was no restaurant service in the evening.

    The staff were helpful and friendly, the hotel was clean and tidy and wifi connection was easy. Free parking was close to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.0
    Free coffee in the lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ordered an "Economy-double room with a matrimonial bed". We got a very small room only prepared for ONE person with a bed no larger than 140 cm. I asked the receptionist if that room was a double room - she did not want to say yes but came up with a strange explanation that it was some sort of a special room which could be both. When I wanted to ask why it was only made for ONE person ( towel, pillow, quilt for ONE) she stopped my question even before I had begun and said: "I know what you want to ask - you want to ask why the room is so small and that is why I had moved you to another room - but remember you did not order a double room (which we had!)" Well that other room had TWO beds not a double bed ( and a very dirty carpet! ) - so that was not an improvement to me and my partner and no, that was not my question, but she kept on refusing to hear my question. She was very unpleasant, and she did not forget to mention herself that she was very nice... Well she was not, she did not understand her job at all and she totally ruined the otherwise pleasant stay here. Attention to guests: If you would like to get into your room before the time (15:00 o´clock) then you have to pay 100 kr. ekstra. No free service here.

    Free coffee in the lobby. The lady, who cleaned the rooms, was very nice and helpful and when she had the time she brought us the missing towels, pillow and quilt.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable six night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The station forecourt - while great during the day, it appeared a little daunting after dark.

    Great spot for getting around town. Beautiful buffet breakfast included in the price. Good room, nice outlook over the station forecourt, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Did the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to re-organize some of the furniture to make the room functional. No net curtains. So you have draw the curtains. Broken button in one of the lifts, so it would not stop on the ground floor. Nothing is cheap in Scandinavia.

    New building so full facilities. Easy walk to anything in Kolding. Underground parking for the motorcycle, for an extra charge. Big windows overlooking the plaza. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Very nice .
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    :-)

    Very nice place . Coffee and cake in reception for those who wanted . Kettle and coffe in room. Parking in the hotel celler . Staff excellent . Wiev from our room over the street , just a little stroll and lots of cafe s in the area . Beds good and breakfast was excellent ,lots to choose from . Would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No shower cap. There was a very small bar of soap(for two people). Scrambled eggs were awful Poor lighting on the evening or night. There could be more (effective) lamps in the room.

    Pastries and yoghurt during breakfast were very delicious. Good location for calm and relaxed holidays. Very comfortable bed Quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.4
    The bathroom was not cleaned prober - there was hair from...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not cleaned prober - there was hair from previous guest, a smashed mosquito on the wall and the table with the washbasin had stains all over.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    6.3
    Even booking online with the free cancellation option, the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even booking online with the free cancellation option, the hotel is debiting the full amount from the credit card. I modified my trip and it's only at the check-out that I could be partly refunded. I wonder how it works for full cancellations...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    4.6
    Breakfast was lovely, very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty and small and the room was too expensive for the hotel. The staff wasn't really friendly at the reception. The staff for the breakfast were fine.

    Breakfast was lovely, very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Very comfortable rooms, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sleeping with the windows open was not an option due to noise outside

    Breakfast was great, modern facilities, right in the centre of Kolding, very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Good place for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular.

    The hotel is situated right by the train station, however, it is fairly quiet. We were greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist. The room was clean and was equipped just fine for a short stay. The breakfast had a wide selection of choices, with product range also for gluten-free and lactose-free diets. We chose to park at a nearby public parking, which was for free and was just behind the hotel by the main street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - breakfast seemed a bit "hectic" and busy since the hotel was used mostly by families with kids due to it's nearby location to Legoland - not a place to be if you're looking for a quiet getaway. This probably isn't a problem outside the school holidays season.

    - clean rooms with nearby parking facilities - close to the Kolding castle and a lovely lake

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The standard room is very poor and the same goes for the facilities and its amenities. I must say I was not expecting such a modest room.

    The breakfast is very good. The quality of sleep is very good as well. The reception and hotel's hall are nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Good value modern hotel....great breakfast......but more importantly a really good nights sleeep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was no mugs in the room for use with tea and coffee facilities, but a very minor point, this is a great hotel for this area of Denmark.

    The staff on arrival were superb, offering advise on local bars and restaurants, then on local places to visit....a lot of pride in the area and country, very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Good breakfast and nice and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have never understood, nor liked plastic curtains in the shower, I prefer plastic/glass door instead. The curtains helps the water going out of the shower and into the bathrooms floor, and they always seem to wanna tighten to my wet skin. I hate it, but that said; thats the only minus I can find in these room. For me thats a good reason for not going back, but for most people I guess its ok.

    We liked the breakfast included, and the parking was safe and in cellar at the hotel. Rooms were tidy and nice and beds good. Staff was friendly and help-some.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.6
    Room for improvments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very warm due to the air-condition was not good enough and sleeping with open door was difficult due to the noise outside. Strange stains on the carpet and door. Mold on the shower curtain. The “please fix this” notice from previous guest still in the room and not taken care of. One extra bed in the room that was not ordered.

    Ok, breakfast and good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Very good but all too little space for clothing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I hate a wonderful room with all too little Space for your clothing, Stupid. And - like other hotels - getting one very small soap for 2 people incl. bath what are hotels thinking about.

    Very nice staff. Excellent beds -

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    4.6
    Ok for a place to sleep overnight but would not return.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpets very dirty. Shower pressure poor due to limescale in shower head. Slight smell from shower drain. Room too hot. Windows should be thicker to prevent noise from street. No kettle in room. Staff not very helpful. Blamed booking.com for everything.

    Bed was comfy. Easy to get to from train station. Bathroom was clean. Selection of toiletries vanity kit slippers etc, hairdryer and straighteners

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.5
    Another good stay at First Hotel Kolding.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many of the room carpets have bleach stains and could do to be changed. Other than that, the hotel is fine and is a good 3* standard.

    The hotel is conveniently situated 50m from the rail station and close to the centre of the city. Staff are friendly and helpful an the breakfast is good, with a good selection of hot and cold food. The hotel is modern and rooms are perfectly adequate and bathrooms are clean. I usually stay at this hotel when in the area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.3
    Stayed due to recommendation which proved accurate.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lunch or evening meal options, but 10% discount offered at several local restaurants.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable room with door that can be opened or latched partially open to let some air in. Carlsberg on draft and good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    It was a very short very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scramble eggs were not that good Is the same kind you find every where in almost all hotels.

    The beds were very comfortable The bathroom was nice and clean Good products They are all about making the guess feel comfortable after a long day work.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.6
    Great Location with easy parking
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets little stained in rooms and no coffee cups just glasses, also only one small shampoo left between two each day!?

    Staff excellent and accommodating as many family visited us at hotel too - breakfast choices fabulous.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.6
    One of the best in Billund
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Had to disconnect tv power cord because tv was buzzing

    - Amazing breakfast - Quiet rooms (thick walls) - Comfortable bed - Proper temperature - Clean and very functional bathroom - Helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Clean, quiet and with a good breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, quiet and with a good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Great breakfast.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Socks left in the room before I checked in Fresh towels were not provided everyday

    Comfortable bed Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Very good value for money! Very central as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Few amenities in the bathroom and no shower gel.

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.3
    Big room
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC, the room was hot, small bathroom, noisy

    Big room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    We enjoyed our stay in Kolding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very central. The staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    The place in the centrum and the breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good

    The place in the centrum and the breakfast was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Functional hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning

    Location excellent Ceiling fans would old be a helpful addition

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airco, it was a hot day!

    Very nice breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Location, cleanness, view, .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak free toiletry and lack of room shoes Also there is no refrigerator in rooms

    Location, cleanness, view, ..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    One night in Kolding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good for one night!

    Nice beds, clean, underground locked garage, breakfast included, well situated, nice staff, well worth a stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Ideal stop coming from Stockholm back home to Belgium
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was very slow and after all not comfortable.

    Nice room, good bed. Breakfast was well done with good variety. Practical bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, friendly staff. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.6
    If necessary again yes, but I won’t recommend it. Too expensive and not good enough!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very shabby and it was very loud!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Very noisy from outside at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy from outside at night. Hotel not souldproff. We kan hear everything from next room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice, clean center hotel with good breakfast included
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast. Comfortable and clean rooms. Some cleaning stains on carpet, but nothing major.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is located in central Kolding close to Koldinghus, good restaurants and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Smart Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the breakfast a bit boring.

    The location was perfect and the room was satisfactory.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Great stay and close to my business location, will can back for sure!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition could be a bit more powerful...

    Very helpful people, great breakfast, great location to explore the place

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: