Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Fredensborg Store Kro

Slotsgade 6, 3480 Fredensborg, Denmark

#2 of 5 hotels in Fredensborg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 354 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    very nice hotel if you can get a room in the main building.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The automatic light in the entrance turns on at every movement - even if you turn in the bed during night - would be good if the sensitivity could be reduced.

    The room was very nice and comfortable. the hotel is very near to the fantastic garden of the castle where you can have very nice walks after a stressful working day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    New renovated rooms disappointing due to small size and noisyness.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was directed to the streed and parking space - it was very noisy due to traffic and people standing in the evening/ night in front of the hotel for smoking and chatting. Disturbed privacy since windows directly to street. Room was very small, no place for the luggage. In the bathroom no space to put any stuff - a glass for the the toothbrush would be nice. The TV did not work at all (only 3 programmes, no one for sports). the paper basket/ waste in the bathroom was not emptied after one day - there was still some waste in the basket upon arrival.

    The surrounding of the Hotel is really great. Atmosphere in main building very nice.Bed was very comfortable, room was clean and new - wooden floor very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Charming place!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • "Petit" Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    At 7.00 am there were people working outside the building and I woke up with the noise (already time to go to the office but...)

    Just amazing! I really loved the place, very clean and nice people. Charming village and healthy breakfast. I've recommend it to my colleagues and I hope to come back soon!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice looking place, in a small town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • "Petit" Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ventilator in the room... a bit noicy. ventilation not particularly effective when bathing

    Nice looking place, in a small town. Very nice area for walking. We had a small room, very charming. We did have a very soft mattress... Everything else was perfect. The staff was so nice, very helpful. The dinner was extraordinary good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.8
    location, staff, restaurant, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • "Petit" Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the annex at the back of the hotel. Our room was freezing (draft from windows, inadequate heater) and the corridor outside our room smelled very bad!

    location, staff, restaurant, breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant old-fashioned hotel with excellent restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • "Petit" Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    No gym/fitness room.

    Nice old fashioned hotel, food in the restaurant was very good (I had the steak sandwich for dinner), limited hotel facilities (no gym/fitness room) and not much to do in the immediate area on a wet October evening. A musty smell was also present in the upstairs hallway. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Perhaps not the ideal hotel for a business traveler. It was relatively cheap though.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Is a bit far from the airport. You need to have a car. Room for a single person was quite small.

    Breakfast was exceptional! A very nice, well maintained, old hotel. Very quite location. Ideal for holiday makers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.9
    Chic hotel in excellent location. Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • "Petit" Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a Brit it is very expensive, partly due to the fall in the pound relative to the crown. The room was a good size but the bed was too low for my partner.

    Very helpful staff. Superb location. Easy parking. Good facilities in the hotel and in the room. Spacious and stylish building.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel outside of Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dresser in the bedroom but the closet had shelves that served the purpose.

    If you want an urban, modern hotel this is not the one for you. There are modern touches and the comfort level is outstanding but one must r,ember this hotel was originally built to house the queen's staff. The lobby sitting areas, dining areas are all spacious and comfortable. The staff were remarkable in their helpfulness. I love this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    This is a lovely hotel very close to Frederiksburg Castle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • "Petit" Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a lovely hotel very close to Frederiksburg Castle with the most comfortable bed I have slept on in the last four weeks of travelling in France and Denmark

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    The Fantastic Store Kro
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • "Grande" Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all...

    Very nice, quiet, clean, friendly, historically interesting and beautiful place. My go-to hotel in the area. The restaurant is fantastic too and the staff are great (friendly, flexible, professional).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    6.7
    One night near Hillerod
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • "Grande" Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I booked the room, I thought the room has a double bed, but I found 2 twin beds just adjacent to each other. They were not even attached properly and they kept going apart! I was just staying for one night and I checked in late so I saved the effort of requesting to change the room or asking for more pillows. This is hotel is about 15 minutes from Hillerod, and the only way to transport to/from Hillerod (at night) is by taxi or private car.

    The staff are really friendly and helpful. the breakfast was good, but not much variety. The hotel building seems old but well maintained, and has a classic decorations and wall paintings. I liked that!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    5.4
    Not advisable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is very unpracticle : water flooding after a shower, no hangers etc ... The bed is inconfortable, the suite didn't have a balcony as shown in pictures . At 3h30 pm the room not arranged : only one maid hardly working to do all rooms . At 7h30 pm not possible to eat in the restaurant eventhough many tables free ( the kitchen could''y follow) etc etc .,,. Unpleasant stay

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    5.8
    Never again!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • "Petit" Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioned. Dogs are not allowed at the restaurant small room small shower without a tent STAFF: we checked out the evening before departure as we would leave early in the morning and normally the checkout starts at 8:00. They did some mistake at the reception and called us while we were already on our way home sayng we haven't paid the bill! That made me very angry, so I'll never return here again.

    The fan in the armchair was useful as budget rooms are at ground floor with windows on the road and the temperature was very hot!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    The visit met our exspectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • "Grande" Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not get any help when asking about what to see in the surroundings.

    The food was very good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    Fab
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of reception staff and early closier

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Very helpfull and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • "Grande" Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very helpfull and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • "Grande" Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit car away from Copenhagen though public transport works OK.

    Excellent breakfast. Nice quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    They could make a bit more space for placing own toilet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • "Grande" Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They could make a bit more space for placing own toilet articles in the bath room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.6
    Mycket fint hotel! bra sängar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • "Grande" Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no minibar/ fridge in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Very comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • "Petit" Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable. the staff was very professional the hotel was super clean very unique awesome place to stay, I loved it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    7.1
    Location is excellent if you looking for quaint danish...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • "Grande" Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is excellent if you looking for quaint danish countryside. The town is beautiful and full of sweet and charming personality.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    10
    Excellent breakfast (but not included in the price).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • "Petit" Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant was a too pricey for dinner.

    Excellent breakfast (but not included in the price). Room very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    7.9
    Breakfast were great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • "Grande" Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant were closed for dinner both nights during my stay

    Breakfast were great! plenty to choose from.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly and accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • "Grande" Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    10
    Top class friendlyness, Top class service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Top class friendlyness, Top class service....to the big international hotel chains: check out Fredensborg Store Kro and see what real genuine service and hospitality is all about....you could learn a lot !!!!! The locations next to the Queens carstle is superb too. Thanks for an amazing stay,

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    3.5
    Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booking.com confirmed the Reservation. But at arrival, the reserved room type was not available. A tiny room was offered as an alternative instead. Ridiculous!

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    9.6
    Staff was marvelous.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi was weak and spotty. Had to keep signing in. They were just getting geared up for a summer season so it was probably a bit slow but nice.

    Staff was marvelous. Room was good sized. Clean and comfortable. The food was amazing- I mean dinner. Breakfast was great too but typical of Europe. The dinner however was awesome. Staff was super friendly. Location near Queen's summer palace. Overall I think it was a lucky find up in this area where I had work.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    10
    The food was delicious, the staff was very helpful, the bed...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The food was delicious, the staff was very helpful, the bed was wonderful. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    7.9
    Sengen var alt for blød
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    At min booking ikke var ankommet til værten.

    Sengen var alt for blød

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    7.9
    Staff is friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no telephone in the room No fridge in the room No nearby market

    Staff is friendly Nice atmosphere Excellent for weekends

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    6.3
    Staff very friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No supermarket close to the hotel Small room No rifregrator in the room No telephone inside the room

    Staff very friendly Clean hotel

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    6.3
    Gheyi fósforo to place new champô one of the data.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Gheyi fósforo to place new champô one of the data.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    Very good staff and good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lobster coming from the frize

    Very good staff and good food

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: