Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel 3 stars

Vesterbrogade 9, DK-1620 Copenhagen, Denmark

#94 of 107 hotels in Copenhagen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2362 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.1
    OK!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was impossible to get to the hotel by car. Had to call reception a couple of times in order to park the car (illegal) in a side road and walt to the hotel to check in and pay for the parking which was a few hundred meters from the hotel. When booking the hotel it said on your side "Free Parking",hotel had to pay DKK 300.00 per day for parking in the parking garage somewhere on Vesterbrogade.

    Breakfast was good!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    5.8
    For that amount of money clearly overpriced!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For that amount of money clearly overpriced! And for the name ‘Grand Hotel’ is nothing like grand, but rather pretty simple. Wouldn’t stay again there.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    4.2
    MISERABLE ... THANKS TO BOOKING.COM
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We will NEVER use Booking.com. Is your search engine screwed up? How dare you give us very small room for 2 people, which was barely enough for one slim person. The hotel staff was courteous that they allowed 2 of us, after convincing them, to use the room which was meant for only 1 person. The price was overcharged as the hotel was offering much bigger room with breakfast included for 40% discount. We felt cheated by Booking.com

    Other than the location of this hotel being near the train / Metro station, nothing was appealing. The room we stayed in was VERY small ... our panty is bigger than this room .. and we are not being typical demanding Americans (see the photos below). This was messed up entirely due to screwed up search engine of Booking.com. Furthermore, not sure when was the last updating of the room was done. We paid pretty expensive price for this ridiculously small and prehistoric (not in a classic way) room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location near the central station (the train takes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not brand new so the sound isolation between floors/rooms is not the best, also the floor is sometimes creaking. Overall this was not a big issue.

    Perfect location near the central station (the train takes you in 15 minutes to airport). Walking distance (5 min) to the Tivoli and another 5 - 10 min to the centre. WiFi worked flawlessly, helpful and welcoming staff. Outside noise is almost absent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    6.3
    Good location in Copenhagen, hotel could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For nearly $300 a night, we expected better. Our friends' room was tiny and down a short flight of stairs-very difficult to manage with large suitcases.

    Breakfast buffet was outstanding with many choices. Room was shabby with lights that did not work, torn lamp shades, etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable stay in Copenhagen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of a thing

    We checked into our room but were not satisfied with the size or location. We were offered an upgrade to a junior suite-we checked out the room and it was what we wanted. The room was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Great time, great location and great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I’d change is install an A/C system, wasn’t a definite necessity for our trip (during september) however during summer months it might be required

    The location, value for money, helpfulness of the staff, great continental breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.0
    You get what you pay for. Really need some work to be a better hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was given an offer for an early check in for a sum, but was later retracted. One of the days, shampoo was not provided. Call front desk, but no one pick up. Paper wrapper on the shampoo bottle. There were road works right in front of the hotel.

    Nothing really stands out. Breakfast is quite OK. Wifi as well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.7
    Fine, but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks nice, but when you start noticing the little details, the hotel feels cheap. Cracks in the walls, very limited decor, just not a “homey” feeling. You can stay in better hotels in the sam area, for the same price

    Very good location, breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.3
    The area is next to the main station and only a short walk...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I'm not staying at any Grand Hotel anymore because they're all too expensive for what they actually are: no heating/icecold room and very dated furniture, bathroom not as clean as it should be.

    The area is next to the main station and only a short walk from the beautiful center/harbour of Copenhagen

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    3.3
    Not sure if I would like to stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not clean. It's very old and outdated. The bathroom is very uncomfortable to take a shower

    It's supposed to be a good hotel but it's so outdated. It was very cold the 1st night and I had no heat. The bath tub is so small and it was angled so I couldn't even stand straight to take a shower. Very small space for 2 adults and not clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    5.4
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and tatty rooms Tiny rooms Desperately in need of some renovation and TLC For one night - perfectly ok.

    Great location Great breakfast buffet Friendly staff and very friendly welcome

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    2.9
    very wrong to pickup to stay this hotel never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the toilet room with wash base too close, cannot even get comfort go to toilet seat, bathroom celling decorate come off, very old showing, the heat old central heat not warm up good. staff never small.

    nothing like

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.7
    Did the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room 210 was very noisey as it faced the railway station but it was a Saturday evening, so......... Although it has changed a lot iI’m pretty sure I had a summer student job at the Grand 52 years ago!

    Very helpful reception desk staff. Very good central location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    4.6
    Consider another hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is badly worn out. Room's furniture damaged, skirting board falling apart, ventilation is basically nonexistent and floor makes cracking sounds as you step. It will guarantee you will wake up 3-4 times per night due to weak soundproofing. But the worst thing is the staff. We asked for iron and iron board and was forced to move back to the first floor and get it on our own. Bags full of dirty laundry was blocking access to an elevator for 3 hours straight.

    Hotel located near city center so you just have to go out and you will find yourself in the middle of wonderful Copenhagen. There are lots of good cafes and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    Very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was great but we were surprised that there were about 6 steep stairs between the elevator and our room. This problem was solved when we asked for help checking out. They came & got our luggage.

    The staff was very accommodating! They emailed back about taxis, they helped with our plane reservations when my phone wouldn't work....They were definitely there for the customer!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.3
    Good place to stay for one day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficulty in getting luggage to our room it was located at the very back of the hotel, with steps, and an undersized door where we could hardly make it through. Room 220!

    Location, location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    4.6
    The only two good things about Grand Hotel are the bed you sleep in and the excellent WiFi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bathroom is just not what it should be: when sitting on the toilet, your nose is practically put against the opposing wall (to matter worse, they have put a glass tablet on that height in front of you). To make matters worse, there is no ledge whatsoever separating the shower-part from the rest toilet, meaning that if you take a shower the entire bathroom is wet (and the two small shower curtains don't help in that respect). The lavabo and mirror are in the direct path of the shower, so doing something there *after* showering means you have to first wipe the entire floor. Even if the rooms in Grand Hotel are a bit outdated in style, I would at least expect their bathrooms to give minimal comfort, especially for the exorbitant price of about 200 euro per night for a single room! There was also no minibar present: the space in the cabinet in which it should be housed was empty (a total waste of space, as you could not place anything in it). Also there was only a very tiny closet available to put clothes in.

    The location was perfect; close to Copenhagen Grand Central station, and to public transport via bus. They are also very quick when ordering a taxi for you. Right opposed to the hotel there are food courts, farmacies, food stores (open 24/7), ...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location and great base for our lovely tour of this great city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great. We got the train from the airport to the centre of Copenhagen and the hotel was a really short walk away. It is very close to the Tivolli Gardens and the hop on hop off bus stop is just over the road. The room was a little dated but the bed was super comfy and was just enough for us on our short three night trip. The staff were really helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.3
    Not very grand more pleasant and pricey
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grand is a bit dated and the price was extremely expensive for what was on offer

    Warm comfortable great staff and fantastic breakfast and in the middle of town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was well presented with good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was well presented with good choice. Room was a bit noisy but very well located. Restaurant attached to the hotel had small but very well chosen minuet reasonable prices.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Recommended! We certainly come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bacon was (always) hard-fried and the lights in the room (close to the bed) were not working at all. Funny electrical outlets, 230V however, so ok.

    The staff is very friendly and although the hotel is 1900's.... it has his charms! The breakfast is 140KR, but more than worth the price. There are very punctual, so 10h30 means really closing time for the restaurant. The beds are very comfortable. We had a (very clean) room in the more quiet part (ask for a room in the 7xx area), so excellent sleeping!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed and feel misled by Booking.com.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grossly over priced and inconsistent pricing. One member of our group paid half my rate - not through booking.com! No concierge to transport bags, no fridge or safe in the room. Photos on web site not representative of condition of hotel. Definitely not 4 star.

    Location. Reception staff were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    Misleading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and tired. Nothing like the photos. No amenities in the room. No coffee facilities. No demarcation between shower and the rest of the bathroom. Have a shower and the whole floor is wet. Very disappointed.

    Nothing much, except for Monica at reception. Outstanding service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.8
    Not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs were not accommodating. The price of the hotel was for a 5-star but the cleanliness and housekeeping is poor. It was our first time to experience a housekeeping in which they only leave the towels and toiletries by the door and not even bother to make the bed.

    Hotel is near Tivoli Garden

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.0
    Worst value for money ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After I'd paid for my room when I checked in the staff member answered the phone and made me wait while she discussed a room service order with another guest for a few minutes. She then turned rudely to me saying "What else do you want?" to which I replied "my key, please". She didn't apologize for keeping me waiting, it was a very poor first impression. The room itself was horribly warm, no air-com and the most uncomfortable bed I've ever had the misfortune to lie in. There was constant loud noise from a loud fan or ventilator outside, and the walls were so thin I could hear the person in the next room snoring. Although there was a kettle in the room there were no china cups or mug, just paper cups! An absolute joke considering the price of the room. This is the most expensive hotel I've ever stayed in, and definitely the worst value for money ever. I will never stay there again, and I suggest everyone should avoid it

    The location was convenient for city centre

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Some plusses and some minuses
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - extremely poor sound insulation in the room - old building and facilities - no servives available (gym, sauna etc) or atleast nobody told me about them

    - very polite stuff - very good breakfast - superb location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    People rated this really harshly on TripAdvisor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small upkeep issues

    People rated this really harshly on TripAdvisor. Yes the hotel is older and has some issues that come with that, but you can tell they are working hard to modernize it. For a three star hotel and the price we found it excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.2
    The pictures that you see in the website it’s just not the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures that you see in the website it’s just not the same when you get there. The hotel is old, dirty and with a terrible bathroom. The staff is really nice but I couldn’t wait to leave that place. They need a renovation SOS; and to finish its really upsetting that you book something and when you get there it’s not what you saw before. Really disappointed!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Good location, basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was dated, but rooms were functional. Perfectly fine for price.

    Great location, hotel was very basic with dated decor but was clean and the breakfast was very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place to go sightseeing from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No milk in room for tea/coffee.

    Just a minutes walk from the main train station, with a 13 minute journey to airport by train. the hop on hop off tour bus stop was 2 minute walk away as was the free Carlsberg Tour Bus. Even though it was in the hub the rooms were quiet. The only thing that I didn't like was no milk in the room for tea/coffee which I unfortunately didn't notice until the morning, despite booking a double bed they gave us a twin so that we could get checked in early. The breakfast was ample and plenty of it all well cooked and presented.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    6.7
    Great location, poor bed and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The simple double room has got a small bed, and it is an unconfortable bed for two persons. It has not got fridge or coffee or tea machine. They offer an upgrade for a big one with bigger beds and theses services but this is too expensive for my budget. The breakfast is quite poor

    The location and it is not noisy although there are works in the street during the night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    We would stay here again and recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an older property and very small hallways. Had to go up and down a few stairs (with heavy luggage) to get to our side of the building, but it was manageable. Mattress was really firm - not comfortable but okay since we were there just one night.

    Great location - very convenient. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Larger bathroom than expected. We left an item behind and the staff was very attentive to find it and arrange to get it back to us, which we greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.4
    Uncomfortable beds but great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable beds, like sleeping on trampolines. Rooms smelt very musty. The whole hotel is is desperate need of updating.

    The breakfast was fantastic and staff were very helpful, however they couldn't do much about the beds or decor. Location is great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.1
    Hotel okay but for sure u can find better value for money elsewhere in Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really hotels fault but lot of roadworks at moment around the hotel..Room an bathroom okay but nothing special considering prices they charge..

    Location of hotel great for Tivoli and station,staff friendly and helpful,breakfast to was really good..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    Overall, it was ok. The location was really great. The hotel is old, staff was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light bulb not working on bed lamp, remote control for tv did not work

    Location was fantastic, next to train station, walking distance to a tourist ainformation building, starting point of hop on hop off bus was two blocks away, good coffee shops close, Tivoli Gardens 2 blocks away, shopping near city hall, very close within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    3.8
    Location is great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not polite at all Breakfast must be paid before you can enter in the restaurant Old , everything is old Noisy , you can hear your neighbors Uncomfortable beds

    Location is great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointed. For the price I paid I would expect a much higher standard.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and bathroom were very dated and didn't appear particularly clean. Fixtures and fittings (including electrical sockets) were hanging off the walls in some cases.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice room and good breakfast close to the central station.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel requires soundproof double glass windows.

    It was very pleasant to receive an upgrade to a bigger room on the front side of the hotel at the fifth floor with a small balcony overviewing Vesterport and Vesterbrogade. Big room, very interesting set-up of the shower/toilet/washbasin - all 3 in 2. Breakfast offered plenty of choices. Staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.6
    Old and expensive. Find something else if you can
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is old and needs refurbishing. Mattresses where old and uncomfortable. No air conditioning. Room size was very small for a family including a crib. Even considering its location it was expensive compared to other scandinavian capital cities like Oslo or Stockholm. Breakfast options where pretty limited

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not very handicapped accessible if you need that.

    Very good location. The tours start right across the street Very comfy beds. Delicious breakfast with a carafe of coffee at each table.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location, literally next door to central station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, literally next door to central station. Breakfast was great! Plenty of selection. Room was smaller than expected but bed was very comfortable and the environment quiet enough for a good night’s sleep. Would choose to stay again if ever in Copenhagen.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    3.3
    TERRIBLE. No Value for Money.. Copenhagen is a great town though
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NO VALUE for Money ! Do not go there. Verry small rooms. Shower / toilet in same square meter. BEDS ARE TERRIBLE. Noisy rooms (busy road outside )

    breakfast was sort of OK, Howver,.. discovered iron wire in my egg, (!!),.. infomerd staff, "well nothing we can do about it", "we receive the eggs every morning in large cans"..... So??? Sorry? We will talko to our supplier? ANything?? Pfff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    4.2
    Not a lot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing GRAND about the Grand! I paid extra for a SUPERIOR room but got a very small ordinary one. Decor dark and outdated! No shower tray; just a tiled floor so everything gets wet! No plug in wash hand basin! Toilet bowl badly stained! 1960's wallpaper; very, very dated! Carpet stained and very dated! Road works outside hotel means difficulty bringing bags; need staff watching out & ready to help! Payment is expected on arrival; before seeing the room! Don't expect a wake up call; mine never came!

    Not a lot!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Close to Central Train Station, good value for money, amazing breakfast, but my room did not have AC
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a bit dated, and NO AC, there was however a fan, so opened the window and cranked up the fan and slept quite well.

    A block from the train station, center of town location, great breakfast, friendly staff with helpful tips to visit the city. Historic building with amazing picture of its history.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    3.8
    The next time we choose a nicer hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities in the room were not good at all. The room was not sound proof and the curtains let the sun slip in. The fans were so dirty, but we didn’t want to use them although it was very hot.

    The location of the Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Traditional hotel close to almost everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed there during the hot days in early August, and there was no air conditioning. The table fan was insufficient, and the room barely tolerable. The room felt a bit worn, with the lid on the waste paper basket in the bathroom loose. The breakfast was nice, but for some reason there were only softboiled eggs.

    The premier reason for staying at this hotel is the location. A couple minutes' walk from the Central Station, and just five minutes to all the shopping you might want. It's close to a good selection of restaurants, too. The staff was friendly. Make sure to book your breakfast the night before in order to save 30 DKK.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast was fabulous ,room was old and didn't feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fabulous ,room was old and didn't feel clean, towels were almost threadbare , pillowcases were not clean, staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.8
    good staff old hotel good spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old dusty very Expensive The money they charge they need to do the rooms and bathroom

    Let us put our bike in the courtyard very kind with no charge..great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    2.5
    Dont stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beware- check room details before booking. Rooms dont have aircon or any fans!!! Electrical wires everywhere. No shower- bath tub with no plug. Need to collect plug from reception a trical of water comes from bath so cannot fill it. Forget about washing in morning! No mini fridge in room No shower hat 1 shamppo, 1 body soap and 1 bar of soap divided by 2 persons!!!! Dirty old bedding Highly damaged furniture made many years ago, damaged and chiped Glass on my desk cracked and covered in stains Room hot as no ventilation and mosquitos. Sound of boiler from outside of room Floors creek contantly This was the worst experience in my life. I asked for a refund on arrival of my 1400.00 euro but they refused. So I had to stay. My holiday was ruined. I found it difficult to sleep as it was hard to sleep in the room due to stuffiness and small and being astmatic. When I spoke to the blond manager she was very nasty and rude.

    Dont stay here!!!!! I did not like anything in this hotel. I arrived in fashion week so I understood prices were higher than usual but I imagined I would have a nice room for 450.00 euro per night! I had checked with the beautiful Radisson across the road 4 stars and they were selling rooms at 350 euro per night but were full. Just sold the last room. When I arrived they checked me into a disgusting room!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.1
    2 days for Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the sink in the bathroom was very narrow, the floor screaming, without the minibar

    The hotel is well situated, near Tivoli Gardens, the City Hall, The Central Station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    You just can’t beat the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was old, but so am I! Can’t really complain about that.

    You just can’t beat the location! Steps from the train station, Tivoli Gardens, and all sorts of cafes & eateries

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.3
    Surprise Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being supplied with bottled water

    Breakfasts are amazingly abundant and delicious. Staff very friendly Location brilliantly situated Latex mattress

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I'd read that the hotel was old-fashioned - and indeed it was! Our "small" room was minute - okay for one night perhaps, but not for 5! We were upgraded at a reduced rate. No air con.

    The staff went out of their way to change our room. (See the "didn't like" section.)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    4.6
    Overrated and overpriced for the quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is really absolutely OVERRATED. Equipment of rooms is POOR. No AC, no Fridge, Beds are old and Comfort is dated. Regular rooms are super small, and when we asked - and paid a supplement - room was bigger but then ? No more shower, just using toilets and shower at the same place, without being informed of that aspect. Absolutely unprofessional. Breakfast is JUST REGULAR, nothing special and nothing good. And finally Staff is not "unfriendly", they are just "non expressive" at all, just being neutral. Fake smiles and cold responses. This hotel is no more than a 2 stars pretending to play a 4 stars.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room. The window open in the first floor room let in fresh air and also all the street noise with cars stopping at the red light playing loud music, tipsy people talking loud walking out from the night bars until 4 am . All this made any sleep impossible!

    Perfect location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    A very clean and friendly environment with comfortable room and bed, in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing about this hotel that I didn't like.

    This accommodation was very nice, comfortable and clean. I enjoyed my stay here and would stay here again. The location was very good, close to everything I needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Good for quick stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking in fact public only what makes additional costs and in fact that is public service, not from hotel. Cleanness can be better. It seems there is huge amount of guests and rooms just "tired", too many small stuff to fix here and there but nothing critical. Airco, it was real issue. It was real hot and no conditioning at all, just ventilation. Our room had windows to inner side and there was no wind breath. We should open front doors to make some air movement.

    Very good location n downtown.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.2
    Only good thing is the closeness to central railway station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small and extremely outdated, noice pollution outside, no air condition so sleeping with windows open the only option. Small bed and almost no storage space or wardrobes. No shower cabin so water ends up everywhere. TV with poor signal/connection and mounted in a way so that it cannot be watched comfortably. Breakfast just okay.

    Closeness to the central train station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Everything was very good except the AC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was more than +30°C during our stay and the hotel doesn't have air conditioning. We understand that this is northern country and mostly AC is not required at home, but this is hotel...

    Everything was very good except the AC.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Old hotel with charm but a bit worn down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old hotel with charm but a bit worn down. No AC in room wich was terrible because it was over 30 C outside. Clean room with no extras. Bathroom nice. Maybe a bit overpriced for the value. Nice location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not consistent in size for the same price. Two couples staying for the same price received two different sized rooms. 7034 and 7036..... shower versus bath, no room for two bags versus just enough..... Long intricate walk to the room: up down stairs, two different escalators. On check in got lost.....ok laughter but needed to be found, reunited with spouse and saved by receptionist.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.2
    Find somewhere else to stay. There is nothing ‘grand’ about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was really tired looking. How much would it cost them to replace 30 year old furniture? £100 for a bedside cabinet? £250 for a new wardrobe? The room was noisy and absolutely boiling but it was the height of summer. No air con. It was never worth £380 for 2 nights. Don’t stay here.

    Breakfast was ok, nice Danish pastries.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.0
    Staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a downtown property and our room faced the street, and therefore was noisy. Also, when we were in Copenhagen the weather was quite hot and there is no air conditioning here – only fans. Just FYI but we did NOT have a bad experience here.

    Staff was very helpful. Rooms were adequate and clean. Good value and convenient to everything downtown.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was a very long walk from the reception area, so if you have a lot of luggage or you can't walk too far, please specify that when you book. Some of the corridors were very narrow, too, the floor a little uneven. There was no air conditioning in my room, and in the middle of summer, when the nights were 20 degrees, it wasn't very comfortable to sleep, I had to have the window open, which wasn't ideal. Also, the plug sockets were not easy to reach from the bed.

    The hotel is really wonderfully situated. It's right beside the station (and right opposite a pleasant all you can eat pizza place) and opposite where the tour busses stop. Tivoli is also literally on the doorstep, so it's great. The bed was incredibly soft, which was nice, and the bathroom was spacious. Breakfast was great, really delicious, nice selection of food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.8
    Jail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeezing floor, very old interior, tiny bathroom, my husband knoked his head on the wall while having a shower, no fridge, no kettle, no ac, the bed is so soft, smelly room, the breakfast no variety, I do not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel, I am regretting my self to stay at this place.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Close to train and town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very small no room for large bags or to unpack. Shower was good but wet all the floor

    Close to train and town. Old but clean. Good value for money. Restaurant under and breakfast very good. People friendly and good English.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.4
    In the very small bath room you had to clime over a VERY...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the very small bath room you had to clime over a VERY high bathtub to shower. No hand rail to hold onto while showering. Very unsafe for older people. Small table fan to move air. Hotel needs a major updating. BUT it was totally booked the 4 days we were there. Very expensive to USA visitors. $21.00 for each buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    In the heart of Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise from backyard when workers were emptying trash bins. Should sleep with windows closed.

    Old property but clean and comfy. Good location besides railway station. Friendly service at reception. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    2.9
    Would not use this hotel again or for that matter I will not use BOOKING.COM
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel should have refunded the money, we had to return to the UK in an urgent emergency.

    We had just checked in and then had to leave due to an emergency at home, family member was taken ill however the hotel would NOT refund any money. This I think is unacceptable, do people have NO understand?

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Enjoy your stay in Copenhagen at the Grand Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom

    Rooms are small but mine is a superior single so just the right size for me. The bathroom is a little lacking as water goes everywhere. The Staff are Magnificent. I was unwell with my asthma and they contacted a doctor and had everything sorted. The restaurant is lovely and also great friendly staff. The position . could nat have been better

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    very good breakfast & location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    this is never a 3* hotel! My room looked much different than on the picture when I booked it. Moreover, bathroom was so tiny that even shower was not divided from the floor in the bathroom. Bed was very poor no comfort at all. Quite loud due to the location (my room was facing the main street with a lot of traffic).

    very good breakfast & location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Your front desk staff were terrific
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner, very loud outside for a Sunday night, screaming basketball bouncing and we had to have the windows open as it was hot and humid!

    Beds were comfortable, plumbing worked well

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a non-smoking floor, it smelt an awful lot like cigarettes. My guess is it has only changed to non-smoking recently. A number of light bulbs not working in the room. Asked about it, they said they would fix it but nothing happened.

    Great location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Grand Hotel, very central great breakfast and staff, just a little upgrade needed.
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grand Hotel that would benefit from a makeover, paint and some smaller furniture in room as would improve flow in room.

    Cooked breakfast including in price. In Copenhagen's main street.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: