Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Griffen Spa Hotel 4 stars

Nordre Kystvej 34, 3700 Rønne, Denmark

#2 of 16 hotels in Rønne

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 462 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel - pity about the spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you claim to have a spa then you should have a proper swimming pool in which you can exercise. The one at the hotel was to shallow, had too many obstructions and was not long enough.

    genuine interesting sea view Situation by sea but also near town centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Didn't like the fact double bed had single top...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the fact double bed had single top mattresses. The room was claimed it was going to be ready when we arrived on check in time but it wasn't. We had to wait for 1hr without any compensation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in Bornholm.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice room, newly renovated, fresh and clean. Fantastic view from the room and the balcony over the sea to the west. Nice breakfast and a very good restaurant. Friendly and professionally personnel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    2.9
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very ugly house, changed rooms two times due to spiders and spider webs and also the last room was not cleaned properly. This is a 2 star hotel that, for some reason, market themselves as a 4 star

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced but good location in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    By looking at the reviews of this hotel, anything over 8 points is too much for me. Price and quality of the hotel does not match. First, the hotel interior is quite old, 80s/90s style. And the age shows. Rooms are pretty ok in size, but we wanted to have double bed - that was then two single beds put next to each other. No locking mechanism. Needless to say how this really works... it doesn't. The breakfast was disappointing, it was very basic. Not sure how the spa services work, we did not use them. For me, the price we paid and value you get is not good. It is way too expensive hotel. You are paying premium price for some very basic rooms and light breakfast.

    The staff was attentive. That was the only thing I liked in this venue.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The queen bed is made of two single beds, and the mattress keeps falling off the edge. So the sleeping experience is just so so.

    The location is so close to city center and the view is unbeatable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    Old hotel with great spa-area and breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't get our room cleaned during the stay. There were not a "do not disturb"-sign on our door - or an explanation on the missing cleaning, when we told the reception.... Bought a "oriental ritual" in the Spa (Alea Wellness), wich is supposed to be: hamam, full body massage and a cup of tea. 70 min / 950 kr. The hamam was alright - though I got cold during the treatment. Then the same person (a man) had to give me the massage, in another room. This full body massage, turned out to be ten minutes of light touches on different parts of my body. I asked him to ad more strength twice, with no effect. I felt like I ended up paying 950 kr for a hamam in stead of the 470 kr the price was on it's own. I told the owner, efter the treatment, her response was: well, he's a man, he's afraid of breaking you. And charged the total amount.

    Good breakfast buffet. Ok location, close to the city center of Rønne. Spa-area is very nice. Little detail as free of charge foot-bath-salt is really really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    Really nice and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no possibility to get something to eat&drink (apart from the and coffee) before the restaurant opens. The fridge in the room was empty.

    Really nice and friendly staff. The SPA is quite big and clean. The restaurant has very good food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    I would make this my hotel of choice when visiting Bornholm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got locked in my room, lock malfunctioned. The staff was very nice and they helped me climb out over the balcony after they to were a able to repair the door lock from the outside.

    Didn’t have breakfast and did not use WIFi

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.7
    Luxurious and comfortable room, spa was slightly dissapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some parts of the hotel feel a little old and outdated. One of the things that bothered us was the opening times of the spa. We especially booked this hotel because of this particular facility. When we wanted to go into the spa after an early diner in town, we were told more than half an hour before the mentioned closing time that they were closing.

    There is an overall atmosphere of luxury without being extremely expensive. The facilities are adequate and the breakfast was good. We especially enjoyed the amazingly comfortable bed in our room, which gave me the best sleep I had in a while.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Fresh fruit wellness in Ronne
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We did not know we did not have a room with view on the sea.

    Hotel with beautiful view at sea - at least when you have a room with sea-view. Welness with spa was perfect with al lot of fresh fruit and fresh drinks that makes visiting saunas a real wellness! Location is perfect: just a short walk to the city centre of Ronne and a few minutes from the ferry.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Not going to visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was not able to find our booking she claimed. We had booked a room with sea view and had a booking number and reservation but we were told that they were all booked. Got a normal room instead. Didn't get any kind of information about the spa, where it is and where to find bath robes and keys for the lockers. Not good nor friendly service at all. Sorry but we can't recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    The spa area was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok, but no more.... scrambled eggs to dry, bread didn't taste anything... strange teabags and a selection of tea that I didn't like.

    The spa area was excellent! Calm and relaxing The view from the room and the balcony

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel close to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had made reservation for a sea view double room with 2 beds, but when we arrived we were told that 2 separate beds were only possible with city view

    Nice location. Close to the city centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice spa, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airco

    Nice spa, great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    The spa facilities were very basic ( only a sauna and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa facilities were very basic ( only a sauna and a massage ) and the hotel did not present as a spa, but rather as a large motel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Good choice when travelling to Bornholm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cheap furniture with a bit of outdated feeling

    Good location, parking on site free on charge, spa facilities included, good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Clean, nice sea views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not family friendly... facilities restricted to under 16s

    Clean, nice sea views

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some staffs

    The breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice spa area and have good selection of relaxing areas.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.9
    Spa was closed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa was closed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Excellent final evening on a beautiful, relaxing island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities were superb and the Spa was was included in the price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nohthing to add

    Great bed, roomy suite, good breakfast, balcony view lovely, spa extraordinary!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    5.8
    Grei beliggenhet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rom med sjøutsikt innebærer mye støy fra veien mellom sjøen og hotellet. Dårlig isolert.

    Grei beliggenhet.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: