Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aarhus Guldsmeden 3 stars

Guldsmedgade 40, DK-8000 Arhus, Denmark

#5 of 31 hotels in Arhus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 493 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Location is great in Latin district, shops & restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    U had to book a table for breakfast. Breakfast itself was quite good, though!

    Location is great in Latin district, shops & restaurants just around the corner. However, rooms still very peacefull. the common bathroom was very comfy and filled with lovely eco cosmetics for guests. Bed was heavenly. The atmosphere was welcoming and laidback.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice eco-friendly hotel situated centrally in Aarhus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Potentially cheaper to order directly on hotel’s own homepage (as breakfast is then included). Breakfast was rather expensive and not included when ordering through booking.com.

    Small, but nice, eco-friendly and centrally situated city hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Super stay at central-located Aarhus hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor was very squeaky in our room. Not so charming on the long run as you, if two person, absolutely will wake up the other walking to the toilet. We didn't find a mini fridge which could be nice offering possibilities to cool down things to drink. Many other Scandinavian hotels at this level would have placed water bottles at the room and offered the convenience to make coffee or teas. I missed these in-room options, though, there is access to coffees and teas at the reception. The breakfast was organic, but simple good. It could be a little better equipped mirroring the otherwise very high level at the hotel.

    Beautiful location and great hotel. Charming and very well decorated. Interior so nice - overall and in rooms. I will definitely come back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous gem of Aarhus
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved its location, so close to groovy little shops and places to eat, but once you were in that beautiful and quiet courtyard with the sun shining you felt miles away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    We were surprised that breakfast wasn't included in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were surprised that breakfast wasn't included in the rate with booking.com, as we recalled when we made the reservation. So an extra bill was unwelcome at the end of our stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    We lived the fact that the hotel was small and very intimate. However we expected a bit more froa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were really outdated (expect for the nice bed). The floor in our room was an old wooden floor and it made a sound everything we stepped on it. This was really annoying as we couldn’t move around in the room without the floor making this terrible noice.

    We really enjoyed the intimacy of the hotel. The cozy backyard was great plus on a sunny weather. Breakfast was also good however we expected everything to be self made, which is was not.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    Cozy boutique hotel in Aarhus' Latin Quarter
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Amenities in hotel and room are quite basic, together with the relative small room. Pity that the double bed had separate mattresses.

    Charming boutique hotel in Aarhus' Latin Quarter with excellent personal service and fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.1
    Very characterful - which is much nicer than corporate - but some amenities are a little underdone.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stairs only to room. no bar or mini bar so hanging out was only for albeit delicious tea or filter coffee.

    beautiful quiet room, + nice sense of family.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Excellent location in old part of city, with comfortable room, an Aarhus atmosphere and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to sights and city centre. Cozy old character with lovely, dining room and small balconies to enjoy view of pretty garden courtyard. Room was perfect for a holiday stay, organic toiletries smelled and felt divine and bed large and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and I appreciated being able to grab a snack and coffee from dining room any time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Small and cozy hotel in the middle of the city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small and cozy hotel in the middle of the city centre. Environmentally concious. Friendly and helpful staff. Best small backyard garden. Good breakfast. Could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.1
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the bed were too small to serve for two adults. Every time when someone opens or closes the doors or walk on the floor, everyone can hear the noise. And because people need to go to the bathroom, it's so noisy at night. I think the hotel should repair its door lockers and its floor to reduce the noise.

    The location is good. The reception is friendly and enthusiastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Great boutique-style hotel in the centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is at the nearby department store (5 minutes walk through cobbled streets). It's a pain if your bags are on wheels. There are significant differences between rooms. I was disappointed with the first room we were assigned (street side) and asked if any others were available. We were given a room on the courtyard side which we much preferred.

    Outdoor space (garden and balconies) Excellent (albeit expensive) breakfast Friendly staff Bicycles available to rent General feeling of being in a special boutique hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Cosy home-from-home in Aarhus!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    No lift - but kind staff will help you with your bag. Small rooms and no closets - but actually there's a place for everything and i was there for 12 days in a single room and felt very comfortable. Rooms on the front were a little noisy at night with the window open - i'm sure that wouldn't be a problem with it closed in the winter.

    Fabulous staff, you feel like you're a house guest. Wonderful breakfasts. Lovely teas available all day, you just help yourself. Interesting quirky house. Gorgeous little back garden: just beautiful. The antithesis of a chain hotel! A lovely place to come back to every evening. And such a fabulous location with great coffee shops and restaurants just meters away!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Get ready for charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In a nutshell, this is a little charming gem in Aarhus- we loved our stay here. All the positive reviews are spot on, this hotel is not only clean and friendly, but adorable and comfortable. The hotel parking is at Magisin (a shopping center) about a five min walk away from the hotel- you pay under 200 Danish kr. per day. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.2
    Ecological boutique hotel fitting with the surroundings of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a little difficult but we were able to get a space marked with white lines during the course of the evening.

    Ecological boutique hotel fitting with the surroundings of Latin quarter of Aarhus.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Very good location, and very cozy atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff promised to send the Iphone charger i forgot in the room but after 12 days, i still didnt receive anything. And ín the first place, they asked me to pay for the porto, which is less than 10 dkk to send my charger. I think the internal communication among the staff is quite confusing, which results in my loss.

    Very good location, and very cozy atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.1
    Cosy and friendly, but don't bring a car, and watch out for noisy doors in annex rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying in the "annex" (room 2) meant a shared bathroom at the bottom of the corridor, which wasn't ideal, but we knew about that when we booked. Most importantly, however, the annex is VERY noisy - not with road noise as it's set well back and very peaceful; the DOORS all bang - it's nearly impossible to open and close them quietly, although of course we tried our hardest. As a result, we heard every person's door, the main annex door (right next to room 2) and the bathroom door every single time anyone used them, meaning disrupted sleep. The staff offered us earplugs, which was kind, and helped a little, but it would be great (and much more "hyggelig") if the door-closing mechanisms could be improved. It would make a huge difference. Finally, parking and driving are not to be recommended in Aarhus: the hotel recommended a "cheap" long stay car park (for 2-3 days) as the best option, but this was very expensive and the promised discount (for being a Guldsmede hotel guest) didn't work, sadly, which rather spoiled our checkout experience.

    The feeling of "hygge" - very cosy and stylish. Lovely organic feel and great cosmetics in the bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.3
    excellent place in the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was three double high and there is no elevator, so getting up with a suitcase (and I am not that young anymore) was , well, not pleasant. It would have been nice if at least someone had asked if any help was needed. I am sure I would have said no, but you understand what I mean. It is a room to relax and alas not to work, table and chair were not fitting. Internet was fast and steady.

    Breakfast was delicious. The room was cosy and the location is perfect.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    9.2
    Like coming home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The feeling of coming home. Relaxed. Friendly. Comfortable bed. Cosy place to sit and eat a good breakfast , or just relax playing card and drinking tea/coffee.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.9
    Ideal cozy boutique hotel in the heart of Aarhus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very small for 2 adults. The room was nice but tight. Next time we will request a larger room w a Queen size bed. They also need hand towels and kleenex in rooms.

    Cozy boutique atmosphere wih friendly staff and excellent location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.6
    Very cozy and comfortable rooms with nice terrace and view.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Standard - Double Petit
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast starts at 7 in workdays (many travelers get off already at 7, so breakfast should be earlier). Coffee stays locked in the reception room- which is closed from 11 pm - 7 am (so no morning coffee).

    Very cozy and comfortable rooms with nice terrace and view. Organic toiletries. Great location. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    In the Latin Quarter and close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy if your room is on the street side.

    In the Latin Quarter and close to everything. They have bikes available to rent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant boutique hotel, but good central location had the downside of being very noisy at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely noisy at night, room very hot, maybe due to unusually warm summer

    Garden sitting area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location ..a little dirty in the backyard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty terrace outside..but they fixed it the 2 day.

    Location is perfecy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    The facilities were absolutely charming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Standard - Double Petit
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities were absolutely charming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel should not advertise that breakfast is included...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel should not advertise that breakfast is included when it is only included if you book with them directly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Great breakfirst
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfirst

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    Casual, friendly, relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Street light proximity means bedrooms on the front need blackout curtains to keep the room dark at night.

    Casual, friendly, relaxed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely room, although small, but featuring a 4-poster bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room, although small, but featuring a 4-poster bed! Excellent tasty breakfast:)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    We loved the generous attention to detail, including the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Standard - Double Petit
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the generous attention to detail, including the beautiful organic breakfasts!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Sooo cosy and very welcoming and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Standard - Double Petit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complementary conditioner

    Lovely breakfast buffet in lovely surroundings

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Very nice, non-standard, ecological place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Standard - Double Petit
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Tasteful decorated rooms in a no-nonsense Scandinavian style. The ecological touch is nice and so is the organic breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent Danish pastries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Excellent Danish pastries

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Standard - Double Petit
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No lifts.

    Atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Standard - Double Petit
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No tea making in the room - with no lift carrying hot tea cup up the stairs to third floor was not fun :-(

    Friendliness, location, selection of teas.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    10
    Great place, value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect

    Wonderful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.8
    The bed and the bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Plus
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed and the bathroom

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    7.1
    In the end I´ll come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Acces to e.g. water boiler, coffea/tea in the room, no flowers

    Cosy hotel, friendly staff, good location, nice beds

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    8.8
    a little gem in aarhus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Standard - Double Petit
    • Stayed 1 night

    really nothing

    staff,brekfast, atmosfere

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    8.3
    Nice and makes you feel special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe nothing to do about it, but the stairs are very high and difficylt for old people.

    The staff was extremely nice and serviceminded.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.6
    hygge, but no en suite
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No en suite

    very hygge

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    7.9
    Good breakfast, good atmosphere
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would have been to know the room was in the annex and the bathroom shared Chair and desk in room very uncomfortable to work

    Good breakfast, good atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    10
    We had a very comfortable room overlooking the garden on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a very comfortable room overlooking the garden on the second floor. The hotel was quiet and within walking distance of the city center and the latin quarter.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    8.8
    Nice and a bit oldfashioned room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could have had more options, maybe of organic kind.

    Nice and a bit oldfashioned room. Central, but not noisy area. Good street/area for shoping and dining. Very nice patio in the back yard for spring-autumn breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    10
    The lovely staff and atmosphere.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There wasn't a desk in my room but I was able to use the bedside table.

    The lovely staff and atmosphere. A very nice breakfast--and spotless rooms. In general a lovely little hotel.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    7.9
    Small intimate atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I found the breakfast disappointing, given how much they talk it up. Limited offer and the small dining room was very crowded. Staff struggling to cope with people eating and checking out at same time.

    Small intimate atmosphere. Many restaurants and bars in vicinity.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    9.2
    A charming hotel, with an "enough is as good as a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our rooms overlooked the street and it was quite noisy at night with the window open.

    A charming hotel, with an "enough is as good as a feast" philosophy. Delicious organic food - including free supper - lovely bathroom products, pretty garden, helpful staff, attractive, artistic décor and plenty of eating options nearby.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    It was a wonderful experience.
    • Family with young children

    It was a wonderful experience. Their organic breakfast is really good. It's located on a quiet street and close to good restaurants. Staff is friendly and helpful. If we go back to Aarhus, we would definitely stay there!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.8
    + hotel has great character and style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - parking is difficult and expensive

    + hotel has great character and style + delicious organic breakfast + patio with garden + comfortable beds + soundproof windows + staff was very friendly and helpful + hotel located right in the center + nice restaurant next door

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    9.2
    This hotel is a real pearl in a beautiful neighbourhood, in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is a real pearl in a beautiful neighbourhood, in a beautiful, enchanting city. The hotel staff is exceptionally friendly, the rooms are charming and quiet.THANK YOU!

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    8.8
    Nice with free wine and tea, when we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dark bath curtains

    Nice with free wine and tea, when we arrived.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    8.8
    Loved the organic ethos and the breakfasts were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the organic ethos and the breakfasts were excellent

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    8.3
    I liked the old hotel building and the fact that the hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I liked the old hotel building and the fact that the hotel is not a carbon copy from a hotel franchise. The four poster bed was cool too.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location in a nice neighborhood and walking...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location in a nice neighborhood and walking distance to everything.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    9.6
    The room was very cozy and romantic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was very cozy and romantic. The organic toiletries were a really nice bonus. Breakfast was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    9.6
    Great boutique hotel, wonderful design, warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Having to leave!

    Great boutique hotel, wonderful design, warm. Great breakfast. Beautiful attention to detail.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    9.6
    very nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    very nice hotel

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    7.9
    nice bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no desk to work on

    nice bed

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.5
    Great bed, location, breakfast & free snacks, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy room, too basic bathrooms

    Great bed, location, breakfast & free snacks, good hangout place in the lobby

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    10
    The friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great!

    The friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.2
    It has a very nice feel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a room on the front and the street noise was rather loud.

    It has a very nice feel.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    Staff, room,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking, luckily we were there on a Sunday when street parking was free but finding a spot four blocks away wasn't easy.

    Staff, room,

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff. It felt like being in a friend's house. Small, cosy and personal. High emphasis on organic food and drink.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    leaving
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    leaving

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    7.9
    Style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too cramped,dining area is far too small,guests were hurried to vacate table for those waiting.

    Style.Endeavour and organics.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    5.4
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and bathroom was way too small. Feels like entering a closet.

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    9.6
    Clean and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a fan of Danish breakfast.

    Clean and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    8.3
    Seng på # 35 kunne godt laves til en kingsize ;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Seng på # 35 kunne godt laves til en kingsize ;)

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    8.8
    Very beautiful hotel located in the center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very beautiful hotel located in the center. Nice stay

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: