Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hjerting Badehotel 3 stars

Strandpromenaden 1, Hjerting, 6710 Esbjerg, Denmark

#3 of 18 hotels in Esbjerg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 449 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    We went back for a final night and booked a cabin instead of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went back for a final night and booked a cabin instead of a room. We'd do that again with our families. Great set-up for a family or group: kitchen, dining area, big bath, porch. It really has it all, and right across from a huge long beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Refurbished old beach hotel with nice atmosphere and excellent kitchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was rather small in size, with a bathroom somewhat ancient. More attention to decoration than to comfort

    The restaurant was excellent: sophisticated and locally insired. The atmosphere still breathes the early beach hotel. We booked a table in advance which turned out to be the one with an outstanding view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.2
    The sea view from the bedroom window!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People are allowed to play loud music/be noisy in public places in Denmark, so some evenings we had to put ear plugs on to be able to sleep.

    The sea view from the bedroom window! Also, good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel next to a beautiful beach made for a lovely relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, we had a lovely time (even the kids agreed). We will hopefully return in the future.

    We stayed in one of the little cottages that form part of the hotel. Breakfast was included , and it was lovely. Beautiful sea views from the restaurant as well, and right next to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.0
    Wonderful oldfashioned feeling, but maybe not so comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY small double room. Noicy guests sitting at their terrace directly below our window kept us awake long into the night. The hotel should have acted.

    Beautiful house. Nice bistro. Exellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Very well maintained , homely and warm atmosphere .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well maintained , homely and warm atmosphere . Totally non intrusive staff . Feels like home away from home , peaceful place to enjoy a few days .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    Very nice interior when it comes to style and decoration...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steam sauna did not work. Bad smell in the changing room facilities. Sauna really small - just minimum items. No relaxing area with canapee's and no tub or bucket with cold water to use directly after sauna visit. Thin doors to the rooms - you can hear every little detail from the hallway. Not what one would expect at this price level !

    Very nice interior when it comes to style and decoration items. Lovely and "Scandinavian". Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast: At such a hotel we would expect more quality of the food - especially the coffee was very bad. And we were disappointed, that part of the wellness area was out of function - dampbadet.

    Nice location of the hotel and nice hotel inside.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    5.8
    Perhaps try the Scandic in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked double room with sea-view. If you loved your college dorm room, this is for you. Tiny does not begin to describe. Staff, with one exception at breakfast, was pretty rude. Nowhere on Booking is the 4% surcharge for using a non-Danish credit card indicated. It is noted at reception, but states it is 1.8%. Small matter, but summarizes attitude of this establishment.

    Nice location by the bay. Sauna okay when we finally found it. No towels. Reception closed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Excellent place-but don't book the standard rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minus is, that their standard rooms are in my opinion very much below standard. As in completely terrible. The hotel does have very sweet nice rooms, but they let themselves down on even having such terrible rooms like the ones we got. The room we first got was on ground floor, facing a parking lot, with people walking around right outside the windows, and the room interior was very cheap and totally uncharming. I would never had booked, if I knew how they were. Long story short, because staff was so kind and helpful, we got a bearable stay, but not a beautiful memorable one.

    The hotel is very nice and staff is very very friendly, the breakfast and restaurant is great with an excellent view over the sea.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    4.6
    Overrated and over promising.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirty brown ocean I was looking forward to swim in, and the view over it that I paid extra for to look at. The hospital-like clinically bathrooms and the empty corridors, the shiny dead floors in the room and the dirty carpets in the corridors. The bored unloving staff, and the overall lack of passion for what they do. You feel so strong that for them it's just a job, while for me as a guest - well I was spending my hard earned cash on something that gave the impression and promises of being a classy old beachfront hotel with a high standard, but it turned out to be an overpriced b&b at a crappy beach not suitable at all for swimming. Huge disappointment. It's not all that bad - they just promise so much more. This is the opposite of under promise - over deliver.

    Their ad on booking sites and how beautiful the hotel looks from the outside. On pictures.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Lovely views just north of Esbjerg
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly tedious to have to strip the beds prior to leaving, but overall not a big deal.

    The Badehotel is located right on the sea, just north of the city of Esbjerg. We had a charming small house with two bedrooms, each with a water view. Furnishing wear typical beachfront, and beds were very comfy. It was a bit sleepy given it was Sunday evening, but the restaurant was open and there were lots of folks strolling the beach until sunset. Staff was helpful, and breakfast covered all the bases and then some (like drinks!).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.1
    Local beers on tap
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception unmanned for majority of the day, I needed to leave at 07:45am but reception didn't open until 08:00 and then she asked me to come back in 20 mins

    Local beers on tap

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Great starting point for exploring north end of Wadden Sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Right across from the Hjerting boardwalk is as good as it gets. They cheerfully provided a fluffy robe for my wife, who wanted to swim in the sea.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.9
    Perfekt location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charter me more than promised in booking.com

    Perfekt location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful beach and surrowndings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendlier front desk

    Stunning location. A bit expensive but...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything inside and outside

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.1
    Food very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too narrow doors and corridors for wheel chairs. Not very handicap friendly.

    Food very good. Quiet and safe.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous walk on the beach.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast are small and the café terrible....

    Nice house very close to the beach and the bike path.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    For travlt i Bistroen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For travlt i Bistroen

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Perfect view and location, clean rooms and very nice place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect view and location, clean rooms and very nice place for relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.8
    Too expensive. In Germany, Sylt, better room for half the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room, uninspiring bathroom.

    Nice room, good bed, hotel facilities good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    3.8
    Great - and good prices.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff is very nice. Got a single room that was a bit smaller than expected, but very nice. Will be back!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great space and location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.9
    Excellent service and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds have seen here days. We have much better beds at home. Air Con - in spite of not hot weather - should be there.

    Excellent service and food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    True Danish Badehotel directly at water front
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming but small rooms, esp. those with sea view. Fabulous restaurant in lovely Danish style.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit expensive in the restaurant, considering the quality. A bit expensive for a small room with a view to the parking.

    Location. Cosy place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice but risk on noise due to nearby terraces.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy at the front due to nearby bars with terraces. Getting a company invoice turned out too difficult.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.5
    Bad luck with the weather, thunderstorm and rain and we could not enjoy the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee was cold :(

    Good room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.3
    I liked the decor and colors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the room

    I liked the decor and colors. It's definitely what you would call hyggelig

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.5
    Nature right outside the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar was.... mediocre

    Nature right outside the hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Relaxing gem on the water
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff beautiful surroundings

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    8.8
    I had a room with a view, very close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a room with a view, very close to the beach. The room was beautifully decorated and everything was clean and comfortable. I had a delicious supper at the Ships Inn café. I wish I could stay longer than one night.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    9.2
    The restaurant and cafe are lovely spaces.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was rather small for a 3 night stay. The rooms are very close to one another. I rather expected for price paid i would have a larger space.

    The restaurant and cafe are lovely spaces.they serve a very good breakfast in the morning. I enjoyed the sauna and gym. The staff are very helpful and nice. All my questions answered and helped with buying rail tickets.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    6.7
    Lovely area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room with a sea view was actually looking onto a car park. Sea was across the road. Other hotels I have stayed in in Denmark loaned bikes out for free. In this hotel it was 50Dkr for an hour. Overpriced generally. Woodlice on the hotel bedroom floor.

    Lovely area. Walks on the beach and into the woodland areas

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    We had plans to avail ourselves of the local attractions,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had plans to avail ourselves of the local attractions, but ended up borrowing the hotel supplied beach chairs and reading on the beach instead. It was a perfect relaxing getaway. The Ships Inn cafe provided simple yet delicious food. All staff were cheerful and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    7.9
    beauttiful spot.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quite limited breakfast, they could offer more variety. Room was veery expensive and this days after eastern holidays. Shower in the bathroom is quite simple.

    beauttiful spot. I came in unfortunately too late to enjoy the nice restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    8.8
    Very nice breakfast, small but comfortable rooms.
    • Solo traveller

    Very nice breakfast, small but comfortable rooms. Wonderful location.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    9.2
    The posh restaurant was closed for dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The posh restaurant was closed for dinner

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful location! Loved walking down the boardwalk. Had dinner 2 nights at the casual restaurant. Good food, excellent sunset.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    10
    The private terrasse overlooking the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The private terrasse overlooking the sea. Food was excellent ... great cook here.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.2
    Great location with a view of the see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location with a view of the see. Nice and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    10
    hotel super!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hotel super!

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    9.2
    The room was too warm.
    • Couple

    The room was too warm. There was only the duvet, no blankets.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: