Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Jutlandia 4 stars

Havnepladsen 1, 9900 Frederikshavn, Denmark

#12 of 15 hotels in Frederikshavn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 762 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    Well located, a little away from bustle of Skagen but in easy reach by car. Not much to do in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were given rooms with single beds even though our booking specified and confirmed double beds. Hotel was however very agreeable re changing us after first night and moved all our belongings carefully to new and better rooms during our second day.

    It was a relaxed place to stay; rooms were small but lobby was spacious with good seating areas.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast is sumptuous and the location is close to both...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get a room facing the harbour and the price for one night stay wasn't certainly low. The WiFi was not accessible from our room, we were told that due to a large no. Of guests, we may not get access. The parking is NOT free.

    The breakfast is sumptuous and the location is close to both the railway station and the harbour.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Very convenient location before / after the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy if you open the window

    The ferry to Gothenburg is in another side of the street, check in process after midnight (very unusual in Scandinavia), you can eat your breakfast in the terrace outside and enjoy views of the ferries.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    Convenient for the port and town centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant only open Wednesday to Saturday No air conditioning and the room got really hot No extractor in the bathroom, so it got very humid

    Convenient for the port and town centre The bar was okay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    4.6
    Terrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first woman- blond- was utterly unkind and just gave the key and nothing else, no Wi-Fi information or anything. She even server a bear Bottle without a glass and when I asked for one she went to the backroom to get a milkglass. I asked for a proper glas and that was just under jee table.

    The second Person on the reception was kind and helpfull.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Our rooms were spacious, conveniently located by shops &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was warmer than normal outside. It was like a sauna in our room & we couldn't do anything to cool it. We have stayed a 4 different hotels during our trip, all with same weather. All other rooms we could keep comfortable.

    Our rooms were spacious, conveniently located by shops & restaurants also a 6 min walk from train station and a 7 min walk to board our ferry on the Stena Line. Staff was very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent base to use in the Frederikshavn area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upgrading work going on at the hotel which started early in the morning

    Simple comfortable rooms with good bathrooms. Very friendly and helpful staff and well placed to go into the town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast, nice rooms and well equipped.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 17 nights

    no aircon and I couldn't adjust the heating, which meant for an uncomfortable nights sleep. Please do not lock the lift from going to the breakfast floor. Breakfast started at 0700 but many people need to be away early in the morning.

    Good breakfast, nice rooms and well equipped. Polite staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    Big and very clean room, nice breakfast, very helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Restaurant closed for refurbishment which was not mentioned in Booking.com, bathroom a bit outdated but not that bad

    Big and very clean room, nice breakfast, very helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    Very basic
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn't very nice. Really basic and not the kind of place you'd want to spend more than a stopover.

    Location was good. Parking slightly cheaper than nearby car parks. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable with modern facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just stayed the night for transit and had no breakfast. Very conveniently located at the ferry terminal (helped a lot as our arrival was on a rainy night).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower heads need to be cleaned. Hair-blower not working. Coffee during breakfast can be improved. TV placement is weird (on the left side of the bed).

    My husband and I had a good night's rest. The bed was very comfortable, and the room spacious. Wifi was great, location excellent and breakfast good. Love the view from the breakfast floor!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Large room and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are in a real need of an update. Every thing was very old. Even though the rooms were clean there was an unpleasant odor in the room and the toilet.

    Large room and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel and stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant on 6th should had been open for dinner too

    Nice breakfast restaurant on 6th floor with view over the harbour and possibility to eat outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fitness centre is bare minimum.

    The location is great if you are staying in Frederikshavn. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room had good view and the bathroom was very spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Comfy but needs cleaning and smartening up
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower tiles and curtain covered in mildew. Carpets worn and dirty-looking. I didn't dare to shower or walk in my room barefoot. With that in mind the price was too much.

    Great location and everything was prepared when we arrived. Staff were nice and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    4.6
    Definately not a 4 star hotel in fact 2 stars would be too much!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated & bathroom not clean with dirty smelly shower curtain. Suggest reception staff actually look in the rooms to know what standards they have & what facilities are in the rooms. Their knowledge of the rooms is zero!

    location is good for ferry, trains & shopping center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    5.4
    The lobby was recently refurbished and held a high standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Contrary to the lobby, the rest of the hotel is very, very dated. Bathroom fittings (toilet, bathtub, sink) probably from the 70-80's. Old, not entirely clean wall-to-wall carpet. The hotel photos give an unrealistic expectation of the standard of the hotel, focusing on the recently refurbished lobby but neglecting to really show how old and threadbare the rest of the hotel is. Breakfast is expensive, 120DKK per adult and 60DKK per child at time of writing. They also charged our 10 week old son for breakfast. When we questioned this, they replied that "he is a child" and that it is their policy to charge children, regardless. Also, while the hotel offers parking, it comes at a price of around 65DKK/day. Given already steep prices for the stay, charging extra for parking and breakfast felt stingy.

    The lobby was recently refurbished and held a high standard. The beds appeared fairly new and were comfortable. The location is fantastic for travelers bound for one of the boats from Frederikshavn (to Gothenburg or Oslo) who need an overnight stay. Breakfast was decent, but expensive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    9.2
    Very nice stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with carpet - not really pet friendly.

    Great location. Super friendly and helpful staff. We booked a 3 bed room and got a 2 bedroom room. Very nice !!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    5.0
    Convenient and inexpensive but the lack of internet was very frustrating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no internet, staff was a bit confused about our booking and didn't seem to remember us in the morning having only checked in the night before (and the hotel was not busy), and the bathrooms were tired and all felt a bit mean.

    convenience to ferry

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    4.6
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Way overpriced

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.4
    Good Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    OLD CARPETS, NOISY TRAFFIC AND TOO BAD VENTILATION

    Good Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    3.8
    Hotel rooms look nothing like the pictures online
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff neither helpful nor friendly

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    good location to the ferry port, very helpful staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no free parking, needs to pay for the parking.

    good location to the ferry port, very helpful staff, breakfast with good view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning option

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.3
    Came late. And left per ferry next morning
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly free good coffee

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    Beds were nice, pillows a bit hard
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were nice, pillows a bit hard nice view over the ferry harbour

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Upgraded without having asked for it - really super.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upgraded without having asked for it - really super.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Location for business.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location for business.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    GREAT stay, with excellent accommodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Excellent location, near the harbor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Good location
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.6
    Definitely not 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old furniture, worn out dirty carpet, unpleasant old bathroom, definitely not 4 stars

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.0
    I didn't like to pay for parking, as I was not told...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like to pay for parking, as I was not told untill I arrived at the hotel. This is a hidden expense.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    Location, but the View is a bit rouhg and rugged- an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark corridors, old and dark design.

    Location, but the View is a bit rouhg and rugged- an industrial port. breakfast on floor 6 was a bonus😄

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.9
    Good location when arriving by ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC and extremely boring breakfast.

    Good location when arriving by ferry.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.3
    breakfast was good with nice view.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I took higher standard room, but it was really small and old...

    breakfast was good with nice view.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Location. Parking garage. Staff. Nice bar. Clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.3
    Great location!
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in a great location. It had access to a lot of restaurants, and shops. I found it convenient to get there from the train.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    9.6
    Comfy room.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy room. Splendid views over busy harbour.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    7.1
    Large Room, Central Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    General Cleaning, Advise to Management look in the corners, for a 4 star hotel I do expect stainless steel etc in elevators to be clean and bathroom not to contain hair from previous guest

    Large Room, Central Location

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    9.6
    Spacious suite, with great views close to transport and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Spacious suite, with great views close to transport and the town centre. Just what we were after!

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    8.8
    Great view, big room to stretch out in , very helpful at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great view, big room to stretch out in , very helpful at reception and with parking. Breakfast was spot on.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    7.5
    Very clean and friendly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Needs a bit of updating

    Very clean and friendly

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    6.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    seems to be worn down. Hasn't been renovated for a long time

    Location

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    6.7
    Very close to the ferry.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was overcharged. Breakfast was not that good. The room felt cheap.

    Very close to the ferry.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    7.9
    The view over the harbour and the large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The coffee was poor. The showercurtain didn't stop the water.

    The view over the harbour and the large room.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.1
    great breakfast, clean room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    don`t forget to place your parking permit on the dashboard. real expensive parking tickets every day. €100,- per day

    great breakfast, clean room

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    Very comfortable and the staff were fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very comfortable and the staff were fantastic. Restaurant very goo.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    6.7
    The view was nice
    • Family with young children

    Have travel adopters for customers to use free, not that they have to buy it.

    The view was nice

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    7.5
    Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No activity

    Room

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    9.6
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful staff. Location and convenience.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    7.9
    Friendly helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the weather was terrible

    Friendly helpful staff. Very nice restaurant with an English menu. John Bull bar very good

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: