Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Carlton Guldsmeden 3 stars

Vesterbrogade 66, Vesterbro, 1620 Copenhagen, Denmark

#18 of 102 hotels in Copenhagen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2370 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.8
    Did not sleep so well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Mattress was dented at spots were people had been laying: not comfortable to sleep and not a nice idea that they were appearantly that old. - Could see a big spot on the matress through the cover. - Short black hairs on cover. - Noise from the street. - Curtains did not block the light.

    - Proper car parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, in a most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite spartan, which is just fine if it weren’t for the hair on the bathroom floor upon arrival. The room had no blinders meaning wake-up at first dawn. No fridge and no safety deposit box.

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, in a most relaxed way.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    Stylish, organic boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The blinds were of nice wooden design, but did not darken the room really well, which can be inconvenient during summer nights, depending on your sleeping habits. If you're less than 160cm tall you may struggle to close the showerroom curtain. Central and a main road, as to be expected not the quietest of locations, even on the top floor - if you have a room with windows to the main road. Even on the top floor.

    Nice "boutique style" hotel a 20 minute walk from the historic centre and right next to the most up and coming neighbourhoods. Very friendly and relaxed staff, everything is organic - even their electricty is marked as such. Nice terrace in the inside court if you fancy a drink in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Hotel with a soul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise from the street ( only for rooms in the front)

    Very helpful and friendly staff Cosey atmosphere Use and promotion of green products Tastful breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Staff are great, location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning for an unusually hot summer, so we left the window open, but it was very loud outside even in the early hours of the morning. But, dont let that put you off as almost everywhere in Denmark didn't have air conditioning, eg public transport and shops, due to their usual colder climate.

    Staff are very helpful and pleasant to speak with - they let us check in early. Good location and cozy hotel with all amenities you would expect

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Great stay!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff were very professional and friendly with good English language skills. Hotel is located 10-15 min from city center, which was very nice. Hotel has fulfilled all our requests and has given us a free upgrade, as we have mentioned, we have a special date/anniversary. Hotel itself is very cozy, from the first moment it feels like home. Housekeeping team work was also done excellent. Wi-Fi connection was perfect. Thank you so much for a great stay!!! Definitely recommend to all travelers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Not at all a Carlton, but cosy and relaxing atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Carlton name is misleading. It is not a Carlton of the Carlton chain... not at all. I dont understand why they would add Carlton if by themselves they already have a name. Actually, Ive seen several Guldsmeden around Copenhanguen...

    I liked location and ambiance, specially at breakfast which is a choice. The staff was very very nice, and a room was ready for our early check in. Danes in general are very warm and polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Bang for buck, great hotel and great staff in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs a fan or air conditioning, having the window open for fresh air is not convenient as the bugs fly in.

    The central location of the hotel is great, Fantastic restaurant right at the door. Ten min walk to the heart of Copenhagen..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Fair stay-veeery expensive! for the quality of services-definately not a value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room view was straight into the main street-very loud,had problems falling asleep. Was placed in the room next to the restrooms available for late bar guests,constant noise coming from doors being opened and shut. No aircon!No landline in the room.

    Very original,nordic room design plus organic hygiene products:)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Really well situated comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    carpets on the main corridors not fixed so they get caught up while wheeling your luggage. Mirrors too high in bedroom so a short lady could not sit and look into one

    The whole ethic was good and comfortable Breakfast very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    2.9
    Major letdown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room, rude staff, small bathroom, uncomfortable furniture, broken tv, lots of stairs (all the baggage didn’t fit in elevator).

    The area around the hotel was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed the hotel and would recommend it to other visitors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room overlooked a courtyard at the rear of the hotel so nothing of a view, but this was not a significant issue.

    A place with some character, friendly and helpful staff, and well-located for the train station and Tivoli Gardens.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heat having the highest floor, however, was accommodated with two table fans. No black out curtains in summer.

    Location. Clean. Design. Staffs. Ambience. Eco. Breakfast. Chill spots available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Should be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This opinion is based on my room only, first no blackout curtains, which is very inconvenient if you have trouble to sleep in bright spaces ( unfortunately it was our case ), this time of the year Copenhagen is extremely bright very, very early in the morning, so our sleep wasn’t that great and the second thing was the shower, we had the unpleasant surprise to find ourselves in a little pool while having the shower, it was partially clogged ( to be nice) and it should be checked by the hotel after each guest check out, therefore very frustrating and disappointing as this is one of the things that can spoil your stay.

    The location is spot on, the products( shower gel, shampoo, etc) were very good, big plus on that. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The deco is cosy and makes you feel welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Great food and nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you have an early morning plane arrival they are usually full and there is not a good place to sit outside in a courtyard because they have parking instead and it is more for Danish guests with cars. They will keep your luggage until the room is ready but not much to do for hours in the early morning that is open. Axel G. is a better spot up the street as there is more room to sit if you are early arrival.

    Great food and nice people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    4.6
    stuff at the front desk was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    stuff at the front desk was friendly. rooms are quite small, no air conditioning, very warm, thick blankets. It was very hot and stuff suggested to open the window to cool the room down but it was impossible because of a noisy street, no rooms were available to relocate, none offered us to change the room next day after allegedly many people suppose to leave the property. 20 min walk to the city center, 30 min walk to the metro train station. I find the hotel very expensive for the quality of the service provided but for someone who is looking for echo friendly places, this is a place to be

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Would happily return (when weather cooler!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although weather was atypically warm, the room would have benefitted from aircon - opening windows didn't help much as room facing major thoroughfare so a bit noisy at night. Breakfast expensive & range of non-alcoholic drinks limited to fruit juice.

    Liked the Balinese style and decor generally, the whole eco-friendly, organic basis for the facilities, the staff were extremely helpful, the hotel was within easy walking distance of many of Copenhagen's attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice location and concept, but let down by poor attention to detail in decor and design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of blackout curtains meant room (in summer) was light until well after 10pm and again at 4am. Fine I suppose if you are traveling as adults but not if you have younger children, and this was marketed as a family room. Bathroom very small and did not have foot mat, so floor got very wet after shower and had to be dried with a regular towel. Placing of item holders on walls adjacent to sink left limited room to move arms. The main bar/restaurant chill area had a nice balcony area, but the door could not be fully closed without locking people on the balcony. So when other guests out there smoking, the fumes wafted back inside.

    Convenient location for main station and Vesterbro district. Secluded bike store area. Nice chill-out area and friendly, helpful staff. Comfy 4-poster bed. Ceiling fan and plug-in fan were welcome as room got very hot in the summer heat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Personal touch, natural & great service, just friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower head was twisted sideways but we forgot to tell the staff. Otherwise not a single dislike

    Bed was so comfortable & beautiful! All the toiletries, shower cream schampoo conditioner toothbrush body lotion body oil etc etc was luxuries! Great organic breakfast, great bikes to rent, excellent friendly staff. We where so surprised by how good it all was! Fresh but classic with earth friendly twist! We gonna go back for sure!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location and facilities on site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator only takes two people at a time and makes an alarming, jerking movement, as it makes its way up and down the building. It is very claustrophobic. The check in process was poor. We had to stand, waiting in the reception area for a good 5 to 6 minutes while the staff member chatted on the phone and ignored us. We were then given the wrong room key, which saw us entering a room already occupied by another couple. Rather embarrassing.

    Good location and facilities on site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.3
    We would have liked a minibar/fridge in the room to keep...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked a minibar/fridge in the room to keep our beverages and kid’s meal cold. The staff was helpful enough though to temporarily store the kid’s milk in the lobby fridge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    The staff is exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is exceptional. They always offered to do more than we wanted. Such s friendly city. Good location for tivoli. Not great for walking to nearby restaurants. But staff bent over backwards to see that we had a special meal. Charming. Delightful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is awful, very small bathroom, no facilities for coffee/tea, seems there is coffee at the reception but we went there twice during the breakfast and once there was no coffee left. We had a quiet room, as we asked for, but it was at 5th floor under the roof. It was quite hot and there is no air conditioning. We were not expecting such hot weather in May, I would not stay there during the summer. I had to climb the 5 floors several times a day as I didn’t dare to take more than the first time!

    Very good toiletries, nice concept

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable, well-located hotel with friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The curtains are thin, so the room starts getting light very early, which woke us up before we were ready. Also, the only reason I wouldn't recommend this as a romantic getaway hotel is because (how to say this delicately?) the headboard bangs against the adjoining room wall.

    The room was comfortable, quiet and well located. There is coffee/tea available at all times, and a room-sized fridge which was useful. Staff couldn't have been nicer. We felt very much at home here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    perfect place near to the main station and to the lakes.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    storing the glas bottles in the container at 6 am.

    nice organic breakfast with great variety, juices, good coffee. nice rooms, comfortable bed, balcony to the yard - so very quiet. good bicycle to rent at hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were so helpful, the room was excellent and comfortable, we loved the ethics of this hotel and the sustainable green aspect, we could not fault anything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    This hotel is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is beautiful. Lovely relaxed home from home feel. The staff were incredible too, very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommend anyone book here

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay in the heart of Copenhagen, I recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator is really small :)

    Amazing customer support, friendly staff at the reception, check in email with all relevant information as soon as I checked in on the reception, quiet room, decent size, almost in the center of Copenhagen. Definitely recommend it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    No ventilation, noisy from traffic but great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ventilation and super noisy from the traffic outsider otur window. I wouldn’t have minded the tiny room if it hadn’t been for the noise which made me feel like we stayed in a base keg.

    The breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Interesting but not the most comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Copenhagen hotels are crazy expensive and I can't see why that is, as quality does not match the pricing. At 215e per night, plus 21e per breakfast, it was probably the most expensive hotel I've ever stayed in, but definitely not one of the best (and I do travel approx. 4 times a year to different countries). Room was small, so was the bathroom. 4-post bed is a nice touch, but TV should be mounted in the middle of the wall then, not in the corner, where it is cut into 2 halves! (TV press was completely unnecessary and only took space). Breakfast was tasty but at 21e selection should be better, and definitely not reduced outside of the weekend - price was the same on Monday as on Sunday. Room was quite bright and noisy - off the street, windows single glazed and only venetian blinds installed. It also got hot overnight, with no A/C and windows shut due to street noise. Hotel praises itself for being organic, eco etc., asking to take 3-minute shower, but towels were changed every day, despite leaving them on rails. Shower curtain was a piece of Tyvec, too small to prevent splashing on the floor, and mat was not provided. Location required solid 15 min walk to City hall square. Not that many places to eat dinner around. I'm normally far from moaning, but for that price there were too many small annoying things, and it all added up.

    Bed was comfortable, linen and towels - very good quality. Breakfast was tasty. Nice décor. Enough space for clothes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice and cozy, well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The window in the room has no blinder/thick curtains...at 5am you will be awake. I recommend to bring eye-masks.

    Really nice location, cozy atmosphere and beautiful rooms. You can rent bikes at the property, which is a great plus for CPH.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather 'cosy' up on the 5th floor and can get rather hot.

    Clean, wonderful eco friendly toiletries, free tea and coffee around the clock in the dining area. Reception staff friendly. Walking distance to Central Station. Great location as it's near the meat-packing district and many cool bars.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    This is an excellent hotel to stay in and very eco-friendly which is important.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin beds are very small.

    The staff here were exceptional I can't say enough about them. They went above and beyond to make my stay wonderful. I would certainly stay in this hotel again. However the next time I would definitely take a room with a full size bed. My room had a lovely Terrace, and in general the hotel was very quiet at night. I loved it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Copenhagen a great stay, extremely expensive, but worth the trouble if you can rent a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking, parking, parking, breakfast was not what I expected. Arrived and was given a parking spot... the first 2 days no problem, but retuning on the 3rd day, they overbooked the parking spots and I was left on my own to find a spot in the city myself (extremely expensive). The hotel did comp us a breakfast and did not charge us for parking, but none the less, this did cause us to have to look for parking overnight by ourselves (not easy in Copenhagen).

    Location was good, quaint, quiet, soap products nice. Pillows not too comfortable, staff was helpful and polite. Was able to communicate in English very well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    It is a very expensive below average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy!!! The reception lady said she was giving us a room looking at the back which is very quiet, but there are people back side of the hotel drinking, shouting, laughing until the morning. We couldn't sleep at all. I guess there is a bar at the back side. We didn't try breakfast as it is way too expensive. There are more alternatives in the neighborhood. Same for bikes, way too expensive. Use Donkey Republic, much cheaper.

    The location is close to central station but quite far from the city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    A respectable little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    2 single duvets on a double bed was a bit weird. Safe didn't work and made a beeping sound, although staff did sort that twice. It's about a 10-15 min walk to the beginning of Indre By, which isn't too bad but by the end I wished I was a bit closer.

    Comfortable bed Warm room Nice toiletries Free tea and coffee in the bar area Decent bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Good location, well worth considering
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only small downside was my room (207) looked out over a car park - in itself not a problem except the curtains were white and too thin to stop the car park street lights shining through - it was almost bright enough to read. Told the staff on check out though and they noted it down, so maybe they will fix that.

    Smart, trendy but friendly organic focussed hotel which was chosen based on location and price. Location was excellent - try Madclubben (food club) restaurant next door but one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    The organic feel to the hotel and comfortable atmosphere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room was a little expensive but this may be down to Copenhagen being more expensive than where I live. Breakfast wasn't included as well.

    The organic feel to the hotel and comfortable atmosphere made it a very romantic place to spend time with my girlfriend. Staff were very friendly and location was close to the station unless you're really adverse to walking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    The decor in the rooms is eclectic and well done.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't room service available when I was there but the staff can send up a few items. I had the lasagne on the night of my arrival and it was great. The breakfast is stocked with a selection of outstanding juices, salads, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, lox, a variety of breads and muffins. Also a great selection of teas and strong coffee. Really great. It would be perfect if this lovely spread was 1) included in the price of the hotel and 2) offered until 11-12 in the morning as a suspect many guests, like me, are jet lagged.

    The decor in the rooms is eclectic and well done. The linens and pillow on the bed were outstanding. The staff here are so friendly and helpful. As a single traveler, it is enjoyable to have a conversation once in a while and these women were fun and lively. The location is ideal: great restaurants, cafes and markets all within 2-3 blocks. There is a "Flying Tiger" (like a small American Target) right next door to the hotel and a pharmacy 1/2 block away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing. Awesome food, people and eco-friendly, organic products.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved the hotel specially because of the location and their eco- friendly attitude in hygiene products, recycled paper, etc. We also found the breakfast very very good. We walked everywhere from the hotel and they have nice restaurants next to it. The room was very comfortable (the bed) and we had a fully mini-bar and a goodies basket (all organic, even the wine). I strongly recommend it ! Really nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Very warm and cozy atmosphere. Splendid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Central location, excellent staff, delicious organic breakfast. Cozy amenities, such as warm tea always available in the living room (with a wood burning stove), create a very warm and cozy atmosphere. Splendid!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Fine, ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    reception is at the bar stairs everywhere--must go up and down to get to reception Courtyard very noisy when all the service carts roll over it-middle of the night disaster--soundproof windows needed.

    stylish, comfortable lounge area and bar. expensive but really delicious varied plentiful breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Rooms a good size.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Promoting all the toiletries for sale in the bathroom. Wasn´t clear if you would be charged for using them. And there is little enough space to put your own stuff on those two little shelves even without all the other products there for sale. A mini fridge in the room would have been nice too. I missed it. The white curtains not too good at keeping the room dark, so the light woke me up on the days there was a little sun.

    Rooms a good size.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with character, charm & a good conscience! Love it. Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle or tea and coffee. This was a big draw back. It was so cold outside I just wanted. A cup of tea in my room! I over heard (on leaving) a staff member tell a new guest there was complimentay tea and coffee in the buffet/bar area for the duration of the day. I wasn’t told this. I know it’s small, but I’m British a cup of tea is very important! :-)

    I loved the thoughtful eco touches at every turn. The staff were lovely and the bed was so comfy. I regret not going down for breakfast I’ll bet it was lush!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.1
    Cosy hotel with very relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can be noisy due to the location, wooden flooring throughout the building and no double glazing. There was no information in the room about the hotel facilities, local area/transport options. The cleaners replaced the towels everyday despite us leaving them on the towel rail. I wouldn't stay in this area if I was a female travelling alone.

    I liked their sustainable approach. We had a superior room which was a nice size but you wouldn't want it any smaller. The bed was comfortable and the room was cosy. The communal area/cantina is nice and there is free tea/coffee available as there are no kettles etc in the rooms. The breakfast buffet is very nice but there are great places nearby for breakfast such as Lauras Bakery.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    A wonderful comfortable haven in the centre of Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Details were managed perfectly, and it was a wonderful comfortable haven in the centre of Copenhagen. The breakfast sounds expensive, yet it is actually good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    The atmosphere was very cozy and inviting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaner came into the room in spite of the do not disturb sign being on the outside of the door. I would of much preferred one double duvet to two single duvets. The art in the room was a little disturbing, I liked it, but not really family friendly.

    The atmosphere was very cozy and inviting. Lovely clean room with great style and amenities. Particularly enjoyed the heated bathroom floor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    Great winter break in CPH
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable rooms and great lounge/breakfast area. Really like the DAB/bluetooth radio provided in the room. Great location, 10 min walk or so to Tivoli Gardens

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Great, cozy location in Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really good location - very central and close to many restaurants, shops and entertainment. Perfect place for a weekend out in Copenhagen. Rooms are on the small side, but very nicely furnished and have all the things one may need. Staff was also friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds extremely comfy! Room lovely! Decor made the whole hotel so homely! Quiet hotel, even though on relatively main road! Hotel has focus on being environmentally friendly and sustainable which we liked. Staff extremely helpful and kind. Breakfast nice. Fab location, near central station and lots of restaurants/bars/attractions. Would return!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice cozy hotel with great athomsphere. Needs synchronaizing with booking.com and pricelis in the ro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were informed when we arrrived that the breakfast was not included... that was dissapointment because when we booked the room it was not clearly excluded either (we used booking.com). There were wine bottle in the room but not pricelist or any other products (no minibar or fridge) so one could easily think wine was complementary but instead opening it would have cost about 30€.

    Athomsphere and decoration were great and the eco products in the room were very frefreshing. Bed was nice and room was great, staff was kind and helpful. Own side door access to the room was nice plus for the stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    5.0
    Got upgraded to a double room since single rooms don’t have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn down facilities, semi dirty linen the first day, hair in the breakfast on the first day, the restaurant seem more like a staff hang out place than a restaurant,

    Got upgraded to a double room since single rooms don’t have any closets (my stay was for +10 days). To go coffee. The concept. The taxi to transport my luggage to another Guldsmeden hotel, when the hotel suddenly closed down for Christmas (even though I had to ask for it).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was nice but disappointed that it was not included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly staff. Warm rooms and comfy bed.

    Breakfast was nice but disappointed that it was not included. We ate out 2/3 mornings and found other cafes in the area just as nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    We loved our stay. Just like staying as honoured guest in someone's home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sleep got problem with noise from other residents. Wooden floor noise and late night noise from adjacent room on one night.

    Very friendly informal staff. Stylish bohemian style hotel with real character.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.2
    Central and charming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Missed a water boiler in the room and perhaps slippers.

    Charming hotel, great location, bathroom very well fitted with great soaps and creams. Restaurant is very reasonable also w. good choices for vegetarians.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom, difficult to maneuver. Extra cost for even slightly late check-out.

    Nice boutique hotel. Great balcony. Fantastic (free) apples in the lobby

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice decor and furniture.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was under the roof and somewhat cramped. The tiles in the bath needed a proper clean.

    Nice decor and furniture. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. A+

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.7
    Fairly average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Street noise was exceptionally loud, and conversations could be heard clearly through the walls between rooms. Lack of food in the hotel itself was also an issue.

    Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. Laid back atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Absolutely wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is unique, interesting, and beautiful. The room was peaceful and comfortable. The staff is so very helpful, accommodating, and friendly. And the public area is great to spend time in at any time of day and in any weather. We loved the eco-friendly accessories. I travel a lot for work, and this is a huge leap from a generic hotel - first-class experience in a unique package.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    Great stay in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay in a great location. Loved being able to hire bikes. The staff were unsure of how to get us to the airport, something I would expect them to know.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    My 2nd stay at this hotel, was better than my 1st enjoyable...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My 2nd stay at this hotel, was better than my 1st enjoyable stay. I had a room at the rear of the hotel, so I wasn't disturbed by the road noise which affected me on the first visit 18 months ago. Room was really nice, with a large 4 poster bed, and a balcony - though Denmark in November is not the best time to be enjoying a balcony. Staff are all really friendly, and I like the Cantina restaurant. Will stay here again on my next Copenhagen visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    The bed was super comfy, the towels and products in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was super comfy, the towels and products in the bathroom were organic and incredible, the wasn't anywhere to unpack into (limited hanging space and no drawers/shevles) so if that's important, I would just check that with the hotel - I shared a room with my sister, my parent's room for same price had lots more space.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.4
    Good location, mediocre hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was looking a little tired & dated and the bathroom is close to needing an overhaul. The daily service of the room seemed to just be a tidy up and towels changed, dirty glasses were left on the table, the bathroom appeared to be uncleaned. The whole hotel seemd to be a bit of a compromise. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel as we felt that AU$30 each was very extravagant for what was on offer.

    The hotel is in a great area with plenty of restaurants nearby and a supermarket less than 100 meters away. The room had a small bar fridge, the bed was comfortable. Our room was at the back of the hotel so we did not have any road noise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Copenhagen is always worth a visit and this hotel makes it even better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have loved to have a towel for the bathroom floor, some bigger hooks to hang up the towels after showering. The chair would have been nice to shove "under" the table - but it´s armrests wouldn´t allow this...

    Lovely room. The breakfast room/restaurant/bar was also very cozy. Stuff was very nice and the people very understanding and ready to help with any issues. Tea and coffee available all day. Gorgeous shower cream/shampoo/body cream etc available also to buy at the desk - love it! Nice neighborhood and not far to the city center and the central station. Nice balcony as well!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.1
    Great breakfast. Super location. Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was facing the busy street. Ear plugs were provided and the staff was open to let us change rooms. But we were lazy and excepted the city sounds during the night.

    Great location, with lots of nice restaurants and shops nearby. Renting a bike at the hotel opened up Copenhagen to us; so much to see!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.5
    No real complaints - a good, safe, clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was fine - not great but certainly fine. Also, fairly expensive but in line with the cost of things in Copenhagen.

    The Staff were wonderful - very helpful and friendly. The location was good - walking distance to good night-life and the city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Overall a great experience. Will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The pictures of the room maybe believe that all rooms had poster beds and balconies. A little disappointed that My room had neither.

    Friendly staff. Nice comfortable restaurant for good value. Centrally located.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    High quality
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were in the front section of the hotel and it was quite loud due to the road being rebuilt. The room itself was quite warm, which would have been ok if we could have had the window open more during the day and night. Obviously the hotel can't help this, but it did affect our stay.

    The best breakfast I've ever had in a hotel, all organic, high quality produce.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    All round a very good location, plenty of places to eat and good transport links into Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was roadworks going on and the noise interrupted our sleep from time to time.

    The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent and yummy!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Would stay there again. Unique hotel site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor water pressure in shower. Took long time to rinse shampoo from hair

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Yummy breakfast and great location. Just minutes from train and all the sites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Hope to return before long!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was 155 Danish kr; that IS rather expensive. But despite the cost we decided to have it twice during our 3-day stay, and did not regret it.

    We loved the room and the cosy atmosphere of the hotel, particularly being surrounded by so many wonderful artworks everywhere. Very friendly staff, too. And the location is very good; we could walk there from the railway station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Food is excellent and lots of choice for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast.

    Food is excellent and lots of choice for breakfast. We liked the organic approach to food and other things. Bedrooms are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    Exceptional hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was a little high but I only booked 2 days before my trip.

    Its eco friendly environment is exceptional and the breakfast really exceeded expectation and was also quite cheap given Copenhagen prices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    People at the reception were very nice and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room floor was not very clean. There was not a bath mat. Food at the canteen could improve.

    People at the reception were very nice and helpful. Rooms are small but cozy, well equipped and quiet. The canteen is very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Value for money, not extravagant and comfortable. Will I be back certainly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would Love a cup of tea or coffee in the room. It is a small issue and probably not a deal breaker.

    This is an eco hotel And certainly tries hard at living up to that ideal. The breakfasts were excellent. The rooms might be a bit small but perfectly adequate. Good to see waste minimized. The staff wee Great and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Carlton Guldsmeden traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: