Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ibsens Hotel 3 stars

Vendersgade 23, 1363 Copenhagen, Denmark

#31 of 102 hotels in Copenhagen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2189 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditionjng and since they are on a busy street at night and early morning it can be a bit noisy. Request a quiet room. Their large rooms are quite small so think about upgrading to a junior suite if you need more room. Only some rooms have coffee making capability, but the staff did provide this upon request.

    Location is great. Very easy to walk to the Center city and to a main transportation hub at Nørreport where you can catch buses, metro and train. Hotel staff are very helpful and accommodating. Perfect for cruise ship passengers as it is very easy to take Bus 25 directly from Nørreport Station (5 minute walk) to Ocesn Kaj Terminal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no AC , noisy at night because we had to leave the windows open due to the heat. With the windows closed it was very quiet. Room overlooking the inside court area was nice.

    Staff 5 stars plus.. location great as well, cozy hour was also nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were quite small. It is quite noisy if you have a room overlooking the courtyard and you have your windows open.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the hotel was clean, modern and comfortable. The breakfast was very nice and we appreciated the cozy hour and the opportunity to meet other guests. Excellent location close to Norreport Station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom is strange, with curtains as a separation. I didn't like the shampoo, moisturizing and soap available, and had to buy in a local store. the bed was not comfortable.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bathroom very small and room rather small even though we paid for an upgrade.

    staff were friendly and location was good. courtyard was also nice to relax and meet others

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to not like. We expected small spaces (room and elevator).

    Did not eat at the hotel restaurant. Breakfast was very good (cost extra) Would recommend. We were in the attic (roof dormer) so room had slanty ceiling and walls. We had exceptionally nice weather which enhanced our visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air-conditioning (it was 26-28 C). No kleenex tissues in the bathroom. Nowhere to put the suitcase (only on the floor), no coat hangers (only hooks on the wall).

    Very friendly staff, good location, three restaurants (all excellent) directly adjacent to the hotel, very good breakfast with local food, free drinks in the afternoon ('Cosy Hour').

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tub/shower stall, full tile floor "efficiency" bathrooms. Needing to leave the room key with them is a concept I don't understand

    Location was perfect. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    what i didn't like our window outside is full of scafolding because its under construction but nevertheless so far so good.

    the location of the hotel is walking distance to tourist attractions plus the staff in the hotel are superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    /

    Great and friendly staff & excellent breakfast. The rooms are quite small, but cozy. The only minus is the bed, which is too soft, but everything else is great. Organic food and the best location, near the train, metro, bus station and the food market.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely can do with larger signs as they're undergoing maintenance at the moment

    The staff were super happy, intuitive and attentive, the room was spectacular and very well designed!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More lighting in the bedroom. I was also charged for 1 breakfast which I didn't have but noticed it too late.

    Friendly helpful staff, good location,attractive bar area, clean rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was expensive compared to offerings close by. They could offer a simpler/cheaper alternative

    The location was very good and the hotel had a lot of small details that were nice to have

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we were initially assigned had a dirty wooden floor (some sticky spots, some boot mud marks). I typically don't bring this type of thing up-- figure it's a part of staying in a more affordable hotel-- but because we were heading out to walk around town I mentioned it to the front desk on our way out. She asked if she could go take a look herself, and when we came back in from our walk, she invited us over and shared that she agreed the floor of the room was not up to their standard and offered us the upgrade on the house. We felt very cared for and were impressed at the customer service offered by this professional and kind receptionist.

    The room had character, because there was a problem with our initial room, we were given a upgrade. The receptionist allowed us to look in 3 different rooms and make a decision after seeing 3 rooms-- all 3 were gorgeous, different, and reflected the character of the hotel's building. The public/shared spaces (hallways, elevator, etc.) felt very modern and new to me, but the rooms themselves were a cozy mix of new and old.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a room in the attic which was very nice but because of the sloped ceilings, we banged our heads a few times.

    Healthy breakfast with lots of variety. Friendly waiting staff. Clean spacious quiet comfy room. Great location. Approachable helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    while we were there (March 2108) hotel undergoing external refurb, so building scaffolded and our room had NO view as the scaffolding and sheeting obscured it. Plus workmen outside on scaffolding from 7.30am this did not particularly bother us, as we only used room to crash at the end of a long day, but I think we should have been made aware that this was going to affect our room

    Hotel is in a really good location, very close to everything including the station. Really clean and comfortable. Nice bar/lounge area for relaxing in after a day out. Breakfast is beyond good, top quality, extremely good, lots of choice, absolutely fabulous!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and a little tired. No tea/coffee facilities in the room.

    Great location. Staff were incredibly nice and were so helpful. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Extra Large Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An extra pillow in the room. But I'm sure if I had asked they would have easily provided one

    Great organic breakfast, super friendly staff. Loved the personal little touches too

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When checking in I asked the receptionist whether breakfast was included in my booking (I had booked a month earlier). He checked and said it was. When I was eating breakfast the next day I was presented with a bill. I explained what happened and they insisted I pay anyway. I found that to be a poor experience given it was their fault. Apart from that it was mostly fine. The floorboards throughout the hotel are very creaky and my room was insufferably warm. I had to open the windows which made it really cold (it was snowing outside). The bathroom was tiny and the bedroom was quite pokey too. And it was not cheap.

    It was very located for my needs. The breakfast was tasty but expensive. The WiFi was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    works outside started very early. luckily I was up but if I wanted to sleep longer it would had been annoying

    breakfast, little jokes, cosy, soaps and shampoo of great quality

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding outside the room, and no warning about these building works taking place. Didn’t like the wet-room bathroom, hard to keep things dry. Lack of storage space in the room.

    Good location, great staff. Nice bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is a bit pricey, but then again, that's Copenhagen.

    Very nice and cosy rooms. The location is great. Affordable restaurants with high rating nearby. Super friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our first room had an awful smell coming from the toilet so we asked for another room which ended up being smaller than we requested but was not smelly!! Staff were courteous and changed it immediately on our request. We unfortunately stayed while the hotel was undergoing some refurbishment of double glazing which meant noise early in the morning only really bad on the last day. We were compensated with a 100kr voucher for the bar/café which helped. One per room instead of per customer we noted. Shower was warm but had next to no pressure. Probably best since it was a wet room style. Rooms were clean but could do with a bit of a spruce up. However, we were out all day and just needed to sleep at night.

    Great staff and downstairs reception area was cosy after a long day of sight seeing. Nice Flat screen TV with plenty of channels in English. Great Happy hour which we enjoyed a couple of times.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect, there were plenty of restaurants close by and it’s easy to get to the metro or buses. The staff were all lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bathroom was sooo small. The cold air also came pouring in through the (closed) windows, making it hard to keep the room warm.

    The breakfast was amazing!!!!!! The location was excellent as well!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely uncomfortable, my husband and I constantly met in the middle every time we moved. We were next to an emergency exit that was use through the night constantly waking us up.

    Fantastic location for staying in Copenhagen. Next to torvelhallerne food hall and loads of restaurants and norreport metro. Loved the cosy hour!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wardrobe or clothes drawers in the room, but a hanging rail and shelves provided plenty of space. No safe in the room, but they are available in the lobby.

    Excellent breakfast: way beyond the usual 'continental' offering, including much local and organic produce. Good location, just a few minutes walk from Nørreport Station, so easy to reach from the airport. And the bed was *incredibly* comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Every member of staff we encountered were extremely pleasant and helpful! It was a massive bonus being able to leave our luggage there on the day of checkout

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would prefer wooden floors instead of the carpet that can absorb dirt and bacteria. Also the size of the room and the size of the bed for the 2 of us was a bit small compared to the price we paid but we managed after all.

    Location is perfect! About 3 min walking to the food market, Torvehallerne, where locals go to have breakfast, lunch, dinner, or buy food for home. Also there are many places around the hotel serving excellent dishes for all tastes. Norreport station is 5 min walking with trains for many directions. Metro station is very close by and choosing M2 you reach the airport in less than 30 min. The hotel is eco friendly, just like the whole beautiful country. Personnel is friendly and absolutely caring about your comfort and staying and their approach is genuine and polite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is very like a chic hostel but not of a vibe of a hotel. The Staff did not acknowledge us upon check-in. When asking for a second key to the room they gave us attitude questioning why in a patronising way. We booked a double room and got a single duvet, when asked for a second one they gave it to us in a black bag and we had to put the sheet on it. Honestly, for this being part of a chain it seriously needs customer service training.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    from the moment you enter, this hotel gives you a special feeling so that you feel very relax and comfortable. Personel is doing all to make it a great stay. I will surely come back here as well for the great italian food at the restaurant next door

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water in bedroom, however there is a shop just beside the hotel but we did not think of this on our first night.

    It felt like home in the best possible way. Loved the pile of magazines and books available to scan through, loved happy hour and loved the breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much space in the restaurant and the hotel is looking a bit tired.

    Jump on the metro from the airport, and the hotel is 5 min walk from Nørreport Station. The hotel is small, cozy and personal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furnishings were a little dorm roomish in my small single. Not luxurious. Not quaint. Clean and basic.

    A decent (not great) value and a decent location. Would stay again. Staff were excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't actually stay at the Ibens Hotel... !!! I had mentioned when I made the booking that it was my partner's birthday during our stay and so when we arrived to check-in the lovely chap on the front desk said that he would upgrade us to their sister hotel Hotel Kong Arthur (just next over the courtyard). He gave us both a complimentary beer (it was "cosy hour") in the Ibsens very funky bar before taking us to the Kong Arthur. Ibsens looks like it would have been a lovely place to stay but we actually stayed next door.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    There was a running club at 7am twice a week which my son loved. You could hire the running gear in its entirety for 50 DKK! Also the spa was excellent value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen needed updating and small bed, lack of storage space - communal areas were quite dark

    Staff were lovely and very helpful - location was great and the cosy reception area was really nice. Breakfast was good but not much choice and was quite expensive but was good quality

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Extra Large Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The windows could do with secondary double glazing as it was quite noisy over the new year weekend.

    It's worth paying the extra for the large room - our friends didn't and were rather cramped. Everything is very clean and well maintained. The bathroom is a wet room with toilet and there are plenty of thick towels. I would recommend that you take your own hair products as the complementary Nordic Amber shampoo/conditioner left my hair looking like a haystack. The lounge is very cosy but gets quite busy during happy hour. This takes place between 5pm & 6pm when the hotel treats it's guests to a free glass of beer, wine or apple juice. The breakfast, though expensive, is gorgeous and sourced from local organic producers. Finally the staff are wonderful - friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty rooms and bathroom. Shower area had mould grown on the walls and floor. The rooms are also pretty old. The main problem is the size of the room especially the bed. The medium room we stayed in literally only had enough space for the super-small double bed and nothing else! There are no closets or cupboards for clothes so be prepared to wear wrinkled clothes! The hotel also obviously needs another lift; 1 lift is not enough really

    Really just the location and staff. Happy hour was a bonus though the timing may not be suitable for a lot of tourists

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We stayed in a "large room" on the top floor and I had to be careful not to hit my head on anything. I am 1,93 metres. The room had a somewhat dirty fitted carpet. The shower room was really cold and the water pressure quite low. On one occasion we lost the pressure altogether! And the shower curtain is way too short. After a shower the floor was wet all over. There was no safe in the room. Nor a kettle. Nor a fridge. I guess the hotel tries to push and pull people to their excellent but pricy breakfast.

    Excellent location near Norreport station or transport center, if you like. Friendly staff :-) The hotel runs a "cosy hour" with a free drink. Unfortunately we missed them all since we were up and running all over Copenhagen :-( There are many restaurants and a Fakta grocery just around the corner. Don't forget to check out Torvehallerne - a covered market hall that is also very near.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been a bit larger with some closet space

    Breakfasts were lovely, fresh bread, cheeses and meats as well as a huge choice of cereals. Staff were also very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a bit pricey but it is Copenhagen so that is to be expected!

    The staff are very friendly. Always happy to help - no matter what time of day or night. Cosy hour with free beer and wine is a lovley touch. Hygge feeling all round.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are extremely small, I think is not even appropriate to be in such a room, definitely disappointed, it was so hard to even take a shower with the tiny bathroom, tiny bed for 2 persons, and tiny beed room, it is a turn down, due to this i am not sure I will recommend the hotel to my friends

    Amazing staff!! Helpful and Kind always! Nice decoration in the lobby. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was difficult for space with two large suitcases which we could only put in the little sitting area down two steps and lighting too dark to see what was in the cases!

    Comfortable hotel, excellent breakfast with organic food, very comfortable bed, quiet room, hotel in good central position, lovely staff and well presented.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not adjust the room temperature

    A quiet, convenient place and friendly staff The hotel offers free wine between 4 and 6 pm, which was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Group
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window replacement and upgrade going on which meant jack hammers started at 8 so no lie in but not a major issue.

    The Hotel is a 5 minute walk from the tube station in the centre of Copenhagen and easy to find. It’s location means it’s just outside the main are but well within walking distance to all major sites. The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful and the rooms and hotel was clean and tidy. There is a happy hour each day between 17.00 and 18.00 where you get a free wine beer or hot drink which is a nice touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although clear on the hotel website, it wasn't immediately obvious on booking.com that a medium room is actually a small double room.

    Staff were all VERY friendly and helpful. Free drink between 5-6 every day was a nice touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very overpriced for what it is - tiny, badly heated room, stained carpets and pillows, inadequate shower curtain which results in wet floors after every shower. The room was also quite noisy, with an outdoor restaurant area directly below windows, our request to be moved to another room was declined by hotel staff.

    Good location, close to restaurants, attractions and metro

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very cosy hotel - staff excellent and the 'free drinks hour' a fabulous idea. The running club was a great way to see Copenhagen. Brunch in the Kalaset cafe across the road was superb.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a great location. From the airport get the metro to Norreport and the hotel is less than a 5 minute walk. And it's a 5 minute walk to the main shopping street, with both the Tivoli Gardens and Nyhavn within walking distance. The staff were friendly and we really enjoyed Cosy Hour, when you can enjoy a complimentary drink each day. Our room was a good size with a nice bathroom and comfy beds. Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a bit of a walk out from the central areas, but still close to some other parts.

    The room was cozy and nice. The bed was quite comfortable. Staff were very friendly, and we really enjoyed the atmosphere in the lobby for the nightly free drink.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather cramped which was to be expected. Bath is basically a Wet Room, so be advised. Beds were on the hard side and even though the streets weren’t very busy, noise easily makes its way into the room

    Great location. Breakfast was very good. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning staff hung up our towels to dry them up after we’ve used them and threw them on the floor instead of providing new ones. Room a little tight could barely open our suitcases and no closets.

    Amazing location super comfortable bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite being one of the cheapest double rooms I could find in the city centre, this was still a very pricy hotel by my standards. Not really their fault as the whole city is one of the most expensive in Europe.

    Wonderful staff, especially at the front desk. The room was also quite clean and you can't beat the hotel's location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was a bit spartan and small with no real place to relax for two people (only one chair and one desk chair).

    Staff was terrific--really did their best to make us feel at home and welcomed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little bit noisy. Single glazed windows meant we could hear roadworks in the morning. Just remember those earplugs!

    Excellent location, modern hotel, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Did not like getting ill, but that was not the problem of Ibsen Hotel!

    The staff was especially considerate, kind, helpful beyond expectation, and friendly. Due to our getting ill, we had to prolong our stay by 3 additional nights and cancel our trip to Oslo. Heidi, the personnel manage was gracious and assisted greatly, along with other staff, like Hassan, who gave us health tips. So appreciate their kindnesses.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wish hotel had offered a cheaper/free breakfast, or the possibility of a la carte breakfast items.

    Great location from which to explore Copenhagen. Comfortable beds and good-sized room. Booking.com may not represent the size of rooms accurately, so double check with the hotel website.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is quite difficult to say, since the hotel really has exceeded our expectations. There was live music one evening and it was very nice, therefore some events in the lobby could take place more often.

    The hotel has very good location, near the Norreport Station, where you have metro and train. The staff was extremely nice and kind since they really wanted to help you if there are any questions. The room was small, but there was everything you need. There is also nice furniture. We really felt comfortable there. There are very nice restaurants next to the hotel Italian, Japanese (great sushi!), Spanish. There is also happy hour in the hotel every day, which is very interesting for the guests. Lobby is also very comfortable furnished, therefore it's nice to sit there and chat with a glass of wine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was more of a wet-room which meant the floor became wet after a shower and was a little difficult to fully dry. The bathroom was a little dated but was kept clean, as was the rest of the room. The pillows were a little on the small side which I didn't mind but my Mum had trouble getting comfortable. However, I'm sure these could have been changed if we'd have asked. I would have liked some tea/coffee-making facilities in the room but I'm not sure if this is customary as it is in England?

    The hotel is in a great location, close to a central metro station. The reception and lounge areas are very inviting and we thoroughly enjoyed 'Cosy hour' each day between 5 -6pm where guests received a free glass of wine or beer. Rooms were clean and functional. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and even left a postcard and chocolates for my Mum's birthday which was a lovely touch. Continental breakfast was a little expensive (in-keeping with the city) but high quality ingredients and a good selection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The large room was almost uncomfortably small. For example there were 2 chairs, but they were fairly useless without the space to sit. There was no closet. A shelf under the bathroom sink would have been helpful for storing toiletries. Would have been great if there was the ability to have a cup of coffee while getting ready in the morning.

    Great location, service, and staff. The breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is tiny like 4 feet x 4 feet and there is no separation between shower and toilet except thin shower curtain. After you take a shower, the entire bathroom floor is sopping wet.

    Location is awesome next to terrific eclectic food hall

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was really small (room 552), with the shower on top of the toilet. Unfortunately there was an intense smell of sewer coming from the shower drain. The basin was very small, too. Copenhagen is a very expensive city, but I paid around 200 euros per night and I found the price too high.

    Wonderful breakfast, very comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were moved to a sister hotel (King Arthur) which was right next door which was quite ok with us. The room was decorated in dark colours which combined with soft lighting made the room a little too dark for us see clearly

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Great location with food market just a couple of blocks away. We were able to walk to shops, restaurants, Tivoli, and main shopping districts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gluten free at breakfast I ordered breakfast and was delighted to all those amazing Danish parties and bread until I realized none of them were gluten free

    Everything available quickly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was initially awful, dark, small and very tired. But when I complained. It was changed to a much better one. There was no fuss or argument, just a solution.

    The young staff were amazing. Nothing was too much trouble and they were charming and friendly. Breakfast was included and it was varied and delicious with fabulous breads, fresh yoghurt and fruit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My particular room wasn't what I have expected, but my son liked the attic, and my wife did not mind.

    Danish quality of service and food. The rooms are neat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were two restaurants that appeared to be connected to the hotel. We ate in one of them, the tapas restaurant with an outdoor courtyard. Perhaps it was an unanticipated, busy evening, but every single encounter with the service staff was pretty unsatisfactory. The service was slow, forgetful, inattentive and then oddly rushed at times. The food was good, but fairly expensive. We would not return to this restaurant. To make matters worse, non-stop music from the Italian restaurant wafted up to our room until late in the evening, long after customers had gone home. Still, we loved the overall hotel experience.

    We loved Ibsens Hotel's location! It was so close to a nearby public transportation hub and the outstanding Torvehallern food hall, but felt relaxed and quiet. Our room was small, but really comfortable, with a lovely view of the hotel's interior courtyard. And we especially loved the "hygge" happy hour—what a delightful experience!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Usually we don't mind not having bath robes and things like toothbrush in the hotel room as we usually bring our own. However, our airline misplaced our baggages so we were without our clothes and supplies for 2 nights and it would have been great to get some of these in the room but Ibsens does not provide these. You can also see some stains on the carpet and sofas so perhaps the cleanliness can be improved. Otherwise it was great that the reception helped receive our misplaced baggages when we were sightseeing!

    The hotel was easily accessible from the metro station, about 5-10mins walk away. It is also near the market that has fresh fruits, bread and coffee so we did not get the hotel breakfast. We got a room facing the inner courtyard so it was quiet at night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in the attic and one side of the room had a very low roof which was no problem for two nights however for a longer stay another room on a Lowe floor would be appropriate

    When there was a problem with a tooth, the staff arranged an appointment with a Local dentist for us. The staff were always very helpful with tourist questions.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly equipped bathroom. General dinginess - badly in need of updating. Exhorbitany priced breakfast-and limited selection. Generally poor valuefof money.

    Location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great staff. They were very friendly, accommodating, & helpful. There is a nice lounge near the front desk that serves complimentary happy hour beer & wine. Our room was quite comfortable although small. The hotel is a short walk to the Torvehallerne (market hall) and the airport metro. The market hall is a good place for coffee & pastries. Take a walk through Ørsteds Park on your way to Tivoli or the old town. We also recommend the Halifax Frederiksborggade for the best hamburgers anywhere--it is just around the corner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    noise and caos from the street bar in the weekend,influenced our nightsleep..but not the first night on the 6th flor,that was quiet and perfect 😉

    the bed was really good and the breakfasts the best! nice garden and a great staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was pricey - Although you are in Copenhagen. Lift seemed to have a mind of it's own

    Free welcome drink in the afternoon was well appreciated. Secure place to leave the luggage when we checked out as we had all day before our flight

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Medium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small things. Dont ask for an extra 15DkK for 'special' coffee after charging 155 for the breakfast. Only one beside table in 541. Carpets overall need cleaning

    All the staff were brilliant.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ibsens Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: