Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of First Hotel Kong Frederik 4 stars

Vester Voldgade 25, 1552 Copenhagen, Denmark

#81 of 102 hotels in Copenhagen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1740 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    5.0
    Hotel had nice friendly feel and atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was very old and small - wheelchair did not easily fit inside Central area was noisy on Fri Eve - making it noisy in bedroom

    Hotel had nice friendly feel and atmosphere Staff friendly Loved cheese sliver at breakfast Great location near city centre Great location for Tivoli Gardens

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    4.6
    Never again !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The difference between the internet and reality ... ... can be experienced in that hotel. While presenting really nice rooms in the web, in reality (we've booked a double room) we've got an ugly and dark, tiny and partially also dirty (mold in the bathroom !) room with completely outdated and worn out furniture - all in black, and also the bedspread and the deco-pillows are in black, the two bedside wall lamps are equipped with energy saving lamps of the previous century, taking some 10 minutes to give little more light than a match - we felt like getting into a funeral when entering the room, once we've discovered the right combination of the 5 (!) door-side switches, also cutting off the energy from the receptacles - so we had to decide to charge our mobile phones while the light is on, *or* to sleep. When you also get room #111 please do not expect any daylight through the "windows" - these are covered to hide the kitchen exhaust immediately in front of them. You'd better keep them closed because of the noise from that installation also. Breakfast ? A simple "yes, available" - but by far not on 4* level - and I'm traveling a lot. This hotel is not even able to serve a Cappuccino in the morning, although they call their restaurant "Italian". The only advantage of that hotel is its location, which is really excellent for strolling around downtown. But nevertheless and all in all, it should be 'devoted' to the wrecking ball soon, including its dark and narrow isles (typically blocked by laundry baskets and other stuff), its three (?) ancient elevators which may work if Sun, Mars and Jupiter are in special constellation, etc. --> NEVER AGAIN !

    The only advantage of that hotel is its location, which is really excellent for strolling around downtown. That's all what I can report on positive things, sorry !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    We want to check in to the same hotel if ever we go back to copenhagen. we will recomnend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    none

    we stayed for the first 2 nighrts, have to go to reykjevik iceland. They allowed us to leave our luggages at the hotel until we checked in again after 3 night. How kind of them to accommidate our request. We appreciate the pieces of history featured in the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    Breakfasts, other food, staff and location are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Breakfasts, other food, staff and location are great. Facilities could really use some modernization and upgrading. The building itself is old but seems solid and has potential to be much improved. The common rooms, at least in the entry and in the common meeting areas, are fine. It’s the guest rooms that need real improvement and upgrading.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Our only concern was the heat of the room, we arrived and 2...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our only concern was the heat of the room, we arrived and 2 fans were the windows were open but it wasn't actually to any outside ventilation, only opened into the enclosed inside court yard area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.8
    Great location for walking around, but wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon and room was very hot and stuffy. Shower over bath and bath had a raised area inside i think to sit on, but bath very narrow and turning around was dangerous as not much room and could fall easily.

    Bed was comfortable. Night 1-1st room was very noisy opposite a disco but staff changed us to a quieter room for nights2 & 3. Extra portable fan in room. Storage of luggage very welcome till time to go to ship.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is placed in the city-centre but at a very noisy place. Though we tried to use some earplugs - the hotel didn't have any left so we had to find a 7eleven to get some :-( - we slept no more than 2 hours (out of 8 hours), that was when the gay bar across the street finally closed at 5! Our bathroom desperately needed a cleaning, mold in every corner!

    Comfy bed and nice room and entrance area. The breakfast was okey.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel, friendly staff, rooms dated and very noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room and the bathroom, because it looks very old and outdated and not really clean. There is no way to cool the rooms because there is no air conditioning and the rooms lead to the street.

    I like the staff, the entrance area and the foyer. These areas looks great. Short distances to the sights.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    Location was very good, near Tivoli Gardens, Central Station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting was not adequate, no lamps or other central lighting in room, except on the side night tables, and dim light at entrance. Insufficient electrical outlets: only one outlet in the whole big room. Bathroom size was good, but towels were cheap looking and old. Usual toiletries were refreshed daily.

    Location was very good, near Tivoli Gardens, Central Station and pedestrian areas. Room was big and faced the street, noisy but had great view. Lot of natural light. Bed was very good. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt get breakfast included. Not ready for the onslaught of breakfast people and there was a backup with food and table clearing

    Lovation. Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    I would stay their again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our only complaint - the shower/tub had an impossible fixtures and it resulted in me giving up on the ability to run a comfortable bath and I heard strange noises of surprise coming from my husband while trying to shower. Also, the waste baskets were tiny, there were few places to hang a towel without it becoming wet. There were very few staff and maybe minimal service is the way of the Danes. . Always a wait to check in or ask a question.

    The building has a lot of character and the room was charming

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    Location was the best especially if travelling for first...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No A/C. It was tough considering there was a heatwave during our stay. A double room converted to triple by adding an extra small bed. Did not leave much space for 3 adults to move around in the room. No regular refill of mini bar and toilet paper, not enough towels for a triple room.

    Location was the best especially if travelling for first time to Copenhagen. Clean facilities and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.8
    Goo location but disappointed with the room & facilities. On one of the mornings no eggs at breakfas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were pretty small & very hot. No air con & the little fans were inadequate. We had a broken socket in the room.

    The staff were courteous & helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.4
    inCOPENHAGEN2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very hot, and should be provided by a proper cooler fans. And should have at least 2 if guests are two occupants having told to be “ no more available “ is unacceptable as hotel should be providing these.

    I like the location and proximity to main Metro. The bikes- but it should nice if it’s free for guests.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Smart Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is tired, rooms not very clean and the service was poor. It's also located across the room from a club which seems to stay open until 6am allowing people on the street.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    3.3
    The room was like a furnace, impossible to sleep for our entire stay. Definitely not a 4* hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The hotel room was unbearable to sleep in (4/8 to 6/8). No AC and as the room overlooked a glass atrium which only intensified the heat, so there was no fresh air when the window was open. It must have been 30C+ in the room. The two fans were useless and filthy, dust blew out of them when switched on. We asked for replacement fans but none were forthcoming. We had to use wet towels to keep cool. In addition the bathroom was dirty, grouting filthy and the area around the shower area needed a proper clean. We tried to make a formal complaint at Reception but our taxi arrived for the airport. We then emailed the hotel on return home but so far have not had a reply.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    4.2
    The staff need to be more helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The words we have heard the most from the staff of the hotel are "I don't know". We were being received by a girl at the reception who was very unfriendly with a long face in all moments. Answering to all our questions in a tone of a robot. We were finally given a room which is on the roof of the hotel (top floor). It was extremely hot inside and no air conditioning is available. It was just so hot that we couldn't sleep well the whole night. Sorry to say that It's not a pleasant stay to us at all. We will not recommend it or go back to this hotel.

    The lobby is beautiful with very tasteful decorations.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing and not up to the accepted standards of a four star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room were were checked into did not have curtains that closed, as they weren't designed to, but the blind that should have been at the window was absent. When we complained about this we were allocated another room, but this did not have a balcony so we moved once again to one that did. However, this was virtually useless as a space to use. The room key system proved to be nothing short of a joke as I had to get the electronic keys re-programmed 6 times in as many hours! When I suggested that this was unacceptable and asked to speak to a member of management I was informed that all the management were on holiday and, indeed, at that time the only member of staff present in the hotel was a young girl who was a part-time member of staff. A four star hotel - I do not think so! Not only was this difficult for the young lady in questions but, I would suggest, negligent in relation to guests on the part of management.

    The breakfast buffet was quite good and the sausages were excellent. The location of the hotel was very good. The staff were pleasant and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    Really Nice but no Air Conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No air conditioning, poor air circulation. We were there at the hottest days of the summer and the room opened on a inside atrium so the room was hot 24/7. One little fan in the window did no good! Other guests with rooms on the outside, towards the street at least got a breeze from the window.

    Location was great, right downtown, near historic sites and places to eat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    We booked very late so there was not so much available in...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few things. Firstly, yes it has been a hot summer, but the room we were given under the roof was unbearable and so hot, the first night we couldn’t sleep, and getting ready for he wedding was an equal hassle in the extreme heat. There was also a problem with the water on the second day, and it had to be turned off for a period of time, the morning we needed to get ready for the wedding. I Understand that these things can happen, but it was a lot of extra stress and hassles we didn’t need before the big day and it didn’t help.

    We booked very late so there was not so much available in Copenhagen. From the pictures this really looked like a lucky choice- also the location was perfect for us as it was close to all things especially the Town Hall - where we were to marry.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.0
    No return to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in rooms was the biggest issue in boiling weather. Step into bathroom was a trip hazard for the whole stay. Breakfast was very poor buffet and no space to move! Fried breakfast tasted of anchovies. Muesli was oats and no nuts or fruit to add to it.

    Hotel was in a good location for centre of Copenhagen, but on a busy, noisy road.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant time, well cared for.
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms extremely hot making it uncomfortable to sleep even with fan on. We weren't told minibar was free. Difficult time checking in we were early so had to store luggage and ende up waiting for a long time to have luggage tagged and stored.

    Staff were friendly and helpful and lounges, eating areas and open areas inviting and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Convenient location for all the main sights of Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be fair, we were there in the hottest summer in decades, but suffered without air conditioning and the traffic noise kept us awake (downside of a central location) because it was too hot to have slept with the windows closed

    Funky decor which fuses the old with the new, central location, sunny staff, free (non-alcoholic) minibar, great buffet breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.8
    Functional stay, nothing special...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con (guess this is not normally an issue, but it is when it's 30deg). Gay kopehagen nightclub opposite is VERY loud and runs till 5am, meaning having the windows open was not an option, making the heat worse.

    Location excellent, very close to tivoli and central station. Room space and layout was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Old and stylish hotel with bad neighbours
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air condition, so it was very hot there. Old windows system difficult to use. Night club just in front. As there was no air condition, we had to open windows and all the noise from the night club was inside our room till 01:00 AM.

    Well trained staff. Perfect notification system via e-mails. Delicious breakfast. Nice coffee and free non-alcohol drinks in mini-bar fridge at the room. Well decorated rooms. Steampunk-style lift system.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Cosy and little bit old-fashioned hotel near the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning, city centre hotel so lot of noise from the street at nighttime.

    There were not air-conditioning and that’s why hotel room were hot. You couldn’t open the terrace doors because the noise from the street. Athmosphere were nice, little old-fashioned, but if you like these kind of hotels, so I recommend you this hotel. Location was perfect for walking on the street. You could also borrow the bike, if you like to cycle. Breakfast was good at italian restaurant located in this building.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.8
    The hotel has 1 star too much
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room on the fourth floor, facing the inner courtyard, was stifling and it was difficult to breathe there. The fan did not help. The bathroom remembers better times and requires a thorough cleaning.

    The hotel is located close to the station. The breakfasts were mediocre, but adequate. The restaurant service was smiling and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    Good choice if you just go to the hotel to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon in the room (usually it is not very hot but they should have one aircondition just in case of extreme heat, as we had during our stay). Due to that, we had to keep the windows open all night and right across the street was a nightclub so it was super loud and noisy. In the room, only one socket was working properly wo we couldn’t even charge our phones.

    Great location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In hot weather the room was very hot. There as a fan but it did not create enough cool air.

    Good breakfast and free non alcoholic drinks in fridge. It had a great ambience. Staff were helpful and friendly. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in July and the weather was glorious, however with no air conditioning this became a nuisance at night trying to sleep. The club opposite would have been unbearable to have had the windows open but luckily I took ear plugs.

    Great central location and easy to find. The ambiance was lovely and clean and tidy. The room was serviced everyday of my four day stay with fresh towels and free minibar of water and soft drinks. Breakfast was fair and a good selection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    nice location but not a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel might have looked like in the pictures 30 years ago maybe, now is a pale shade of that. The rooms are tiny, the elevator is small, not very clean and the bathrooms are extra super tiny. If your routine is more than wash and go, this might be a problem. Also, the hotel has no airco, and the small rooms tend to be very hot. The lovely central location is not lovely when you try to sleep, the hotel is close to Tivoli park and across the street of a club, so do expect a lot of noise if you decide to sleep with windows open. There is no parking (count on extra 40 euro a day if you are with the car) and in the morning you cant have a coffee/tea unless you have breakfast included ☹ not even if you want to pay for .

    Super central location, close to almost every landmark

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.0
    Would not use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booking.Coms system obviously fell over The hotel is VERY close to major construction works that start at 0530hrs each weekday

    On arrival the hotel had no record of our Booking.com reservation but did their best to accommodate us in the rooms they had available - which were NOT what I expected but beggars cant be chooser

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location with wonderful sight view of the city,...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is quite small without AC supply, wind is cool during night but hot in the afternoon while the balcony exposed to sunshine.

    Excellent location with wonderful sight view of the city, just next to the Square and City Hall, as well as the Stroget. The Italian restaurant on the ground floor serves delicious food (both breakfast and the ordered menu) than the expectation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    We would definitely stay there again but would request a room which overlooks the courtyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was on the main road and was very noisy, especially as we had to have the windows open as it was so hot. There was no air conditioning in the hotel. Our bathroom needed a dedicated shower rather than a half bath with a seat and shower. It made it very difficult to stand to have a shower.

    The room was fairly spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Most of the staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was very good to access Tivoli Gardens and Ny Havn as well as restaurants for dinner. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location with spacious comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 small elevator to reach our room, and broke down twice.

    Comfortable, quiet room at rear, no good view but ok. V. Good Italian restaurant attached to hotel but independent. Need to book.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    It was a mistake.
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At dinner we were not allowed tap water. The room was stiflingly hot and we had to struggle to be allowed to open the windows. These faced the glassed-in atrium hence the heat in the room. Ask for a room that faces outwards. These were all pre-booked. We did think of moving hotels because of the discomfort.

    The breakfast was great. The library space was lovely. Location was fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location and old-fashioned style in need of maintenance to be real 4* again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathtub was splintered at several places, water flew down slow (this they resolved after the first night), shower hose leaking... Room windows opening to service area and had to keep shades closed.

    The central location is unbeatable. Old-fashioned, clean 4* rooms. Staff is kind and accommodating. Bed and all furniture was comfortable and the room is well equipped.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    A great location in a great city with lots to see and do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The electric switches were rather strange. The plumbing also a bit unusual for all the gurgling noises.

    The Danish bacon at breakfast was the best of our tour, the other food was also very good.The location is excellent to walk around Copenhagen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    3.8
    Won't recommend to anyone. Website was misleading.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worn and shabby and not clean. Extremely poor reception service with one clerk being plain rude. Terrible noise all night from club across street.

    Charming property, convenient location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    4.2
    Good Location , Bad accomodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room was very small. The bed and bathroom were small. hotel corridoors and floors are dirty and smelly; breakfast was below average. Staff were friendly but not very helpfull. They could not give useful directions and information.

    only the location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Good place, good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great, hotel was lovely and they serve a fantastic breakfast buffet. There is no air conditioning so that has to be kept in mind if the weather is going to be hot. We could walk anywhere in the city from here!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    VERY helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Missing air-con.

    VERY helpful staff. Hotel has no air-con and it was very hot in my room. The staff immediatelly brought some fans to my room. My room looked really good, very comfy. Location of this hotel is superb - everything in Copenhagen is close.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with the booking. Breakfast was included but the hotel didn’t have a record of it. It wasn’t sorted out until the last day.

    Location was ideal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent apart from showers and temperature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Showers in this hotel is a gamble (some better than others) but not one really good. Climbing into bathtub (for the shower) can be a challenge for the elderly or those with decreased mobility. Rooms overheated and no A/C

    Olld fashioned hotel. Excellent location (walking distance from both Central Station and City Center. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    Room for improvement
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the top floor suite and it was rather hot due to the lack of air con (but it was probably exceptionally hot for Copenhagen). We couldn’t keep the windows open because of the noise coming from the nightclub in the building opposite to the hotel and even with the widows shut it was still rather noisy and hot. Overpriced for what it offers.

    Great location, friendly staff at reception. The room was nicely decorated, but it would do with some improvements.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    The hotel staff and accommodations were very nice except for the street noise that went on until fou
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely warm and since there is no air-conditioning, the windows needed to be open with the fan on. however there is a bar across the street where people were partying extremely loudly into the street until 4 AM. I understand at the hotel cannot control the noise from the street but having to have the windows open made it impossible to sleep for the entire night .

    Hotel was very nice although it is not air-conditioned

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was far too hot and staff said nothing could be done - (except upgrade! Which was only to a double room and we wanted twin) Difficult to sleep.

    Breakfast was great. Place had a good atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.4
    There is no air conditioning at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good

    There is no air conditioning at this hotel. When we arrived it was in the high 20's and were given a room facing the interior. No sleep the first night. Next day complain and was moved to a room with a window that opened. Still no air conditioning. Not good value for the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location and would go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioning. Fellow guests advised us there were fans in the closet to use. The lift call button for the floor we stayed on did not work. We had to go to the second floor and get the elevator to bring it to three so we could get our luggage down.

    Location was great. Beds were comfortable and staff was pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Well positioned stylish old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were having problems with the heating for the whole hotel and the room was uncomfortably warm. Luck we were on the top floor and could open the balcony door

    Great location near the train station and Tivoli Gardens. Large indoor courtyard. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    great stay! great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was SO warm all the time and we had to keep the fan on and the window open the entire time.... it was like a sauna

    bed was comfy and the room was really nice how clean it was kept the entire time..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.6
    The only positive thing I can say is about the friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only positive thing I can say is about the friendly and helpful staff, and the great location. As for the rest this place is a total rip-off, the rooms are extremely overpriced and not at all what they look like in the pictures, I had never seen such a small room before. After complaints I was given another room, which was slightly bigger (not the bathroom though). I suggest you find another hotel for this price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room somewhat small, but an ok trade off for the reasonable price and convenient location.

    Breakfast included, internet provided by hotel, convenient location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice facility and common areas very attractive but dated and the safety concerns should be addressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel rooms are very dated and there is no safety items in the shower/tub. No grab bars and the tub/shower would also benefit with a slip resistant surface. I am in my mid sixties and was very concerned about falling in the shower/tab and as a solo traveler I would not have been found until the maid visit the next day if I had fallen.

    The location was excellent for access to the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a nightclub right across the road and on the first night we had a room facing the road and we could not sleep till about 3am as the noise coming through was very loud. When we called reception they said that we were staying in the middle of the city and noise was to be expected and then they offered to change our room. We were not going to pack all our belongings at 1am and move to a different room at that time so we got our room changed in the morning and got a lovely nights sleep the second night.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    It turned out to be a pleasant stay within walking distance of main shopping area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were given a room with a view of the pigeon pooped fire escape and a very old bathroom after a discussion with reception we were given a much better room the next day

    Bathrooms need an update extra lighting would be a plus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.7
    good location, nice rooms, cozy backyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff ist unfriendly and not courteous at all. We had difficulties checking in because their system broke down so we had no room on our arrival. In this delicate situation you just treat your customers like professionals (by offering a coffee, trying to help finding a solution, being helpful and making an effort..) but they didn't. Breakfast is way too expensive and the bathroom was in a poor condition. So all in all you neither get the service nor the facilities of a 4-star hotel and that's just wrong for the price and the attitude.

    good location, nice rooms, cozy backyard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.0
    Great location, good breakfast, staff plesant had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee making facilities would be good in the rooms. A little attention to detail from the cleaners in the room. beds could've done with a bit of a hoover to remove the hairs and crumbs on the mattress from previous guests but I only noticed this as I read reviews from others so actually went looking underneath sheet otherwise I wouldn't have seen them.

    Was worried about going after reading the reviews after I had booked. Was a good hotel perfect location for tivoli,shops,train station. Mini bar in room was handy. Staff friendly. There is a room to keep luggage if you have a later flight which was good. Iron and ironing boards in room and a little hairdryer too in bathroom which saves on space in your luggage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfort in the middle of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the room was quite dark at night even with the lights turned on. The carpet on the floor was also uneven so we had to be careful when walking around the room.

    The room was very spacious which I didn't expect from the pictures of the room prior to booking. The bathroom was also quite big. The Hotel's restaurant was very nice for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    4.6
    Good location but extremely poor room conditions
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed for two nights. The initial room we were given in the first night had an indoor window and no air conditioning which made the room extremely stuffy and poorly ventilated. We had a hard time sleeping so we requested a different room the next day which the staff provided us with. They gave us a room with outdoor windows which was much better. All rooms in general have no cooling system so only a fan is provided. In our second night, we noticed extremely big black marks on the bed sheets so we called reception who came upstairs and changed our sheets in the evening - I was surprised that house keeping could do such a poor job that they'd leave sheets with massive black marks on it to a new room. We were given a box of nuts as an apology. The bathroom was also in poor condition as the shower heads were extremely dirty in both rooms. Finally, the breakfast had low variety to choose from.

    Great central location - within walking distance to all the main attractions and very attentive staff members.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.4
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was dimly lit (1 table lamp & 2 bed lamps). No ventilation. No air con. They provided 2 electric fans but still very hot at night (& I'm from Thailand where 37c is average temp in April). Woke up sweating throughout the nights. We booked 2 rooms, only one had tea & coffee making facility. When I asked for a kettle, the guy at the reception was not accommodating and said that this room category doesn't have a kettle and we had to pay extra if we wanted one. And he said our friend got upgraded to a better room so that explained the extras! Anyhow, went to check my booking.com details and it said that my room included tea & coffee. Came down the next morning, talked to a nice female receptionist and she just put the kettle in our room without any difficulties.

    Convenient location with major attractions close by such as Stroget, Tivoli and Glyptotek. The area is full of restaurants, different type of shops to choose from; decor items, clothing to souvenir stores. The lobby was well-designed and tastefully decorated with pretty flower display.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel, cozy interior and good atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff had trouble cleaning the tables during the breakfast, 3 out of 3 days there were tables full of used cutleries and leftovers. And flickering lihgt on the corridor.

    Very nice hotel, cozy interior and good atmosphere. Our room was a smaller one with double bed on the top floor with nice interior but a less impressive view to the roof. The cleaning and comfort was very good. Plus point for the board games in the lounge and the free-of-charge minibar :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    If you’re looking for a Hotel with Local charm and Central access this the spot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower / tub was hard to keep from having water going everywhere, but that’s the europen way. Otherwise I haven’t anything to complain about.

    The staff was very professional and accommodating. The upgrade to deluxe a must! Mini bar is really a small refrigerator with non alcoholic drinks such as water and San Pellagrino beverages, but free non the less... Breakfast is ready great! The rooms are not the same as the pictures, however still clean and tidy. Location is ideal for EVERYTHING! They are building a Metro station next to it so the access will be even better to airport and other places.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    Stayed before several times but will probably change since the hotel feels it needs updating
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To small room for 2 adults and 1 dog. For dog friendly hotel we wish for a small area in the bar to allow dogs for dinner / breakfast. It is to tricky to carry breakfast up to 5th floor with 2 doors needing key before reaching room. Pillows are really bad - not comfortable at all. The bathroom overflow with water on the whole floor die lacking of plastic cover on glass door while taking a shower - so end up using all towels to be able to be in bathroom.

    One night stay with dog- stayed there before for location , close to everything in the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.4
    The room overlooked a roof that was surrounded by super high...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room overlooked a roof that was surrounded by super high walls. You had to crane your neck up and press your face against the glass to see the sky. The room was tired and moldy. An insult considering what I paid for it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.5
    Staying was good, bit I believe thet charged me twice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying was good, bit I believe thet charged me twice. Now I have to check tjis, teatersatsning I waited 20 minuters in the telephone befors I gave IP.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money stay in an excellent location for Copenhagen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single duvets on a double bed? Shower was a unique experience of balance as it was very small andit had a small drop as if you maybe should have sat down in it, not sure who showers sitting down.

    Breakfast was excellent, generous room size and always clean. Excellent wifi. Location near to Copenhagen central train station made airport transfer easy and also access for shopping, sites and restaurants all extremely handy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay in a well located hotel, we would come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm as the window opened into an internal courtyard, even with no heating obviously on. The internal courtyard could be noisy at times although the rooms were generally quiet.

    The beds were very comfy, the room was nicely decorated, there was a safe and free water and soft drinks in the minibar. The staff were helpful and attentive. The location was excellent, very close to the city hall, 5-10min walk from the station and close to shops and restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely central hotel with good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with shower and bath water over 2 days. Cold showers. Bedside lamp poor difficult to read. Some crumbs left on bed linen and no bath stand towel or small towels left on second last day

    Staff great. Only had one breakfast and one evening meal and both were good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Loved the hotel overall. Need to cool the rooms somehow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are toooo warm, especially on the interior. Made it difficult to sleep. Someone was in the atrium on the phone after 10pm. You could hear him in the room.

    I liked the lobby, furniture, decor, etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    Great location but out dated and certainly not a 4 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opposite G.A.Y nightclub which is open until 5am, not great on a weekend. No tea and coffee making facilties, very dark and old fashioned rooms.

    Perfect location, close to train station, town centre and Tivoli.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    The position very central.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub was really unconfortable. Difficult to take shower: a normal shower would be more appropriate. The welcome of the staff was quite "cold": e.g. I did not receive any indication about the Wi-fi.

    The position very central. Thr charme of the hotel in old style but yet very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Great location, good breakfast, good "base camp" to go exploring the city centre of Copenhagen from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit of a weird layout, a bit dark lighting-wise. The drain under the sink was quite noisy but nothing that actually affected our stay.

    Convenient location, clean, friendly staff, yummy breakfast. Good stay overall! Good for exploring the city centre, close to everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    5.4
    Nice location shame about the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, smelly drains in bathroom, poor housekeeping, additional single bed set up in room , food disappointing in restaurant. Hotel refused to alter booking to include breakfast thru booking.com

    Location, perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    The rooms are a little more worn down than the pictures say, but it’s an ok hotel all in all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are more worn down than the pictures say

    Good and friendly service, also they were kind to give me a room with a nice view and a french balcony. Comfortable beds

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse First Hotel Kong Frederik traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: