Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Helnan Marselis Hotel 4 stars

Strandvejen 25, 8000 Arhus, Denmark

#10 of 31 hotels in Arhus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3201 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    A lovely setting and an immaculate and hygge room. Great food at the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A light blanket rather than a duvet for a more pleasant night's sleep. Too hot with a duvet, but that has been the case everywhere we have been staying in Denmark.

    Nice quiet room with a lovely forest view, well appointed and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.8
    Seaside overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a large hotel so long walk to room. Would prefer in-room coffee/tea making facilities.

    View and easy access to sea/beach from hotel room. Easy and free parking. Free coffee in restaurant. Easy and fast check-in and check-out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Had an unexpectedly wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Non Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One young man on the wait staff in the restaurant could have been a little friendlier. The bathtub is very narrow when showering so standing is a challenge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely rooms with gorgeous surroundings, close to the beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed seaview
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better

    Lovely rooms with gorgeous surroundings, close to the beach and the deer Park, a lot better than claustrophobic city hotels, small but functional swimming pool and gym

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel in Aarhus
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great facilities and comfortable room with a small balcony overlooking the bay. Staff were friendly, the restaurant was good and the breakfast was superb with a variety of choices to suit all tastes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.0
    Bit shambolic really
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was shambolic - and difficult to find (even the staff sent us the wrong way). Dirty bed spread and shower curtain was lying on the bathroom floor. I believed we were getting a private terrace but it was anything but. I have written to the hotel (and spoke to reception a the time) but little response. It was also annoying that they were holding a political party meeting at the hotel - not really conducive to a relaxing stay!

    Stayed here before and the location is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location on the beach with large breakfast selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style fittings and bathroom. Shower curtain insufficient resulting in large spillages in bathroom.

    Great location on the beach with large breakfast selection.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    4.6
    We will never go back there.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. No air conditioning in a 4 star hotel. 2. Strong smell of food in the room and balcony around 1900 - 2000 hours. We asked for a room change which was not possible. The front desk manager did not want to come up to experience the smell for herself. 3. No service at the terrace. 4. The place really needs an overhaul. 5. We had smoked salmon which was like leather, shrimps without flavor and asparagus from a jar that were way too sour.

    Most of the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.0
    The breakfast that was included in the price of the room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was in a small building next to the main hotel. This should have been communicated to us prior to checking in. Was inconvenient having to go outside to get breakfast when it was raining.

    The breakfast that was included in the price of the room was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    Outdated, but good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel is in need of a total refurbishment. It feels outdated. Breakfast-room is very crowded, although the breakfast is ok.

    The seaview is great It's little bit far off from the centre of the town. But that is ok if you can go there with a bike. Plus side is that it offers great parking facilities, and that the place is quiet

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    Staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room - Non Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was to hot and there is no air condition. The key system is a mess. 2-3 times I had to go to the reception for a new key, because it stopped working. It happens every time I stay at the hotel

    Staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    we had a very nice room in the ground floor with direct view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything closes at 9pm :/ also in the city. The interior is from the early 80s :)

    we had a very nice room in the ground floor with direct view to the sea and the beach right in front of the door. The pool was also nice. The breakfast except the scrambled eggs was good. The room interior seems to be from the 70s which gives the hotel an old touch. But other then that we had a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    A. Very pleasant four day stay in pleasant surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one meal of chicken wasn’t up to scratch, but we weren’t charged.

    Staff were all very helpful and friendly. They also served me the best gluten free rolls, ever!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Dated but comfortable coastal hideaway hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really wasn't a big fan of the bathroom in our room it had a suspended ceiling but you could still see all the pipework behind it and because of the layout the shower was very dark and quite claustrophobic. We had a first floor room so we could leave our balcony door open at night which was a must as it was so hot and there's no air conditioning in the rooms. The hotel in general is quite dated but still functional.

    Nice location along the coast, the bed was big and comfy, the room was spotlessly clean, the breakfast was great and all the staff were really helpful (despite my appalling attempts to speak Danish!) There's plenty of parking on site which is free, and there are lots of other facilities including a swimming pool but we didn't use them so wouldn't like to comment on them. Top tip is to read the hotel information in the room; we found lots of useful information in there regarding things to do and places to eat locally. There's also a digital information point in reception which is really useful to find free things to do.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    View from our room, very comfortable beds and nice location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The health club had old fashioned and not enough machines. Breakfast average and scrambled probably came out of a bag.

    View from our room, very comfortable beds and nice location on the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Good place with misleading information
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took a room with "forest view". Turns out, this room is in a small house away from the hotel, with a view of a walking road and a few trees. Same price as a room with ocean view which is located inside the hotel house. Needed to go outside to get to the hotel (I.e. restaurant, sauna etc). Low ceiling in the room and the bed was too soft for my liking. Nearly fell down from the edge because it was so soft. Very narrow stairs up to the room. There was no information seen that this room wasn't a part of the hotel house.

    Brilliant location (the hotel house), friendly staff and nice breakfast! The beach was fine. Great view from the restaurant part.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Efficient, comfortable with little atmosphere.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Non Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No carraway cheese for breakfast, no towels for swimming, no tea/coffee facilities in room, rather sterile atmosphere.

    Good beach, large room with a comfortable bed, wine or hot water for tea available in evenings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Great view of the sea and beach, there was a restaurant, car...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed seaview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furnishings were a little out of dated. It is situated out of the city centre.

    Great view of the sea and beach, there was a restaurant, car parking was easy, hotel was large but quiet. Good for business and overnight stays.Easy access to ferry location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    location was away from city centre but that was attraction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed seaview
    • Stayed 4 nights

    location was away from city centre but that was attraction property had its own beach which was very good. balcony and access to terrace was additional feather in the cap. staff was very co -operative and helpful. deer safari was very nearby, within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel just outside Aarhus set on a beautiful stretch of coastline.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found the room to be hot with the sun blazing through the main windows in the morning.

    Great hotel just outside Aarhus set on a beautiful stretch of coastline . We had a double room with sea view with a sliding patio door which opened up onto a large shared deck area with table and chairs. We were only staying for a couple of nights so didn't really use the hotel facilities but they looked fine. Breakfast catered for almost everyone based on a self-service buffet of hot and cold food with ample choices. We hired bikes from the hotel for a day which proved a great way to get into Aarhus and explore the town. The harbour area was also very nice and could be reached on foot from the hotel. All staff seemed very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    The location is perfect.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we happen to stay when the weather was very warm, which is unusual. There is no air conditioned rooms in this hotel. It became quite stuffy at night. Staff was quite good at getting us a fan for our room which helped some.

    The location is perfect. Close to city center, ferry, and even a lovely park to walk just behind the hotel. The Royal summer retreat is also within walking distance. Beach, sun and fun. Great rates, and great service! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    the comfort, the cleanliness, the amazing view, the pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the acoustic isolation between rooms was poor. I could hear people talking, mobiles ringing, people walking on the other room, that was annoying, a little bit far from the center but with a bicycle you can reach there in 15 minutes, the bed and the pillows were just great

    the comfort, the cleanliness, the amazing view, the pool, the terrace for the breakfast, rent a bicycle, I could leave the hotel one hour later, good internet connection

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    lost potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    "industrial" breakfast (it was ok, but only average or even lower for Denmark), overall atmosphere was old fashioned (hotel need a general renovation)

    good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Room with amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I must name something I would say the breakfast which was rather average but we expected something exceptional after that fantastic dinner.

    Our room had a wonderful view to the sea and we even had a little balcony, it was amazing to sit there and watch the sea. The room was really comfortable, the parking lot spacious and we had a delicious dinner with seaview :) I wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful, quiet, poosibil
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    During my stay one om my female companions, were occupied in some hours, so i played and took care of her sweet litte daughter. Fantastic beach, nature, and friendly inside. But why don't make the swimming pool area, it a litte more colourful, "creative" or playful? Equipements of some kind? To grey and "cold" comparing to the rest of the hotel.

    Flexible, empathic and smiling staff. They observes you, and really SE you and are focused on your well behaviour, all the time! Together with beautiful solid furniture, a friendly atmosphere in spectacular surroundings. Can't be better!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    A pearl on the side of Aarhus definitely worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit slow service in the restaurant during the day. Not sure if there was any other way to get to the city than by foot (20 minutes) or a taxi, still okay and the nature around was the main thing. The buildings of the port spoil the view a little.

    For less than 150e per night if memory serves, exceeded all expectations, too bad we only had a short stay. We got upgraded to a seaview room, too. Staff very nice, great small details like complimentary coffee and cake between meals, rooms clean and comfortable. Awesome walking area around and a park with friendly deer, we were really positively surprised. Special thanks to the waiter who got us carrot leftovers for the deer!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    A hotel to consider both for business and holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have stayed at this hotel for over ten years. It is well appointed, but time has taken its toll and standards have fallen a little but are still very good

    Excellent location on the beach but some distance from the city - a car is essential

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice stay ! Thank you :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had dinner (Burgers), it was a bit too salty

    Very friendly and helpful staff (baby friendly :)), a great view on the ocean and Aarhus harbour. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was awesome.. well the breakfast could ve better.. options were not great.

    Awesome view and close to a hike place on foot.. and if u have a car it's close to everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    The only thing making this a 4 star hotel is its location. Nature around the hotel is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very out dated. They had an antique theme going on that just seemed like it did not match the location. The location is quite the walking distance from any restaurant, and the room service/menu was extremely over priced.

    Location was great. Beautiful view of the ocean, and just a short walk to a beautiful park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant hotel with a wonderful view of the sea but decor could do with updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were great and the view from my room was amazing - very quiet and comfortable - I was ill with flu when I stay here but if you are ill, this is probably a good hotel to stay in as the bed was large and comfortable. Breakfast - I had very little of but it looked good with a lot of choice. The hotel is out of the town and looks rather grim from the outside & inside decor could do with modernising; but it is a really pleasant place to stay. I imagine summer would be lovely as right on the beach so will be back when well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Impressive room with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ocean view was stunning. Floor to ceiling room-width sliding glass doors offereded an expansive water view. We kept the door slightly open so that we could fall asleep to the sound of the waves slapping the beach thirty feet below us. We watched ferries, freighters, and the rhythmic flashes from a lighthouse in the distance. The room was spotless and tastefully furnished. The warmth of the tropical hardwood cabinets , flooring, and furniture was unusual in Scandinavia. An unexpected bonus was feeding the deer at the deyr havn a few minutes south of the hotel. The deer are accustomed to human contact and eageely seek apples and carrots.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Good location for nature and fresh air, but quite a bit walking into the centre of Århus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was missing coffee and tea maker,

    Location with fresh air outside window and free parking as well as MTB tracks outside, Sandwich sold in reception were amazingly good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.4
    Dated hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accomodation is old and dated. Rooms were smelly, toilet not clean, bed cover was stained. There was also a loud noise, caused by a ventilation shaft. The hotel did compensate us for this, deducted fee for pet from our bill.

    Location is good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    We appreciated the accommodating and polite attitude of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed seaview
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the Booking.com site there are choices of room configuration for 3 persons, which the hotel does not have. This created an unpleasant arrival experience. The hotel should keep their facilities updated on Booking.com.

    We appreciated the accommodating and polite attitude of the staff in relation to solve problems. We also appreciated, that the parking is now free for guests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    The room is great, spacious and clean and the view is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is great, spacious and clean and the view is absolutely fantastic! Sleeping at the sound of the waves is priceless. The food at the restaurant is very good as well. Near from the city center. Free parking lot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    I just expect small things in a 4 /5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I just expect small things in a 4 /5 star hotel...slipper, gown, a health lift, water, some light refreshments, maybe some fruit...and it would be far preferable if the property went with the original Scandinavian aesthetic, the current aesthetic lives between an American mid west bistro and a provincial English pub ... poor moderist icon! this is a good property, well located (beautiful actually, near the forest looking out the sea...it should be MARVELLOUS) but the hospitality aspect needs a lot of work...a friendly smile at the front desk might improve things.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Great location, poor dinner and cold pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was too cold to be in and that was disappointing with a kid that was looking forward to playing there. The dinner was too salty and we waited for more than 30 minutes for our food. No apology for neither the wait nor the poor quality. And it was an expensive dinner!

    Great view and we loved the beach and the forrest. The breakfast was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice place to be.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    During check in we get information at the reception, that this hotel has no more agreement with booking.com. We disagree with it at all. This hotel should be listed on booking.com

    Great location. Nice,clean place. Peaceful atmosphere. Very good, rich breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast buffet selection though some of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were very flat. Reception had extra, better ones. Evening meal service was particularly slow (and pricey!) when all we wanted was to eat and go to bed after a long day. Two hours+ for a starter and a main course. The food was good athough there wasn’t a lot of choice. Only 3 starters offered as I remember.

    Excellent breakfast buffet selection though some of the “hot” items weren’t kept very hot. Nice little packet of almonds given out on checking in at reception. Great location on the seafront. Free WiFi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    feels like being on a cruise ship ....great hotel by the water !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel in fantastic position by the water. Room spacious, quiet and comfortable. A direct card access to the beach from pool area would make it easier to dip in the sea :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Spectacular view, great breakfast and dinner and very friendly staff. Not my last stay there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would've liked a few more vegetarian items on the menu. The balcony is rather narrow

    The view from my room was utterly amazing! I had a room with ocean view. When I woke up in the morning I felt like I was in the middle of the ocean because of the proximity to the water. A very large bed. The staff was very friendly and attentive in the restaurant as well in the reception. The hotel is perfectly situated, if you want to explore the beautiful forest, visit Moesgaard AND the city centre. It's 3 km away from the city centre in the outskirts of the forest, parking is free and it is very quiet and peaceful. If you are going to dine at Frederikshøj, Helnan is very close to the restaurant. I had a lovely dinner at Helnan. And the breakfast buffet was also delicious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    6.3
    The view from my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room was below average, specially the bathrooms. Breakfast could have been better.

    The view from my room. Some of the staff members, ( the woman on afternoon shift at reception, the waiter from Venezuela.)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.8
    Recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and the hotel in general are a bit dated.

    Absolutely amazing sea views from all rooms. I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times and even though the decor and style of the hotel is quite dated, I keep coming back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    3.8
    That I expected a room with sea view - I have had this every...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I expected a room with sea view - I have had this every time I have stayed at this hotel, but this time and for the same price I got a room with a window to the car park and right out side my room was the smoking area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant was too salty for our taste. During our stay it did improve though but it could be that we were getting used to it. The temperature in the entrance hall seemed to be very high. We were always sweaty when hanging around in the lobby due to the temperature.

    We loved the location. It was very easy to reach. The beach in front of the hotel is amazing. Very nice for an early morning or an evening walk. The forest nearby (deer park) was excellent and in great autumn colors this time. The hotel was clean, very friendly staff, great at English! Very quiet and peaceful. Nice breakfast facility and great restaurant in the hotel. We will definitely come back in the future.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    My favourite stay in Aarhus in off-season periods.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows could be slightly warmer for stays in fall and winter.

    Large sliding window looking over the beach is great. Open it a bit and get the perfect seaside soundtrack to fall asleep within seconds... Surrounding is great: There are a multitude of walking paths in the forests behind the hotel and if one prefers to take to the city by foot, it's a very nice 20 min. seaside path.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    well-functioning hotel in super surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel itself might not be an archicect's dream and the interior is kind of old fashioned in the wrong way, but to us this was of minor importance.

    The most important things were all good: The view and surroundings are excellent - beautyful view at the sea and Aarhus city. Marselisborg Dyrehave and woods nearby. The beds were fine, the rooms well isolated, so good quality sleep to the sound of the sea just outside. And the breakfast was great with a good variety of food - homemade bread, I think - at least it tasted like that. We had free tea and coffee all day, and got paper cups rom the waiter so that we could make ourselves a coffee to go.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    3.8
    Dated hotel, mediocre amenities - expensive view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated hotel in need of refurbishment. Clearly broken bedside lamp - reception refused to replace. Faulty fire doors closed in the morning, effectively "trapping" us in a corridor, delaying our departure. No compensation offered. Did not trust the old lifts after that.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel situated at the Baltic coast with large parking area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is an old one, has been renovated. Everything inside is standard comfort. Good breakfast buffet. Typical Danish hotel with long floors to run, but very nice situated at the coastline with view towards the Baltic. Large parking area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Should be your go to place in Beaune. Modern, botique'esque and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were biking and croissants and white bread only keeps you going for a short while. So some cereal og eggs etc would be fab.

    Great B&B. Of all the places I've stayed in beaune I will be coming back here. Spacious rooms, Nice communal area and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing feel to hotel with sea views
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was definitely continental buffet. I wouldn't say I didn't like it, but have had better choice in other hotels I've stayed at. Lunch was also buffet which again was okay, but have enjoyed better in the past.

    Room was reasonably spacious with view over the sea and as my room was a ground floor room it had french doors so could walk outside for some fresh air. Felt relaxed at the hotel which is always a good sign too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.1
    Good base for adventures
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was ok. Large lounge but it had no views. Terrace fronts guest rooms so not particularly private. Is a wedding venue and with two on at once, parking got a bit tight.

    Nice view of the beach. Parking very easy. Easy walk to bus stops. Breakfast was comprehensive and had good options. It was a good spot to use as a base to see the town and surrounding area. We went to Legoland from here.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.8
    nice place for romantic stay, beach, view, forest, spacy...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    despite reservation was booked with long advance we got rooms in small back house where the entrance doors where so small we had impressions they are for dwarfs :-) Not mentioning that you could easily hit if you are normal tall person. Room was very dark and small, practically no space between bed and table to go through. Certainly it is a nice place for romantic stay when you really don't care about anything expect your partner ...

    nice place for romantic stay, beach, view, forest, spacy around the hotel, fresh air...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    comfortable and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    good food in the restaurant but we had to wait a very, very long time to get our dessert. a little bit outdated room.

    comfortable and clean room. friendly staff at the reception. nice sea view!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.0
    Overpriced mediocre hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view of the sea-side rooms are very nice. Other than that I would say that this hotel is overpriced, and there's nothing special or positive about it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful hotel both inside and out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    DO NOT - I repeat - DO NOT eat dinner at the hotel. The food was really awful and very $$$. We decided to give it a try the second night and it was just as bad. First night was stake - most of it was un-chewable. Second night was burgers. For the price, we expected something very nice. You can get a burger anywhere in town for half the price and it would surly be better (excluding Micky D's and Bruger King) Breakfast was just like any other hotel. But being this is Denmark with such great bread, they could have done without the frozen bread rolls.

    we got a ground floor room - it has an amazing high panorama window. It is larger than the windows upstairs. On the ground floor you step out onto a HUGE patio. Each room has a pic-nic table on the patio. The draw back is that the patio is open to all hotel guest so if you are nervous about people seeing you in your pajamas, get a room upstairs. But be aware that the balcony is only wide enough to take one small step. The view over the bay is amazing. You are at the edge of the city and at the beginning of the forest. For the same price, you get way much more for your money than a city hotel. You are too far to walk to the city but it is only a 3 minute drive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely place, a long walk outside town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Twenty to thirty minutes' walk south of town, and infrequent bus service. The hotel restaurant and all nearby restaurants are very pricey. Hope you enjoy walking.

    Very spacious room with hardwood floors and kitchenette -- I could live here!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Good location with stunning views and nice leisure facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dated in decor but the location was the main attraction here. The breakfast options were of a lower quality and the cooked options weren't great (scrambled eggs should only ever be offered cooked fresh to order in my opinion!)

    The location of the hotel was excellent and all the rooms had a view of the sea which was glorious. We hired bikes and it was a very easy route into Aarhus where a must eat is the Aarhus Street Food. Some lovely trails around the hotel and the swimming pool and sauna were great too. There was a wide variety of options at breakfast so something for everyone!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    It is a four star hotel just outside of the city center, so you will need transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was difficult to find my way around the hotel, as I felt as though I was in a labyrinth. It would be especially difficult for someone who was disabled.

    The staff was helpful and professional. My room was clean and comfortable. I had a great view from my room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.0
    Good breakfast and very nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are old and there is no ventilation. Bathroom was small and not properly cleaned. No chance for a later check-out (not even at a extra fee) hotel is overpriced.

    Good breakfast and very nice area. All the rooms have sea view and the area around is very nice. Big bed which is comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, good restaurant, good food, sad reception
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not able to give a proper bill. Even after long discussions they were not able to support in a proper way, which makes it hard to stay there for business travelers.

    The hotel location and the restaurant for dinner was awesome. Rooms were tidy and nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful sea view.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People were smoking every 10 minutes on the balkony in the room below. All the smoke went into our room. At the check out reported it to a receptionist but the response was vague.

    Beautiful sea view. Great location for the park access.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.1
    Fantastic location,restaurant and terrace could be reorganised to get better advantage of the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Used the restaurant on a couple of occasions although the food was good the menu was very limited and the service a bit hit and miss. The terrace should be a great asset but there was no service there and did not have the atmosphere and ambience that you should get from a terrace overlooking the sea with fantastic views.

    Location and room was excellent. On ground floor with access to garden and beach. Contemplated staying in Aarhus city centre but really pleased that we decided to be a little further out. Easy access to town restaurants etc. in the evening by taxi (DKK 100 each way so pretty reasonable)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    View and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed seaview
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner at the hotel was a bit overpriced.

    Beautiful view, great location. We walked down with our kids to the beach and we loved the breakfast. Very pleasantly surprised and this special place!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful hotel with complete waterfront views. The Hotel is located approximately 5-10 minutes drive from the city of Aarhus. With plenty of free parking available. The location is great for walks along the beach and through the park. The staff are friendly and helpful. Particularly the staff at reception, who were very welcoming and helpful. We only stayed here for one night, I would love to spend more time in Aarhus and stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    It was very calm stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No fridge or teapot in the rooms. Balcony door is somehow hard to open.

    Spacious and bright room with wonderful view. Good wifi connection despite the fact my room situated in the very end of the hotel. At least few available places at the free of charge hotel parking lot could be found no matter what time of the day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.4
    A hotel stuck in the 80 's could do with some renovations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and all the hotel looks very dated ! The smell from the bathroom was so bad we had to leave the terrace door open ! Beds were lumpy ! Only the towels were brand new !

    The location and the view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.8
    Why spoil a wonderful hotel with terrace noise and smoke
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you have rooms on the ground flour, you face directly on to a terrace which is a terrace cafe - where people drink beer, eat and smoke - directly in front of your room, just a few meters, - so be sure you do not get these rooms - but rooms at either side of the centre/terrace of the hotel. It is extremely unpleasant to wake up with people sitting on your terrace - very strange!!! Is the hotel owner this greedy, that he has to use the terrace/balcony of the rooms as a bar?? With small children it is impossible to sleep - and to open the doors in the summer heat - when people smoke just on the other side of your door/window!!

    The food and the service in the restaurant - the waiters were fantastic.! Really! An the view!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location, only 10 min.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is a bit too tiny. A bath instead of a shower would have been much appreciated.

    Great location, only 10 min. drive from the city center. We had an excellent night and a fair breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.3
    Nice hotel with an awful employee
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have traveled to 4 cntinents, but have never seen any ruder attitude towards guests than what I have seen in this hotel's restaurant. We dined twice in the hotel and it appeares to me the waiter wants us know he is disrespecting us. Probably we were not white enough for his taste. He ruined the entire trip for me and my family.

    Very beautiful and relaxing sight of the sea from the room. Small, but cozy rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location and services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were refuse bags by the lift to get to my room. The wall sockets were inconvenient for a UK adaptor with a downward projection!

    The view was amazing and the size of the room was great too. The facilities in the hotel was good, too. I could grab a beer in the evening and get some post sent in the morning!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Everywhere there was space, from the enormous bed to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to stay longer.

    Everywhere there was space, from the enormous bed to the seating area and bathroom. The public spaces inside and out were even more generous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.3
    Best location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had cancelled one of our rooms 3 days before arrival, but the reception had not received the notification from booking.com.

    The spectacular view from our room!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Recommended !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good breakfast, great selection of products. The hotel staff is available and courteous service. The place is clean, great sea view. Parking is available on site, very good value for money. Recommended !!!

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Helnan Marselis Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: