Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Motel Nordsøen

Niels Juelsvej 32, 9850 Hirtshals, Denmark

#1 of 7 hotels in Hirtshals

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1300 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I have to find something negative; No refrigerator in the room. However, it is not a big deal.

    Very close to the harbor. Clean and spacious rooms. Very easy unmanned reception! Lots of thumbs for that!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Pets Allowed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Constructive point would be to replace the tired carpets in the annexe and maybe provide an enhanced multi-language welcoming sheet explaining fully the amenities available on site and nearby.

    Quite a zany location intermixed with a marine life institute. A perfect location prior to a Ferry journey out of Hirtsals. There is spacious parking for my large motorhome. This was my 3rd stay at the property and this time I was placed in the `annexe' and discovered it has a both a fully equipped guest kitchen and a shared lounge/eating area. Handy location anyway for an ( expensive!) evening dinner at the more upmarket hotel nearby and the motel is around 15 minutes walk away from the main town area and a nearer Spar shop. A relaxed atmosphere and reasonable value. My room was quiet. Main breakfast does not attempt bacon and egg operations, but offers a good range of cereals and Danish cold fare -you don't leave hungry ! Satisfaction once again !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked someone on duty until much later in the day. so that people like myself don't have to become confused by the technology. Luckily there was a younger around who was able to help me solve the difficulties I was having with the check-in procedure.

    Bed very Comfortable and the breakfast was very good indeed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ran out of black tea bags at breakfast. No choice of fruit juice. Sliced bread was a bit dry.

    Excellent staff. Use of kitchen for customers. Good parking place. Near Colorline Ferry. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather strange atmosphere, feels like no-one is there and there is no reception after 4pm so you check in with a machine

    Good breakfast included, nice modern facilities very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was OK if you had a car or taxi; walking to ferry and train station was a little more difficult for us because we walked to and from. But Id stay there again.

    The room was good, clean and comfortable EXCEPT for a fan problem. It made noise throughout the night and we didn't sleep well. Staff were helpful, spoke English, offered up a nice breakfast and called for taxi. Location was a little out of the way (we walked carrying suitcases from the ferry terminal). Overall and disregarding fan issue, the room, hotel and staff were acceptable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Quiet location. Large parking area. We parked our car and trailer. Shared kitchen with cooker, fridge, kettle, table and chairs. Staff was excellent. Very good breakfast. Bedroom and bathroom was on ground floor newly furnished. Easy to get on motorway. Near shops and restaurant if you have a car.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The TV was old and bad and had only a few programs . No special news-channels and sportschannels

    Good Cleanliness, kind and helpful staff, good and easy parking and access.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checking in via electronic machine (there was no staff) : I could not fix it and had to phone and wait 15 minutes for assistance to check in and get a keycard. Checking-out: I asked if my MasterCard was oke to pay. And still there was an extra amount to pay for creditcard-use ! (18,13 DKK)

    Good room, big enough and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit too early check out 10.30 if compare with the others hotel. And we requested to check out around 12.00 because we had to wait for our car from the car service. But we got the refuse from the staff because they had to clean all the room with no exception. We understood but felt a bit disappointed to choose the wrong hotel that we had to check out 10.30.

    Fair with the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The self check in (no people on site during evening) was difficult to use but only because it wasn't on the 'home screen'. We had to phone the help number. Once we had it on the home screen it was easy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to jerry-rig the outer door to stop it rattling. There is nowhere local to eat I could see, so went into town. There were vending machines available for snacks and drinks which was good, though required a credit card to operate

    The family room was two adjoining rooms with the bathroom in between. The welcome was warm, the automatic check in wasn't working but reception was open. Breakfast was good. Rooms are basic, warm, perfectly fine. Other guests were a bit noisy but that can happen anywhere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pore information signs for tourists - that have never been there - Could be solved easily.

    For those who travel to Hirtshals and arrive late and to the manager of the hotel: I came into Hirtshals at 02 am at night - withhout wifi or telephone and no hotel booked - no connection because it got compleatly blocked at a ferry from England to Holland and no way fix it at all - it was saturday and stores do close early - Mediamart specialist could not fix it either in Holland - 1100 km driving for me offline with gpsmap and a arrow to follow - driving alone - all the way from Amsterdam Holland to Hirtshals Danmark - I did trust that I could find a way in Danmark in the evening to call to book the hotel or an internet connection - that was not the case and no matter what I tried to find a person to tell me where to connect or borrow me his or her telephone - NO WAS THE ANWERE FROM 5 PEOPLE AT PETROLSTATIONS ON THE WAY - so there I was driving into Hirtshals , it was dark outside, wind and rain and I did drive into the industrial area - not looking very nice to sleep there in the car alone. I tryed to find signs to see if there were hotels there open but couldnt see any - at 4.30 am I did find the hotel by using the internet at a bar (wifi connection from there). I drove to the hotel and slept in the car from 5 to 9 am - totally finished - the staff at the hotel were understanding my situation when I did talk to them at 10 am but I waited till 12 pm for the bedroom. - (they told me then that the hotel is always open for booking but I did not see that information when I needed that - sad) it was so nice to get to sleep and I did enjoy my big bedroom alot - it was quiet - comfortable - thouh a spider was there in the bedroom and the towels where old.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not very good (as advertised) but just modest cold, type bread and yoghurt. Price was perhaps seasonal, a little bit over the level of the accommodation.

    Good normal room, no extras, no failures. Nice to park near room. The harbour almost in the next corner!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as well as the main building there are two other blocks of rooms - my room was upstairs in one of the blocks and took some finding in the dark as the signs werent helpful - in the daytime i probably wouldnt have a problem haha

    visited first the day before to ask about arrival time - mette was friendly and helpful as turned out when i arrived at 3am the morning after due to ferry issues the way things were arranged - this is why i give a 10 service was excellent - room was clean warm and after being awake for 22 hours - perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location if walking or using public transport.

    I arrived off the ferry from Norway in the evening. No taxis could be found, The online description of the location indicated the Motel was close to the centre of town, if you have a car this is an accurate description, if walking it is not, and from the ferry terminal walking into town leads you further from the motel. If a taxi had been available, or if there was a map at the ferry terminal I would have felt better about this motel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was clean but could need some new tiles and something to make it look a little warmer.

    I was positively surprised by the cosy room and everything was clean. I was also happy the breakfast buffet was ready before 7 in the morning as the ferry was to leave earlier than originally scheduled. It is just a short drive to the ferry terminal and to the city center. There's only self service check in, but it is rather easy so don't worry! :-) I can recommend Restaurant Lille Heden for dinner, delicious food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It´s located directly at the North Sea Centre and easy access from the highway or the train station. Check in machines are available. Rooms are good with confortable bed and a functional toilet with all that is needed. The common areas are plenty with spaces to relax. The buildings are located at the border of the forest, thus it´s easy to find places for a morning hike through the forest and towards the sea. The breakfast included coffee, juice, bread cereals, fruit and much more and was pretty good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The motel does not share information about when you can have breakfast. We checked for signs, looking on the website, ... We had breakfast at around 9:30am and they were about to close the cafetaria at that point so we had to hurry. Some guests have come from a long way and dont like getting up at 7am. Please share a timetable for future guests :)

    Fast and flexible checking-in and out

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think it could be a little more clean overall. Narrow and dark corridors made it a bit uneasy. Room was a little warm to our liking and since the room is in ground floor, we did not feel it good to keep the windows open.

    Location and surroundings are great. If you are here for catching the ferry next day, its just a few mins drive to port. Hotel also has a nice open area and kids would love it. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice comfortable room. Easy self check in after reception closed and good communication from the property. A good choice for breakfast. We had no transport so about 20 minute walk from ferry and 20 minutes to the town. Very close to train station.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea making facilities in room , auto checkin as no staff onsite, if that failed how do you get in? a long way to get food into town a brisk 20 minute walk.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We really appriciate the way how is the motel organize, we came quite late and we could easily get our key. There are lot of things to see within walking distance (Oceanarium, lighthouse, bunkers, beach)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arriving from ferry, keys for booked personal where left in bowl in envelopes with room number and name, no envelope with our name on, had to chase to get a room. No receptionist. On getting our room, bathroom very dated tiles been painted over, paint peeling away and all grout lines full of mold spores, potentially harmful and unhealthy. Wireless interenet - useless kept dropping every second, could not use. Breakfast good selection 7:30 for early birds but soon goes due to local truck drivers/work force arriving early too so they seem to cater for those as well as payed customers?

    Location good for ferry or train. Good breafast if earlybird

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast options were limited, esp. for someone who is gluten- and lactosefree. They had glutenfree bread (it took a while, but yes), and honey, so that was good. I missed fresh fruit.

    Friendly lady at the reception when we came. Handy location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in am Automaten, super!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic room

    Close to the ferry terminals to Norway

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough plug in sockets in the room

    Location nearby the ferry. Silence. Very good wifi connection. Clean. Free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to ferry. Very clean . Child friendly nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No suggestions there.

    Very convenient after disembarking the ferry in the evening before continuing on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really good value for money! One can not expect more. Perfect location. Nice and clean rooms. Very quiet. and the beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was really quiet and we got a room right next to the play corner. A little odd not to have human any human contact upon arrival.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in general

    Simple motel, everything in the place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Easy check-in and good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location for the ferry teminal is perfect, less than 5 minutes travel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect hotel stay for ferry the next morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sad shower room

    great to have the possibility to arrive at the motel anytime in 24 hours

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is as motel as you would expect the motel to be. You sleep, take a shower (one towel for everything), eat unappetizing breakfast and go.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    good location to take ferry

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good hotel close to Fjordline ferry terminal, which is why we choose it. Does everything you need.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient and basic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Very comfortable room, clean and well organized. Good breakfast with nice atmosphere. Sufficient free parking area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late night self checkin; very close to the ferries

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Situated far away from the city center

    Very clean and good beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast!

    Great location for the ferry

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    coming off the night ferry and driving in, there was plenty of parking and the automatic check in was very easy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. everything was very good

    The bed vert comfy. God breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the ferry.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom, if you shower everything is wet.

    Good breakfast. Parking in front of the hotel. Quiet area, close to the ferry. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No restaurants close by

    Handy for our ferry, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is small and if you shower everything is wet.

    Very friendly people. Close to the check-in for the Colorline. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideally placed for the ferry to Norway

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located away from the town although nice and handy to the Fjordline port.

    Quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No kettle in the room. The weather was very cold and to have a hot drink, you have to walk to the common area which is not heated to purchase it.

    Close proximity to the ferry lines

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The standard is just average so if you're going to stay for a while I might not recommend this motel.

    The location is great if you like us is going to take the ferry early in the morning. The quality is typical motel but good for the purpose :)

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Located in industrial area, not very attractive for an evening stroll.

    Close to the ferries. 2 adjacent rooms with shared bathroom, very handy for a family of 4. Straightforward and decent place.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    friendly accomodation, nice breakfast. We booked a family room: 2 separate rooms with 1 private bathroom situated on the hallway between the two rooms. The rooms are basic, but comfortable. Motel has the feel of a friendly upgraded hostel. Good location and good place to stay if you need to take a ferry to Norway (less than 5 min.). Childfriendly. Lots of space to play. Surrounding not really attractive and few opportunities for dinner. Would recommend as pass through hotel.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was not good-for disabled so bigger than usual, but had mould between tiles and the toilet wobbled. The room was cheerful but the thin white curtains let in ALL the light.

    Friendly staff and easy access to rooms. There was a nice lounge available to guests.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only downside was the distance to town centre, about 1200m, easily walkable even in the winter.

    Clean, comfortable and very cosy. Good breakfast included with very friendly and accomodating staff. Very close by to the fjordline ferry terminal. Thanks!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was a little sparse.

    Handy for the ferry

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No bacon for breakfast.

    Very close to the North Sea Museum. Very close to the Color Line Ferry.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    old room, not cleaned well, poor breakfast

    good location, pet friendly

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, close to ferries.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Not much to do and a bit to expensive.

    Close to the ferry. Late check in.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The water in the shower was not very hot in the morning

    Good bed.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable room and good breakfast, very close to the Aquarium

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    "far from "center.

    comfortable room.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dark corridors

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The motel had obviously seen better days (1960s?),and is a bit run down.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The perfect choice when you want to take ferry.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The wi fi very weak.

    Every thing is good.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Convenient location to the ferry terminal.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    rooms very basic no restaurant

    very close for the ferry to Norway

There are also 43 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Motel Nordsøen traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: