Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rye 2 stars

Ryesgade 115, Østerbro, 2100 Copenhagen, Denmark

#34 of 102 hotels in Copenhagen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 132 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    The owners!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like about this. All 5 of us loved it.

    The owners!!!!! Where in Copenhagen are you greeted with tea and biscuits in the afternoon when we arrived!?!? And homemade breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    This was a delightful surprise. It's different, not typical, but in a good way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't sure at the entrance that I was at the right place or what to do. A bigger, better sign out front, maybe with instructions, would be beneficial.

    Sparkling clean, homey and comfortable communal spaces, and very friendly and helpful owners.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    If we're able to return to Copenhagen, we'll definitely visit the owners and stay there.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the owners and their family. They went out of their way to take care of us and our needs. In fact, they became friends of ours. We recommend their hotel and we recommend them!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Everything, perfect location, walking distance to little...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom, but it was available more often then not. It got 2 bathrooms plus 2 toilets on the top flor so something is always available. No big deal.

    Everything, perfect location, walking distance to little mermaid, 2 min walk from public transport, you have decent bars, and fast food places nearby

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    We will be happy to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking in Copenhagen is run by mad left wing car haters. Expect to pay a fortune.

    Very friendly reception. You are not just renting a room, you are a valued guest. Excellent WiFi. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Owners were very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More bathrooms would be nice. We weren't in any hurry, but we did have to wait sometimes.

    Owners were very nice and helpful. We did like the breakfast, even though the choice was not huge, the freshly baked homemade bread was just delicious. Overall, it was cool place, and what was also important because of shared facilities, other guest were calm and pleasant. Location was not super central, but close enough and Copenhagen is a big city anyway. It was very good value for money, otherwise you get youth hostel or capsule bed type of place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Great place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room to yourself, yet the happy community vibe of a small hostel. Friendly, helpful staff and great breakfast. Shared bathrooms, but i never had to wait for the bathroom or shower.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is a little bit far away (40 mins walking approx.) from the city center and the tourist attractions, however, there is a bus stop right at the corner of the hotel that gets you to the city center.

    The staff at the hotel was the best! They are lovely people who ran a small and very familiar hotel. The breakfast, small, but incredible. Very eco-friendly and the best part was the freshly homebaked bread! The rooms were big and clean, as were the bathrooms and the hotel in general. Our flight got delayed and we were worried that we wouldn't be able to get on time for the check-in, we emailed and they responded very quickly saying that they would wait for us. We were really grateful. In general, an amazing experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Location, new owners, value , service was exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is awesome. Owners are awesome. Food is delicious. The place is scheduled for upgrading and will be excellent after that. Nice size, comfortable rooms.

    Location, new owners, value , service was exceptional

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Everything more than OK. I recommend this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Well, most people would prefer a private bathroom, but this was NOT a problem.

    Atmosphere, friendly staff, breakfasts, beverages at any time, location, moderate price...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.1
    The room and facilities were very clean and the staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking was made last minute and upon arriving we were disappointed with the frontage as it just appeared to be an entrance to a flat in a tenement as it just located on a couple of floors higher up and shares an entrance. The room contained no ensuite bathroom. It would be helpful if this was pointed out as for the money we paid I just assumed that there would have been.

    The room and facilities were very clean and the staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Location, old rugged charm.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was possibly there on the hottest day in all summer, so the room was rather warm as the sun shone in ... no, attacked the place.

    Location, old rugged charm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.7
    location, breakfast, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    value for price paid.

    location, breakfast, staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Highly recommended hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Pretty much everything about this hotel! Especially the staff who are exceedingly friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Not enough bathrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough bathrooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.9
    we had a lovely time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A sink in the room would have been nice

    Staff and courtyard

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Really nice vibe, and the staff are super friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice vibe, and the staff are super friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Staff was very friendly and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly and nice. 😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Cosy little place great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trues to ring prior to stay but got voicemail with no hotel name!

    Staff very friend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    The hotel has a nice, informal feel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has a nice, informal feel in an excellent location. The room was quiet and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Great location , lovely helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel in ideal location. Staff are v friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    The owners were extremely helpfull and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The owners were extremely helpfull and friendly. The breakfasts were excelllent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    The owners were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were delicious and it was easy to get around downtown.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 14 nights

    There is not, really.

    Very comfortable. Staffs are all very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    7.9
    The hotel offers good value for the cost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I would have liked brighter lighting in the room, and in one of the bathrooms, where it was too dark to apply make-up.

    The hotel offers good value for the cost. Bathrooms are shared but kept very clean; facilities are modest but very adequate. It is close to public transportation. The staff person who greeted me was very friendly and helpful in handling my heavy luggage. The bed was comfortable. My room faced the street, but there was not too much traffic noise. Free wifi worked well. I would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    7.9
    The staff were super friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If you check in late in the evening they charge an extra fee which was excessive in my opinion. 250 kroner or about 30 euros.

    The staff were super friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and quiet. The breakfast is an absolute highlight with a great variety of items and homemade scones/ breads.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    7.1
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Showers can do with a makeover. Price can be a bit cheaper. For the same price I got a large double room in Malmo with access to free sauna.

    Friendly staff. Yummy breakfast. Homey atmosphere. Guests can make tea/coffee throughout the stay in the breakfast room. Good public transport connections. Variety of TV channels.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    4.2
    Very old and uncharming interior.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very old and uncharming interior. Did not feel safe at night, no attendant at the floor with most rooms. Queue for shower, which wet the whole bathroom. Dark ( but quiet) street and hotel on first and second floor, not ground.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    9.6
    Very friendly, helpful and attentive staff and owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly, helpful and attentive staff and owner. Large comfortable room with view of garden. Comfortable bedding. Bathrobe and slippers to compensate for lack of ensuite bathroom. Generally very good atmosphere. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    5.8
    Room was very clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No reception services. When leaving in a morning before 7 to make it office I could hear someone doing the breakfast and I wanted to leave the keys. But when knocking the door no one would answer and I knew she heard me. If I pay price of the hotel I am not expecting services of bad hostel. Very dissapointing and made me fee as fool

    Room was very clean

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    6.7
    Location was very convenient for the half marathon, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I could hear sounds from the corridor and the halls, and the soundproofing clearly needs some work. Wifi was intermittent. Not great value, though Copenhagen is generally expensive

    Location was very convenient for the half marathon, and the area was quite lively with lots of restaurants. The staff let all half-marathoners take showers after their checkout time, which was appreciated

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.3
    The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Copenhagen and has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Copenhagen and has easy access to the heart of the city 10 minutes by bus. The room was of good size and the mattress very comfortable. The breakfast was average. The hotel also has other facilities such as hairdryer and a communal fridge. Overall, the accommodation is fairly priced and the visit was well worth it.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    The staff is super nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is a bit like a hostel in hotel quality. So if it is a bit cheaper all the things will go better.

    The staff is super nice. The room is well decorated. The breakfast is good. Shared toilet is clean. Everything is good!

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    8.3
    It was my first time in Denmark and Copenhagen, yet I felt...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was my first time in Denmark and Copenhagen, yet I felt at home. Clemens was very careful and friendly with the hosts. I loved the cookies and the tea&coffee service which was available at all times in the kitchen. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    The hotel is in the loveliest neighborhood of Copenhagen,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is in the loveliest neighborhood of Copenhagen, upscale and lovely. A block from the northern most "swan" lake and a half mile from a train station; step out to the top of the block to take the 1A bus downtown. Top rate ice cream, food, and shopping a block away. Bike available to rent. Hot breakfast every morning and a garden in the back. Since my son married a Danish woman, I have returned to this little hotel every summer for 10 years. It is a hidden gem; I only hope it will not become too well known.....

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.2
    Great location in beautiful Osterbro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Up one flight of stairs so potentially difficult if you had a lot of heavy luggage. Street parking with meter.

    Great location in beautiful Osterbro. Friendly, attentive staff who went out of their way to help and provide local knowledge. Delicious smorgasbord-style breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    6.7
    Friendly staff
    • Solo traveller

    Heavy noisy doors which made it very difficult not to disturb others when they were opened/closed Wi-fi kept dropping Not as convenient as other hotels which are closer to the city centre Shared facilities (which I knew about before booking but it was still inconvenient) 3 keys for 3 different doors Electrical sockets needed a review/fix

    Friendly staff Nice big room Good continental breakfast Comfortable bed (but rather small single beds despite the size of the room) Free Wi-Fi Free tea/coffee making availability during your stay

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.1
    excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The smell of the triple room is weird. I am not sure what smell is it, might be the scent of the washing powder or floor cleaner. The room is clean though.

    excellent breakfast. nice common room. staff are helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    10
    Clemens was such a good host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No wifi in the room but its made known

    Clemens was such a good host! Knew who we were even before we introduce ourselves at check-in. The services were great and breakfast was fabulous!!

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    7.5
    The staff was very friendly and eager to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amsterdam is an extremely expensive city to stay - and this hotel is not an exception. The facilities would need some renovation.

    The staff was very friendly and eager to help. The breakfast was good. The travel connections were fairly good.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    10
    The rooms were very quaint, as was the living room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms were very quaint, as was the living room. They management has a great eye for detail. It's also very conveniently located and with very large, well furnished rooms.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    7.9
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    noise festival

    location

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    great location, delicious breakfast, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing I can think of.

    great location, delicious breakfast, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.6
    Friendly atmosphere, workers, room, breakfast - great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly atmosphere, workers, room, breakfast - great!

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast, rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Shared bathroom only

    Breakfast, rooms

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.6
    Location, atmosphere around
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    poor sound proofing

    Location, atmosphere around

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    9.2
    Extremely nice and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shared bathrooms Noisy locks

    Extremely nice and friendly staff Gorgeous breakfast Pleasant room Easily accessed by public transport

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    8.8
    Nice choice of Breakfast and room comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sharing bathroom.

    Nice choice of Breakfast and room comfort. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    10
    Fantastisk morgenmad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fantastisk morgenmad!

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    8.8
    Incredibly comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shared bathroom, poor soundproofing

    Incredibly comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    8.3
    Place about the beautiful atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Place about the beautiful atmosphere. Such a typical Danish house, to which it is possible to miss

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    6.3
    spacious rooms, good beds
    • Couple

    ratio of bathrooms/toilets to rooms/guest, bathroom and breakfast room not heated

    spacious rooms, good beds

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.9
    Friendly owner
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing bad, room a bit dark but comfortable.

    Friendly owner

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    Great price, staff, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great price, staff, breakfast. Clean quiet room with very comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    5.0
    There were two restaurants nearby and it was easy to get...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is a very Spartan place in the middle of the city.

    There were two restaurants nearby and it was easy to get around town.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.8
    Nice and easy hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice and easy hotel! We loved the family atmosphere there. I can only recommend this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    7.1
    The friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    6.7
    Friendly staff, nice location and comfy bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi strength not adeqaute.

    Friendly staff, nice location and comfy bed.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.9
    I liked the cleanliness and the hospitality.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi was a big problem no reception inside the room.

    I liked the cleanliness and the hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    7.1
    Friendly, welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shared bathrooms were not great

    Friendly, welcoming staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.3
    The feel of home and relaxed atmosphere
    • Solo traveller

    The feel of home and relaxed atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    A great place to stay with really helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A great place to stay with really helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    9.2
    Great place with a lot of charm, and really great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place with a lot of charm, and really great staff.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.2
    Great location, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, great staff. I'm a little too large for a twin sized bed, but the price and location made up for it.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    8.3
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    3 flights of stairs

    good location

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    7.1
    - friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - too few showers - lots of cables lying around in room

    - friendly and helpful staff - good breakfasts

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    8.8
    The homey feel - almost like a private home - friendæy and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The homey feel - almost like a private home - friendæy and helpful staff - and wonderful breakfast in a charming morning room.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    7.5
    Really nice breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little noisy at night

    Really nice breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    8.8
    Stuff was so helpfull and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stuff was so helpfull and friendly. I like it

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    8.3
    Location & the homely feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hard bed and too Many to share the same bathroom and toilet.

    Location & the homely feel.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    9.2
    Staff really helpful and great people skills.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff really helpful and great people skills. Breakfast is good

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    8.0
    Location since we have small children the park is very close
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Location since we have small children the park is very close

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Guests also reviewed these properties: