Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Hotel Scheelsminde 4 stars

Scheelsmindevej 35, 9200 Aalborg, Denmark

#9 of 23 hotels in Aalborg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 775 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cement pillow, no carraway cheese at breakfast, smokers at entrance to hall meant our section stank of cigarette smoke.

    Location, parking, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphere, the place itself is very special and definitely worth visit. Service level is good, parking places easily available, beds are comfy and breakfast is tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has a small "park" section, with deck chairs.... the weather was super nice when i stayed there, this park area was a life saver ...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from my window is really bad, the ground is half meeter lower than normal ground, so if you walk into the room and look outside from window, your head is just as high as the parking car's wheel, basically has no view at all, you can only sleep there, not take a relax.

    The staff I met was really nice, he helped us with an extra bed for my son. but the room that I booked has no view at all, and the window is just face at the parking lot, the ground is half floor under the ground, so if you look out from the window, your head is just as high as parking cars' wheel which makes the feeling a little bit weird. The breakfast was nice and cozy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is not the best - Too soft - feels cheap. Not the best location (so a bit far from the centre, about 20 Euro of Taxi)

    Clean, Quite, good Stuff, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked for plate and knife and fork for my room when i ordered the stay. There was only fork and knife when I arrived.

    Apple juice a bit too watery, was no bacon when I went to fetch eggs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apple juice was a bit odd.. a little cider like, which I did not expect. I had to ask for teespoons for the breakfast and the eggstands were placed upside down

    the rooms were good, but better control over the lightning would help people to better navigate. finding the on off switches is difficult.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A minor issue but we like our bedroom temperature on the cool side; was just a little too warm for our liking in our particular room during our stay.

    Epic breakfast! Really helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Completely outdated room. Moldy, damp, smelled bad, door handles loose, toilet paper holder not secured to the wall, very noisy. Shower curtain dirty bathroom walls dirty, towles smelled, no ventilation apart from the window. Decor and bedding from 1970? Coule hear the smallest sound outside the door. What a shame! Felt very uncomfortable, disrespected for the money I paid. the hotel does not take their guests seriously giving them rooms unfit for modern comfort. Run away as fast as you can.

    Decent breakfast. Lovely exterior

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We called the Hotel several times to inform about our late arrival. Nobody answered. That's why we didn't get information about the restaurant being closed at our arrival at 9.30 p.m. No room service available either and all restaurants in the city were closed at this time too - our evening dinner were some sandwiches from 7Eleven. The pool was not possible to try next morning because it opened at 4 p.m. which means after checkout. The furnitureof the room and whole impression of the room is not really inviting. The furniture is rather old, the room crowded, the bathroom and shower very small. The location of the hotel: in a villa area outside town. You need a car, especially if you want to have some food in the evening.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    on the way to the sauna u have to leave your shoes outside before u walk downstairs and the floor was so wet that it did not feel too sanitary as the management had intended it to be.

    the breakfast was excellent, nice pool and jacuzzi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we were not provided adjacent rooms as promised shortage of staff on a Saturday morning as it was crowded and the food and tables were not serviced in time

    free parking very easy to checking in/out

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Below average dinner. Very long wait, probably due to minimum staff members. Had booked a family room for two persons. Was asked to move to a double room as they had put a family in our room, I agreed , however no reduction was given, not good ! But to late in evening to ague the point.

    Parking close to rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - It has been quite difficult to get an invoice (3 visits to the desk) - When people queueing at the reception, only 1 person takes care of customers but 2 or 3 persons are there and do something else. - the room was very small and old fashioned.

    - Nice breakfast room and nice view. - Access to a ~10m long swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is old and lacks ventilation a bit.

    It is not easy to find a hotel with 24/7 open reception in Denmark and this BW is one of those rare pleasant exclusions. We arrived around 0:30 and next morning we found that a lot of people have arrived even later. The price is decent and includes their very, very good breakfast. The hotel also has a good garden. The room was huge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff could give a little smile. It is almost dubious if you are welcome in the reception.

    Their breakfast is EXTRA nice, very large variety of items and quality of ingredients.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of iron in the room. I asked for the iron and the board at the reception, the lady said she will deliver it to me but no one showed up. It was slightly annoying. In the end, there was an integrated iron in the common area corridor but the quantity was low. I should have been informed about that whilst checking in.

    There is a free parking for hotel guests only.The rooms are quiet nice and cozy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurang lacks vegetarian alternatives and showed lack of understanding for vegan diet.

    Nice atmosphere, friendly staff. Clean and calm pool and sauna. Good breakfast and fantastic food in the restaurang.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in the resturant seem totally untrained in being serviceminded. In my view they are not observant and helpful. This and the schambles they call breakfast is the biggest let down :-(

    Good location. Nice and clean facilities. Pool is a nice little area. The sourounding garden area is beautiful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    During the dinner buffet the younger waiters could have learned a lot from their older colleague from the breakfast buffet. Too slow, empty glasses....

    Great breakfast; especially one older waiter was like Speedy Gonzalez and the kids loved the pancakes!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Dinner buffet very expensive for a very limited choice. Very bad value for money. - (Free) breakfast quite limited. - Narrow mezzanine quite dangerous for children.

    - Nice swimming pool - Free parking in hotel courtyard - Convenient location if you have a car

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Morgenmad 12 points

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet was extraordinarily good. Everything tasted great and the entire setup made a place to remember.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. Really large nice room and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell in the swimming pool. Jacuzzi seems not working.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was a little saggy.

    Excellent breakfast, constantly renewed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't see any bigger flaws.

    Breakfast super tasty as always. Very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some renovation of the rooms / halls is needed. Obsolete shower.

    Good parking, nice stuff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent service, quiet and delicious meals.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Nothing was missing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast, nice staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very old furniture. Everything looks old. The doors quality is very bad, with poor isolation. Definetly needs a serious update

    Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mattress was a bit too soft.

    Very friendly and helpful receptionist, excellent Danish food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location, great room great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom and room starts to get old and is ready for renovation.

    good breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Unfortunately the staff from the kitchen removed our breakfast before we were ready. We were not the only ones. The staff did a terrible job which destroy the overall Picture of a very good place to stay

    The receptionist is excellent and very service-minded

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Group

    The minibar in the room was a bit sparse.

    Excellent service, friendly staff. Good restaurant with a decent wine list. Good breakfast. Beautiful buildings and surroundings. Everything is a bit worn, but again, that makes it possible for the hotel to offer a nice price for an excellent package.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The toilet was dirty. Pot was not clean. Shower curtain was smelling . If hygiene is not a priority then the hotel needs to do Something about it.

    Nice setting of the hotels d helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Little old rooms furniture, in winter time maybe bad what to restoraunt and spa need go from outside, but in hot time this is super

    Very good location, beutifull old house and place, park inside hotel teritory.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I reserved a family through booking.com, with two separate mattresses on a loft for the kids. When we arrived we were given a different room, which was a small normal room where a bunk bed was placed with no protection, i.e. my kids could easily fall out. When returning to the reception there was nobody available for about 10 minutes. then when somebody arrived there I was told that they didn't have the family rooms anymore. When I complained if they do not have them they should not let systems like booking.com make reservations for those more than 6 weeks ahead. Then by some coincidence they anyway had one family room available, as other people changed their mind and shifted rooms. We could have that room but there were still open candy bags etc laying around from other people being there...When checking out they didn't have my credit card details anymore, and there was a problem with the system. So both check in and check out were not smooth and bad experiences. The double bed was really horrible, whenever my husband turned around I was bounced up and vice versa, so we both woke up many times during the night (and we are not having overweight :-))

    the location is nice, a bit out of the city, but still close enough.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room we booked were not the room we got. It was much smaller and did not have the facilities promised in the confirmation. But staff helped to upgrade the room. But we still did not get the promised room since all were booked.

    Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Neighborhood noise, boom box nearby Room old and needed remodeling. Our other part paying the same amount had a delux room.

    Dinner, breakfast, bed, free wifi free parking

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor staff / receptionist service (Couldn't be bothered to call for a taxi) !! Waiter ask to wait, wait for serving drinks At breakfast, no kettle to boil hot water. Couldn't get tea. Very poor / average. The room assigned didn't look like the room booked from the internet which was supposed to have 2 levels..for the kids sleeping above. The sound from the other rooms were pronounced (love-making ongoing)

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room needed a bit of an update. Also, couldn't have any window open while remaing secure (ground floor).

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Ambience excellent. Restaurant very good, with unusual foraged flavours.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    When we arrived the restaurant was closed and the staff from the reception send us down town. All the restaurants were closed also in down town.

    The location is wonderful. It is a lovely hotel. Very comfortable rooms and a very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Did not offer gluten free bread for breakfast despite asking in advance. Room not very clean. Have to walk across the yard to get to breakfast.

    Good size room, quiet location but away from anything. Plenty of free parking

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was very frindely staff and the breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Check out was at 11 which was a pain

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    room need refurbishment

    nice swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice room and hotel as always : ) Also very suitable for pets.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No Food on the Sunday evening , had to go into town which meant drive!!!

    Good in every other way apart from Sunday .

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    tired and scruffy hotel

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff is friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were terrific. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice environment. Nice rooms with roof window.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Indoro room and bathroon were orrible

    Outdoor

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very tired furniture, cold bathrooms, no air con, old carpets, old fittings

    location, gardens parking

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Furnitures in rooms have lived. Could do with upgrade / update.

    Good location and nice building

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A long way from the town centre. Restaurant food was only a buffet so we didn't try it. Room needed refurbishment.

    Very nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Kunne vært andre mattilbud på kveldstid og ikke bare buffet!

    Fint hotell!

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the country farm style and the peaceful surroundings.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    a bit small bathroom but not a big deal

    indoor swimming pool , its warm water :)

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Price

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Restaurant was fully booked and had to order room service for dinner

    Staff was really helpful and polite

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    I like pool and sauna in this hotel. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great restaurant

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse Best Western Hotel Scheelsminde traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: