Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Skagen Strand Hotel & Holiday Center 4 stars

Tranevej 108, Hulsig, 9990 Hulsig, Denmark

#1 of 1 hotels in Hulsig

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 226 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Excellent experience for myself and family
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (7 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The entire concept of a family village was excellent. My grandsons loved the proximity of the beach, the swimming pool, the trampoline and the other amenities. Having the train to Skagen near by was a plus. Over all, I would recommend this resort.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    The location is great as it is really close to the city of...
    • Group
    • Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The people in the front desk of the reception werent so polite and didnt enjoyed helping us so much as we would love to, according to a 4 stars hotels-apartments. Also the reception was closed until 08:30 in the morning and we couldnt check out. The House although it was good many things were to old like the matresses of the bed, the floor in the toilet, the WC with that old plastic curtain. The house generally was well cleaned but we cant say the same for the WC which could be much better cleaned. At the end the price of 228 euro for one night without bed seeds and linen and without towels was extremely high according of course to our opinion and also we had to take the apartment at 15:00 and leave before 10:30 in the morning.

    The location is great as it is really close to the city of Skagen and to Grenen and also its countryside which combines a quiet and beautyfull natural enviroment close to the city and the point of interest. Also the house was big enough and had everything needed for the kitchen and the living room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    OK for families with kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Beds are OK, but could be better. Hot water supply could also be better. Not quite what you expect in a place with this price tag. Beds and hot water supply are better in cheaper places.

    Good choice for bicycle hikers and families with kids. A nice little train takes you to Skagen in 10 minutes and stops just outside the door. Nice indoor swimming pool and tennis courts. The restaurant is also OK. Plenty of parking space. Plenty of space in general.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.5
    Perfect family location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for linen was unexpected on top of the room rate. We took our towels as guided by the website, but expected linen in the property. On holiday I hope not to make beds and take all the Linen off again before I leave! Also the website says that breakfast is available, however trying to book this at reception I was told the restaurant is only open at the weekend. We had a great time and will go back knowing to take our own linen and Plenty of food.

    Great place with good facilities for the kids. Beach is stunning and plenty of parks around for the kids.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.7
    Nice apartments and great, free pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no one working at the center, that we could see, in the evening. There were a bunch of cheerful, tipsy, beer-drinking men (in their early forties) in the pool and slide, and this is Denmark, all right, where people do drink, but there were many children in the pool, and drunk, loud people are scary, especially when they behave like children. There was no one to guard people against this kind of behaviour.

    The apartments are very nice and well equipped, and it was quiet at night. Nice pool, great saunas and fun slide, plus lots of things to do outdoors.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.5
    Nice restaurant and swimmingpool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Childrens beds in the attic not very suitable because of the noise from livingroom downstairs

    Nice restaurant and swimmingpool. Nice Beach at a walking distance, but not very easy to find. Easy Access from the Ferry in Hirtshals and to Skagen village

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    6.3
    Ok place for family with Kids
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (7 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check after 15 00 is very late. Check out at 10 30 is to early. And the room was not ready until 15 30.... Staff looked at me like I was an idiot when I came 14 30 and asked me if I did not read the policy its at 15 00?? But at 15 the room was not ready!! and I was still waiting!

    Easy parking and walk distances OK.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    5.8
    Ok place to use as an out of town base for skagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many options for food/drink if you don't want to self cater all the time - very limited opening hours

    Simple place near to Skagen with swimming facilities and decent 2 bedroom holiday homes

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    The apartment is comfortable, clean and it have everything you need to spend some days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (7 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is near from the beach, the city and around other places.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    4.2
    Extra pay for bed linen and electricity
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra pay for bed linen and electricity

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (7 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dangerous stairs in the house

    Excellent location, modern playing fields for children

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    8.8
    Perfect for families who don't want to be right on the beach
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (7 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of areas for the children to play - eg. flying fox. Spacious apartment with good cooking facilities.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    5.0
    Nice area but a bit high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms where a bit old for the asked price. Standard a bit poor. No breakfast included.

    Nice area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    Great despite wild, windy weather. Exhilarating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather was windy And rainy!

    Great facilities and wonderful apartment. Magical part of the world. Worth visiting and braving the elements.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    8.3
    The excellent facilities, including a pool, tennis courts,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    That we had to pay for linen and towels and change it ourselves.

    The excellent facilities, including a pool, tennis courts, zip line, great restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    7.9
    Really good place for kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not a lot of negatives, it is a typical Scandi holiday park with basic but nice cabins with typical Scandinavian features and decore. Calling the pool a "water park" was a little generous but it was fun all the same. It is really a pool with a waterslide, but I did like the fact that it has a large area that got gradually deeper which gave even small children a large area they could stand up in and made the job of supervising them really easy. Some have suggested that calling it Skagenstrand is misleading as it is neither in Skagen nor that close to the beach (Strand) but with the aid of google maps we knew this already so were not disappointed. It was a very easy and nice walk to the beach though.

    Really good place for kids. Lots of playgrounds and things for the kids to do even in bad weather.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    8.3
    This place is excellent for families with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The water slide was very dark and so our youngest kids didn't dare take it. The restaurant wasn't open for breakfast when we were there in the middle of February.

    This place is excellent for families with kids. There is something for most everybody, including badminton, minigolf, buffet dinner-dining, wellness, relaxation.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    The location of the holiday center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we can not check in before three o'clock ! We arrives early with the ferry and have to wait several hours.

    The location of the holiday center. Good place to relax and take a good walk or a trip on a bicykle. Our favorite place in Denmark.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.1
    Overall a nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We didn't do our homework, even though the name implied it was infact in Skagen. We ended up in a place called Hulsig. Car is a must when staying here.

    Overall a nice place to stay. Good facilities for families. Loved the pool.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    10
    The stay was booked via the iPhone app one or two days in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One little downside, I don't think it's the hotel's fault - the area outside is packed with earwigs - you have to be careful not to let them inside. Maybe the area could be sprayed with anti-insect solution?

    The stay was booked via the iPhone app one or two days in advance, with the special request for late arrival - after 10:00PM, which because of the bad weather on the sea, turned out to be after 1:00 in the morning. The hotel staff answered promptly with all the details for the room access - an envelope was left with my name on it containing every single detail for our stay (we felt like we were on a little treasure hunt). The apartment was very big, clean, with terrace and excellent kitchen space.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.8
    In fact it's the only place to stay if you travel to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wi-fi was very poor.

    In fact it's the only place to stay if you travel to Skagen though it's 12 km away. The prices in Skagen hotels are at least twice higher. The nature is wonderful, very good apartments with everything one needs. Great beach, a lot of sport possibilities.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    This holiday center has perfect location to go on a picnic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This holiday center has perfect location to go on a picnic to Råbjerg Mile. You can have cozy/fun time there. We were 6 people and liked sauna&water slider in the small swimming pool. Also sound system was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    7.5
    Morgenkurv och badland
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Morgenkurv och badland

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    Excellent location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent location and facilities

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.1
    location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Time of check out is quite early.

    location is great! But you need to clean up after stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    10
    Great accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The shower had a shower curtain, which I personally don't like at all.

    Great accomodation. Spacious bathroom, big bedrooms.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Great location, good facility and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, good facility and value for money.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.6
    Top notch Danish hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slight smell in the bathroom

    Top notch Danish hospitality

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    4.2
    Needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Needs renovation

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    7.9
    Good gym and swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Arrived late and therefore had no access to WiFi

    Good gym and swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    6.7
    Frokostrestaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Eating place(s) in the close external soroundings offered bad value for money.

    Frokostrestaurant. God morgen buffet. Effektiv inn- / utsjekking.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Browse Skagen Strand Hotel & Holiday Center traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: