Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Skovshoved Hotel 4 stars

Strandvejen 267, 2920 Charlottenlund, Denmark

#2 of 2 hotels in Charlottenlund

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 200 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Excellent personal service, staff is very flexible and eager...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent personal service, staff is very flexible and eager to spoil you. Location is fantastic on the water, great for runners in one of the most pristine neighborhoods of Copenhagen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    I will be a returning customer
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an old lady and i do like it like that. it could be 'refreshed', but not refurbished to keep the character of the place. the standard rooms are a bit small.

    Atmosphere, traditional hotel, fantastic location. staff very kind. the rooms with view over the sea are the best.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    As ecpected
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is located in a quite high class area, so i guess the price reflects this. But the mini bar prices are just insane. Also I missed a bath-tub.

    There is a sign in the bathroom, where they call their hotel for an old lady. This is accurate, but in a charming way.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    3.8
    Could be heaven, but it isn’t.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could with very little effort be a little pearl, but contrarily to what Danes are very good at (making things cozy) the rooms are worn out and the whole rooms area looks ran down. The lady at the reception is totally incompetent and fakely corteous. Taxis are randomly available.

    The place is very cozy and I knew that, the restaurant is really nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.8
    disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift in the hotel. This is a glorified B&B

    I paid 210 Euro per night without breakfast which was an additional 20 Euros per person. I was shocked to be requested to pay an additional 5 Euro for a capicino I ordered instead of the standard coffee on offer at breakfast. It's the only hotel in the world where I have ever been requested to pay for a capucino in addition to the 230 Euros I had already paid. This is mean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    A very nice hotel with very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, the room was quite small but had everything we needed

    The staff were outstanding. They provided a sandwich even although we were very late. They responded rapidly to emails requesting information and were very helpful booking taxis. The breakfast room/restaurant is lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    Short walk to the ocean, views from some rooms. Located 15-20 minutes by car from downtown by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift, so getting to rooms, all of which are upstairs can be tough with luggage.

    Older, but well maintained property in residential area. if no car, then taxi and bus stop just outside the hotel. Great restaurant and bar on property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect old house in nice neighbourhood still close to city center!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This not negative. The hotel is like an old yacht well looked after but it is still old. So if you are looking for Radisson Blue and similar please turn somewhere else!

    Absolut must is a seaside room with awesome scenery. It's not on all hotels you see the locals come up from a morning swim!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Vintage seaside hotel near Copenhagen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the hip, yet vintage vibe of this hotel. We received an excellent room with a fantastic view of the sound (we booked a sea view room). The bathroom was stocked with Molton Brown shampoo and soaps - a lovely touch. The wifi was fast and connecting was easy (just a password). The restaurant was a fabulous experience and the service was friendly and efficient. The Danish have a reputation for gastronomic food and the restaurant upheld our expectations. In addition, the wine list is extensive and we had a few glasses of excellent wines from 3 different countries. The breakfast buffet is lavish and had everything that we wanted/needed. This was our second stay at Skovshoved and we will be returning!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    6.7
    Inte vad vi förväntade oss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Visste inte att det inte fanns hiss . Tyvärr mycket släpande upp och ned med bagage till andra våningen ! Personalen var välkomnande - men nattpersonalen var inte kunnig om tiden för frukost :-( och gav oss fel nyckel till rummet - kostade oss onödigt spring i trappen ! :-(

    Deras hembakade bröd var väldigt gott

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Great place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need to spare table at the restaurant for the people who are staying at the hotel. Due to dining week restaurant was fully booked, which was one of my motives to stay at this hotel.

    Journalist lady who's working at the reception is doing fantastic job, well done!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.1
    Hotel ambiance ok, hotel room poor
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor standard room, way too small for 2 persons! No access to charge your phone or use hairdryer. Bathroom small, but ok! Service restaurant was ok, but the ordered Gewurztraminer was not served cold! Better to have smaller wine list with proper quality!

    WiFi was very ok everywhere! Lounge, bar very nice ambiance, just fine! Staff helpful...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Personalet for uerfaren
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personalet for uerfaren

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Staff very friendly and accomodating
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly and accomodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staffs, balcony + sea view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staffs, balcony + sea view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.0
    Could not wait to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Very cozy, charming and comfortable hotel on top location. Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much space in wardrobe

    comfortable bed, natural bedding, nice lounge

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Oldy worldy great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    The bed was not comfortable - too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable - too small

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    6.7
    Good value for money and quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dinner upon arrival - kitchen closes early

    The view and the quiet location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    6.3
    Sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No electric kettle in the room to make tea or coffee. No tea bags or coffee either. Small room for the money. The bathroom facilities were worn(shower head was hanging on a hook with no holder). The glass door of the shower didn't close. Very noisy as downstairs is a restaurant. Also could hear every noise from upstairs room. In overall bad value for money.

    Sea view. Bed was alright.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    8.3
    Nice room, peaceful and lovely decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was not a big problem, but they did not have my booking when I came, and I was happy that they had room for me nonetheless, but it was a bit unsettling to think what I would do if they didn't? I was to attend a dinner nearby, otherwise I wouldn't have stayed at that location. And after coming back home the day after, I received another party's bill by mail. Not a big issue, which was quickly cleared up, but ....

    Nice room, peaceful and lovely decor. Staff was friendly and smiling.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.3
    Wonderful hotel, great sea view and great location for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike breakfast a little pricey but then Copenhagen is in general and we were expecting it to be.

    Wonderful hotel, great sea view and great location for exploring the east cost. The superior sea view room was one of the most comfortable I have stayed in.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.3
    Lovely small family owned hotel with personal attention and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Asked for a double bed but got 2 singles which we pushed together but the duvets weren't great and the beds themselves were not exactly luxurious.

    Lovely small family owned hotel with personal attention and lovely location in a good area. Has a very pretty restaurant with good food.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.9
    Beautiful, well kept hotel next to the shore in a close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lived in room 1 in an annex to the main hotel. Poor WiFi signal. Poor sound isolation between adjoining rooms. Beachfront outside hotel more of a quay.

    Beautiful, well kept hotel next to the shore in a close suburb to Copenhagen. Great stay if traveling by car. Parking right outside room and 15 minutes to city centre by car. Quiet location, clean and comfortable beds. Top notch breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    9.6
    We have liked everything.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We have liked everything...we have enjoyed our short trip.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    7.1
    Great service from the cafe staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great service from the cafe staff.. Very attentive

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    10
    See view, delicious restaurant, really friendly, helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    See view, delicious restaurant, really friendly, helpful and pleasant staff.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location the rooms the fact an all night party was on presumably to get some much needed revenue - it was understaffed also

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    8.3
    We had a corner room on the third floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast is expensive for a buffet.

    We had a corner room on the third floor. The view from our room was beautiful!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Simply everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Simply everything

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    I had a great time.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had a great time. Skovshoved is lovely. The room was really nice. The restaurant and not least the kro was fabulous.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    6.3
    Great getaway from CPH;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    VERY SMALL room. Not worth the price. Overpriced breakfast - opt out if you can.

    Great getaway from CPH; quiet calm and serene.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.2
    Hotel great situation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room very small and beds very hard

    Hotel great situation. Pleasant to be out of the city.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    10
    Location, location super home feeling and lovely food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My pillow in bed

    Location, location super home feeling and lovely food

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    10
    Den vennlige og personlige atmosfære
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Den vennlige og personlige atmosfære

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: