Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Svanen Billund 4 stars

Nordmarksvej 8, 7190 Billund, Denmark

#16 of 16 hotels in Billund

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1689 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast selection was *exactly* the same in Hotel Legoland and here - every day!

    This was my second visit after a few days in Hotel Legoland, which were included in my package. This hotel is way cheaper than Hotel Legoland - and all in all better (except possibly for families with small children.)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is exactly the same every day - at least some variety would be nice. The shower curtain in Room 23 is too small (it is bigger in Room 24, which I had on my second visit).

    The hotel is rather new with well-equipped rooms. The breakfast quality is very high. People are friendly (like everywhere in Denmark, I suppose). The rooms are spacious (at least for one or two people; probably 4 would fit in). Check-in was/is possible early (1 p.m.), that's nice. Hint: The restaurant in the hotel is very good - and fairly priced for Denmark standards.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel not far from Legoland. The rooms were pleasant, clean and good value for the money. Our daughter loved the fact that there was a trampoline right outside our room. When we stayed it was really hot so air con would have been great but was not available. It was a lovely place to stay, not the best we have stayed in but we booked it more for the location and price as we knew we would not be spending huge amounts of time in the room and I would stay there again. We did all really enjoy the breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, which made the room slightly uncomfortable at night.

    Staff were excellent, good facilities for children and fabulous restaurant. Great location to visit all Lego attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner menu was a bit limited. I would have enjoyed a wider selection. But the food was good.

    On arrival we were upgraded from a superior room to a junior suite. It had the facilities I would expect from a good 4 star hotel but with the extra bonus of a jacuzzi bath and an electric fan - essential as there was no air conditioning. Beds, linen and towels all good quality. Obviously, given the close proximity to Legoland, this is a busy hotel but that did not take from the service provided.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A high standard hotel. Service very helpful and nice. a little poor internet level but it is manageable at the reception. Tasty meals and at affordable prices. Close to Legoland and Lalandi (about 5-7 minutes walk). I recommend to other clients

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel with great breakfast choice and close to Lego Land (10 min walk) and Lego House Museum (20 minute walk) Only slight downside is the lack of choice for veggies at dinner but we knew that before going and it's a Danish thing, not a hotel thing. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    mattress topper sliding away from bed, no price list in room, no travel adapter=would benefit, buy some with USB port as many people use USB these days to charge

    location, breakfast food amazing and lots of choices, parking, new room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room on the second floor without degrees. I would expect help with the strollers and the suitcases.

    Beautiful rooms, shower The Jacuzzi is large and spacious. Breakfast is excellent. Walking distance to Lego Land and Landia.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A really nice dinner menu is online but only a buffet was available as it was the Easter Holiday, what a pity the dinner menus is still on the hotel website.

    Frankly this property was a massive disappointment in every single regard

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was fabulous and LEGOland was only a short walk. We’d recommend this out of all the options. It’s great quality and set up perfectly for families. I’d also go as a couple or for business

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little too much horizontal snow and flags even for experienced outdoors folks .. the staff were sterling and the kitchen gave us an early breakfast and surprised us with great trip sandwiches!

    Staff, room and dining facilities outstanding ... comfy cozy and luxury bath/shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast began at 5am, perfect for our family leaving to Billund Airport early in the morning. The family room had plenty of space for a family of 5.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During the first day I had thrown my dirty towles by the side of the tub in a messy pile. Very easy to see. They still were there, when I got back late at night. Was not able to go back outside to get new fresh once from the reception. So I had to use the wet dirty once day 2 as well.... not very fun. No glass refill day 2. Only plastic cups even for wine - and hade to reuse them as well.

    Nice tidy rooms when we got there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were annexed outside and during the constant rainfall the paths to and from the main building were around 1" deep!

    Evening dinner menu was very much meat based and the Lamb fillet in the restaurant was superb!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is remarkable, with self baked waffle, eggs in various form, cheese, different yogurts and fruit. Staff is very friendly and the atmosphere is professional but not impersonal. The room was spacious, with a good TV and clean. Not particularly fashionable however. The hotel is very close Legoland and Lalandia, a big indoor waterpark. Lego House is a 20-25 minute walk, which with daylight can be reached via the sculpture park trail, which I suggest. The hotel is reachable by bus, even though there's a 10-15 minute walk from the bus stop. I believe the hotel is very good for a family trip including Lego House, Legoland and Lalandia.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little to no service at restaurant, staff was too busy joking around in the kitchen.

    Good hotel, layout more as a Motel. Clean and nice rooms. Very low service at the restaurant though.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows in the bed were way too soft (person opinion)

    Quickest check in and out ever - very nice and big breakfast - very friendly staff - junior suite was spacious and comfortable (except of the pillows)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the restaurant staff was excellent and super friendly, unfortunately, not all of the reception staff was.

    Bath tubs in the suite rooms are super nice! Food at the restaurant is excellent!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Found it a bit odd that you had to walk outside to find your room. However, after the first time it was not an issue. The staff were unbelievably friendly and courteous, loved this aspect as it means a lot to us!! A nice little walk into Billund but other things were closer by like Lalandia( may have spelt this wrong). Very close to the airport. Food, very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Billund is built around Lego but this hotel caters for tourists and locals alike. The rooms are basic northern european hotel fare but have everything you would need. The staff were very helpful even when things were busy. The buffet breakfast was very nice. The hotel itself is lo-rise, consisting of several satellite blocks of rooms around the main building, all very close though. We never climbed any stairs or steps so would likely suit those with restricted mobility.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is more like a motel than a hotel. My room really smelled bad like old cigarette smoke and was very worn and scruffy with dated decor. The restaurant was disappointing and the service very slow. I wouldn't stay here again.

    There was good on-site parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable and luxurious room, the bathroom stuff and bed sheets were clean. The breakfast is also very good, cold and hot dishes for every taste, waffles, fruits. There is also a charger for electric cars on the parking for 2 cars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu in restaurant was very limited for both adults and children

    Location, room was modern and comfortable, excellent modern bathroom with heated floors

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some worker made terrible noise with a crane in the early morning. When ever the crane moved up or down, there was a long and very loud horn sound. Did keep on for half an hour. Suggestion: don’t do it early in the morning!

    Close to legoland. Great breakfast!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we only stayed for one night. Only stayed there because our flight parted from Billund.

    We were pleasantly surprised by the quality offered at Hotel Svanen Billund. Room and bathroom were very spacious and comfy; just fantastic. Abundant parking space, very helpful staff and a delicious breakfast to top it up.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room's interior was a bit dated and had somewhat stale air. The cleaning was really bad because we found a bit of old soap and a piece of chocolate on the floor, and we found an old greasy cookie stuck between the two beds! The staff offered us a free dessert in the restaurant as compensation, but the cookie was still there even after the next day's cleaning.

    The restaurant was really nice, with very good food and friendly, helpful staff. The breakfast was good and had a nice selection of high quality bread. Just a short walk to Lalandia and Legoland.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the standard room was very economic-class although not cheap at all. There was no baby cot in either standard or business room, although we checked in a 2-year-old kid.

    Breakfast was tasty, convenient location next to LEGOLAND, Lalandia and airport. Staff polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the bar in the evening can be improved. After getting something to drink you can wait 30 minutes and nobody will ask you whether you like something more

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms have the charm of the 70ties. Not very comfortable and welcoming. Beds were too soft. No minibar available in the room.

    Hotel close to the airport. Breakfast was okay - but not presented in a nice way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Waiting times in bar and restaurant were rather long. There was also a lot of noise until after midnight next to our room because of a wedding, and hotel staff did not ask the people to be more quiet

    Food was very good, staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very unfriendly and unhelpful. Charged a 2.5% fee to use credit card. Our room was in a 2 storey wing and we were on the ground floor. Had gravel / stones parking around building and another guest's car was parked at our bedroom window which made it noisy on their departure. Shower floor looked like it hadn't been washed in months and had no door so water went everywhere. Breakfast was very ordinary.

    Was about a 10 minute walk to Legoland.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a nice place but it seemed expensive for what you get. I think this is probably due to prices is Denmark though. It is generally similar to a motel but there are a couple of blocks that have rooms upstairs and we had one of these. I looked online before we went and it showed that there was a shuttle bus to some of the local hotels from the airport but I couldn't find this when I got to the airport. The local bus took us to the Legoland entrance and from there it was about a 10 minute walk. When we left, we were taking the train to Copenhagen. You need to take a bus to Vejle and the bus stop is about a 5 minute walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Liked everything, nothing to say here :).

    Very clean and very quiet hotel. Friendly, helpful and organised waiters and receptionists. Plenty of parking space for travelers with vehicles. Noticed that the hotel is a great place to hold formal and informal meetings as the dining area can be tweaked as needs arise with the use of partitions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic cups and glasses - very tacky. Shower so small you could not bend to get soap and shampoo from the floor which was there because there was no shelf in the shower.

    Size of room Ground floor Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff werent very accommodating, quite abrupt when asking for information, very over priced accommodation more like a travel lodge for top London hotel prices! Paid more for the stay here than in a central London hotel with Big Ben view from hotel room. Beds were very uncomfortable with just a mattresses topper on a flat board bed, sofa bed just had a mattress protector not even a topper when asked for the topper they put a little duvet instead! Found the whole place expensive for a budget hotel! Travel lodge in UK is much better value and more comfy. Pre ordered a birthday cake, asked the waiter to to bring it out as a surprise had to ask again as he had 'forgot' then came out with the cake candles unlit and placed it in front of the birthday boy (who's seven).. Great! Didn't even say happy birthday to him!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the friendliest people working there... Room was ok but very basic. Rates are too high for such a basic hotel.

    Good location! 15 walking minutes to LEGOLAND. The room was fairly clean. Choices for breakfast were good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not really comfortable

    Hotel is very close to legoland park (less than 5 minutes walking). Comfortable room. Free shuttle service to/from airport. Breakfast is really good, you can choose between a variety of food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we returned to the room in the afternoon, the windows where left open. Since the room was on the first floor, it felt a bit unsafe. In their defense, it was a very warm day.

    Very friendly staff. Large room and nice dinner buffet and breakfast. Ten minute walk to Legoland. Perfect for families who want to visit Legoland.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is too high The location – to close to the road and no even plants between them Breakfast are overloaded by people in high season and lack of space in the room with food Coffee is not tasty Bath equipment was not on a good condition The room did not feel clean enough

    Location is only 700 m from Legoland Access to the rooms – private entrance Big room (got business instead of comfort) Well equipped room (iron, kettle, desk)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very crowded (food area very small) and difficult to get to the food. The various food items did not always have separate serving utensils so I was/am a bit concerned about "catching" something. In 56 days of traveling (on this trip only) have NEVER been in a such busy or crowded breakfast room.

    The location was perfect for avoiding parking at Legoland by walking or taking the FREE bus. Walking was even easier than the bus because we did not have to wait for the bus. Breakfast had a variety of cereal, gluten free options and fruit. Staff were friendly and there was a laundry service that took less than a day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good opportunity for those visiting Legoland (walking distance or free shuttle). Standard breakfast - with waffle maker as attraction for kids. Good room with tea and coffee facilities. Small playground for kids. Parking outside the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only buffet option at the restaurant, little food left, but was filled up after a while. Cleaning could have been better in the room.

    Central location to Legoland, good parking facilities, Children friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price is too much, the room was simple, not like a 4 star hotel, maybe 3 stars.

    A very nice hotel, near to Legoland, where you can reach by walk or by a free shutlle bus, station is in front of hotel. Breakfast is excelent, a lot of fruits also. From reception you can get free maps and a lot of directions. The room was clean, hot wather, very good cosmetics, free wi fi

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe price could be a little bit lower.

    Very good location, close to Legoland, just walking distance. Shuttle bus to the airport, good breakfast. Hotel friendly to families.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think should be a fridge in room.

    Breakfast was very good! Beds were comfortable and bathroom was clean large and nice. Location of this hotel to Legoland and Lalandia is very good - only 800 meters. Personell was very friendly and we received some extra benefits. Our stay was very good and we are satified, our children were happy there. It was cheaper than Legoland hotel but very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant staff systemically overcharged for drinks, delivered unordered drinks to tables, promised to remove them from the bill but didn't. I found them manipulative and dishonest.

    Comfy bedsS

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They don't have minibar in the room.

    Good location, near to Legoland and Lalandia and close to airport. Very good breakfast. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath, small terrace perhaps, we stayed in a comfort room, that is bigger and more expensive

    Breakfast was very good indeed! Bed could have been more comfy to sleep. And for the price I pay at the relatively remote place I would expect bath and fridge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need air conditioners could not sleep well as very hot

    breakfast was super big spread and very nicely placed , all items were to my liking , also very quite place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For some reason, the plastic glasses and coffee cups in the rooms bugged me for a four-star property. The beds were a bit small and very firm. The room could use some air circulation other than opening the window. A mosquito had fun munching on my son during the night. :-(

    The breakfast buffet was amazing. It was kept well-stocked. This property is really close to Legoland and Lalandia - exceedingly walkable. I suppose you could even walk to the hotel but that's a bit far. The bus from the airport goes to Legoland so if you choose to not take a taxi, this is your best option. Staff is efficient and nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unwelcoming. They charge you with an extra fee of 3.75% when paying with a foreign Mastercard-credit. Ridiculous. Not many other options at this price within the area, so price-wise isn't really the greatest deal ever.

    Location and room comfort

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the bathroom in standard room, it looks like in the 1 star hotel not like in 4 star. Better pay more for suite. The breakfast buffet was modest.

    Comfortable beds. Free parking. Warm in the room and bathroom, sometimes even too much.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Some elements could use a renovation. - Bad smell from nearby horse stables (depending on wind direction).

    - Excellent breakfasts. - Quiet neighbourhood, practically in the countryside, yet very close to Legoland and Lalandia. - Large and comfortable room. - Cool park nearby, excellent for relaxing walks and jogging.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the time of booking (about 4-5 months in advance) there were only standard rooms available, but in a 4 star hotel one would expect decent accommodation. On the contrary, standard rooms are 2 star quality, at best. I've seen nicer dorm rooms. The room we got (32) was dirty and very worn, we were greeted by a foul smell. If this room was in a camping or a bungalow park, it would've been somewhat acceptable, but not in a 4 star place. The guest file has not been cleaned in a while, visible dirt, pages stuck together. Room service menu wasn't the actual menu, but something old list of meals, that were no longer available. I did not dare to step on the bathroom floor barefoot, mold was everywhere. In standard rooms there is no safety box or minibar. Room 32 (and all other 30s) overlook the beer terrace and the playground. The 100 year old looking doors and windows provide no sound insulation whatsoever. On the second night (of a 2 night stay) at 1 am we had to call reception to break the party up outside so we can get some sleep. Breakfast is from 5 am, so expect trolley bags on the concrete and kids from 4:30 am onward. We did not complain, as moving us would have been pretty pointless as we were there for 2 days. If I was asked upon check out, I would have provided some feedback, but the reception guy was uninterested in us, and without me knowing the price or seeing the bill asked me to insert my credit card. Me asking politely if I could see the bill before I pay for it left him in complete shock. Once I've seen it he shredded it and printed a new one and told me, he needs to print the invoice after I paid. I'm not sure if this is common practice, but it was an unpleasant experience, that I had to demand an invoice before paying, rather than after I paid... There is limited choice for accommodation in Billund, but if you can, go to Propellen. Seems a lot nicer.

    The only 2 things we really liked about this hotel is the proximity to Legoland and the a'la cart dinner in restaurant No8. Dinner was really nice, but also really expensive, about 120 EUR for 2 mains and a dessert.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They take additional fee (in my case - about 48 DKK) if you pay by credit card. Sorry, but I find this ridiculous in 2017. This spoiled overall impression.

    Short walking distance to Legoland. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both dinner and breakfast buffet are good, but there is not enough variety of food. Price is inline with what is being served. Could be improved.

    Nice and clean room. Walking distance to legoland and lalandia.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think they really need to improve the veggie options in the menu both at breakfast and dinner. There is no place to hang the wet towels in the bathroom! It would be easier to use them more times.

    I liked the breakfast and the lounge hall att the hotel entrance. The staff were very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Business Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff rather rude and disoriented. No flexibility for late checkout although the hotel was empty! The check in and checkout was so fast that was rude, no good evening or good day. Terrible service from my perspective

    Location is fairly close to Legoland a d Lalaland. Bed, pillows and covers are incredibly comfortable!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrive hotel at midday and then suprisly we ve been told that we can check in at 3pm. To be honest it's a bit of fault on our side as we should check it before. On another hand we didn't meet that late check in for last couple of years especially that you have to check out before midday.

    Breakfast was quite nice and tasty

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very noisy in room 20 too much eucalyptus smell in hallway poor -tight parking very full hotel I have been here 6 times -you think a nicer room was allowed.

    restraint was nice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit Motel rather than Hotel. My room was OK, but I felt a bit isolated from the facilities.

    Good sized room. Handy for the airport (and Legoland)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price is too high but this is the norm in Billund during holiday season.

    Overall good in most aspects and the restaurant food and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room decoration could be improved (too basic decoration for a 4 star-hotel). The hotel charges 100 DKK (13 euros) if you pay by credit card. It's not really fair as there are not a lot of people carrying cash. The ventilation in my room was broken (number 40). There is not enough light coming in the room due to the fact that there is only 1 large but horizontal window. Walls are very thin so we could hear baby crying and doors closing. The price of the room is too expensive for the service you can get. It should not be rated as a 4 stars.

    Good breakfast, big variety but a staff member is needed to help making the crepes. It looks too messy when done by the clients. The hotel has a restaurant but too expensive (+/- 33 euros for a main course). The hotel has a cocktail bar/corner. My cocktail was great but I got served after waiting for 20 minutes.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is not enough choices on the restaurant menu considering that the hotel caters for foreign visitors. Would be nice if the menu is looked at. Near by hotels have a variety of meals on offer.

    I liked the breakfast which had a variety on offer.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms and food are overpriced....but this is probably due to the proximity to Legoland. The room had not had the pillowcases changed on one of the bed. Not ideal.

    Location was excellent. A ten minute walk to Legoland and a 5-10 minute drive from the airport.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location access for non car drivers difficult, since no zebra crossing on the road. check in and check out times do not allow enough flexibility for short staying.

    comfortable bed. good food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    took bus 43 to the central, wait for more than one hour of bus 384, but it did not come, and we had to walked and difficult to find people know the hotel location.

    not easy to find the hotel though it is around 500 meters from legoland

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner buffet had a very poor choice and a restricted area which we were not advised of. If we had known we would have eaten elsewhere. Poor value.

    Great choice of breakfast food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed sheets were a bad mix of some kind of polyester. I've never stayed in a hotel that doesn't have 100% cotton sheets. I couldn't sleep. felt a bit like the princess and the pea but that's how it was. .

    the restaurant and the proximity to legoland. 10 minute walk with little kids.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite hot and there was no airconditioning. Rooms were on the ground floor and the staff left the windows open after cleaning. It seemed a bit risky even though being on the countryside especially because there was no safety deposit box in the room.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had no air conditioning and almost no ventilation. We slept with windows open, luckily it wasn't hot.

    Good breakfast. Very good location: a walking distance to Legoland. Comfortable beds. Free parking. Enough counterspace in the bathroom. Wifi worked beautifully. (We had a fairly recently renovated room, so nothing was broken or worn out.)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More options to eat. Room was just about enough for family with 2 kids.

    Decent hotel for families. Quite close with 10 mins walk to Legoland. Free shuttle bus available every hour to Legoland and airport. Thats for all hotels in Billund. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were there for the LEGOLAND as most of the travellers with children. The hotel is within a walking distance to the LEGOLAND, which is convenient. The rooms, in my view, would benefit from some renovations and freshing-up considering that it was pretty expensive but very basic with furniture from I suppose early 90's which was not quite clean and warned down. The restaurant and the reception was quite nice and served good breakfast and pretty nice buffet dinner for a good price considering the amount and variety of food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast hour was chaotic with 1 very unhappy staff that wanted everyone to know she was not content. Rooms are ok and spacious for a family of four. Squeaky sofa bed.

    Good location if you are going to Legoland.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Svanen Billund traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: