Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Svanen Grindsted 3 stars

Hedemarken 22, 7200 Grindsted, Denmark

#9 of 11 hotels in Grindsted

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 493 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant was close at 20.00, got an excuse that it is run be a different company. Should advertise as we have a restaurant sometimes. Breakfast was very simple. Cleaning materials left in the shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is somewhat basic. The bed could be more comfy. The bathroom is a bit old fashioned. Resaturant is closing early (8:30pm); Would have liked some veggies as sidedish when ordering steak.

    Nice hotel. Not too far from Billund Airport. Friendly staff. Nice restaurant. Good food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I arrived the hotel Sunday 4 P.M. the reception is not open (nobody in the hotel.) I was really shocked (the hotel is closed?), but finaly I know how to get in. Room is dirty. Sofa bed is small, even 175cm height.

    Playgrounds for kids. Close to LEGOLAND. Quiet place. Free parking(little worry about security)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good Breakfast and evening buffet. Friendly and helpful staff. Fairly basic accommodation, but this is pretty standard, we have learned, for Denmark. Clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Conveniently located for a trip to Legoland but yet in a quiet and peaceful area with lots of nature around. Many places for kids to play. Fantastic breakfast. Very friendly staff - thank you for the nice stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathroom, moss in corner of bathroom, back of heather in bathroom even never was cleaned from dust. Bust most schoking was when you open the door and you see leftovers from watermelon on a plate. Everybody can see in pictures attached

    Good location, close to Legoland

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a little bit difficult to reach this place with public transport. But if you traveling by car everything is ok.

    Very nice place to stay. Clean room. big playground for children, good breakfast, helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived to the hotel very late, when I arrived, I read the information you have in the room. I was happy to read that there is a possibility to charge the mobile phone. In the morning I asked the reception , no charger where found and there was no possibility to buy one from your place. I wish I had the Possibility to borrow one. If you are people are not returning when they borrow, ask for their passport or id and they get back when they return what the charger.

    The staff are kind and helpful. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower room has no place to put anything. The cabinet on top of the water basin is broken. The curtain cannot really block the sun light so it is not dark enough to sleep well. Network can be better also.

    It is quiet, the room size is good enough for a family. The service from the staff is very good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast were not good. Needs improvement. Charging for credit card payment is not acceptable.

    Dinner were good and the service fine. Good service from the receptionist as well. Always with a smile.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a double bed and they gave us a twin room. They charge extra when using credit card and that wasn't mentioned on the web. The breakfast was ok, it didn't have much variety (no scrambled eggs among other stuff).

    The place was really cozy. It has a nice playground with a trampoline.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is a bit pricy but very good and food was great. Prices are probably normal for Daenish standards.

    Hotel is ok. Staff is very welcoming and friendly and I did enjoy my short stay. Overall a very nice hotel with a very good standard and no faults.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The childrens menu for the evening only had three options and was very basic

    Breakfast buffet was great, excellent selection, play park suitable for all ages. Fantastic location close by to tourist attractions

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is really minimalist, enough but don't expect a lot. Extremely noisy the night we stayed there, but mainly because of some guests sitting outside and speaking loudly until at least midnight. We were feeling like 10 people were talking in our room, so it was impossible for the kids to fall asleep... But as mentioned, most likely just bad luck!

    Close to legoland, plenty of space for kids to play (trampoline, jumping pillow, swings, Lego). Really good dinner buffet and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything should be improved for the money they are charging. Rooms are very small so is the bathroom. Our room did not have AC or Fan so it was very uncomfortable for all of us.

    Did not like anything about this facility. Paid more than 5 Star Hotel for a small Motel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel, nice area

    Big, nice rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was just a very basic buffet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing bulb in the bedside lamp

    Free coffee in the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricy because of closeness to lego.

    Feiendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Playground for the kids

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was great! Breakfast was especially good with many options. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this motel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing really. It was all very positive.

    Excellent breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff; and who spoke very good English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress in the beds were not very comfortable

    Very good breakfirst buffet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff, has playground for kids. Come early to enjoy the facilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff, and nice breakfast. For us it's still easy to access to Legoland in Billund, with 15 minutes' drive by car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good place for families with energetic kids,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit dark.

    Nice breakfast, good playground, spacious bathroom, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ventilation/temperature at night.

    Very nice surroundings close to nature.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It needs a update!

    It's fine if you are passing through. Don't expect anything great.. but the staff is helpfull and their is food and beds

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location for visiting the Legoland. Good for family stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi disconnected constantly.

    Comfortable beds, and location close to Billund (Legoland/lalandia).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is pricey, but close to Legoland. And that's also why we choose the hotel.

    Dinner buffet is very nice and good food.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room curtains, too much light, I suggest adding blackouts!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Family Room (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC, bad breakfast, not clean, diddnt strike me as a hotel. Seems to be at motel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Smell of cow manure every morning and night so strong couldn't open the window

    Breakfast selection Plugs next to the bed (doesn't always have that)

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was a little bit away from parking but that can be expected in a facility like this

    Nice overnight stay. BF menu was great !! Very convenient commute to Legoland park in Billund

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They did not take the plates from my room when they cleaned the room.

    They arranged for food even we reached the hotel late night after their kitchen closed.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    While checking in, no one informed me Reception would be closed at 4am. (so I had to leave without paying the hotel). No hairdryer, neither option to get one? No breakfast service early (as it's close to an airport).

    You arranged my taxi.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was not tidied after the first night and the toiletries were not completed. Bed looked messier than how I left it behind in the morning.

    Nice to be in a hotel which is all ground floor level. Nice big football field and trampoline for kids.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice hotel not far from Legoland. It is structured like an american motel so you have to go outside from the main building to reach your room through a nice garden. The room was nice and breakfast very good. Nice experience!

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I have booked for 3 persons but the room was set up for 2. We arrived late so there was no one to ask for extra blanket and pillow. ended up sleeping in 2 single beds attached together. The next day had to ask twice for the room to be set up for 3. There is a fee when paying by credit card, it is mentioned in the folder in the room. But does not mention how much, which resulted in a big fee.

    breakfast was very good. Quite and nice area. very clean. close to bus stop to go to LEGOLAND, Lalandia and airport.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    First room smells like cats piss. Bathroom fan didnt work. Eveningtime not any service, should come early enough. Second room was better, but not very good. Only one man in breakfast area and he didnt clean tables and didnt bring more food to tables very fast. Should me more people working...

    Breakfast very good

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only one small comment ...the pillows are very lumpy.

    A very warm welcome (and check-out). Easy to find and excellent base for legoland! Excellent breakfast Comfortable room Great playground

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel really needs to improve the beds. According to other reviews, I was thinking that mattress shall not be a problem, but it is really too soft and uncomfortable. Pillows are small and flat, but we did not use them, because mattresses are soft and easier to sleep without pillows. It is not 2 person bed, it is 2 singles close to each other, and couches are moving easily, and you can fall between. The kids bed is just an opened sofa, too small and too cheap. There is nothing to hold the shampoo and soap in shower, this makes me creasy during showering, I had a problem to catch the shower gel on the showers floor! I would like the hotel improves this items before to recommending to someone stay in hotel.

    Very good restaurant! Breakfasts and dinners were best impressions in hotel! Perfect for traveling with family. Many playgrounds for kids. Good parking, close to rooms.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pretty basic. Old television set with missing remote control. Cleaning of room at 4:00 pm. Dinner in the high season only buffet. Stretched staffing.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a bit far from all the services like shops or resturants, you need to get ever a bus, that it brings you there in about 10 mins,

    The Hotel is very beautiful, clean and comfortable. The food is good. The place is very quiet and around the hotel only trees and green fields.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were surprised to be charged 150 Krona per person for tap water with our meal.

    Good location after a day at Lego,convenient parking and spacious clean rooms. Family orientated with outdoor playing space. Good dining facilities with delicious evening buffet at a reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The cleaning of the room was horrible. Bathroom sink was dirty every day, there was blood on the wall by the bed, probably from killing bugs on the wall. Bad vacuuming job in the room.

    Very friendly staff in reception and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room is little bit dark. The bed could be harder one. The payment with the credit card ist charged by the extra fee. So it is better to use the debit card to pay (e.g. Maestro) or to pay with the cash. The reception desk is opened only till 21.00, but if you plan to come later you can contact the reception and they will leave the key there so you can enter the room.

    The breakfast was excellent, wide variety of food, everything was tasty. The breakfast was better than in majority of 4* hotels I have ever stayed. We really enjoyed the stay there, the hotel is close to the Legoland in Billund. I appreciate also the playground for children and the trampoline. There is also the kettle in each room with the tea or coffee to be prepared so you can also prepare some drinks for your family in the evening, or to warm the baby food if necessary.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower was moldy and its door didn't have a seal at the bottom, so the floor flooded.

    Proximity to Legoland, free parking and wifi, good breakfast selection. In-room coffee and tea maker.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't like the lamp formed as a machine-gun in the restaurant. In a time with fear of terror and political problems all over the world I think it is an awful signal to send in a cosy restaurant.

    The friendly atmosphere and the good food. And a good desk to work at in the room.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    3-5% loadings for credit cards.

    I liked the motel feel with my room accessed from an enclosed, but outdoor, square. My room was modern, comfortable And well maintained. Buffet breakfast was excellent. Professional staff. Very happy with my overnight stay based on the 'value' price paid (500kr).

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Absolutely crap breakfast, small rooms. Dishonest people, they do not want to help you at all

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The only downside is there was no buffet for diner, which would be handy for families with young children

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    They only have twin rooms with single beds

    Food was excellent

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was extremely hard - and room uninspiring.

    Very nice service at the reception.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Every thing was perfect. Not far from lego land. Realy good breakfast. Free parking :)

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Forniture of the room is old

    Nice location and the restaurant....

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    The position: quite place, near Legoland and the airport The breakfast: good restaurant with a lot of foods.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet, good WiFi and convenient for the airport (BLL)

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable room, quiet location despite the two busy roads nearby

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Smell in the room

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant closing at 9 p.m., too early for business travellers.

    Reasonable price for this area

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location - close to Legoland

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice service ! value for money

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The evening we stayed the rooms were unbearably hot, no air con.

    evening meal and breakfast both excellent.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice place to stay a while during trip. Great localisation for sightseeing.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Welcoming personal, great dinner-buffee, comfortable distance to the Legoland, and good value for money

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Conveniently located for Legoland, bus stop close and good connections to Legoland (abt 15-20 mins ride), if you want to avoid crowded parking there.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed is too low and too soft.

    Kids friendly, nice staff, and good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice studio room, parking almost next to door.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress was not comfortable

    Buffet bfast and the bus stage infront

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The rooms are very basic, Wifi can be faster

    The staff is very friendly

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: