Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Square 4 stars

Rådhuspladsen 14, DK-1550 Copenhagen, Denmark

#40 of 102 hotels in Copenhagen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2277 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice but crowded
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller than expected. Very cramped for 4 people. The hotel was also very crowded/busy. I had to wait in line 30 min. to check in .

    The bed was very comfortable! The bathroom was nice and large. The breakfast was good as well. It is located steps from Tivoli.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Good for a short stay in Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location near Tivoli and train station is perfect. Staff friendly and very helpfull. The only thing that bothers us was the rooms and bathrooms’doors that make lots of noise while opening.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice and clean hotel with excellent location at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction work done in the street just outside the hotel. So during the second night we stayed here the noice from the street was extremely loud. So very little sleep the second night unfortunately...

    Nice and clean hotel with excellent location at Rådhuspladsen. Very friendly and service-minded hotel staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little small but we did stay in Old town. Did not want to provide us with a final bill. It was prepaid through Bookings.com so they said I should contact them. There were no additional charges so everything was correct. I just wanted it in writing.

    Great location and friendly staff. They stored our luggage when we came early. Decent WiFi .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    A nice surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say. Very good. Maybe the outside could do with some renovation, but fortunately you sleep in the inside.

    Location is excellent, within walking distance of major Copenhagen's attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Good choice for decent accommodations - recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I upgraded to the lounge access. Only went twice. 1st time construction was extremely loud. 2nd there was no shade on the nice balcony. Only one cheap beer available with some snacks. Room was very hot

    Nice location, except for the construction - but there are many other construction projects in the city so it is hard to avoid Front desk folks very nice and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a major road work around the hotel. The entrance to the hotel right next to the construction, taxi can't stop in front of the hotel and also the noise

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Good central location, friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good central location, friendly staff. Only drawback was I was on first floor on the side of the building with roadworks and they started work at 6am. Perhaps could have been put in a room further away/ higher up.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location near station and main square.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No blackout curtains in rooms - a must in summer. Air conditioning which simply blew warm, musty air. Check in was slightly shambolic. Street noise very loud in rooms.

    Good location near station and main square.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    great location, great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is situated in a great location and is beautiful. The thing we loved most about it and which made all the difference was the staff. all I can say is Wow. they went out of their way and we won't forget it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic location and The Lounge was a nice place to sit...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was street work around the hotel, which made it difficult to get a taxi but this wasn't the fault of the hotel.

    Fantastic location and The Lounge was a nice place to sit and have a quiet evening. The staff were very friendly, and Lisa solved some last minute meeting room needs and was really really helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.0
    Hotel survives due to its location. Otherwise it is very overpriced for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For a four star hotel, it is very overpriced. Room was small, not well organized, no safe in room, air condition does not work well. room was not cleaned well. Seems to cater to large groups, lobby very crowded. Elevators are small and crammed. Due to ongoing construction, taxis have problems parking. I booked through Booking.com, I remember taking a room with breakfast included, but they ended charging us for breakfast too, and blamed Bookings.com. I would not stay at this hotel again.

    Location is excellent. Breakfast is good quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    On the whole, The Square is a very good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room for 3. It was very small for 3 people. We managed because it was only 3 nights.

    Very good breakfast. Excellent location. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    We were quite happy with the say but we would have been happier with coffee, tea and clean glasses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    How ever there vere few things I did not like. In the room was a catle for heating water and two cups and sugar end milk but no tea or coffee. I doupt that many people take hot water with milk and sugar ! And when we arived there were two glasses beside the bar but the next morning the cleaning team took it and did not replace them. Even though we did aske them to do so. Onse I phoned the lobby and asked them to send glasses up but they never did. We staid 4 nights and all the time there was no coffee and no tead and no glasses !

    This hotel is very well located and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and nice and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    Good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy as road works right outside and a 3 day concert. House keeping very erratic and room not clean enough

    Bed very comfortable and location amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice Copenhagen trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably most of the people won’t need it, even in the hottest days of summer but the air conditioner is cooling inadequately. Corridors are cool but the room never cooled during my stay. You can’t smoke in the building, even at the balcony.

    Hotel’s location is great, you can go to important locations of Copenhagen easily on foot and to some farther locations, from very near bus stops. It’s also very easy to access to airport. Staff is very helpful, friendly and always smiling. Rooms are clean and the bed is way too soft but yet comfortable. Breakfast is very good, plenty of various kind of foods, you never abstain to take “the last bacon” or “the last croissant”, serving plates are always full and fresh.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy on the side because of some work on the roads and not well isolated. Breakfast is fine except that there is no big choice of fruits.

    Extremely well located. Near to metro and very central. Very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Not value for money. It is very expensive hotel to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room were very small and bathroom amenities not very good. Outside hotel now construction going on and transportation not very convenient when you called for taxi.

    Location were good. There no outside noises and sleep were good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.1
    Proximity to train station/bus stop and several tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Too small a room for 3 adults, for the price paid. Construction work on 2 sides of the hotel. Darkening curtains do not work effectively. Wrote to booking.com in advance that for our last night, only 2 of us would be left staying in the room but hotel was inflexible in adjusting price down.

    Proximity to train station/bus stop and several tourist spots.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    fantastic location is the only reason to pick this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was a mess, waitresses were impolite, long lines for single serving coffee machines that were always broken, signs posted near the elevators we found rude encouraging you to go to breakfast early so it wouldn't be crowded. room was tiny and not 'nice' for the high price point. no control over temperature. had to open a window.

    fantastic location is the only reason to pick this hotel. steps away from Tivoli on one side and the pedestrian walkway on the other. otherwise, pretty noisy area right on a big main road (we had a room facing inside so was not loud). staff at front desk were efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    The beds were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were comfortable. The view from the balcony was nice. Even that the balcony was small, the spaces were sufficient and cozy. The staff also helped me to make a surprise for my partner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    Aside from negatives, a great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Plastic covered furniture. Due to room facing main street traffic and construction, could not open windows due to 24 hr noise.

    Clean. great design, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    At former visits I have had issues with the staff attitude,...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At former visits I have had issues with the staff attitude, but something has changed and everyone was very kind - and greeted our dogs exceptionally well too :-) Got an upgrade because of a delay, that may even have been our own fault, as they didn’t know we were bringing dogs. That was appreciated!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice area in lounge for quiet drink on balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked executive room was very small. Shame no balcony. Shower good pressure but flooded the bathroom. Door very hard to shut which was reported.

    Nice area in lounge for quiet drink on balcony Beds very comfortable Location is excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No way I was going to pay an extra 170 DKK eacc for breakfast when I already paid 1850 DKK for one night (and I got a good deal). Our room was very warm too.

    Bathtub was great. 6th floor lounge was very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Visited with 3 friends and we would all recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing

    All the staff we came into contact with were very helpful and pleasant. Room was spacious, bathroom had all mod cons and bed comfortable. Breakfast was buffet style, no complaints food was delightful. The train station to and from the airport was situated round the corner and it was only a 10 minute journey. The hotel is centrally located and on the next block to Tivoli Gardens, which is worth the entrance fee whether you are a ride junkie or not. The hop on hop off bus is good value for money, they throw in a few extras for free including a canal boat trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    It is easy to get there from the airport.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The current view until 2019 is not very nice, as they are building metro line right in front of the hotel.

    It is easy to get there from the airport. Location is fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable. Very comfortable and very convenient for everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room at night needed to be improved which was surprising as the bathroom oozed light

    Spacious room bathroom had two sinks and heated floor lots of light and mirrors. Plenty of towels and toiletries. Fridge in room very light room very comfy beds. We upgraded so had use of their lounge which we used in the evenings. Excellent position five minutes from train station. Right in the town centre and Tivoli world three minutes away which enabled us to go back in the evening to see it lite up. Cafes and eating places right outside hotel Staff very friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay here again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Central location catering for your basic hotel needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For us, the hotel somewhat exuded a "cruise ship feeling"; narrow corridors, small beds and rooms etc. Therefore I definitely wouldn't recommend it for a romantic stay. For three friends sharing a room it offered everything we needed, though at a quite steep price considering that the third bed was merely a pull-out armchair.

    The hotel is super central and the staff really lovely. Things seem to be pretty organised; check-in was really fast and taxi bookings always very expeditious. Breakfast, while expensive, offered good quality products and a decent selection. Fans of breakfast meats might feel differently though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Well located hotel, next to Tívoli Gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Square is a well located hotel, next to Tívoli Gardens and in front of the city hall square. The rooms were small but overall I would recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    The location is very central!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for restaurant recommendations and very few options were given, I would have thought they would have a list of restaurants on hand but that wasn’t the case.

    The location is very central! Nice and clean, nice rooms, good value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    We were disappointed having enjoyed a previous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a smell of cigarette even though it was a no smoking room , we left the windows open during the night in order to sleep Additionally the room faced into an inner courtyard with adjoining and facing buildings thus it was necessary to keep the curtains closed as there were no net curtains to provide privacy

    Breakfast good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location for visiting the Tivoli and sights of Copenhagen center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a family room. The room was on the small side for 4 people. There was no gym. Entrance to a gym nearby cost extra (this really should be included in the cost of the room, as all hotels of this caliber have a small fitness center). There was construction going on in the building across the street. It was not a problem for us as they shut down for Easter vacation after the first day we were there, but I felt we should have been informed of this when the room was booked.

    Very Central location Good breakfast with fresh vegetables and fruit Nicely updated rooms Good service Friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Room service is very good: tasty and moderately priced food,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water pressure in the shower was rather low, on the second floor (out of five). Not a big deal, though.

    Room service is very good: tasty and moderately priced food, fast delivery. Of course there are a lot of places to eat nearby, but if you are too tired or cold or whatever, room service is a very good option. There is an option of "quiet rooms". The location is very good, in walking distance of many of the city attractions like for ex the Ny Carlsberg Glyptoteket where besides the sculptures there is a small tropical spot where you don't feel the freezing cold of March.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Worth the money and siuts for short-stay visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the room was a bit smaller than we expected. The aisle between double bed and walls was too tiny. As for extra sofa-bed, that was uncomfortable to relax on, because you felt a gap between sides and the madrass.

    Nice bathroom with extra products and towls. Good breakfast, and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.7
    Good stay overall but couls have been better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I ended up with two small beds side by side but would have preferred one large bed. THere was some construction work outside (metro line?) and it was a bit noisy on that side of the building. I had work to do and needed a desk but it was difficult to sit at the desk because the space between it and the sofa was not sufficient. There were some dirt traces on the wall between the windows.

    The location is quite good. The hotel in itself is of good quality and the staff is nice and professional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.4
    The best thing is the location
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standered rooms was extremely disappointing so we have to upgrade -expensive for what you get-beds are uncomfortable -

    Super Location -reception guy(Nicholas ) was extra helpful-clean room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lighting in the room was a bit too dark but it's the common thing for the hotel in Europe.

    Great Location, Nice clean room. Staffs were so friendly. We arrived about 2 hours before the check-in time and was allowed to do the early check-in. On the day we left, we can deposit our luggages and do the last minutes shopping, of course the staffs were so helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and easy access to everything in Copenhagen
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This doesn't count for all rooms and when staying in one of the most central hotels in the city, you may end up with a room that's directed out towards the street. I think you can ask the staff for a quiet room though, if you want that :)

    Kind staff, comfortable bed, nice atmosphere in the room! It's a perfect place to stay if you want easy access to what Copenhagen has to offer!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    comfy and affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were super comfortable. Much larger room compared to other hotels i have stayed at in Copenhagen. Paid a little more for lounge access and it was well worth it! Location is 100%

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Well located hotel with wonderful receptionists
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurante is a bit small for so many guests having breakfast. The breakfast was good but could be a bit better, with some more options of everything.

    Very comfortable beds, very nice location and the staff in the receptions was fantastic, some of the best i have ever met.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.8
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too many negatives to go into all of them. Cleanliness of the room, bed covers that are dirty, the terrace full of cigarette buds, table on the room terrace so dirty it was almost black, small room etc etc. The price performance is not all that good.

    The location of the hotel is nice, very central. Staff is very accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Not bad, can be better.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed is too comfy which i will prefer a little bit hard on the bed. Try not taking the room starting with big numbers example like 44x and above, the connection of wifi is poor in the room. Everything else is Alright but would prefer they can routine the breakfast menu every alternate day. Same breakfast menu for 5 days straight, a bit too much i would say.

    You will fell extra safe as each floor can be access by your key card. the Taxi fare from the hotel to airport has an special rate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice location, clean, but small rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As expected the room was very small. The desk lamp was not working. The 'satellite' TV with very limited choice of channels.

    The location, cold water and apples at the lobby, electronic key system, effective wifi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    comfortable, central,safe. pity about the construction work
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room away from noise of renovation work in adjacent buildings or advance notice that this was happening in which case i would have chosen another hotel.

    construction work in area disturbed us in morning from 0630/0645hours. no advance notification re on going work in area. Did mention this to hotel reception who agreed this was an early start and would let the duty manager know. it started at 0715 the following morning. pity as hotel was certainly in a central area and was good otherwise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    10
    An excellent and very stylish hotel, which is also great value for money and convenently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I heard people in the street on the Saturday night, but you expect this in any city and it didn't stop me sleeping.

    The beds were extremely comfortable so we all slept really well both nights. The fitout of the hotel and bedrooms was first-class and very stylish. The bathrooms were well designed and modern. We enjoyed the breakfast, which was delicious and included a huge range of choices for everyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    Good value for money, good breakfast, small, but centrally located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No proper bed for third person (but a sofabed - although with a mattress). A bit small - the rooms - but fine - as we spent very little time at the hotel. Could have used some more lighting in the room. Also, the bathroom door - is a glass one that kept opening outwards. The bath could use a bit of freshening up (old grout lines a bit of wear and tear showing).

    Central location (although stay at the Imperial - their sister hotel - if you want to be closer to Vestebro train station), small, but tidy, bathrooms a bit dated (wear and tear marks) - but alright for a short stay. Breakfast was good - they had the usual spread, the scrambled eggs a bit bland, but fresh fruits, assortment of breads, and they were able to get me soy milk upon request. Staff were very helpful. If problems with the room (our window was a bit faulty and the heating a bit too hot) - but they were able to attend to right away and quickly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    A better hotel with nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast, the restaurant was a bit worn out and not the feeling for a 4-star hotel, hotel was supposed to call when room is ready but no calls!

    Location is good, hotel is all in all nice!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    perfect for a quick stay in Grindsted
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were great facilities - washing machines & dryer, our own locked fridge and everything we needed for the kitchen! We only stayed for a couple of night and we ate most meals out in the town, but if we had wanted to cook it would have been very suitable. Clean rooms and bathrooms, comfy beds!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    Good location, but poor quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was over furnished. The two beds were narrow and not very stabil. The heating/air-condition was poor, or out of order. We stayed two nights and the first night was extreemly hot. There are better choices in the same area.

    Great location in central Copenhagen. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    4.6
    location is good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very noisy because construction work just outside my window, I can’t sleep during the whole night. Very bad experience to stay at this hotel.

    location is good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    Modern hotel surrounded by construction
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Square has an excellent location: very central, within walking distance from the central train station. The hotel is ok but could do better. Right now, it is basically enclosed within construction works; apart from the noise that can be expected, it is very hard for taxi drivers to stop close to the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.4
    Central location, not the best night's sleep...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the best nights sleep thanks to having to open the window as the heating was on the blink and the air con was completely broken. Mentioned to staff the following morning, didn't even receive an apology... Great location, but that's about it...

    The location...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    3.8
    uncomfortable and way too expensive for the size and quality of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms ridiculously too small, beds too small, pillows to small and uncomfortable, room wasn't made up for 3 people as per booking - had to ask for bedding, towels etc. Shower head broken, had to ask to get it fixed, heating control very hidden, no consistency in decor - downstairs modern, bright and clean, rooms were small, dark and old fashioned, lighting system was weird. Bathroom products weren't very nice, asked for 3 extra pillows (1 for each person) and was only given one. Trying to call reception desk many times with no answer

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    I might try a different place next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Please open the lounge up for everyone. We didn't appreciate needing to pay for the "extra access" just to have a chill environment at the hotel to hang out at. So we decided not to, and to hang out in the lobby instead, which is more like a cool busy waiting room.

    Fresh, nice bathrooms, great service, good breakfast buffee and coffee. The young man at breakfast helped me clean the mess I made and looked after my well-being when I was expecting to get glared at for breaking a bowl! Thank you!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    A very good hotel with friendly staff ;)
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location. This is the second time we stayed at the Square. All staff was friendly and helpful, specially the reception staff. We received quick service in all our needs from the staff. Free internet worked well. Our room was comfortable, nice and clean. We had access to the Lounge , that was great. This was again really good experience. Thanks to all staff at Hotel Square :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice location / quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception, lack of communication. I was told that the breakfast ends at 11am. But that was true only on weekends, on weekdays it ends at 10am. So i missed my breakfast on monday

    Quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    Worthwhile by the location only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The room service itself... The room qas clean but not completly tided up (they don’t fold you pijama and dont put the empty shampoo bootles out). The room was really small and the tv remote had low batteires. - The front desk service wasn’t the best (2/3 receptionists were making a big effort to be nice, although the other one was really friendly and helpful).

    - Excelent location. Very central and good access to everywhere (by foot or by bus/train if not near). Good restaurants/bars nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    Really good location and the fact that an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very small and the term "executive room" does not give a very executive feeling. More like a normal room with extra bath robe and lounge access. On Saturday afternoon there was no-one attending the lounge, snacks and drinks were out for quite a long time

    Really good location and the fact that an "executive" room included access to the top floor lounge. Quiet room even though the street outside is loud. Good breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.0
    I paid more the usual for less.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights all buzzed, like a swarm of bees, it was really annoying. The kettle didn’t work, but it was replaced quickly. The window outlook onto a revolting wall and dumpsters was not pleasant. The staff seemed busy and harassed, bordering on annoyed.

    The decor was new and shiny, but it was a lot of extra money for ‘new and shiny’. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    every thing was great except .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    i didnt like the fact that i booked a room with double bed but the blanket was tiny (2 single little blankets i could say kids size)..

    every thing was great except ..., loved the location.. very easy access to almost every thing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    Location is very good, staff are nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is always wet because the glass cover did not work well to prevent the water from the shower and the toilet bowl in my room had a crack inside.

    Location is very good, staff are nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    The Square is a wonderful base for exploring the city. The staff were amazing and had the best tips.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast options were a little limited. Fresh but could do with a little extras.

    The staff were awesome (particularly Christian and Gabriella on reception). The location was as central as you could get and the balcony view superb. Would go again in a heartbeat. The Lounge is a good idea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    4.6
    Unfortunate to have a horrible room with a broken window and a broken lamp
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a horrible room with a broken window and a broken lamp. The window wouldn't be completely closed. So we suffered from all the noise and cold wind from outside. My little daughter has gotten runny nose and fever. They couldn't find an alternative room due to the limited availability. They provided us with free breakfast, which I don't think sufficient. And they simply said that I should complain through booking.com if we expect any (partial) refund. It sounded very irresponsible.

    The location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    4.6
    Our room is definitely not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin or Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the lifts not working properly. Toilet flushing system in adequate in our room. Very annoying. No room exchanged and no compensation for our inconvenience.

    Room clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.0
    Asked on the reservation two seprate beds and they gave room...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked on the reservation two seprate beds and they gave room with a single bed. Room very noisy near a Bar! Maitress very bad! Hotel very expensive for the qaulity and servisse they offer! They take use only of their good location, nothing else.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.4
    poor experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room with Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor experience staff from the reception rude system was down , no internet and even booked an executive room we were checked in in normal room will not book again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    Expensive hotel, but also very good. Perfect score.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    So pricy!

    Great breakfast, incredibly comfortable bed. Although the checkin was at 15.00, the very nice staff at the hotel let me go into my room early so I could change clothes before my meeting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay at The Square for its excellent location and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elevators are small. Coffee service limited to lounge upstairs in the afternoon and evening hours.

    Upgraded room was substantially nicer than the triple originally reserved. The triple was very crowded for three people. The upgrade on the sixth floor was much roomier and light-filled. The hotel is in an excellent location - close to main train station and major sights, including Støeget.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    I arrived early and was checked into my room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very close to the walls, one had to 'launch' oneself to get onto the bed. I was on the executive floor, but snacks and drinks were mediocre. Construction was going on next door which was not mentioned on the web-site. For the level of accommodation the hotel was over-priced and I question its star rating. It is in an excellent location but I would not recommend to business travelers.

    I arrived early and was checked into my room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had requested a 'quiet' room, so was given one in the far back corner of the building. Room was relatively quiet, but as it looked out on exhaust vents from the building next door also had strong frying smells at certain times. Breakfast room needs more staff - difficult to find somewhere to sit as many tables were piled with dirty dishes.

    Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Definately worth a visit :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are expensive , but this is a factor of it being Copenhagan and the great location where the hotel is situated.

    Staff were very friendly and family friendly, rooms were modern and clean , it is located in an excellent area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.9
    We walked to the places we wanted to visit, including Tivoli, in just a few minutes from hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wi-fi didn't work for part of our stay, and no notification was given when the the wi-fi system was switched from SQUARE to SQUARE5GH. The rollout bed was very bumpy.

    The location was wonderful, and the staff were very courteous and helpful. The use of the lounge was a very nice perk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    The room was very clean, the furniture and sanitary fairly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very clean, the furniture and sanitary fairly new and in a good shape. The staff was very helpful and willing to respond to requests on a short notice. Superb location. Cafes, restaurants and a grocery store nearby, not to mention that you are in the very heart of the city. Wonderful stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.4
    Oddly shaped Square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of construction/refurbishing work ongoing across the street as well as on Raadhusplassen which made a lot of noise. Nothing the hotel can be blamed for. The hotel can however be blamed for the room having mould around the windows as well as other signs of lack of cleaning around the windows. The rest of the room was otherwise flawless - bathroom was nice and looked and smelled clean. Concidering that we had booked a family room, I find it strange that it was possible to fully open the windows. Small kids would have no trouble climbing the sofa bed to the window sill and unlocking the handle or the hook. We were a bit peeved about, out of principal, all the add-on costs. Two days worth of breakfast was €100 for 2 adults + 2 children. Payable parking is NOT something the hotel do have - even though your left with that impression on their Web site and at the frontdesk. Two night's parking was €100 in the outsorced valet type parking underneath the hotel. DKK 250 and 275 is mentioned as a price - what you pay is DKK 350 for each night your parked. Not a lot but how hard can it be to give out the actual price before you use the facilities. On a side note not related to the hotel: Do also bear in mind that all use of your payment cards in Denmark will be charged to you with a fee of between approx 1.5% and 3.4%. Again not a lot, but it all adds up.

    Fairly central. Tivoli gardens next door and Strøget starting just across the square outside The Square. Staff was accommodating, putting on smiles and adjusted from informal to formal when neccessary. The hotel is quite small with its 6 floors.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Square traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: