Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of BB-Hotel Frederikshavn Turisthotellet

Margrethevej 5, 9900 Frederikshavn, Denmark

#11 of 14 hotels in Frederikshavn

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 721 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an automated hotel. NO STAFF IS ON SITE! They will send you an email with the code to open your door. It's frustrating that our room had no air conditioning, it was stifling hot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed could have been better and the pillows as well but was ok for few nights. There is no air condition in the room so I can imagine it can be really hot and bad air during the warmest summer days.

    Really nice and really basic hostel with everything you actually need for a short stay. The room was spacious and clean with a big bathroom. The breakfast is simple but enough. Free parking for short stay visitors and the location is great, just few steps from the centrum and all the restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The password that I had received from email didn't work well. So when I called the contact number, they gave me another code that worked finally.

    Location / Price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a 3 bedroom apartment. The pin code provided on the confirmation did not work on the box that stored the key. There is no staff at the apartment. We had to call to obtain a different pin code to unlock to box. Also, there was no kettle provided. Making a cup of coffee or tea is a hassle without a kettle.

    It is located within walking distance from the ferry terminal.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very basic, breakfast poor, there was no cheese on the table, when we came to the breakfast. Too little for money, but so it is in DK. No milk to coffee, only powder.

    Very good placement acc. to the harbour. Clean. Tea and coffee free.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room temp was too hot

    The buiding was unstaffed but worked very good. Everything was very clean en food enough at the simple breakfost. The and koffie free all day

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Include that breakfast was included in the room fee.

    Very clean room and useful information. We were happy to have breakfast included in the room fee.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom had only one small shelf and no hangers for the towels.

    Hotel is very good located - close to the ferry harbor and only a few minutes walking distance to the center with a lot of shops and restaurants. We only stayed one night, had to leave very early to the ferry and did not see any personal from the hotel. But this was no problem at all. Check in and out was very easy: in the booking confirmation you receive a pin code, this is also send to you by SMS when the room is ready. At the hotel enter the pin code on the front door and the room door and done. On check out you leave the room and done. In the morning a breakfast was ready in the main room. No big selection but fully ok. The coffee was quiet good and we had bread, marmalade and cereals. The room we had two rooms, one with the booked double bed and the other one with two beds and a space bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast it's very very very poor. The choice to made a hotel without staff it's strange, and very cold behavior

    The position of the hotel it's very good. Clean room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi-fi or internet access was not working when we arrived. It was restored the following morning before we left

    A novel attempt to create a value for money offer in Denmark's very expensive hotel market, by not having reception staff and issuing a code to clients for accessing the hotel and their room. Very convenient location for overnighting after a trip on the late ferry from Gothenburg.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location very close to the ferry

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Simple rooms

    Good location, WIFI super

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff seen, no refilling of juce ore food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, just at the edge of Town opposite the docks. Good secure parking, important as we we on Motorbikes

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a mix up and we did not receive the code to get in the door.

    Tea and coffee making facilities and good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    near the ferry

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Easy to find and located directly outside port adjacent to town centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had incorrect pin code for key box sent to us so needed to all for the right pin code.

    Room 18 is actually a 3 bedroom appt

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too warm, so opened window, all good.

    Excellent location to Goteburg ferry and enjoyable train service to and from Skagen

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not quite sound proof, but not a big problem

    Very pleasant and well maintained hotel, self service, simple but nice breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was strange that hotel was unstaffed

    Close to ferry terminal.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Veel lawaai van de ventilator in de douche.

    Locatie is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi internet

    bed o.k. room general o.k. clean good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Site was basic but very adequate.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-fi didn't work, even IF IT says that there where free internet in the place. Asked other people also, they had the same problem

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    very clean modern apartment, good value for money

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cramped and a little confusing to find no staff only the keypad. I didn't realize the code was also for the room

    Parking and location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room cleaning required daily.

    Very near, break fast excellent,rooms were clean.Rooms are very quite.Market is walking distance. Overall v good experience.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The best thing about it is the price. Denmark is very expensive so the room was very good value. The comfortable bed, and spotless room was great but I slept in and missed the breakfast so can't comment. Free coffee and tea are available at all times.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is not a typical hotel but we loved it. The location was great. The ferry terminal was a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The shopping street was 5 minutes away. Many supermarkets in the area. A wonderful wine shop in very close by. The attendant was very kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy in the breakfast room, no carpets or other soft materials. No glasses in the room rented for toothbrush purposes. Hard to sit on the bed side. What to do if you by mistake left the papers with pin code and phone nr behind in your room? An advise at the entrance would be helpful!

    The pin code worked! Newly baked bread in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Arriving to find no staff. Called hotline number and rude staff member insisted he had sent us an email with door code. I said i had not received an email and he insisted i had. Ended up with an argument in which he eventually agreed and went away and came back after 3 mins and gave us the code with no apology. Room had not been cleaned and there was evidence( hair etc) of the previous occupant on the bed

    price.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel failed to email me the necessary door code for checking in. Fortunately, the maid was still there and was able to let me in and look up the code on her computer. But she had been about to leave so I was lucky to catch her.

    Well appointed, relaxing and peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No one was available to greet us, but the directions that were sent to us were clear.

    This met our needs for an affordable stopover for one night. It was clean and efficienly run. The breakfast was more than adaquate. We would stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was dirty, not cleaned before us at all. Pillow was too soft and thin Worker knocked on our door 2 times in the morning so that we would leave, she basically threw us out. Wi-fi didn't work Breakfast was poor, just bad cereal and bread with cheese

    Big room Less staff, felt more private Bed itself was comfy Close to center Tasty coffee Quiet area Close to ferry terminal

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mould on the bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room cold. Bed uncomfortable.

    Clean. Very basic.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Door handle fell off. No milk left in fridge by staff to make any hot drinks. Bedside light not working.

    Location for port. Parking on site.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom is a bit poor looking

    That you can check in whenever you like as there is just your code and no staff. The breakfast was okay too.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Convenience for the ferry terminal and town centre.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    לא כדאי להגיע למלון זה !! Cleaning, shower should be cleaned by us, not enogh towels. No WI-FI. Poor breakfest.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bath mat so wet floor in bathroom.

    Room was roomy and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location, right out of the ferry port. Very cheap. Free breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect to sleep before going on the Stena line.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Couple

    Chanels on the tv but that was not realy a problem

    The koffie and it was clean

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: