Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Provence 4 stars

Fredens Torv, DK-8000 Arhus, Denmark

#2 of 31 hotels in Arhus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 737 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our GPS could not find the hotel and it was even hard to find it on foot after shopping. Even after finding the cul de sac with our car, the sign was so small it wasn't obvious.

    The room was wonderful and the bed outstanding. The patio was a great place to sit and have coffee or a drink. Upper rooms were accessible by elevator. Breakfast was very good and service for it extremely good. Ask at the desk for the shortcut to the shopping area which is nearby. Parking was very convenient at the back of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much i disliked, but the rooms could use complimentary coffee/ tea

    the exceptionally beautiful interiors and attention to details, everything seemed to be designed with love

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    One in the group complained about noise from the street during the night. Nothing major.

    Breakfast was great and the rooms very nice. We sat in the garden late in the evening really a lovely place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea / coffee making facilities in the room.

    Beautiful and comfortable. Breakfast incredible. Staff even more so -they couldn’t help us enough. Perfect stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bathtub
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very cozy and romantic hotel in the middle of Århus, close to everything; shopping, dining, museums. Or just stay "at home" and relax, enjoy your lovely room, the friendliness of the staff, the beautiful garden. No bettter place to be in Århus than at Villa Provence.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on the ground floor by an entrance which had an external light that was a little annoying and I did not feel able to open the window to get some fresh air

    The decor is superb, garden very special and beds comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bathtub
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could have had some refreshments normally found in other hotels such as tea, coffee and water. The breakfast tables could have been larger or managed better. On one morning we found ourselves on too small a table to hold the breakfast and the staff resorted to putting our bread on a chair, whilst another table set for four persons had been allocated to a lone guest.

    The bath was very nice as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Senior staff were rude and unfriendly. I booked a double room via booking.com and was given a single room because I arrived alone. I ended up in 3 different rooms in the annex and all bathrooms had unpleasant smells from the drains. I would given this hotel an 8 3 years ago. But now it is a 2 star standard and appalling service.

    Wifi and location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Villa Provence really does live up to its claim to be an oasis of Provençal calm in the centre of Aarhus. The courtyard garden, with its fairy-lights and gently flowing fountain, provides a beautiful sense of sanctuary and a lovely place to read over a glass of wine in the evening. Rooms are well-appointed and furnished with real style. The staff are friendly and obliging, and the breakfast is really stand-out: some of the best bread I've ever had. I would thoroughly recommend Villa Provence.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dark. Bathroom door had a VERY loud squeak which woke us up in the night. We were on ground floor and only way to have air in the room at night was to open a door. It had a chain but we still put a chair there as well.

    Very French. Excellent breakfast. Good central location. Walk to everything. Lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bathtub
    • Stayed 3 nights

    dishonest people. We booked throug bookingcom for 3 days. We announced them to leave after two days and they charghed in full for the third day as per bookingcom conditions. After a couple of hours we decided to remain in the hotel but they informed that the room is sold to sombody else and they were not willing credit us for any amount.

    romantisches Ambiente

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Bathtub
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea/coffee in-room facilities, and no evening dining options.

    We had a four poster bed which was just gorgeous. The room was really spacious and we had a full bathroom with all mod cons which was a joy. The hotel itself is really beautiful, special and unusual. It's in a great location - walking distance from the Cathedral, Viking Museum and more.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See For us it was a wonderful find.

    The bed was extra comfy, the breakfasts were excellent. Coffee facilities and free water in the room would have been welcome. Fluffy white towels and plenty of hot water. Not really French;how could it be!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My single room and bed were really narrow for a 190cm man.

    Great atmosphere! Nice good shower. Good breakfast. Great staff. Convenient private parking place. Really close to city center

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing to dislike about this place.

    Villa Provence is a true gem tugged away from the main buzz of the old town. In a quiet location, it has a private, charming yet stylish feel about it. Seasoned travellers will appreciate Villa Provence as truly exceptional, a place of tremendous style, unobtrusive service and great comfort.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing place run by a very likable team. The breakfast was great and the little extra touches, such as Molton Brown products together with the excellent wine list just made it a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have preferred a buffet for breakfast. The access to the reception and to the restaurant was a bit tricky with a few narrow and steep steps.

    Good location, good room size, comfortable bed, a lot of natural light, quiet.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a bit in-your-face and no choices. It was all delivered to the table whether it was wanted or not. Did we have a choice? Yes, eat it or don't eat it.

    Room was spacious, parking, location, recommendations for eating. Closeness to Plan B. Internet OK

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant décor was cozy but the dining room temperature was uncomfortably warm. After dinner the five of us found a table and chairs on a patch of grass in the parking area where we could cool off. We talked for hours before retiring for the evening. It would be nice to have more outdoor gathering areas.

    The on-site restaurant served outstanding food. The dinner menu was first class... really excellent.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got one of the last available rooms and frankly it was rather small. In addition the bed felt like a small double and we did not sleep that well. Any room that had a bigger bed would make the stay perfect and we would not hesitate to stay again.

    The hotel is in a great location and parking was great on the site. Decor and style very warm and welcoming. Staff were most welcoming and included breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room with sloping ceiling.

    Location great. Stylish.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very elegant!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and picturesque stylish hotel in the centre of the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The owners and staff were extremely friendly. Room and bed very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and filled us up !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast, very comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms a little small. Aarhus is an expensive city to stay in.

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is super!!!!!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice place. I will absolutely return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not so perfect for business travellers who needs to work during stay

    friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was fantastic, atmosphere was very good. The people were very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows that break your neck

    Staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bathtub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent service with genuine interest in the guest`s well being. Homemade breakfast, the best.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    helpful and smiling personal, Nice room but view to the backyard,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed to small and not confertable.

    Element staff. Super Location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Steep stairs, no elevator and no help to handle luggage.

    Location, staff, room facing the garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price a little high - if you want to pay a little extra in Denmark for French style

    Very comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bathtub
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No A/C and with windows open the seagulls had a continued "laugh".

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet paper was a bit rough.

    The staff/owner went above and beyond to help us!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very nice,but the bread in the basket was very dry and did not remind us aboat France.!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super service at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room small but we loved the attic space.

    Quaint, cosy, character, great breakfast, nice people, good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best breakfast I've ever had

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy surroundings, overpriced

    Nice shabby-chique decor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bathtub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming place. Nice breakfast. Very pleasant staff. Even can do your laundry. Great location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great number of stairs.

    Nice boutique small hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nik

    The cleanliness , friendly staff, nice rooms and deco

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a great street. Very Dirty front entrance carpet Musty smelling room

    Excellent breakfast. Lovely staff . some charm . Excellent linens

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, we keep on coming back!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a bit more expensive than other hotels in the area I am not sure why

    Everything was great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike

    A beautiful, we'll run, clean, hotel. Staff are excellent, friendly, happy and helpful, Immaculately dressed. Gardens and courtyard beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel was very cozy and had an incredible atmosphere. It was located in a beautiful neighbourhood. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and was beautifully served.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Convenient location. Superbly friendly and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast. Flexible service for gluten free travelers. Memorable experience every time.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was small (double?) but comfortable. The dormer roof made standing dangerous but we managed. The coffee could have been stronger (breakfast).

    Location was close enough to walk from the train station, near the Dom Kirke and canal. Room was cute. Staff was excellent, they put up with my lidt dansk men det var fint. Morgenmad var lækker, there was plenty to eat and the staff had service down to a science.We even had a drink in the lounge.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We could hear sounds from the stairwell and elevator shaft when we were in our room in the evening. That is the only thing negative we can mention though.

    Luxurious and comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A beautiful, cosy and welcoming hotel right in the centre of town, and yet peaceful and quiet nevertheless. The staff were friendly and attentive, and the breakfasts are a gourmet treat.

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were a big smug. You had to pay for tea. The room was noisy on the street side.

    Good breakfast, but the same each morning - some variety would be good.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom (while perfectly clean and high quality toiletry) was not particularly attractive

    Location and very friendly service. Top quality bed and linnen. Breakfast served efficiently at the table.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the ambiance of the courtyard, the quaintness of our room. The room was small but lovely. We had a room with a dormer window, so head space was crowded; on the positive side, the window opened to courtyard and was very refreshing. The toiletries were very nice - in fact, I liked them so much that I bought some to take home with me.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we had was beside the street at street level on a Friday night - noisy. Next time we go, we will book a room in the courtyard.

    Nearly everything

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Wi fi in the room was not particularly strong.

    Homely, classy,owners actively involved, personal, authentic. Lovely courtyard with water fountains, tables and chairs. Breakfast is a treat....the very best quality beautifully served at your table. Highest recommendation is business people who return time after time.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience - but when booking, check which level you're on. There are no lifts and may be difficult carrying your bags up steep stairs.

    Beautiful light-filled room - also relatively large room. Could open windows to fresh air and sound of a fountain. Great facilities. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel staff were warm, welcoming and very friendly, irrespective of their positions. Breakfast was fresh and very tasty. The rooms spacious and clean. Will definitely be returning.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked one of the smaller rooms. Need to take care of your head due sloping ceiling on one side and tight squeeze around the bed. Suggest they get smaller side tables which would some what overcome this problem.

    Excellent breakfast, quality ingredients with full service. On site parking.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the decoration of the room and of the courtyard. The breakfast served in the room was delicious; and the staff was helpful and smiling at all occasions.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We would have liked more pillows and choice of pillow.

    Hotel is very well furnished and very comfortable. It is calm and restful and there is much attention to detail. Rooms are spacious.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi wasn't working in my room. Didn't ask staff - maybe they could have sorted that out.

    Cozy, comfortable room, perfect location right downtown and a 10 min walk from train station, super friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    morgenmaden var god

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been a generous gesture if parking was free

    Breakfast is excellent, as well as the rooms, the staff, the garden and the location

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have loved tea and coffee facilities in the room.

    Very comfy bed, walking distance to everything, really helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lovely room and bed, fabulous morning breakfast, excellent staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wish they had a restaurant. Based upon their personal (fine) touch, decor, friendliness, this new restaurant could only be a success!

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff and super atmosphere throughout the hotel

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    wonderful breakfast, friendly staff, comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really liked the informality , the lovely rooms and delicious breakfast

There are also 50 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Villa Provence traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: