Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fort Young Hotel 4 stars

Victoria Street, Roseau, Dominica

#1 of 1 hotels in Roseau

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 201 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Judging an hotel in Dominica after Hurricane María is not a fair evaluation. The hotel is working very slowly to be in shape again. In any case there is not choice at Roseau. However, the managers can do some basic action, for instance to strip the menu of all the foods they do not have. To hire a new cook or put more staff at the kitchen, any order goes for 45 minutes wait. The basic question when you go the restaurant is what you have today. There are also maintenance or repairs than can be easily done but is no checking of the room, for instance when I arrived they assigned room 412, the floor was wet and the AC was leaking they send a maintenance guy with a towel to fix the leaking, then I discover that the wet floor was because one of the Windows was missing. They change me to room 209, where was no leaking but the ceiling fan was not working and the mosquito net was wroken....

    Locación and view, and some of the staff that I will give 5 stars for their attention.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tourist desk at hotel provided wrong information in respect to Boiling Lake. They said, it won’t be possible to hike there but we went the next day with a different guide and it was a great hike to Boiling Lake. About 10 people wen5 there that date.

    Friendly staff. Spacious rooms. Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Refurbishment and repair will not be completed until at least September or October 2018, so if you stay here, be prepared for some disruption. The whole Island desperately needs the tourists to come back and help them recover.

    Lovely old 16th Century Fort converted to a modern hotel. The old Fort buildings stood up to the hurricane better than the new buildings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of milk for coffee in the rooms. None of the workers could find any although they looked. The reception from the activities co ordinator was like warm she didn't seem keen on selling the island.

    The welcome drink. The flavoured water placed in the lobby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had some kind of generator immediately behind it and another outside the left side wall. It was very noisey. As soon as we entered it I requested another room but the hotel was full. The next afternoon the hotel did show me another room but it was on same floor & though it wasn't as loud you could still hear the generator. We were out most of the day so we decided to keep the room and view and wear earplugs at night. A suggestion to minimise the noise would be that as the room has a long hall from front door to main room to instal a second door between hall & bedroom and also double glaze the window on the side wall. Otherwise it was a great room. The food that was served was fine but the service in the restaurant was very slow. We would also have liked more variety of vegetables and fruit. I am Vegan and appreciated that there were a couple of vegan choices but over the course of a week it's a bit limited. It would've be great to have a buffet with salad/vegetable/fruit bar. But these are minor gripes and wouldn't put us off staying again.

    We liked the hotel building & its history, how it has been restored and parts of the original fort still exist. The staff were all pleasant. Check in was quick. Everyone was friendly, any staff you passed by greeted you. The hotel was clean. Our room was a corner room & had great views. We liked that the room had choice of air con or ceiling fan. Nice pool & sunbeds. Gym was good we liked that it's 24hr. We didn't dive but it was nice to have the option on site. Hotel location was good for walking into town, to shops, market, museum & botanical gardens. We had a car & parking at hotel was not a problem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Couple
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flies were all over the breakfast

    They need to work on the water in the walk way when the rain falls . We had to walk through water to get to our room . And our feet got wet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We could't get an adaptor, so we had to charge our phones at the reception. The tourservicedesk: unfriendly staff - sales materials old and quite bad.

    We were upgraded from a very small room to a very large suite - no extra cost! Excellent :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some construction was being done so there was a little noise but nothing crazy.

    Food was amazing. The tours that the hotel setup for us were great. The tour guides were super helpful and awesome. The staff was always friendly and answered any questions we had regarding different places/activities around Dominica.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were a bit disappointed with our view from our room. It was supposed to be sea view room, but with saw mostly neighboring house.

    Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Balla ´s Bar was great and coctails and hamburgers were delicious. The hotel is well positioned next the port (few minutes walking from a ferry). Many activities avaliable on activity desk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location, view on the bay, spacious room with balcony (if you choose sea-view) Fort Young is one of the best hotels you can find in Roseau. It is centrally located with an amazing view from the pool and from any room with balcony and sea-view. The staff was helpful, friendly and responsive. The restaurant is very good with sea-view terrace, but a bit expensive. In alternative you can order good and cheaper food at the bar. If you want a quiet stay, ask for a room overlooking the ocean. The other rooms, especially rooms with 500 numbers, might be noisy and too close to the bar. Service is good, but slow (as almost anywhere in the Caribbean). Overall, Fort Young is an excellent hotel in an optimal location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were not very much clean. Coffee sets in the room and coffee stains on the table remained there during my stay there even though coffees were replenished.

    Room was on the sea view side and that was great. Different activities are available for the customers.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not included. Airport transfers can be expensive if there aren't enough people to share the shuttle with. It's not particularly cheap, and ocean view rooms & deluxe rooms are much nicer than Fort view rooms.

    The best thing about this hotel was its excellent location, right in Roseau and on the water. It literally takes 2 minutes to walk into town. There are some nice restaurants a few minutes' walk away too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fort Young Hotel is centrally located in the town of Roseau. We had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. The bedding was comfortable and the room clean. The staff were very friendly and always acknowledged you when walking through the property. The property has a delightful bar/lounge area which is nice to relax in after a day of sightseeing

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit too small as there was no place to keep the luggages.

    The view was to die for! Most if not all of the rooms has its own private balcony so you can sit out and relax or watch the boats zip by or people watch when the cruise ship docks. There is an activity desk close to the rooms where you can plan day tours or rent vehicles and explore on your own.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are rundown. Really need maintenance. Formica on the bathroom counter has got to go. Cables on the walls can be covered. Not enough staff at the bar.

    Atmosphere, location and staff are nice. Like the historical setting.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facing road too small Awkwardness of entry to room No daylight with privacy as shutters couldn't be opened Lots of mosquito bites from being in the room Noise and smells from kitchen early a.m. Cost per night expensive for type of room

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    This could be a spectacular hotel. But it's a tad rundown (our airconditioner leaked constantly, the elevator was out about half the time we were there) and, by Dominican standards, quite pricey. We'd still go back for it's wonderful location, but it could use some TLC.

    Superb seaside location at edge of town. Rooms are spacious and well-equipped. Full-service hotel with activities desk, dive/scuba shop, good restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My safe was old. Had to have new batteries put in and the connectors cleaned.

    The bed WAS extra comfy and although I thought I would not get the extra bed I asked for, they made it happen. I appreciated that a lot. Thank You Guys!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff ,although pleasant didn't seem to be very well trained or supervised,stood about talking or on phones instead of paying attention to customers.whenever we ate in the restaurant our bill was always wrong with additional items added.

    Great room ,well equipped and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first room - 501. Right on a very, very noisy street, light from the transom in the room all night, balcony with view of road and gas tanks. Not a wink of sleep. Probably the worst hotel room I have ever had. Absolutely appalling!

    Second room. They made me pay an extra US$40/night but it was on the water, quiet, at least twice the size of the 1st room and in good repair.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    very nice room fantastic view good Restaurant and bar the staff is very helpful and friendly and gave us good tips for travelling the island

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Only thing that could put people off would be large ships docking right in front of the hotel deterring from the sea view.

    The hotel is very nice. Being a diver, having a diving company on site is fantastic. All staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the mosquito situation was not good. Got bit more times at the restaurant and in the hotel then i did my entire trip anywhere else on the island. the food and drinks were over priced but being in the centre of Roseau meant that we didn't have to eat here if we didn't want to.

    We had a ocean view room. The room size was lovely and the beds extremely comfortable. we didn't want to get up.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy from road ship and laundry. No curtain in window!very Poor breakfast buffet for $17! Then despite "Total Price" shown on Booking.com confirmation small print adds 20% more. Paid $150 for $70 value. Go elsewhere and Booking.com stop hiding true cost of Total Price plus plus!

    Nothing but the view when huge cruise ship was not docked blocking it!Management totally oblivious to Noise pollution from road and no advance warning of Renovations starting with electric saws at 8am

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning generally noisy.

    Hotel staff friendly and courteous. Our room was a good size with lovely views from our balcony. Great location for exploring Roseau and environs.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I had to leave!!! 😢😢😢

    I was so happy with my stay at Fort Young! The staff were amazing and so accommodating! Made my birthday so special. Staff were so accommodating when I wanted a VERY late check out! The cleanliness of the hotel was of to high standards!The food,the drinks,the views,location-EVERYTHING was top notch! Even though they were renovating,it didn't cause any disturbances! Might of been a little pricey but hey,I'd paid for quality and stayed in great quality!!! So price to be a xpected! Next time I'm spending my whole trip here! Too beautiful. Thank you. Xxx

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym needs to be maintained and improved as there were broken machines. One pool was being redone so there was limited space by the pool area which is very small to begin with. The internet was also intermittent in the hotel rooms and slow in the evening.

    The service was very good and the hotel is in a good location and the rooms are very clean and relatively comfortable. The AC works great and they have a coffee machine and tea kettle in every room which is convenient. The views are nice for the rooms facing the ocean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    I liked the way the hotel is designed.The room was omfortable and updated..Because they were booked when I first arrived on the Island I had to stay at another hotel.I also looked at 2 other hotels before before checking into Fort Young.Nothing compared to this lovely hotel.Most of the hotels in Roseau don't have elevators.but Fort Young has elevators and all the other perks to make your stay a wonderful experience It definitely exceeded my expectations .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My only complaint is that there are diesel boats parked right outside, and sometimes the exhaust smoke blows in to the room if the terrace door is open. And there is limited parking. Other than that, this place is delightful.

    Excellent hotel in downtown Roseau. This is probably the nicest hotel in Roseau and most of Dominica. Downtown is right outside the door, and the Botanic Gardens are a short walk away. Cruise ships dock right outside the window. Spacious, clean, well appointed room. Good restaurants on premises, interesting history, nice view from balcony. This place was one of the highlights of my 3 island Lesser Antilles journey.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A double espresso cost 1/2 of a breakfast - extra!!!! This is really ridiculous when you are having breakfast. The staff takes the dishes so fast away - it happens that you go to the buffet and dishes with food on it will be taken away!? The room was not serviced after 3 pm.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They closed the pool off for the duration of our stay an me that was a big plus of why we stayed as we had been in Dominica for a week previous staying with family and it was basic so we wanted some relaxation for the last 4 days of our holiday so this was a big let down for us an when we asked for room service it never turned up an I had to go chasing them for it hours after.

    The location was perfect, the room was spacious an had a lovely sea view. The restaraunt food was delicious & they gave us a bottle of fizz for my partners birthday which was a thoughtful idea.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The changing of the cover douvet. Nobody comes around the pool side to check if anybody needs a drink or something. Had to walk up to the bar up front for drinks.

    The pool was great. The staff was friendly. Especially bartenders.They always said hello even if we were not going to sit to have a drink. The food was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I noticed that a few of the male staff were a bit reserved, it would of been nice if they came out their shell , Maybe I scared them !!!!!!!!!!!!

    The location of the hotel and how spacious it was ... Open plan

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I think the hotel in general needs modernizing. It is a nice hotel but quite dated and with a few improvements would be evening better.

    Staff were so lovely, welcoming and friendly and made my staff even more enjoyable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception called room about 5 times, food a bit too expensive, poor wifi in room

    Nice rooms, historic place, nice pool, free welcome drink, friendly staff, good location, inhouse dive/snorkel operator

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has bags of character and is the perfect location for the ferry and to enjoy the capital. Food in the main restaurant was excellent while the atmosphere and service were even better! A touch of the high class old school about the restaurant! Well done! Lobby bar and restaurant also very good! The staff in the hotel were all friendly and a credit to the establishment. We loved the hotel also for its quirky design. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and thought the hotel was good value-for-money. From the reviews, I expected the hotel to be decent but actually it exceeded our expectations!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    some of the staff were not as good as location

    The location was excellent close to all govt offices

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I liked everything.

    I think the pool was the best I have ever experienced.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely Setting, Great cocktails & rum punch, Huge rooms & Comfy beds. Great stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly staff ļ

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast not included and it was very expensive.

    Charming hotel if a little bit outdated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ambience and location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location..... tasty food and wonderful staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very lovely location in an old fort. Incredible view from the pool. Very delicious food. Own dive/snorkling operator directly at the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent location! For business, the right place.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been better

    Position, room with balcony, bar and restaurant food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was really comfortable and the room was spacious.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room fixture

    The bar, facilities, staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything. It was my girlfriend's birthday and they prepared lovely decor in the room. Staff couldn't have been more polite.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet service in my room was not good on this last trip.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aggressive reception staff buildning noise whole day elevation doesent work on all levels no info poor food

    Pool

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Great accommodation, very pleasant staff. Excellent breakfast choices

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast selection could be improved

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room cleaning did not work. Breakfast was not good, have to eat breakfast in another restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fittings in toilets and bathroom area could do with upgrade

    Location and room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service and the buffet breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gym equipment needs updating, customer service could be improved.

    One of the better places in Roseau for business.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Older Hotel, but that is also part of its charm.

    Hotel staff was very accommodating and friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Roseu very small

    location is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Double Oceanfront Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    too expensive

    breakfast, comfort of bed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Professional staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King or Twin Fort Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few items needed updating or repairs. Nothing major.

    Attentive staff. Beautiful place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I hated way in almost 45minutes for my room to be available and I had to remind the front desk staff we were still waiting by the bar,shouldn't have to reuse towels if I'm paying 510ec 187us for a room we had to use the same towels for showers and the pool....

    Bedroom and pool was clean and welcoming great view.landscape was amazing great setting

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was more than we expected considering it's in the heart of the city. The staff were lovely, we had to have early check in and they more than accommodated us. Really friendly and sweet. We only stayed for two nights, but we wanted to stay longer.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    There was nothing I didn't like, my only complaint from my last stay was taken care of on my current stay.

    I loved the atmosphere, the room and the staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We actually found it quite confusing negotiating our way around the building e.g. to and from the restaurant.

    Very friendly/helpful staff. Nice pool, though small. Dinner and cocktails were delicious the first night. Nice to eat by the sea. The second night the food wasn't quite as good - perhaps we made worse choices.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My room probably needed some refurbishment, looks a bit old.

    Great hotel, with a lot of facilities and services Dinner was decent Hot tub was great a hiking to the boiling lake

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Need some painting in the rooms

    I always have an excellent staying at Fort Young. I love the place.the pool is beautiful, the views are stunning and it is just in the city center.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The elevator was out of order, so quite a lot of walking up&down including with my luggage. Paliades Restaurant was being painted one of the days, so it was closed, and the alternatives were either too limited (bar) or too expensive (buffet). Could've reduced buffet prices or extended bar menu for that night. TV reception was bad (unwatchable).

    Good service overall. Nice rooms, great pool, relaxing atmosphere. Dinner at Paliades was tasty. Location was great (near the botanical gardens, and right by the city center).

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We got a very noisy room that overlooked a walkway and tour registration desk. We asked for another room and the staff was very accommodating alas this turned out to be not the best trade, there was an electric power generator close by that was pretty loud at night. In all not the best of the trade. They have many rooms overlooking the sea, I assume these would be better. The staff at the bar were among the slowest and most ineffective. Everything seemed to take forever and two nights I had to walk over and ask and wait for the check to get it. Very annoying.

    The hotel has a nice location and friendly check-in staff. The hotel is built into an old fort, with lots and lots of walkways, has an on site restaurant. It has many modern amenities. For Dominica is probably as good as it can get. If we would have had a quieter room I would rate it much much higher but alas did not work out for us all that well.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hot water in the mornings, but plenty of hot water in the evenings, so shower at night! One of our waiters at the bar was extremely slow. It was busy but he just kept passing by our table, it was at least 20 minutes before he even said Hi to us! Everyone else however was great.

    We had a room with a beautiful view of the ocean. The air conditioning almost worked too well (it got a bit cold at times)! Front desk staff was great, we had a problem with our connection and unexpectedly ended up staying an extra day. They accommodated us right away and were great!

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom tiles could be cleaner both on floor and walls, also shower floor was a bit grimey

    Room was nice with a view. Air-conditioning and room service. Nice staff,

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is not a beach hotel. As long as you appreciate this, the place is really comfortable and convenient for island trips.

    They upgraded us to a suite on our second visit. Fabulous room. Food was exceptional quality when you appreciate what they have to work with on Dominica. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Even a wifi cable socket in the room. Managers VERY keen to find and solve any problems.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were near the generators and this spoilt the view and the surroundings. I feel that they could of been disguised or shielded from our veiw.

    Location of the room(212) was peaceful as it was away from the main hotel and near the pool which was used every morning.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: