Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barceló Bávaro Palace All Inclusive 5 stars

Playas de Bavaro, Bavaro, 11517 Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

#14 of 97 hotels in Punta Cana

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1297 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Paid WiFi

    4.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    The variety of foods was simple delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel charged me twice.

    The variety of foods was simple delicious. Water aerobics was a plus. Enjoyed the nightly shows, presentation was almost like being with the stars.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    I had a wonderful time at Barceló Bávaro Resort..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that I have to pay for the pirate pool, I think it should be free.

    I liked everything in the resort but above all I felt very safe and secure in the property.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice resort but would not return. Had to travel outside the resort for better food.
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was not the best always cold. They served cold coffee and warm white wine. The ice cream always tasted rotten. The best places to eat dinner were the hibachi restaurant and Mexican restaurant. Please keep in mind they fill up quickly so you have to make a reservation at least 2-3 days in advance. If not then they always have a buffet avail but as I stated was never fresh and didn’t have much taste to it. The bartenders were always friendly. Room was very far from the resort and linens were dirty upon arrival. They replaced linens quickly. Bathrooms have no privacy so please keep that in mind when sharing rooms. The first floor rooms are very small in size. This particular room was not beach front so please clarify when booking as I thought most of their rooms were beachfront. This resort seemed better suit for families with children and maybe couples. If your looking for excitement you may have to look else where. The pool bar was fun but closed very early.

    The resort had amazing views and infinity pools as well as under water pool bars.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    All good except as mentoned above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See comments above.

    Evey thing was very good with the exception of two items. Beach towel accountability was poor. The wait for prepaid transportation return to the airport was unorganized and created a long wait after arriving in the departure area on the lobby. The reservations for the specialty restuarants was a very good idea and worked well. The only other thing to comment on is the beach areas. Seaweed kept the review to a poor catagory.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    The room was clean, always stocked with water, soda and beer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean, always stocked with water, soda and beer and coffee. We always had clean towels. It was a 3 minute walk from the beach, the pool and all restaurants. What a beautiful resort.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    The food was excellent and the night shows were awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wi fi, and they charge for everything else. No food availability near the pool or beach, it was too far in the sports club. And there were a lot flies in the buffet restaurant.

    The food was excellent and the night shows were awesome. Good for families. And the staff couldn’t be more friendly and responsive. Roberto and Frank in the pool bar were amazingly good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Excellent facility worth visiting bring some extra cash cos lots of things to pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet needs to be free in the lobby area NOT Casino where kids are not allowed

    First I was welcomed with a birthday cake in my room With a gift wishing me a happy birthday That was so thoughtful since I travelled on my birthday shout out to Antonia the relations manager. Barcelo Bavaro palace is huge so lots of working not ideal for seniors with mobility issues though they have a Tren that runs frequently. Facility is ok, food is good, beach definitely not the best lots of sea weed and murky water on a sunny day you will get the light reflection on it. Love that they have the 24 hour restaurant where you can grab a bite and drink anytime especially if you miss dinner or come in with a late flight that was my best Catch there which explains why you pay for room service food. Internet I know in most resorts is not free but at the lobby should be free. At Barcelo Bavaro palace the so called free internet lobby access is located in the casino NOT Lobby and kids are not allowed in there this doesn’t make sense I had to pay about $100 for 3 devices for 4 days NOT COOL. In all it’s a beautiful resort, lovely facilities, nice staff, good food, pirate water part ( you gotta pay $10 per kid and per parent per day though) golf, proximity to the Airport, Well taken care of environment, flamingos you need to go there. I absolutely loved it and recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.8
    very expensive for what i got
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    free or lower cost wifi would have been good, also, they should have informed me that my room was going to be far away from the rest of my family, who were also staying there, reception should have offered me a chance for a room close to my family

    the place itself was beautiful, very nice hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.3
    - Very Service minded
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All in is not completely all in. Additional charges where asked for example the Pirate Bay Pool and French restaurant.

    - Very Service minded - Great Staff - Clean - Kids Friendly - Great Family vacation options

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.8
    Hit and Miss, hit and miss, hit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was full of spots of humidity on walls The air-conditioning was leaking water The housekeeping was a disaster THERE WAS NO WAY TO DISCUSS WITH MOST OF THE STUFF BECAUSE THEY DID NOT KNEW ANY ENGLISH

    The location and how the entire place look like is gourgeous Good restaurants

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.3
    It is up to you to make the best of your stay here. Do not try to swim in the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I definitely did not like the beach. It was filled with algae and smelt like dead fish. I really wanted to swim in the ocean.

    The best part of this hotel was that they had activities within the hotel: bowling center, casino and night club.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    We passe nice hollydays and had a good time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The seafood restaurant and the steack house did not meet our expectations The rooms are a little to small. the setup of the room is not really confortable for a 5star resort Missing some food corners around the swimming pools for little snacks. The region of Punta Cana has high prices. shopping has to high prices. do not buy stugg at this prices. we believe, that this should be mor adapted to experienced travellers that know the world.

    Food choice was excellent at the public restaurant. The Japanese food was very good and we had fun Very nice and big swimming pools

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location, nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low level of quality, too big and too many guest, imposible to mantain the quality of the past. A lot of food but low quality

    Good location, nice place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Food/staff very helpful amd super friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC in the room was either hot or cold...room temp was never consistent. The shower was either hot or cold.

    Food/staff very helpful amd super friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent option for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The difficulties to reserve the restaurants in good hours

    It has many different things to do (beach, pools, tennis, golf, paddle tennis, casino, and different restaurants)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    This resort was AMAZING for the value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of the restaurants require a reservation and they get booked quickly.

    This resort was AMAZING for the value. The staff was friendly, rooms were always clean and stocked, food was great...I loved it and would definitely go back. There is no need to leave the resort unless you want to. Paddle boarding, kayaks and catamaran is all free for 1 hour. The beaches are breathtaking. It’s a must see!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    The best location in Punta Cana
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The place and the facility is great, but staff doesn’t speak English at all, it is really a big problem, if you need a help with something or you just want to ask for something. Property maintenance is neglected and housekeeping doesn’t make a good job with the floor and the bathroom. The pool staff doesn’t stick to pool hours, they open and close as they like.

    The best location in Punta Cana, the beach it just great. Lots of food in buffets and lots of food options in other restaurants. Kids pool is great too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.9
    The beach was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Did not care for the menus at most of the restaurants. Also did not like how I had to make reservations for the restaurant & hope that there was an opening. Would also be nice if the restaurants were open a bit sooner for those who aren't used to eating dinner after 7pm. Also did not care for how the food in the buffets was always cold unless I managed to get there when it first opened. Buffet could use better dessert options as well and the glassware that sat on the tables were not the cleanest.

    The beach was beautiful. The staff was very friendly. Having the shops inside of the resort was very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Most relaxing and Fun vacation ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No free wifi

    Amazing resort! Friendly staff! Beautiful clean beaches with loads of activities. The pool area was great! Lots of space and great drinks. The food was delicious! Wonderful place to stay with friends or family!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.3
    I would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in, checking out. Staff are useless. A kiosk could mow the process faster and more helpful.

    Staff at front desk are useless as were the managers. It took longer than 45 minutes of my time to get checked in with the front desk agent. On checkout, it took over 30 minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    We had to walk up and down 5 flights of stairs to access our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to walk up and down 5 flights of stairs to access our room. There wasn’t an elevator. Don’t book the open bottom boat excursion from the beach store located right on the property. Not a good experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    It was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been a tiny bit cleaner but wasn't terrible. Some of the staff is a little rude and didn't know a single word in English.

    This resort was like a dream. There is something for everyone to do all day long. It was the best place I've ever started at and will definitely be back again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful, restful and fun-packed resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Service was patchy at times, particularly on first arrival. Better explanation of all inclusive system on site would be a plus. A La Carte restaurant reservations impossible.

    Huge, upscale but beautiful resort that suited travelling with young children. Wonderful swimming and leisure options, beautiful open spaces and gardens. Quality rooms with plenty of space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.8
    Beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service. In addition, this is an all inclusive and it's impossible to get a reservation for the restaurants. So, the only option is the buffet restaurant

    Beaches

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent beds, pillows and towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Interent access was very, very slow and only one device at a time. Water in bathrooms extremely hot and difficult to control the temperature. Front desk check-in, check-out very, very slow. Little communication with guests as to expectations.

    Excellent beds, pillows and towels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Big Beautiful Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The reservation system for the specialty restaurants was terrible. You have to go to a centralized person to make reservations for the specialty restaurants and stand on line only to find out there is allegedly nothing available before 10pm until you argue or "tip". This took 1 1/2 hours out of my first day on the resort. Tip: make all your reservations when you first arrive. The buffet is only OK, especially compared to the specialty restaurants. The water park was too young for my lower teenage children. The cell service is very bad which requires you to purchase wifi from he hotel. Wifi should be included just so you can communicate with your family when they are elsewhere on the resort.

    The specialty restaurants, once you got into them, were very good. Kyoto was the best and most fun, Chef Alonso saw to that, but Santa Fe, Hoyo 19 and the Mexican restaurant were all were really good. The Golf Course was very enjoyable. Tough yet fair and very pretty with lots of water in play. The fact that it was on the resort, a short walk from the beach/pool was a great bonus. Bring golf shoes. They do not rent them. The pool and the beach were very nice, clean and well maintained. The sailing and water sports, right next to the hotel were great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.4
    Never going back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was terrible. Also it was “all inclusive” but has to pay for bowling, video games, pool tables, tennis, basketball, water park.

    The staff was incredibly rude. Literally yelling at me when checked in. Didn’t get room until 5:30pm. Rude when asked a question and not helpful AT ALL.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    A great family vacation at a beautiful resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The check in took over 1 hour. The experience in the casino was not good. They were not knowledgeable and it was not fun! It was impossible to sit by the pool unless you woke up at dawn to secure a spot.

    It was very well maintained and clean. It is large so even though the resort was fully booked it never felt crowded. The beach was beautiful. The staff was helpful and friendly. The food quality was high in all the restaurants and at the buffet. The evening entertainment was also good quality.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.7
    Nice place. Not sure of the value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was a nightmare. Room not ready on time, then they couldnt find our reservation. When we got to our room, it was the wrong one with 2 double beds instead of a king. They finally switched us. Had to pay for wifi- worst ever. And you pay for only ONE device at a time.

    Staff very friendly. Beaches were pretty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    I did not like that the wifi was not included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like that the wifi was not included. In addition some of the excursions were way over priced and could have been included in the price of the resort.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Loved everything but the food experience but my family is very picky.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Need to learn how to make a hamburger, hot dog and pizza!!!! Drinks came in too small of a cup. Need to cut the greens on the golf course so the ball rolls a little more or i just need to putt better!

    The beach was incredible and and as big as the place is it never felt crowded. Always chairs on the beach available. The place was impeccably clean and nothing out of place along w friendly staff to help. The steak dinner place was great and mexico lindo was pretty good too (fun wait staff there). Great pools and plenty of ice cream and everything was in walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    food was so so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    food was so so... had to pay to upgrade and eat at the adult only buffet for fresh food... disappointing... the seafood restaurant was not good... the Steak and the Japanese was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    Awesome vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at check-in didn’t explain how to get reservations for the restaurants. Everything was booked before we had an opportunity to reserve it. If they would’ve mentioned it early upon our arrival, we wouldn’t have missed out of a variety of cuisines. Also not a big deal but we were given a handicap room. It was all that was available our first 2 days there. We were told we can check for different room after a few days but who wants to change rooms after getting settled into the first one. We should have been given the option of choosing that type of room. Felt like we were given what was left instead of what we had booked months in advance for. Anyway great vicinity to all the activities of the resort especially close to the food and ocean!! Overall great resort, great experience. Will Recommend to others and definitely plan to go back soon!

    Price, distance to ocean, all-inclusive and delicious food/drinks, excursions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    4.6
    Barcelo Bavaro Palace services do not match the price tag.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We’ve spent 6 days at Barcelo Bavaro Palace in early February 2018. It was ok until we needed the hotel services/support. After that, it was a nightmare. We left our GoPro camera in a hotel common area from where it was taken. It is worth mentioning a lifeguard has seem it in the following morning in the very same place. The place was monitored by two surveillance cameras so we have requested access to the videos to the hotel. Then, our bad experience begins. Initially, the hotel employees gave to attention to the case. We have managed to find the surveillance cameras and started to request the videos. According to them, they were not allowed to provide access to the videos but would open an investigation expected to take 48h-72h (unacceptable for a place were guests/employees access on daily basis). They also refused to provide any sort of document stating an investigation has been started. After 48h (and 4h before our flight) the security manager said it was not possible to see anything in the videos. Also, offered access to the videos (differently from the previous behavior). Of course, we had no more time. We spent our last hours in the local police office reporting the case. A few days later we sent an email to the hotel and received more generic answers. It is clear the hotel has no responsibility for our camera. However, we are very disappointed with the hotel response to our issue. Only after a lot of struggle and waiting time the hotel started to do something. Instead of allowing access to the information/videos they preferred to leave us with no information during more than 48h. Unfortunately, the bad service is common throughout the hotel. During the check-in, they wanted to charge more than the informed via booking.com (additional child charge).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed the stay, friendly staff and nice infrastructure, though the weather was not too good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window from the room had a little hole and the mosquitos bit us every night. We saw the hole the last night of our stay, so we could not complain. There was also a lot of noise during the night, they moved furniture on the room above us.

    The food, the restaurants, the infrastructure for children

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    It was an ok stay, but I probably wouldn’t stay at this property again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mold and mildew in our bathroom. I didn’t like that you had to pay an additional fee to enter the water park which was on the resort property.

    Although most of the staff only spoke Spanish, everyone was still very pleasant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.7
    Pool area and the beach are well kept and pleasent;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family rooms are 3star at max: cosmetics not replaces, towels even if left on the floor not changed daily; service at the restaurants sometimes perfect but sometimes disastrous.

    Pool area and the beach are well kept and pleasent; however morning hunt for sunbeds is tiresome;

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    The heaven on earth :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Free Wi-Fi is available only in Casino area (4a.m.-4p.m.) - a bit of searching might be needed to find a free beach chair after 10 a.m. -

    We stayed here for a week in early January 2018 in a super silent Deluxe Golf room. We liked "Hoyo 19" restaurant nearby for breakfast (it works for lunch and dinner as well). The other good restaurant is Steak House with delicious filet mignon, "Coral" for seafood was very good, Kyoto for Japanese was nothing special if you have been to Japan :) The hotel territory is huge, beautifully landscaped and meticulously maintained. There are lots of walkways to walk and run, and the sand on the beach is nice, hard and perfect for running. You can find a couple of flamingoes in golf area (14-16th pit). The staff is awesome, never had a problem. Learn some Spanish (you shouldn’t expect everybody speaks English), if not - use the Speak & Translate app on your iPhone. There is a show at the theatre every night at 10:00, not bad. I was sceptical before going but realized that the negative reviews posted on here made me worry about nothing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    We had the best holiday ever and really enjoyed the majority of the whole stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms walls are paper thin, there were some really noisy people above us constantly moving furniture and banging. Not easy to put noise complaint in with the hotel, we tried several time and each time they never followed through with the issue. They offered us to move rooms, but we were more than happy with our room we just wanted the noise to stop as it was going on at 12am through to 6am so was really hard to sleep. Also the entertainment starts at 10pm and there isn’t anything on before 10pm, therefore can get quite boring as there isn’t anything going on within the whole resort until then. Dinner reservations are very limited, when we arrived we got landed with 6:45pm reservations which is early to eat or 9:15 which is very late to eat so couldn’t win.

    Staff were so lovely and helpful. Location of hotel was great, facilities were clean and the beach was tidy! We would defo recommend this hotel to friends and family

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful beach, many restaurants, kind-helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plates was dirty..very dirty especially in japaneese and italian restaurants where we get mouth infection.. never get filled the bathroom stuff while we was there, lot of flyes in the restaurants allways in our eyes, ears, food...

    Beautiful beach, many restaurants, kind-helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    the bed and pillows were super comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bed and pillows were super comfy. The food was great and the service and smiles were appreciated. The shows at night as well were exceptional. We had an amazing time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    It was great overall and I'd love to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very few staff at the resort smiled and we didn't feel quite welcomed there. The guest room was not very clean - the bath towels and the furniture looked very old and out of fashion. The bed sheets was filthy and besmirched with yellow stains. I wish there were more food choices, especially the very local menu. This is especially important for someone like me coming from a drastically different culture. The food we had were very limited in variety and close to what you would find at a normal college dining hall in America, not so creative, refreshing, or locally authentic. I didn't like wearing the wrist during the whole time of my stay, which was required and not allowed to take off even at shower. I felt being restrained. It might be out of security concerns but really wasn't very comfortable.

    This was a super large resort that owns vast beaches, multiple pools, several restaurants, a casino & disco, shopping malls, watery playgrounds, child clubs and its own golf course. A train inside the resort connected us to all these facilities. It's like a Utopia separating all the guests from the outside Dominican Republic, thanks to the very strict security check at the resort entrance. The best part of our stay was the buffets - with various types of seafood, sushi and meat, and we didn't need to pay for food (since it's all inclusive). The beach was beautiful and I LOVED IT. It was the best beach I fully enjoyed. We were also able to do the "Dolphin Discovery" program at Dolphin Discovery Punta Cana, which was a 10-minute drive. The travel agency next to the Concierge sent a van to take us there. It was the most unforgettable memory and I will come back in the future.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    One of the best on Bavaro, service needs to be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Truly, despite comparisons I will mention below, I might be back to this one next time. Mostly due to facility and beauty. It’s always like that when you got great hotel and there are parts missing that are better in other hotels and in this case thorough comparison: - in general, even if you will get what you fight for, the first negative impression about this hotel are people. Specially check in/our. Attitude, no smile. You change your hotel and you come to this one and that’s he first thing you will notice. It’s the generalization as animation guys, some people at the bar are great, but this is what is thrown at you at first, - no beach service - sunbeds are short and uncomfortable - bit boring food, in other hotels scheme days, here all the same with minor changes - poor room service. Ordered laundry, waited 20h for pick up and had to remind. Days after, asked for express laundry before departure “I am sending someone immediately to your room”. Nope. Didn’t happen again - dirty room in Adults only. Dirty! But just as info, I didn’t rate it here - poor “all inclusive” in comparison to others. Sweet soda and two snacks in the fridge plus 2 bottles of water. No alcohol, no sweets, crisps, etc. In Adults only no one refilled. - no branded bottled beer like in different hotels, no branded ice cream, snacks that you can pick at the bar or wherever.

    Together with my wife we stayed in 7 different hotels within 2 years, here in Bavaro. This one, in general, is one of the best. We stayed 5 days in Adults only and 5 days in Bavaro Palace. We like Adults more because it was quite and chill however far worse room. Junior suite in Barceló Bavaro is awesome, make sure you take bracelet that gives you chance to use both facilities. We loved the ambience, extremely beautiful beach, lot to do, free kayaks, standing paddles, good quality food (apart from broccoli and spinach;), theme restaurants, great sea food!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    2.5
    Run Far, Far Away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rude staff, dirty rooms, deplorable food. This is single handedly the worst resort ever. They "nickle and dime" at every turn, Wi-Fi is $10/day, extra beach towels are $15. All of that is meaningless compared to the fact that on 2 separate occasions, we caught staff going into our rooms without permission. The sign in the handle for "No Services" was hung, and each time the staff made an excuse of some sort and ran away before we could escort to the main office. When reported to the main office, they said they are allowed to use their judgement to enter the rooms when they please.

    Dolche the baby-sitter was kind, sweet, patient and polite with all 4 of the 6 kids under 5 in our group.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    2.5
    Run Far, Far Away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rude staff, dirty rooms, deplorable food. This is single handedly the worst resort ever. They "nickle and dime" at every turn, Wi-Fi is $10/day, extra beach towels are $15. All of that is meaningless compared to the fact that on 2 separate occasions, we caught staff going into our rooms without permission. The sign in the handle for "No Services" was hung, and each time the staff made an excuse of some sort and ran away before we could escort to the main office. When reported to the main office, they said they are allowed to use their judgement to enter the rooms when they please.

    Dolche the baby-sitter was the only amazing aspect, she's wonderful, kind, sweet and patient with kids, and we had 4 under 6 in our group.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    2.5
    Run Far, Far Away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was literally nothing good about this place. Food was deplorable, rooms were disgusting, sheets were not clean, bathrooms were stained and smelled of mold. The restaurants were never full, but they turned away guests, ourselves included. Worst of all, on 2 separate occasions, we caught staff in our rooms despite the sign on the door of "please do not disturb", rifling through things. The staff is immature, unorganized, rude, disinterested, abrasive and downright nasty to guests. I have never been so displeased on vacation in my life -- only an atrocious travel agent would recommend this dump.

    Dolche the babysitter was brilliant, patient, polite, on-time, kind and wonderful with the 4 kids 6 and under in our group.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    2.5
    If You Like Looking Over Your Shoulder, and Your Wallet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, dirty rooms, deplorable food. This is single handedly the worst resort ever. They "nickle and dime" at every turn, Wi-Fi is $10/day, extra beach towels are $15. All of that is meaningless compared to the fact that on 2 separate occasions, we caught staff going into our rooms without permission. The sign in the handle for "No Services" was hung, and each time the staff made an excuse of some sort and ran away before we could escort to the main office. When reported to the main office, they said they are allowed to use their judgement to enter the rooms when they please.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing family vacation in Punta Cana!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for Wifi and only one person able to sign in at a time. Paying for extras (ie, mini golf, billiards, bowling). Should charge each guest a little more and have everything be All Inclusive.

    Location was spectacular. Loved all of the amenities, especially sports courts, bowling, billiards. Food was delicious with lots of variety. Rooms were spacious and clean. Staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    Excellent place, delicious food, very good service,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It's mediocre that you have to pay wifi, Services not included are excessively expensive compared to other offers (for example swimming with dolphins)

    Excellent place, delicious food, very good service, very entertaining nightly shows

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    The buffet is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Part of the staff are unmotivated, slow, distracted or not fully trained.

    The buffet is very good. The Resort is full of relaxing and fun stuff, including water sports on a beautiful caribbean beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    2.5
    This hotel do not offer you any security.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel do not offer you any security.. I have made a reservation in the Japanese restaurant when I arrived there the staff has sit us with a family that’s was all the time yelling about the service and do not want us to sit with their because they booked the whole table only for them ... the staff never offer us to change table from the beginning .. we started to feel very uncomfortable with this situation the lady of the table turned out very aggressive with my sister and they only resolution we were offered was to Change table or to go to French restaurant.. I was so frustrated with this whole situation I was asking to call the security and the mangers but us the said us this the politics of the hotel they can do nothing even if a person has attacked you.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Amazing, will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1. the Mexican and Italian restaurants were ok, not like the others 2. the dolphins trip and others are very expensive through the hotel 3. we liked all the rest very much

    the place is great for every one that comes. it seems that they thought on the guest only. from open bars with free alcohol, free fresh juice, free food at all times, great pools, great activities for young and old people. every thing is convenient. it is a huge place but feels like home. the rooms are very good and well kept. for families I recommend the family room by the pool of the kids . with 2 bedrooms. we were on the ground floor which made it easier for kids to get to the pool. the food was amazing even though it is a huge place. we wanted to go out to our around the island but didn't want to miss a minute at the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Best Resort Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wi-Fi was slow. But I didn't expect it to be different. I assume it is common for resorts. We went to SPA and were disappointed. Even though the exterior was great, the service was not as great. Manicure and pedicure: masters were is a rush not really caring about the quality. After-sun wrapping. The procedure helped my skin but I did not really get the spa atmosphere. I wish I would try steaming room and sauna that include private pool. They look lovely.

    Variety of restaurants that you can make a reservation for dinner, so you'll never get bored of food. Food was always fresh. Servers are on top! Nice and clean beach. Comfortable chairs The hotel designed in a way that no-one will stay far from the beach All (as far as I know) water sports are free. We had a chance to try paddle boarding. Very nice touch. Just don't forget to sign up in advance. Otherwise you can always do kayak Several pools are available. In the morning they make roads in one of them so you can exercise. There is a pool for kids with slides and fountains. However, if you want to go to the bigger waterpark you have to pay around $10-15 A lot of stores and services within the resort. I highly recommend Escape Room! The gym is also nice. Small but clean and fit all the guests. They have yoga, pilates and other classes. I felt in love with the resort! The best I've ever been!!! Excellent Job!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    As usual, we had a great time in this tropical paradise and highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were disappointed with the specialty restaurants. The service was great but the food and selections were not much better than the main A la Carte restaurant. Also, if you wanted something extra like a desert there was a charge!

    About three hours before my plane was scheduled to take me back to the states, I discovered that I didn't have my passport and, of course, I couldn't leave with out it. I reported to the hotel administration and they immediately jumped on it and in less than an hour later they had found it and I was able to leave on schedule.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Vacation was ver good. Flight experience a nightmare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jet airways computer system was down on our return. Puntta cana AP had very poor customer service particularly jet airlines reps. Hours of delay made us miss connecting flight. Had to stay overnight at NY and got home a day late. Airport experience at punta Cana was the worst ever experienced. A miserable end to. Great vacation.

    Rooms, proximity to beach, facilities on the beach eg lounge chaise, bar, towels etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Great food though tough to get reservations so make them...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room to close to the service entrance and was noisy

    Great food though tough to get reservations so make them early in your stay. Steak house not worth it but Japanese well worth it and made up for,it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    The staff members were very friendly, polite and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Buffet could be better. Minor plumbing problems and door problems, but they were quickly resolved by staff memebers.

    The staff members were very friendly, polite and attentive. The facility was extremely clean and staff was cleaning at every location visited. The buffet was average, hit or miss, however the restaurants were very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Excellent as always. One of my favourites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Oceanfront - Premium Level
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's the perfect family resort. Plenty of options from age 2 to adult. Beaches and pools are excellent. You need walking shoes though, as some of the accomodation is quite a trek to the main lobby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    There were plenty of restaurants to choose from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    That WIFI was not included..you had to pay extra fee. The pool tables and bowling was extra. Housekeeping was ok.

    There were plenty of restaurants to choose from.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.5
    Had a really lovely holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff at the reception desk were quite rude. The only one who was really helpful was Elizabeth Morillo who was fantastic and managed to get us a room with a king size bed on our second night. The Mexican and Steak restaurant were not very good.

    Rooms were nice an the hotel was kept very clean. Buffet restaurant was good and the Italian restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.8
    Great quality time with family and friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality nightly shows. Nice big theater but poor acoustic. Lack of snacks in the swimming pools bars. No bar in the beach. Bad quality drinks in the All Inclusive regular package. Minibar did not work properly. Very few options and poor quality of fruits in the breakfast. Limited access to free wifi.

    Very friendly and adorable staff Cleanliness of the whole facility

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Amazing 😉... planning my next stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great ... had a great time

    Everything was great the staff, the food, pools very good service at the front desk.. I would definitely come back to this hotel soon

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Everything was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was excellent!!!!! I Was there during hurricane Irma, I felt safe and the staff was very helpful and polite. Its my 4th time, this time I went for my honeymoon, I truly love it!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Loved the place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach was a little dirty but they cleaned it after the first day we were there.

    Love the room, the staff the service the food. Everything was clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Great resort. Worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit of seaweed. Hurricane Irma passed by during stay but management handled it beautifully. Seems most guests are russian (not a problem, they are actually quieter and nicer and more polite than most of the americans who now descend in drove to Puerto Rico from Atlanta: that was the reason we don't go to Puerto Rico anymore). We stayed in buiding 1 of Palace in a suite, the closest pool and bar and beach are Bavaro beach hotel (as opposed to palace) and the beach in front of our building is Bavaro beach, yest we have to walk 1/2 mile to get food and drinks at the palace: doesn't make a lot of sense. That said we went for drinks at the Bbeach bar and never had a problem.

    Beautiful beach. Great staff. Excellent food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Makes you never want to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hurricane Irma that cut the nice weather down to 3 days

    The restaurants we could experience daily and how close to the beach the venue was. Clean and over the top.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Will not go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of flies in restaurants. Water dripping from the AC vents. Too much Seaweed on the beach.

    I love the family room. Comfortable and clean. Beautiful pools.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    LOVED IT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    only downers is if you want to visit spa you have to pay $25 daily pp. after paying almost 2 grand that was not cool. also premium liquors at pool VERY expensive. other than that all good.

    THE STAFF WAS AMAZING! very nice people. Everyone very helpful. Hotel was clean. Beach was amazing and so was pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.2
    Disappointed experience no value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To give me the room I booked and not what they wanted me to pay for.

    Thur charged me for two persons even if I book only for one. Very expensive hotel food quality is questionable and beach not very clean, besides they have a noisy room. Never again...last but not least no transport for the airport nor even for shopping each time the mininum taxi charge was 20 usd

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    A great and memorable stay.. Highly recommended!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The guest services needs to be more efficient. An average of 20-30 minutes of waiting time. This is made longer by the number of guest services team. Out of the 6 seats only a maximum of 3 are occupied at any given time. It is frustratingly a long wait. The staff could be a little more friendly with smiley faces. If this is improved then Barcelo Bavaro Palace meets all the 5 star status .

    Excellent facilities and amenities. Double Thumbs Up to Kids Club. Great place for family time with sun, sand and lots of fun. Would recommend to friends and family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Memorable stay at a beautiful beach resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom quality did not match a 5 star hotel ( broken parts, limescale etc.). Slow service at the restaurant(s). Extra charges for some pools (i.e. Pirate island for children). Wifi charges - 45 usd for 7 days and only for 1 equipment at a time to access - and often slow speed. The music during the evening shows were too loud, people even leaving due to it, feedback was given, but no change even for next night.

    Huge, well organized resort with superb beach, pools and facilities around. All inclusive meals, drinks, variaty of choice of restaurants, buffet meals. Customer care- one day a trouble with the pipe system casuing issues in the bathroom were addressed by a letter of the management and a bottle of drink as a gift, nice gesture! English is well spoken around the resort, beside Spanish and French occassionally. Every evening a great show in the Bavaro Theatre very entertaining.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Best all inclusive so far
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only WiFi in the casino and it was only until 4 p.m. If you wanted to have internet, you has to pau $12 a day.

    I've visited a few all inclusive hotels in Punta Cana and this one was the best so far. The swimming pool a beautiful and oud hotel room had a beautiful view of the golf field. I like the fact that there was so much to do (disco, casino, entertainment, etc.). The food was also great. The sea food restaurant had a beautiful sea view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is NOT FREE. WiFI was only available in certain areas because we didn't book directly with them. WiFi is free for customer who book their reservation with Barcelo. Reservation for restaurants were limited and very difficult to obtain.

    Facilities and the room were very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    4.2
    The Worse Resort at Punta Cana
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel does not provide free Wifi. The room service is not free either while most other resort in the area do provide free wifi and free room service. Also, they charge fee for baby while others do not. My daughter lost her purse at that resort and when I try to call the resort, no one answer the phone for whole day. On the day I check out, the entire hotel's toilet can not flush becase of no water. The smell was awful all over the place. This is the worse experience I have ever had.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.4
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't all that good.. The Hibachi restaurant was honestly the only good food we ate that week. I recommend making reservations and eating there as much as possible

    I liked how many pools there were

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: