Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Be Live Experience Hamaca Beach 4 stars

Calle Duarte Esq. Caracol 1, 10124 Boca Chica, Dominican Republic

#20 of 23 hotels in Boca Chica

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 521 hotel reviews

6.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.8

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    6.3

  • Value for money

    5.6

  • Paid WiFi

    3.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.0
    The hotel is beautiful just need more polished staff and feautures
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dark some lights didnt work, we called several times for toilet paper and towels at 8 am and they came at 10pm to clean the room with us in it! Horrible. The toilet wouldn't flush completely. I paid $25 for WiFi...Horrible you only get signal in the lobby and not anywherelese, the lobby was so far from our room, I didn't make sense to pay for the WiFi

    The buffet was amazing, the pizza/pasta maker awesome, the pool and the open bar too...most places were beautiful to relax. The beach was clean and relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    2.5
    i didn't like anything bed mistake selecting the hotell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bad place food is bad bad . old rooms rooms smell bad not clean i left next day to different hotel no money back. the place need to close and remodel

    i didn't like anything bed mistake selecting the hotell

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Your privacy and safety is at risk!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Major security violation. A new card was generated and given to someone else that was not me (only name on the account) as a result my laptop was stolen. I went to the front desk and confronted them about it. As a law enforcement officer i even said lets look at the computer logs to see who created the card and the secueity for the reception and hallway to my room and they didnt want to do that. This led me to believed this was an inside job. Poor staff and very corrupted. Beware! Next I will be bring a web cam to monitor the room and the only reason i would come back it what you get for the price but in the end your privacy is at risk!

    Value for the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    The stray cats in the buffet area was just crazy other then...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stray cats in the buffet area was just crazy other then that it was a good place very close to the market in town but was kind of hard to find anyone that spoke English. Also staying in the beach side was a lot of walking to get to the buffet and the buffet served a lot of the same thing each night, which a lot of the meat on the buffet was very tough but over all the place is great, had 6 seat down restaurants but you have to make reservations to eat there but the menu was very small, the bar on the beach was open 24 hours but the drinks were not strong at all and their soda and juices were very sweet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    3.8
    Absolutely nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Ocean View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were old which was fine but it appeared much newer in the pictures. The bed was horrible, the mattresses were old and nice he sheets and bedspread were soiled. There were no facecloths, but most of all the shower/tub was peeling and the ceiling linked dirty water when you turned in the shower. Again, you’re in the shower and you’re still getting dirty. The beach seemed man made and the liquor was very cheap and even seemed watered down. The food was ok but not much of a selection if you don’t eat pork. Next time I’ll spend the extra money to stay somewhere else. Awful!

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    4.6
    The food is decent and eatable not more (maximum 3,5 points...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Ocean View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Rooms needs to be refreshed, old furniture and equipment. - Mattresses are old and dirty, definitely has to be replaced. - 50% of the staff is unfriendly and absolutely useless. - Pay attention to the Pelicano bar bills when paying, bartenders and waiters always trying to cheat with the prices and change (check prices in the menu and add Taxes, otherwise will definitely be overcharged). - GYM club is poor and has no air conditioner (impossible to exercise during the daytime). Would be better to say NO Gym club here. - Would never ever give a 4**** to this hotel, strong 3*** not more. But most probably it is a specific of all hotels in Dominican Republic. - Bathroom and plumbing are really poor, forget about romantic))) I would never take a bath here for sure. - Service is poor.

    The food is decent and eatable not more (maximum 3,5 points from 5 if we talk about all inclusive cuisine) good variety but poor quality. + Nice location, for those who wants to eat really nice 2 very nice restaurants within a walking distance (Neptuno's and Boca Marina) are highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.8
    Saving grace was the beautiful beach at Hamaca , in Boca Chica.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service at Be Live Experience was very poor , front desk check in was nearly non existent , many of the staff do not speak English or any other language beyond Spanish well. It all felt as though my guest and I were being scammed , many of the admenities offered online at Booking.com were not made present at the hotel nor did it seem the stafff were cognizant how to implement said admenities. Someone tried to enter our room at 4am and witnessed the individuals running away through the keyhole , TV did not work at all , Curtains needed renovation , Front door was not put on properly , lots of light under and above the door and very noisy in the Hall way , one door lock within the room was broken and terrace doors were put on backwards so they could not lock properly. When asked to change the room immediately, were told no more rooms were available yet when we asked another representive there , we were told another room would be provided yet nothing was done and after frequent asking finally we gave up and tried to enjoy our vacation , mind you we paid for a Deluxe King room with Ocean View.🤨

    The only thing we liked was the service at The Pelican Beach Restaraunt and lounging , The food and service was brilliant as was the service at the adjacent restaurant Neptune’s

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    4.6
    Not good, could not wait to end my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need better maintenance. Rooms were moldy, everything in the rooms was humide. We were given other rooms. The food does not taste good. The staff in the Italian restaurant was rude. Escort girls all over.

    The main pool area was nice. Most of the staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    2.5
    The whole experience was horrible my whole Birthday was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience was horrible my whole Birthday was ruined. The hotel looked nothing like the pictures the food was bad the staff was rude along with Thomas the manager customer service was nonexistent. The tub wouldn’t drain ,they didn’t have wash clothes ,they had people selling excursions that was false advertising he said we would ride horses go to beach have a picture and drinks and it would be 3 hrs and it wasn’t only thing we did was ride the horse for an hour we spent 110 US money I spoke to the manager Thomas and he did nothing. I was ready to return home on the first day. I wouldn’t recommend this hotel to my enemy. How can your company advertise this place?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.5
    All items that you need you found here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too much time of waiting the staff for recovery and clean the bathroom. Red Label was not included in the ALL Inclusive :) Queue for playing billiards

    All items that you need you found here. Recommended!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Facility was very nice and staff was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a problem with the online site. It asks when will you arrive as if you can check in any time afternoon, but check in is at 3pm. Also it state WiFi but does not tell you have to pay for it. I assumed it was free.

    Facility was very nice and staff was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    3.8
    I would not stay here for free. Buyer beware!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Deluxe
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delayed check in, switched room i reserved to another room of lower value, the bed was in comfortable, sheets didn't fit bed properly, hard foam stuffed pillows,broken shower and tub, filthy floors, horrible food. I have stayed in 2 star motels that was better in cleanliness and hospitality.

    The greeters, bell hops, wait staff in buffet were very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    2.9
    Expect nothing, then you’ve got what you expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just about everything. Staff not friendly or helpful. Went to a gourmet themed restaurant, received cold soup, old fish. Cold food is not gourmet.

    Not much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Deluxe
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buildings look dilapidated. Rooms need attention as well. Restaurants weren't open . And buffet serves the same thing every day . Mediocre food at best.

    Location only-- 15 mins away from airport and right on the brach5

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.3
    After all it was nice but their policy wasn't good and the employees needs more training.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that they did not have transportation or a tour personal to show you the resort. Also i did not like the overnight worker especially Edgardo and two other workers the were rude, and very disrespectful... i had to sleep somewhere else that sunday, i didnt check in until monday at 3pm..

    I like mostly everything about the property. The free access to everything, the view and my room was priceless.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    4.6
    For the most part the food on site is pretty good,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe
    • Stayed 9 nights

    This hotel is in a dilapidated state. The line at the front desk of guest complaining about the condition of their room is as long as the line of guest checking in and checking out.

    For the most part the food on site is pretty good,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    2.5
    Do not book this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it was absolutely horrible. Everything dirty, broken, no hot water, no towels, no blankets. Refrigerator rusty and smelly, no lock in safe box, door lock not locking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.1
    The experience was good! I will go back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    In general, this hotel needs to be repaired because my room looked outdated. It had a roof leakage by the closet area and the floor was always wet. We have always hot water and air conditioner, however, I had to call maintenance to fix the toilet and the shower faucets. I reported it and they came to fix it the same day or the following day.

    The buffet was delicious and the staff in the different restaurants are excellent. They have different activities at the beach every day, which I love because it keeps me active. It is a safe place for your kids and family members. I love the ocean view you can enjoy the day and night activities from your room. The ocean view was breathtaking! Upgrade your room always.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.8
    I worked most of my stay, drinking rum, tequila, mama Juana and fun with bartender, I survived!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Garden View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Each of 3 rooms I stayed at had deficiencies and defects that BUGGED me, lots of mosquito bites, toilets don't flush well, too crowed with unfriendly Russians, no chairs in patio of second pool side room, no shelf for toiletries finally got a little round table put under sink, TV didn't work in room 1606 and when fixed couldn't get CH 41 fox news,can say more but my long time bartender guys and ADA friend made it right and tolerable and fun. With a little bit more of attention to fixing maintenance problems, provide free WiFi and let me have a beer at the lobby useless bar, the Belive Hamaca could be the best hotel in DR, I'm dominican, an engineer (EE), and president of GMM Research Corp, CA. FIX Room 514, 009, 1606!!! or hire me i'm retired speak Spanish, English, a little French, understand Italian, and know how to say good morning in Russian! HA!

    All of my fun bartender and staff friends of 20 years traveling to Hamaca, love them all:)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.3
    It was healing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Garden View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities need a serious investment of time and money. This is a beautiful place. Bathroom are the worse .Bathroom floors need repairing,bath tub too old . Rugs need to be changed, frames of nice paintings need repairing ,cabinets are broken, some areas need to be painted.

    Liked natural surrounding (white sand beach, trees and flowers everywhere. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Good food. Lost of choices. I was able to rest .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.0
    Terrible check in staff and dirty rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom flooded, broken door knob, moldy lampshades, no mattress cover only thin sheet, curtains had huge holes, dead water bugs found every single day outside our room. We were never able to log in to WiFi, landline phone was broken so had to walk over to “lobby guest services “ for every issue (and there were many and frequent!). Mosquitoes everywhere even though we sprayed room and kept aircondition on all. Food was terrible but breakfast omelette station was good and sometimes they had fresh fruit not just canned. 5 out of 6 of us got severe diarrhea during the weekend including my one year old nephew. Check in staff were not friendly or helpful at all. We paid for ocean view room and asked for quiet room and we got ground floor in front of pool so every night and morning we would hear children screaming or music blasting. This place needs a lot of work before it can be considered even a 2 star resort.

    The animation and bartender staff were nicest employees. If it wasn’t for their smiles and positive attitude and decent beach this weekend would have been disaster.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.4
    Wish we stayed away from SCAM of a hotel. We made the best of our trip but we’re really disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With better management and training this place has good potential to be an amazing hotel given its location and use of space. The rooms need painting , new thick and hole-free curtains and mold-free lampshades . almost all door knobs were broken on 1 floor. We got locked out twice and saw 2’others as well. Air condition control broken in our room and could only be high or off. The food is atrocious and almost 85% of food is not edible at the buffet. The pizza, rice and beans, yucca empanadas and grilled pork chops were only food items we enjoyed during our 4 days. We tried their Mexican and Italian restaurants - stay away from Italian as even simple pasta was disgusting and wine was vinegar. Mexican food was the best and all 6 of us liked our main courses. You have to pay 20 dollar deposit PER beach towel.Worst part of our stay was check in process and using “guest services” for every thing as they are not friendly and you have to wait at least 2 hours for anything to be fixed or replaced. WiFi is non existent and impossible to log in and super slow even if you do. WiFi works for only 1 device for 15 hours for entire weekend...We paid for 2 rooms with balcony and “ocean view” and we got ground floor in front of the pool. I paid almost 400 more to change from 2 rooms with pool view at Hamaca garden to ocean view at Hamaca beach and we still got pool view and the check in staff tried to convince us that we indeed had ocean view. Our booking.com specifically said balcony with ocean view and we had pool view with inflatable castle from 9-5 all of Saturday- see photos. When we complained they said hotel was fully booked and they could only change our hotel room on Sunday (we arrived Thursday and left Monday so that didn’t make sense). We knew something was fishy when they pushed us to pay up front without even giving us a room key or telling us the room number. Check in staff appear to be trained only in taking your money and not in customer relations.

    Animation staff were out of this world and went out of their way to entertain kids and adults of all ages. The kitchen staff at buffet estimate the pizza station guys were fantastic and the waiters always ready to serve drinks and bring what you need. Beach and pool were perfect for kids. The rooms are huge and I loved the walk in closet and how bathroom is very private from rest of the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.4
    My first impression wasn't a good one, and that was solely because of the front desk staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the fact that it took me about an hour to check in. The staff at the front desk wasn't helpful at all!!

    The food at the restaurant was very good, and the staff was friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    Boca Chica after 25 years
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the bed mattress was old and to soft also we don't get our booked rooms first on the 3rd day This Hotel is not well maintained

    Great stuff on the bar by the VIP location Food was also good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    3.8
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Food was disgusting.... I had to go out for food. I even tried the restaurants and nothing worth eating. Drinks had too much sugar, they need to change the recipe for someone to be able to drink at all. Rooms were dirty and staff are not the brightest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    2.9
    Mediocre at best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ocean View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room lacked cleanliness with dirty vents, sheets and curtains. Curtains were broken and there was hair in the bathroom. Beautiful marble floors dirty felt like sand on the floor and bed. Couch in the room had white stains. The ceiling fan was also dirty.

    View from the room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.0
    Prostitution heaven place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The nightclub is open to all the local underage kids allow then to consume alcohol, a lot of prostitution if you are a pedophile this will be the perfect pace for you

    Just the location is convenient to go to the capital or other cities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    4.2
    Give me a refund please.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in my room was cold couldn’t take a good shower.the buffet area for food had cats running under my table I️ really can’t eat with cats under my table. The sheets wasn’t so clean I️ was surprise because I️ stayed there before and I️ love it and I️ don’t know what happen since my last stay which was for feb 14 2017 the food seem a little low budget this time.

    The beach was nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    3.3
    I wouldn't stay here again nor would I recommend it anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in took 45 minutes and receptionist didn't even apologize. He seemed to be in as a foul mood as I was. The bed sheets had bugs in them and I woke up to 20 new bites on my legs. The toilet in my room had no flushing power. The curtains had a lot holes in them so I woke up to the light shining through these holes. When the front door closes, it left a gap at the top of the doorway big enough for bugs to enter. And the cherry on top is that beach towels have a $20 deposit.

    Pelicano Restaurant is the best part of the resort.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    4.2
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Garden View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty, musky linen, smelly beds, and pillow cases, Bathroom leaking from the ceiling to floor, dirty curtains from years and years of not being washed. Mold everywhere, dead roaches in the hall way, expenses internet, and stay cats in the dinner arear.

    Beach location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.8
    It was very close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was constant selling from the VIP upgrade, to vendors on the beach. The room I booked online was not the room we were given. That was part of the upgrade service.

    It was very close to the beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    2.5
    Horrible!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing was good. they have roaches and the pictures that they promote in this website are not the standard rooms you get, not even the executive ones. False advertisement they should show people the correct rooms not the premium ones.

    Horrible Experience even the name is a little sarcastic. You cant even start to believe how horrible and dirty this hotel is. We paid for an upgrade and it was even worst not even the AC was working correctly. As a company I would take this hotel out of my system.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    2.9
    I would definitely choose another resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures of the rooms that Be Live shows through booking are different from what you actually get. You have to be a member of the resorts exclusive program in order to get those rooms, be weary. Also the service is not very accommodating, many issues on how long it took to get things done there.

    Beautiful beaches and the location was close to my girlfriends parents house.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    3.3
    Be warned! Don't book in advance until you go and see the place I bet you will not stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in! Words can't describe my disgust for the cheap and filthy rooms and they showed me several rooms and all were the same smelly and dirty! You will not be comfortable there stay away. Don't pay in advance if you book online because they have this cheating policy if you cancel for any reason you pay a 2 night minimum penalty! I know now why they have thus policy cause many people are not happy after they arrive and see the condition of the place

    Not one damn thing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    3.3
    I hated it I
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was bad the floors in the rooms kept on sweating the pillow case had a very bad smell and the food was not too good .

    Nothing I was very disappointed when I got there they put us in some dirty room and it was too far from the food and you have to cross the street anybody from the street can pass by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    3.3
    Worst hotel ever. No better than a one star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was run down. Way overpriced for what you received. I have been to the Dominican Republic over 20 times. This was the worst place I have ever stayed. Bad food. Bad beds. Bad drinks. Bad management. On the weekends they allow locals to come in on day passes. They overcrowd the dining rooms, the bars, the beach, and they are more rude than the other guests. Don't know how your company can give them a 3.3 for such a terrible hotel.

    The staff tried to accommodate you. But they had a had time because the management and facilities were so bad.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.7
    Will go back to try their VIP suits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Ocean View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, need some major up dating. But for the price you can not expect much. I stayed for 4 night 5 days in a beach view which was amazing for $380US with taxes.

    Location location location. Great spot! For the money it is what it is. I will try their VIP suits next year to give it a more through review. All I can say is keep your expectations low. Buffet food was execellent with lots of different options. Within walking distance to many local spot. Ask your door man or host for recommendations.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    It was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean View (3 Adults + 1Chd)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are not the same that you see when you're going through the pictures on their web page. They have old beds. And the Internet is not free.

    The food was great. The entertainment was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    4.6
    I won't put any photos to not be negative completely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived and they couldn't check me in because their credit card machine didn't work. They had me walking all over the place going to different ATM machines to try to get money out or I wouldn't have a room. I had requested a lower floor didn't get it. No real parking for the customers. I complained about the TV not working for 3 days and they didn't take care of it until I told them I wanted a refund. One morning my partner found a huge roach in the tub. They acted like that was normal. Never did they asked if I wanted a different room. They make you pay upfront so then you can't request a refund, no wifi unless you pay, you can't make local calls unless you pay first. I chose to not let these things completely ruin my vacation. But next time I will find another stay. I was not satisfied.

    Staff was great. They had good food service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.4
    Has potential to be a 5 star resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Bed- Was very uncomfortable (hard) 2. Bathtub- Clogged reported the issues multiple times. Guest services had to wait for an approval to fix the drain. 3. Phones- Very old and didn't work properly 4. Food-Buffet style 3x a day. It was messy & lots of stray cats with foul smell coming into the dinning room area. 5. Shows- Difficult time understanding the host spoke way too fast in multiple languages. 6. Didn't like getting approached multiple times a day by vendors to horseback ride, get on a tour bus to Isla Saona, purchase souvenir's & to visit the VIP section. I understand the hustle but it was annoying. 7. Drinks-Cheap quality didn't taste good at all. 8. Lots of walking if given a room in the back of the hotel. The hallways are long and are 6 floors assessable by elevators & steps. FYI-The Garden section are villa type which looked great is close to the dinning area and is less walking. Especially those traveling with elderly or have difficulty walking long distance. Children over the age of 10 are considered an adult. This resort has potential it's very outdated could definitely do some upgrading with the amount getting charged to stay there.

    1. Location-Close to Santo Domingo 2. Ocean view 3. Staff-Front desk & Guest services were helpful and helped address our concerns. 4. Views of the garden were beautiful. 5. Security all throughout the resort.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    3.3
    DO NOT GO THERE!
    • Couple
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    EVERYTHING! Especially the food and accommodation. The room was very cheap and the AC was always at 60 degrees F. It's nice to feel refreshed but not freeze to death. I already endure that for months back in the States.

    I honestly didn't like anything. The pictures were completely unrealistic to what the hotel actually is. False advertisement.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    3.3
    I would have stayed in a tent if given that option rather this resort!
    • Group
    • Standard Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The moment our driver pulled into the property we were plagued with worry. It was not the traditional gated resort that one expects. It is open to both local foot and vehicle transportation. The two resorts are separated by a fairly busy road which required a security guard to insure your safe passage. The check-in process for myself took over an hour due to multiple challenges. It took my friends close to 40 minutes, due a manual check-in process. Technology is not current at this resort and the lack of friendliness with the staff left much to be desired. My friends had to change their rooms as they were isolated in an area that required walking past dumpsters and left much to their safety at night. They were charged a $100 plus in additional charges, for me I felt terrible as I had selected the resort. It went downhill from there, the rooms were borderline clean and one had mold on the ceiling causing a $200 medical bill to treat a sinus infection for a friend. The pool area was filthy consisting of worn out chairs covered in bird waste. The beach was even less appealing with hard sand that had not been combed in years. I saw the reviews but due to a special event we needed to facilitate in the area, I questioned how bad could it be. It was worse than the reviews stated. The food left much to be desired, lukewarm dishes, limited options, children digging out food with hands. Chefs cooking in dirty aprons. Inconsistent service that made one feel as if you had interrupted important matters. If you are American, used to a certain standard of accommodations this would be the worse place you can stay. It seemed to appeal to foreigners seeking the company of local prostitutes which seem to come plentiful. Not a family site! I would not stay there again if someone gave me a free week with spending money. In America this place would be condemned for a serious of health code violations.

    We were upgraded to a larger suite as we were there to be married. Our suite was wonderful, it was clean and the space was large.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    3.8
    the beach and a close restaurant (Neptuno), expensive but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The worse hotel ever for the money spent: old, totally decadent, very expensive, rooms so dirty, bathroom terrible and rusty everywhere, reception always busy, beach canteen included is so disgusting and dirty as well

    the beach and a close restaurant (Neptuno), expensive but beautiful and good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.2
    Cant beat the price!
    • Couple
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in the garden can use more cleaning but you get what you pay for.

    Pay the extra for ocean view, totally worth it! food is amazing and staff super helpful especially Encarnacion and Estevez (buffet) and Yudelania (front desk)... These guys make sure your stay is the best you can have!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    4.2
    Dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly and IMPOLITE staff, for ex. when we came to our room our hairdryer doesn't work so we called to reception to ask if anybody can come and fix it or changed it. Nothing happened so we tried 2 more times ( in 2days) and nothing's happened again. So we went to reception to ask them for it and one girl of their staff offered us to rent new hairdryer for 20 dollars?! food in their thematic restaurants was more than horrible. Basically it's the same food like u can have on buffet. Wi-Fi what u have to pay. So u paid a lot of money for your stay and it's not possible to have Wi-Fi included. Drinks what u have included in your all-inclusive package, for example mojito tasted like sweet lemonade with a bit of rum. And about clean. It was Okey but u can see that this resort is old and log of things doesn't work. I REALLY CANT RECOMMENDED THIS PLACE!!

    Beach is okey and food on the buffet is good. You have a lot of options.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    7.5
    Family friendly resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean View (2 Adults + 2 Chlindren)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It wasn't the cleanest. It was a busy time around Christmas, but it seemed like they would often run low on certain food items and plates/utensils. Perhaps both cleanliness and restaurant issues could be resolved with more staff.

    Easy vacation with kids. The beach was very child friendly. There are no waves and it's very shallow. There are kiddy pools. The resort makes it easy to book excursions.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    7.1
    It was ok for the short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the location of the hotel. The beach is not that great. The internet access sucks. It's too expensive.

    I liked the variety they had in the buffet. The bed was awesome.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    3.8
    Aweful terrible unfortunate just awful terrible food dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ON booking I requested a queen or king bed aside from the room being awful dirty and just really old and out dated THERE WERE TWO BEDS IN THE ROOM AND SMALL BEDS FULL MY BOYFRIEND AND I ARE NOT BIG OR HEAVY BUT I CAN TELL YOU IT WOULD HAVE BEEN VERY UN COMFORTABLE TO SLEEP IN THE BED I REQUESTED A DIFRENT ROOM AND THEY MADE IT VERY DIFICULT TO THE POINT THAT WE WERE WILLING TO LEAVE EVEN IF WE HAD TO PAY FOR CANCELATION FEES ALSO THE FOOD WAS AWFUL WE ENDED UP EATING BREAKFAST LUNCH AND DINNER IN THE LOCAL RESTAURANTS SPENDING ALOT MORE MONEY THAN IN OUR BUDGET IT WAS JUST ALWFUL I WOULD NEVER USE BOOKING AGAIN

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    3.3
    Don't
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King or Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty Room Dirty Beds and linens Dirty floor Awful bathroom Frequent outages, some lasting several hours. Pay extra for wireless that will not reach my room. Air Conditioning in the room only.

    The buffete

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    3.3
    Run screaming from this hotel. You couldn't pay me to stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Hotel is disgusting and staff has the worst customer service. Power outages every hour. Food is terrible. You could not pay me to stay there again. I am going to dispute the charge with my credit card and seek a refund. Obviously booking .com does not read the reviews of this hotel. With as poor a rating and the number of complaints this hotel has booking.com should jut allow booking through the website.

    absolutely nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.9
    Maybe a 6 out of 10!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have room or bed I requested. Room key did not work...Had to switch rooms-lower floor. PHONES NEVER WORKED. When I requested a wake-up visit (phones not working)to check our and get to airport, No one showed up. Need more staff at check-in/check out at certain times. Did not like that I had to pay extra for use of safe WITH KEY in my room. Almost all hotels include that in initial cost. WI-FI situation says free 1 hour...I do not think one guest understood where or when. Most ridiculous policy about FREE WIFI

    Food between very good and excellent. Cleanliness of pools,rooms Ease using all facilities Bars at pools

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    6.3
    The beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was real bad. Food was good, but there was not even utensils, for desserts. Water was bad quality, no glass for juices they used cheap very cheap plastic cup. At one point we didn't have power. Air conditioner was loud!! Drinks were very bad.. Cheap liquor . The furniture at the hotel is old and kind of broken. Very disapointed !!

    The beach...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    2.5
    Hamaca Horror
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their staff on a 80% is unfriendly and disrespectful as if they didnt lole their job or environment. The food made us sick in time inedible. The lack of service was incredible. The worse experience ever.

    Mexican Night in the Buffet restaurant.Best food serve in all 7 days.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    2.5
    don't come near that hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    didn't like anything about this hotel it is not 4 stars hotel - i would give it 1 star the room conditions were bad in addition there was a leak at the my bathroom that was not handle properly tech guy came after 2 days instead of switching me room i stayed at the same room . it was hard to reach the service desk ( loby) 3 phone numbers and only at the 10th retry they answer . and when the y answered the updated me that the problem is being taking care while actually nothing was done . the area of the food was not clean .all the facilities were old . the loby was not clean . and the took high price for internet defiantly i wont come to that place again !!! the pictures are lying !!!! by the way i have a video of the leak at the bath room but i didn't add it since nothing will change my opinion on that hotel and i don't have time to deal with it and don't want to claim my money ! defiantly i wont come there !!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    3.3
    not visiting again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King or Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    where to start. no.service coachroaches in the room . no tv working wifi forget it charching 25 usd a night per device! 3 usd a.niggt for.in.room.safe think the word all inclusive is not the right word to use promoting this property

    close to city

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    6.7
    Beautiful and adventurous, great place, has potentials to be much better, just needs more caring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King or Queen Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms 108: 1. repair the lock on double glass door, had to use your little metal rod. 2. Provide 2 chairs, 1 outside, 1 inside, maybe also a little bitty table for drinks/cafe cup . 3. Provide a remote that can turn off TV. 4. Put an extra length of chain on fan speed control so I don't break my neck trying to. 5. Provide a plastic bag for for sending to wash. Maybe with a list of cost or just let me ask the maid to do it at home and make a few pesos. 6. You don't have CONCEALAHOOK, to hang small items like hats, t-shirt, etc. www.concealahook.com 7.Air turned off 4-5 days into my stay, so I used fan, when got too hot a young guy named Luis moved me to Room 216. Much better, air worked good, but the show head fell on my head when I turn the water on so I temporarily fixed. What can I say I'm an engineer and my wife calls me "Luis McGuyver". ****THE LOBBY BEAUTIFUL VAC. CLUB BAR IS USELESS, Suggest you give it back to us regular vacationers*** I there for 10 days not a single person sat there to have a drink!!!! BAD IDEA! My name=Luis Taveras

    The STAFF !!, I know many of them over 15 years, who are friendly, loving, happy people who say "Tranquilo" when you ask them how they are doing, even though they are struggling with low wages and personal problems. The water pressure and big water bottle. This time the beautiful beach view. The generosity of bartenders and supervisors I thank them for helping a solo guy deal with the passing of a brother. Thanks Rafael, Moses, ADA, John, Elvis....many more. GOD BLESS!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    2.9
    The worst hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service was the worst I've ever experienced. They did not care about concerns or the guest being unhappy. Until money was flashed in their face we weren't accommodated accordingly.

    The beach was beautiful that's about all.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    7.9
    i consider that we have a awesome time in be live hamaca beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the drink they should upgraded, and some place around the hotel was a bad odor

    the staff very friendly, the food was good, the gourmet restaurant the food was outstanding, the entrainment team really funny and amazing.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It really suck. From Welcoming , to giving me a wrong room and not the same class than booked on line, to make you wait for hours without proposing you a drink to not cleaning your room for until late, insectes in the room, shower nrokern, phone broken , luggage service do not even darento come picking them up when you check out and call them. Food bad, beach dirty. Really an hotel to dsstroy and built with a correct managment and brand.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The conditions of the ocean view rooms were poor. Rusty lamps, broken old fashioned beds, dirty floors, rusty safe and broken bathroon. I gave up complaining after a while. The manager supervisor never face me to hear my complains. One time they overcharged me for a room and had me go through my bank statement to proof them wrong!!! They refunded the money after a day of nonsense!!!

    The staff was so nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the worst vacation experience we've ever lived. Roaches, no air conditioning, dangerous elevator, customer service does not handle customer issues, rude service, the food was horrible. We were not the only guest with these issues.

    The only aspects of the reaort that were decent were beach, pools.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    3.8
    Free food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Deluxe
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. No English person not at all. Not one worker could speak a little bit of English.

    Free food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    good not is 3 stars resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the property is old and no very clean

    the staff is very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Deluxe ocean view room was fantastic I’m enjoyed !
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture and mattress

    Deluxe ocean view room was fantastic I’m enjoyed !!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    2.9
    I will never ever stay at any be Live resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very,very,very bad

    Nothing boring food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Staff is amzing, specially Encarnacion,Estevez, Michael,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is amzing, specially Encarnacion,Estevez, Michael, Rafael and Jacky.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    2.5
    Donnot stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food, room , sheets were not clean. Just disgusting. A roach motel

    Nothing at all food was not good , unsanitary left in tue open with flies all over

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    4.5
    It was mediocre I would stay again but in the new up to date units
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roaches and old mattress

    The beach and theatre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    2.5
    nothing, ugly, disgusting
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing, ugly, disgusting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.2
    The room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the food, the building is very old as well as furniture and whites. Bathroom was awful

    The room Was big

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    4.6
    Find a rule to organize Russian people at the buffet , cuz their not polite at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress

    Beach view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Exellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Everything was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.8
    Staff was very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were many broken things

    Staff was very helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    4.6
    It was not what I expected from the photos on the internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Ocean View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge extra for guest. There shack bar. There bar with only one kind of beer

    The view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    The service only one worker is was very nice his name is...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Garden View (2 Adults + 1 Chd)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service only one worker is was very nice his name is Alfred, he was the best, and that it

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: