Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cabarete Maravilla Eco Lodge & Beach 4 stars

15 Paseo del Sol Perla Marina, 11517 Cabarete, Dominican Republic

#24 of 41 hotels in Cabarete

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 75 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful property with upscale wooden hut like...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Eco Luxury Room beach view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much water pressure in the showers but Francisco is fixing this.

    Beautiful property with upscale wooden hut like accommodations and is relaxing with great views. You will want to go here if you want peace and quiet and to look out over the ocean and enjoy the sunset and do yoga. You go to Cabarete if you want water sports like kite surfing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Our stay at the Maravilla Ecolodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spanish Jr Suite Room W AC Beach View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is tucked into a safe neighborhood right on a secluded beach. The two pools were great to swim in and were kept very clean. The staff was extremely friendly and willing to help in any way they could. The room was kept very nice and they even switched out our linens and towels halfway through our stay. There was coffee, fresh juice and breakfast every morning and great meals to choose from for lunch and dinner. The walk to the front entrance of the neighborhood wasn’t too far so we did that daily to catch a gua gua into Cabarete or Sosua. I highly recommend this as a place to stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Accomodation is amazng and location s exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Eco Luxury Room beach view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were moments when we wanted to order something from the bar, but none of the staff was around for some time. Other than that everything was perfect

    Accomodation is amazng and location s exceptional!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    Good beach, bar and food; can be noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spanish Jr Suite Room W AC Beach View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A large group of annoying, disrespectful college and high school kids stayed at the property when we were there -- rude and loud until midnight and up again before 8 am yelling in the open spaces. While this is not the fault of the property, it's worth noting that the open set-up of the facilities carried noise, so no escaping loud guests. Keep this in mind if you're planning a relaxing getaway.

    Wonderful beachside bar, nice staff, good beach, amazing homemade food. Next door is another property with facilities you can access, with another great bar and restaurant, massage services, and pilates classes (for a fee).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Great location, nice lodge, beautiful beach, nice pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food service is extremely slow which is the only down side at the lodge.

    Great location, nice lodge, beautiful beach, nice pool. Rustic construction which was nice.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.6
    Watch out for extra taxes because the amount you pay will be much higher than the Booking.com search
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Eco Luxury Room beach view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We are very disappointed in the fact that our bill was 28% more expensive because of taxes + extra city tax. We trust the price of booking.com when we search and with the confirmation of the booking comes a hole other higher amount. It does feel like scamming people. You'll pay the hotel in the hotel’s local currency (DOP) at the exchange rate on day of payment. 18 % TAX is excluded. 10 % service charge is excluded. US$ 10 City tax per night is excluded. service and breakfast were not very good. also we stayed in a room without windows so I did not sleep because of the wind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    Not so great. Nice staff and good location, but more like a hostel than a hotel. Overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eco Luxury Room beach view
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I think that the facility and amenities don't merit the price. This has the feel of a somewhat haphazard hostel. The buildings are wooden cabins and you hear and feel all of your neighbours. We only had hot water two of the seven days we were there. The food is ok, but nothing special.

    The owner and staff were very attentive, and always tried to repond to our requests. The location is great, with a wonderful beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Accommodation with a bit of an adventurous spirit. Great experience for kids.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    On arrival, I was given an ugly room next to the reception. I moved the next day to one of the cabanas. The beach in front is not suitable for swimming because of rocks and waves. Good half an hour from the airport and taxi driver had difficulties locating the place. Very isolated.

    The second night I stayed in one of the cabanas and had the feeling of being in a tree house. All well arranged and pleasant. Great for families and kids to pass a couple of days. Staff was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.8
    Staff is great but place needs investment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eco Luxury Room beach view
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place requires serious renovations and investment. It is quite run-down and facilities are not as they look on pictures. It is very rustic which I would not necessarily classify as "eco" but rather cheap. Owners should invest because the place has a fair size and a great beach front.

    Staff was super friendly. Great beach front.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    extraordinary, a dream
    • Couple
    • Kitesurf Jr Suite w AC Beach Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    last very few days

    it is not a place, it is a paradise surrounded by a beautiful beach and an incredible nature, the warmth of the people of the place make you feel special, thank you, you are a very professional person, attentive, and above all you have a team of very good job

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.6
    We recommend this place to people who want to get off the beaten path and enjoy the surf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kitesurf Jr Suite w AC Beach Side
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We loved our stay here. Sonia was fantastic and helpful, as was the rest of the staff. We loved the beach and the location. Our room was perfect and we loved sleeping to the sound of the waves. The food was excellent, with local specialties and a great bargain. Evelyn took great care of us at the bar! It is a great place for those who are looking for something other than the typical all inclusive resort.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.0
    To expensive for what is is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tree house penthouse pool side ocean view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very poor and service was virtually inexistant. The whole place is falling apart, nobody seems to care.

    Room was large and wonderful in the tree

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    The place was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Eco Luxury Room beach view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water wasn’t stable, but wasn’t a big issue

    The place was amazing! The location is beautiful and quiet, has private hidden beach which is always clean. Rooms are comfy with great view! The breakfast at the place was very tasty and always fresh!! Thanks to Marc, Sonia and crew for unforgettable vacation!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    We enjoyed our stay in Maravilla!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eco Luxury Room beach view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay in Maravilla! It is located on very good place,close to the sea (in fact we can see the sea from our balcony-great :-). Breakfast were delicious. The bed was very comfortable. Highly recommend this accomodation. Sonja (the main person on reception) is very friendly and helpfull everytime.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Perfect place for holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Eco Luxury Room beach view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet and picturesque place! Very friendly people! We had really amazing time there! Sunbathing in a private beach, beer in a pool, barbecue for dinner, party in Cabareto at night, amazing! Thanks Sonia and Emily! Hope your are well! :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.8
    Cute small wooden hotel with a laid back atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Eco Luxury Room beach view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to heavy rains everyone was a bit startled and things didn’t run as smooth the first 24 hours as they did the next two days. It was like everything were done at the very first time, so confusing, and it was for example hard to understand if there was a restaurant open or not, how we were supposed to act at the breakfast, since they decided to not serve individually that very day but just put everything on the table up for grabs. Maybe my lack of Spanish also added to the confusion :) The information at booking says the place got yoga classes and spa but unfortunately they do not, so I suggest they change that info part to avoid disappointment. However I found out that the little more expensive neighbourhood hotel Nature Cabanas got that, so I got my sweet yoga classes anyway, but maybe maybe could the Maravilla hotel give next person who asks of yoga that as a tip instead of saying just “noooo”, that would improve the impression :)

    The staff were sooo sweet during my whole stay and the manager helped me a lot, she is also English speaking and since I unfortunately don’t speak Spanish that made things easier :) The breakfast staff at the two last mornings were absolute angels, and everyone checked in with me during day to see all was good. The place is serene with a beautiful little beach (without parasolls or hoards of tourists, very laid back) and you can walk easily to other beaches for example to the great surf beach Encuentro. Rooms are cute, all wooden, I got a lovely small balcony. I liked it a lot! Thank you for taking such good care of me!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Very friendly atmosphere, Marc, the owner really makes you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tree house penthouse pool side ocean view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly atmosphere, Marc, the owner really makes you feel at home. The wooden building have a lot of character. Location is superb: directly on the beach! Great place with great staff - Highly recommended !!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    I will be returning in a few months. I loved it!!! Best typical tropical place, food, and people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eco Luxury Room beach view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    The staff is awesome and friendly. The hotel is beautiful. It is what you would expect on a tropical Island. Everything from the staff down to the room and the food and environment was by far the best experience I have had on the island. I definitely will be returning soon. I felt good there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous time for families, couples or singles!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa Española room w AC beach view
    • Stayed 1 night

    so sad I did not find this place 5 years ago, I am coming back

    we had a great time, my 4 year old was free of charge and enjoyed swimming in the pool, the Jacuzzi and the quiet ocean and gorgeous beach! Also a great attraction for families is the turtle pound, 2 beautiful ones and the open bird refuge, the birds spend the night in and are free to fly in and out and a cute iguana. Service is perfect a, the way a eco lodge should be , all natural and super comfy. Sleep like an angel! Food is delicious, mangu and dominican organic veggies, home grown green field eggs ( the rooster and the chicken run freely) ,make your won BBQ, fresh fish, grilled lobster, the chocolate coulant and crepe suzette is a winner from Mela. Mojitos and a great massage ! We come back to take a surf lesson and a yoga class

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Classic beach getaway!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Spanish Jr Suite Room W AC Beach View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Thank you so much for making our getaway in Cabarete extra special! Food was wonderful, service is very positive and very helpful front desk :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    A great place to stay, right next to a beaufiful beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Eco Luxury Room beach view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great place to stay, right next to a beaufiful beach! Amazing yoga spot next door. Kind and helpful staff, I would visit again anytime!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast, view, in front of the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Eco Luxury Room beach view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No warm water in shower

    Breakfast, view, in front of the beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Really nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Eco Luxury Room beach view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very nice and the location a very close drive to bars and restaurants

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous locatio and even more fabulous peope. This is a gem of a location, small.. but warm place.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Kitesurf Jr Suite w AC Beach Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location and the people

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Paradise on earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tree house penthouse pool side ocean view
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super staff Sound of the waves Great cocktails Friendly atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Sonia treated us just like her family, she gave us a nice room and she runs the hotel very well 👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spanish Jr Suite Room W AC Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room, well experienced staff, clean, good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    It's just like Heaven heaven's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kitesurf Jr Suite w AC Beach Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like the place, the atmosphere, the people who works here, very very nice we for sure will come back again, just good think

    Stayed in January 2018

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: