Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dona Elvira Boutique Hotel 4 stars

207 Padre Billini, Colonial Zone, 10210 Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

#33 of 76 hotels in Santo Domingo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 264 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I visit Santo Domingo regularly for short vacations (8-10 times a year) and I decided to try a different hotel so I would have expanded verified options for friends when they visit. The room that I booked was represented online as a two bedroom suite with a kitchen. When we checked in there was no kitchen in the room, no hot water and the air conditioner leaked and could not keep up. We let the staff know and to their credit they fixed the hot water and the leak in the Ac but the Ac still did not keep up. It also took them a day into a two day stay. There are much better options for similar prices in the same area so I would recommend considering others before this one. They never did address the kitchen represented on the email confirmation i received.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was closed for renovations (first weekend of April 2018). There was a power outage for about 10 minutes. The bathroom lights still worked but the main room lights along with the fan and AC did not work during the power outage.

    The location is fantastic. In the heart of the Colonial Zone and within walking distance to main tourist sights. I had taken a bus from Punta Cana to Santo Domingo. I got off at the Parque Enriquillo bus stop and walked south for about 15 minutes down Av. Duarte and there I was at the hotel. There's a Jacuzzi on the roof with an area for sun tanning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist hardly spook English or French. The rooms are smelly, very small and had hardly daylight. We had a 9 m2 room for the 3 of us and we paid about 100 € for one night ! There is no fridge in the room, the staff is not helpful (except the breakfast lady). My 12 years old son even found a condom wrap in the drawer in the room. The commun courtyard had an full asthray on one of the tables, at least 5 staff members must have passed many times in front of it but no one thought about emptying it. We never receive our genius member welcome drink. We asked for it at the end but they pretended they didn't understand. Bit still the worst were the rooms, you can not ask more than 30 dollars a night for such a room even if the entrance is beautiful. This was the last night of our holiday and we are very disappointed

    The entrance is beautiful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor is not inline w the ambiance of the hotel history , cheap furniture . Was told the hottub was being clean but never was nor refilled while there. Perhaps not advertise it as I was looking forward to it . Since u cater to International folks , it would be nice if more than one staff member spoke a little English . Especially the front desk as only one did . The other dark hair ( not the nice one w reddish hair) was rude and always on her cell phone. I was charged for a larger room but put on a small room but charged the same which seemed unfair but could not comminicate this at check out. There is too much chlorine in the pool as my eyes stung using it.

    Location and quietness and the breakfast . My pasta was not good for the price and tasteless plantains for tne dinner .. no bread . Another option for white wine besides cheap chardanay would be helpful .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite - Queen Isabella
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff total incompetent had no knowledge of city. Dinner extremely expensive. Better food in Columbus square better quality and cheaper.

    Colonial zone close to all monuments.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too bright because of the A/C light. I recommend to paint the little panel with black color or put a tape on top to mitigate the light.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The receptionists were a bit "shy" to answer questions. It took some time for the water to heat up for shower.

    Hotel decoration and ambiance are really nice, quite festive. Breakfast was simple and decent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit scarcely /old fashionably furnished. And there was a very unpleasant smell ( of some detergent or cleaning substance).

    Nice breakfast. Elegant lobby and nice patio with small pool.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want to pay with card the Hotel charge you extra 12%, nowhere is written that, the staff tell you this on check-out. So if you don’t have cash you lost the money.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite - King Ferdinand
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were assigned the wrong room at check, fixed eventually. No help to carry bags to third floor. No blanket on beds. Damp smell in room. Bad nights sleep generally.

    Beautiful building in a great location in the old colonial city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty bathrooms. Someone else' hair in the sink. The rooms had dirt and soot around the baseboard. AC was horrible. Beds uncomfortable. They said breakfast would be served at 6. But at 7:30 we got a horrible breakfast of under-cooked eggs.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite - King Ferdinand
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms were small, I was originally given a different room to what I booked. On checkout, they wanted cash not card.

    Walking distance to attractions in the colonial zone, breakfast was good and the staff were really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite - King Ferdinand
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic service! We arrived late because of delayed flight! No problem for the people at the small restaurant at the hotel who made dinner for five persons after closingtime! Beatifull hotel in the Colonial Zone. Rustic, but so Nice and clean! We will visit it again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no windows in the room, you can't see when it's daylight.

    very friendly staff, nice hotel within a former colonial building, located directly in the colonial city of Santo Domingo, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do not attempt to book rooms on the hotel's own Website--it's not monitored and the reservations may not be honored (we nearly avoided a fiasco by calling). Emails in either English or Spanish are also not answered. The best way is to communicate is to call and to make your booking through a hotel portal. The pool is pleasant but they really ought to add some stone steps to make it easier for people to get in and out--for someone with even a slight physical problem, or just past middle age it can be a challenge. The jacuzzi they advertise needs to be turned on upon request. It's rather cold, but the main issue is that the jets are barely working so it's just like sitting in a lukewarm bathtub. Too bad because a rooftop jacuzzi would be a big attraction. They also clearly intended to set up some kind of lounge on the roof but haven't gotten around to it yet. In general the hotel not disabled-appropriate but if you are in an OK shape help you can navigate the stairs without issues. They do help you with carrying luggage upstairs if you are in one of the higher level rooms.

    The location is in the Zona Colonial, the safest and most historic part of Santo Domingo, with all sights and shops (including a big supermarket open late) nearby. A small but stylish hotel with lots of atmosphere. It has a quirky unique character really making the best of traditional architecture to evoke the early Spanish-influenced buildings. Breakfast, which is included, is ok. It's possible to have dinner in the hotel at an extra charge, although it's a bit pricey by local standards, but the drinks at the bar are okay and it's pleasant to sit by the pool in the shade of a mango tree. The staff is very kind and responsive. When we returned from our walk on our last day to pick up our luggage they gave us a few small items left behind in our room--this was very thoughtful. The a/c and the cable TV work well and everything is kept very clean. I'd return without hesitation and would bring a friend.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there is one criticism and it's not really a big deal. Because breakfast is included and it is great. It would be nice to know what your breakfast options are a head of time. Again, it's not really a criticism because I love that breakfast is included.

    It is a small place which meant the staff was very attentive to making sure your stay is enjoyable. The service was first rate and I would stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Junior Suite - King Ferdinand
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That everything in the restaurant and bar has to be charged in US dollars. The price for a beer is expensive and on checkout the change is in Dominican Peso. Also, I had an evening flight and even at repeated requests to stay in room till 3:00 pm for an additional charge was asked to vacate my room at 12:00 noon. My flight was st 6:29 pm. I have stayed in other hotels in the area and was not booted out of the room but charged extra for the additional hours stayed.

    Staff was very friendly and eager to help

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appartement proposed to us was located in a non safe area, was unsalubre, dirty. Not to recommand. The pictures on Booking.com are fakes. I was obliged to cancel

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Junior Suite - King Ferdinand
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That Booking is hiding the final price of the accommodation. Booking supports the bad pricing politic in Rep Dominicana

    The historical architectura of the Hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going out at night is not exactly safe in the area

    Very welcoming, nice staff. Always available for suggestions. Great breakfast. Cosy ambience. Spacious room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed three nights and after the third day i wished some more variation in the breakfast. Although the breakfast that was served, was daily fresh and prepared in the kitchen. Fresh fruit, eggs, bread, jam en cookies, coffee, tea, juice. I think for a short stay at this hotel the breakfast is for sure very good. I also must say that i am a strong eater in the morning :-)

    Excellent price/ quality. Good location in Colonial Zone. Nice hotel, Spanish vibes. Parking near hotel. Restaurants, bars, shops,... Excellent staff, willing to help at any time and very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much lights in the night coming through the window and the led light of the air conditioner does not shut down.

    Personal attention, always smiling staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was great and fast when we needed it to be. The whole property had a very romantic, antique feel, with beautiful tile work. The pool was fantastic. I was a little worried it would be a loud party spot due to some of the pictures, but on a weeknight it was quiet and peaceful. Highly recommended if you are exploring the colonial zone.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was kind of bad in our room and some bed sheets seemed to have a "closet smell". But nothing too bad.

    Very charming! The location is incredible! The 1600s house is amazing. Great experience!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not well maintained. The claimed gym is a stationery bike and a bench without weights, all this is outside in the 30 degrees. The staff does speak English. (this could be a positive, if you want to learn/practice Spanish). The city doesn't feel really safe, which is not the hotel's fault of course.

    The location is really good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms had a mildew smell

    Loved the ambiance, however 1 of the 2 rooms we rented (bottom floor) had a strong mildew smell. But what made everything bearable was the great attentiveness of Felix and Yanil. Their smiles, assistance and friendliness made our stay very pleasent. Breakfast was very complete and made to our dietary restrictions of 7 active seniors. We will return, hopefully they will work on some of the rooms mildew smell to make it a perfect accomodation.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 1 night

    really nice friendly people, we needed 3 beds s they ut another one in and were really nice. We are going to stay there on the way back and cancel the other booking as it was such good value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor complaint is that the wifi did not reach the bed in our room, most likely it reaches all other rooms and we didnt mind sitting on the patio. Also the hot water in the bathroom takes a very long time ti run hot.

    Location as everyone will mention is excelent if you want to explore the popular "area colonial". The hotel itself is fairly small with a warm and nicely laid out lobby a beautifull courtyard with a fairly small swimming pool which is uaded by a huge mango tree. Staff were welcoming and check in was fast and easy. We had breakfast each day and dinner on the day we arrived, food was fresh and tasty. Room is nice and clean, ac as well as a celing fan and all amenities we could have wanted.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful stay, Staff very professional, Breakfast always fresh and great service, Arrived on property and minor mix up with reservation, We were upgraded to a property nearby and enjoyed our stay,

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Junior Suite - King Ferdinand
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mildew smell in bathroom.

    The bar and food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is old inside the room

    Nice pool and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Junior Suite - King Ferdinand
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of damp in bedroom

    Great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite - King Ferdinand
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice, central location in the historic part of Santo Domingo Pool good for a short refreshment Very helpful staff Nice and late breakfast option

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water for the shower was not always available

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite - King Ferdinand
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roms Toilets

    Reception

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was damp. Laptop friendly safes are needed. The jacuzzi was empty.

    Staff were nice and helpful though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy aircondition

    Great location. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous Spanish architecture! Amazing location! Staff was incredibly nice. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Very good breakfast super

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no confortable seats to relax by the pool , the rooms are not pretty .

    Great location , friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matress and pillow terrible. Very uncomfortable

    Charming colonial bulding

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite - King Ferdinand
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the breakfast - the environment, typical colonial house - really comfortable room - cosy bathroom - nice host

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast might be too simple and not enough for some clients.

    The bed is really comfy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love this place i recommend to my friends

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is the best!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 1 night

    That the mango tree didn't have enough mangoes, LOL.

    The kitchen staff was extremely pleasing to our "antojos" (cravings).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late check in

    Everything, especially the receptionist Rachel, who was very professional and nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room was poorly decorareted and bathroom outdated

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly !!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot's of mosquitos

    I like the old spanish style architecture

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very confortable and quite. Staff super kind. Nice really nice. We'll be back again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was accommodating and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room - Antonetta
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallish rooms.

    Perfect location and helpful English speaking staff. The pool is ideal for a quick dip after a hot day of touring.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower could've been warmer but it was warm enough for me and wasn't worth complaining about considering all things.

    The courtyard is beautiful and perfect for impromptu picnics and drinks with friends from the super mercado right up the street on Calle Duarte. Parqueo Duarte at Calle Padre Billini and Calle Duarte is great for meeting friends and listening to live music and we could also watch and hear the live music on the rooftop deck across the street on the other side of Calle Padre Billini. We had a bottle of wine and listened to music and danced and had a great time by ourselves. The staff was more than accommodating and we stayed two extra nights because of it. Everything is close enough to walk or taxi to and they handled everything for us upon request quickly and professionally. The breakfast was great: coffee, fresh fruit and fresh fruit juice and toast and ham and eggs to order. I paid about $225 US at closing and that was for 3 nights and a couple of drinks at the bar. Couldn't be happier with my experience here and I definitely plan on returning whenever I'm in the capital.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Jacuzzi water was brown and didn't work.

    Awesome hotel close to everything historic. Staff was friendly and upgraded our room complimentary. I would recommend this to anyone staying in Santo Domingo!

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Family with young children

    Beds/decor could use a little improvement, but I am a designer, soooo, rather picky. That said, a historic building and neighborhood on a caribbean island, I have been to the DR many times and was not expecting an american hotel.

    The staff were very friendly and got to know what we liked for breakfast! We had two rooms for a week and could walk anywhere in the colonial area. Fresh mangoes would fall from the tree in the courtyard and the cook/chef was happy to cut up and plate for the children, what a treat! One of our party had an evening departure, the hotel kept her bags and gave her a small room to shower before the driver came to take her to the airport. Lastly, the food is great at this little hotel. I wish we had more opportunities to dine in! Great chicken tikka-masala. AC and fans keep the rooms very cool at whatever temperature you choose. Pool very clean and great for a quick dip any time. We had an impromptu meeting one day and used the shady rooftop area. The kitchen made us some fresh juice and appetizers without any prior notice. Totally affordable with local vibes. We will stay here again for our annual trips.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Convinient location to the Conde and Malecon areas. The staff is very friendly and helpful , we were made to feel as if we were in a private home. We traveled the city daily and they were able to find good safe drivers at a fare price. We have stayed here on past trips and will return again soon. Thank you Dona Elvira.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is a superb hotel located at Zona Colonial. The rooms are big, the ammenities include a nice pool, restaurant, bar and a terrace with jacuzzi. The location is great and the staff is super helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    They put my 68-year-old mother on the top floor, only accessible by stairs, and that was difficult for her.

    The location is excellent in the Colonial Zone.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had book this for $79/night but when I went to pay for the two nights on site, I was charged over $400. We only had eight cocktails on the tab so I don't know why the rate was so high. Buyer beware! Also almost got mugged two blocks away. Fortunately, my screams chased the perpetrators away.

    Loved the location, liked that all rooms overlooked a lovely courtyard and that there was extra roof top seating. Liked happy hour and the fact that dinner was available beyond the excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Jaccuzi did not worked but maybe we just did not figure it out.

    Easy and very accomodating welcome! The breakfast is very good! They were always very happy to help us with anything, place is near every nice spot in town, we had a wonderful trip!

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some sanitary fittings need upgrading. Wifi coverage could be improved too.

    Ruins restored to a building with 16th century character - it was an absolute joy to stay in the Isabel Suite. Staff are extremely courteous, breakfast is sumptuous. Located in a safe area and very convenient for visiting the Colonial Zone. A small family friendly residence.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We reserved the apartment as we were travelling together with one child and two babies. When we arrived they told us the apartment was a few blocks away and we had to walk there. They offered us a room instead with only two beds. When we insisted on the apartment they insisted it was too far away and too noisy as it was close to a disco/bar. we insisted we wanted to go and see the apartment, but again they insisted it was not the best option (?) It was late and we were tired so we decided to stay in the room. I reserved two baby cots which were confirmed. When we arrived they could only give us one and it was not in a good state. When we accepted the smaller room we were promised the rate would be adjusted down, as the apartment was more expensive than the room, but that the responsible person was not available and we needed to wait until next day to arrange it. Next day the person arrived at 12 and he said the room (two beds, small room) was actually more expensive. He said the taxes were not included in our reservation. When we showed it was clearly stated in our reservation that taxes were included, his response was : "how strange..." and as an act of "kindness" made a small discount in the room and we could keep the same rate as for the apartment.... We anyway stayed as it was only one more night and the effort of moving was not worth it at that moment. Overall we felt fooled with the price and how they tricked us in changing the apartment for the room. from our view, it was not good value for money and we will not comeback. If you plan to stay there you might consider other good options at similar prices around the area. Also not really suitable for kids and bare in mind apartment is not at the address of the hotel.

    Good location close to centre, nice central garden, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would be nice if they added a ladder to the pool. For some, it's rather difficult to full yourself out of the pool on the ledge.

    We enjoyed our stay at Dona Elvira Boutique. The staff was very welcoming and helped us out in any way possible. We lost a key to the lock on one of our suitcases and they were more than helpful in cutting it off for us. Breakfast was tasty. We were served coffee, fresh fruit, toast and scrambled eggs with ham.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They way over charged us for a beer, which we didn't realize until we went out to dinner and paid 1/2 the price.

    Had a very Dominican feel which was just what we wanted. Location was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff who was there when we arrived acted like they didn't know we were coming. We didn't get the room that I had reserved but they did give us acceptable alternate accommodations. The parking is bad.

    I loved the location of the hotel! The courtyard is beautiful and very relaxing! The location is great!

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We reserved the apartment with booking.com. We had hoped that each teenager could have their own bed. We were disappointed that the apartment was not available, and the kids had to share a bed with each other and share a room with us. They didn't even give a discounted rate.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Inner court yard echoes noises (doors closing etc)

    Location, size, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Property needs a back up generator.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was very good and friendly, Beautiful surroundings and atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Located right in the heart of the colonial district. The apartment had plenty of space and was charming and cute. Perfect for our needs.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrasse en face bruillante . Attention piscine = bruit

    Endroit correct sans plus

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice located in the zona colonial of santo domingo for a good price

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff

    Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very helpful. Location was great, close everything

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: