Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Antiguo Hotel Europa 3 stars

Arzobispo Merino Con Emiliano Tejera, Zona Colonial, Colonial Zone, 10210 Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic

#46 of 84 hotels in Santo Domingo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 945 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    6.3
    The room was quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room (1 adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room furniture but especially the bed mattresses need to be replaced. The room had no windows.

    The room was quiet. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is located within the Zona Colonial area. The hotel has parking

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.8
    The advantages outweighed the disadvantages - we were quite satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very basic. Small TV, no amenities. Right on a busy street - so VERY loud. OK, but small bathroom.

    Location, location, location! PERFECT! Great, safe, free parking. Lovely, free, breakfast. Pretty good free wi-fi. And, of course, the can't-be-beat price!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    a nice decent hotel in the colonial zone thats near the sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the wifi can be better. it was slow. nothing really bad to say about hotel.

    the room was great. the bed was clean and comfortable. love the little balcony in the room. AC was on blast!! loved the free breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast and the waiter in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the guy at the front desk. I paid more than what I saw on the website

    Breakfast and the waiter in the restaurant. The lady at the check out desk was decent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    Booking misleads you
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking does injustice making two different description pages first before you book which is misleading, no checks confirming ammenities yet with parenthesis in front of banal ammenities stating "(addirional charge)" so you think its only logical all the additional charges are listed. Nope.Only after you book do you see bookings misleading list and more (negative) reviews. Its not fair to the small businesses if they are misrepresented by booking. They did their best t accomodate after the fact. Use hotwire its more fair all around and better deals

    Location but its noisy til midnight....staff really eager and kind

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    GREAT! :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The sheets could have been a bit more clean...but that's what I'm a bit picky about.

    The location is perfect! Middle of Zona Colonial! The staff are very helpful. The breakfast is basic but that was fine with me. Great value for money!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Best feature is location. Walking distance to waterfront, Fortaleza and Columbus plaza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dated furniture. Bed too soft and lumpy

    Open air restaurant on 4th floor was nice. Eggs cooked to order. Friendly staff. Facility located just minutes from Colonial City attractions and sites

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Short but flawless stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is rather small and you have to ask for a lot of things as they are not displayed - tea, hot water, some pretty basic things. Breakfast staff is very helpful but doesn't speak English, so it can be a problem to get what you need

    Very nice hotel in the central location, very safe, with nice stylish rooms, beautiful view from the balcony and, most importantly, very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent communication from the point of booking. They made us feel welcome starting from the check-in with nice cocktail, went out of their way answering our questions and booking us taxis and they also did not forget to congratulate us on our honeymoon with a nice bottle of local champagne. We also loved having breakfast at the rooftop terrace which also functions as a bar in the evenings. All in all - we were pleasantly surprised and would definitely stay there again if in Santo Domingo.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Stay was ok but the breakfast setup is the worst.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible wait staff for breakfast. Waitress had an attitude and rolled eyes when asking for things. The time it took to get simple breakfast foods was entirely too long. There was only one bottle of syrup being passed around each table which in turn causes my food to get cold. The waitress took food items from my table that I was still eating (juice, eggs). She did not offer to refill my juice. I was expecting a continental breakfast as advertised and received nothing of the sorts. I would suggest returning to buffet style breakfast as it was previously. You will lose a lot of customers because of your new breakfast set up.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    I’ve stayed in this hotel before and I really like the...
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet only in the lobby.

    I’ve stayed in this hotel before and I really like the location. It’s clean and the staff is professional. We liked it also because they had private parking for their guest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Great location, budget price. You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms and bed small, not USA standard. Parking a bit of hassle to get back to your car which is around the corner from the property. No street parking available. Mirror stolen when left auto out of parking facility. Room service slow to respond, you have to call serval times.

    Location close to colonial sector.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    People were very nice and Colonial Zone is very cool
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisey on west side. Could not sleep with music playing until 5 in the morning. It was insane. Tried to cancel the next night to find another, quieter place but they wouldn't let me out of the reservation. Stayed the following weekend one night in an east room and it was much more quiet. Wise to request room 216 or 316.

    People were very nice and Colonial Zone is very cool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    Not so good this time round
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a private function on the terraza above my room ..no sleep possible till 1pm. Noisy chairs being dragged along the concrete floor at the end. I might as well have slept up there. I had previously stayed in room 207 looking out onto Emiliano Tejara. The terraza noise was audible but notdisturbing. What noise there was came from the street outsode. This time I had an interior room 303. Despite being better generally there was no window and you could hear the guy peeing in the bathroom adjoining mine.

    Well situated nice staff and breakfast on the terraza

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.0
    The staff were very nice but it was not comfortable for us since we could not sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area was extremely noisy and chaotic. It would have been beneficial to have a description of the local events that would be occurring during our stay so that we could have made a better decision.

    It was not what we expected and it was very, very noisy. We were unable to sleep so we left the hotel for another after the first night. Staff was otherwise very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel in the Zona Colonial
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise coming from lobby that could be heard inside the room, noise continued until very late at night. No window in room. Expensive taxi service.

    Excellent location in the Zona Colonial. Pleasant rooftop terrace for breakfast. Very comfortable bed and clean bathroom. Good air conditioning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.4
    not again, served my purpose for the one night I had to stay somewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super noisy. Front door slams on every entry and exit and on a busy intersection (not that any part of the Colonial District is quiet...) Free breakfast is meh. Rooms feature absolutely nothing to write home about. Check in and out took forever. Reserved two queen beds - got a twin and a queen.

    Nice staff. Exterior and lobby are nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Great visit to zona colonial district , super convenient to all sight seeing in area .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrific hotel in great location with helpful staff and convenient parking and stunning rooftop location for breakfast and great place for a cocktails. Clean and comfortable rooms and linens , very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    Great location, super close to all the interesting things in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff didn't told us about the possibility to order a hot meal on the breakfast

    Great location, super close to all the interesting things in Zona Colonial; clean room, comfy bed, stable wi-fi connection, breakfast served on the top of the building

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.5
    Convenient place to stay in colonial area. Not very fancy, but good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We rented a car from the airport and it took us a while to get there as the hotel is surrounded by oneway streets.

    relatively good located close to colonial sightseeing places and they had parking space four our rentalcar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful building, nice rooms (except for the missing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didn't have any window! Ask for a room with a balcony. Some of the staff were really nice, some kind of lazy. We had no power for about 3 hours, this could have been handeled better (eg handing out Flash lights or drinks)

    Beautiful building, nice rooms (except for the missing window), clean. Nice rooftop terrace. Breakfast in the dom rep is much more simple than in Germany. So probably this was a good one.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    5.8
    Okay for the area, which was nice to see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi our in 3rd floor, took a while to resolve by moving to second. They need a tech. Bed was not queen by any means.

    Staff tried hard to accommodate. One young woman made the correct decision to relocate us to a room that had a better chance of wifi.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.3
    Good location though. But hotel did not fix broken balcony door after asking for it to he fixed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast same thing every day. Cable was down during my whole stay. Balcony door did not get fixed during whole stay although i asked for Room twice (2 consecutive days) without water for hours without proper notification

    Location and staff attention and service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.5
    I would stay again but you have to ask for a room on the front of the hotel.The position is very goo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was with windows that could not be open and in a corner with a lot of noise from the air condition system. Impossible to relax....

    The location and the staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.3
    Good location but some/one bad room and optimizable check in process
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great and vwry close to all in zona colonial

    Superior room had no windows but loud fan or ac outside. Not acceptable for tjat price ams superior category. Room wad 312. Chech in was notgood. Room was not ready on ceck in time and even 3h later there was still a wait before we couöd get in room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    3.8
    Nothing except district
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really, it is terrible. The hotel staff does anything except their work. Rooms... if you like 18-19 century prisons - you will like it. If you like to listen terrible music at 00 AM - you will like. Seriously guys, do not book this hotel, try to find another one in this district.

    Nothing except district

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    2.5
    Not going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so uncomfortable to go all around to the antiguo Europa hotel and when we get there with our reservation and everything they said that they have a problem with the A/C and send us to a hostal, too small, not clean at all.. definitely not going back to this hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    The best place to stay in Santo Domingo!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be a bit better.

    Staff was amazing, we were there during hurricane Maria and they took great care of us. Great location, beautiful terrace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.1
    It was basic. Nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior of the hotel fit in well with the Colonial Zone but the interior did not seem to capture the “feel” of the area. The free breakfast was also ok. Nothing special.

    Our stay was good. This hotel was basic. The staff was great! They were quite helpful. The room was suitable but basic. The location was good. Close to the main square and food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    3.3
    Never going back
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their breakfast are not good at all because everyday they provide the same thing,And plus those who are there to serve does not speak english..And they provide me with a room as soon its start raining the water say here i come right in the room,This place really does not deserve the money I was paying.I hope they make changes really soon because the location of the hotel itself is not bad.,But if you are someone who love to eat the samething everyday then you good to go.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect hotel. Will use the same next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I got recomended to use a taxi driver call Noberto from the hotel. He was a big scamer and charge me 2000 pesos for a ride that cost me 100 peso the other day when i got a taxi from the street just outside. If they recomend you to use him dont. And if the hotel read this please recomend your customer some one ells.

    This place was really good. Stay there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    Fair price/quality ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was without window or balcony, so it is dark all the time. Breakfast is like 2 stars, not 3 stars hotel. It was noisy both nights, because building is old, sound insulation is poor.

    Good place, convenient to reach all visiting objects. Nice terrace on the roof for breakfast. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Amazing SD
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested airport transfer but could not locate driver at airport on arrival and had to find an alternative taxi.

    Great place and great staff and great location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    5.8
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the bed was terrible, the a/c was leaking water, the shower head broken, terrace very dirty

    the staff who worked on the top floor where they served the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Very pleasant stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the room was poor, especially in the bathroom and the water in the shower was not at all times at the same temperature. The room doesn't have a window so you really should rely on your watch for the time.

    We were welcomed in a very nice way at the frontdesk with a juice. The lobby is nice and you can sit and it is very cozy to sit and read the newspaper, watch tv and use WIFI. The room was nice and we had an extra bed. The WIFI works okay and the cable consists of a huge selection of channels. Very good location, so you can walk straight into town, el Conde street where all the shops, restaurants, historical sites are located. I felt save and the hotel is comfortable. The breakfast is okay, they had some nice porridge and you could order your eggs according to your taste.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    2.5
    DONT EVEN THINK ABOUT IT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were awful! The internet didn't work half of the time I was there. The cable didn't work at all.. called the front desk a few times they kept telling me that they were working on it. No blankets on the beds just bed sheets. I asked for two blankets for me and my kids never arrived. I paid for the hotel through Booking.com when checked-in they told me that they never heard such of thing so I ended up paying twice because I was late to a meeting and didn't want to spend an entire day dealing with then. Now I'm contacting booking for a refund.

    The Hotel is located right in the colonial are; that's the only good thing about it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.0
    if those things would have not occurred maybe the stay would have been better
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room was not satisfactory. The bathroom had to hair from the previous visitors and the towels were dingy and with stains. In the second room that we rented for our guest, they had to be moved to a different room because of the shower and anytime they had to enter into the new room they needed someone to accompany them so that they can have access into the room. The access should have been better.

    The people who took care of us at the front desk and took bell person did a great job.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.7
    The breakfast location on terrace is good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Approach road to the hotel is under repair and you need to walk with luggage or request the workers to give way. Hotel appointed taxi service charges the customers more than the normal rates. the room given to me does not have single window and it is totally locked with the other rooms, so better check your room before accepting the room or ask for a change.

    The breakfast location on terrace is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.8
    the hotel is situated in a very convenient place.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not all the rooms have windows. It was not written in the hotel description and I was surprised to end up in a very dark place with no window. The hotel need renovation.

    the hotel is situated in a very convenient place. The breakfast is on the top of the building, very nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.3
    Good location but average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the bathroom, wifi connection wasn't very strong in the bedroom

    Breakfast is very basic. Rooms are not that comfortable, bathroom is very small. Location is perfect if you're not too fussed about comfort. Reception staff were so kind and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.8
    Nice average hotel - great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some personnel was not very nice, they did not want to change the room, even they had availabilities... The window is very old - and too small, the room was also very small.. also the air conditioning without mini split was making a terrible sound - not possible to sleep. The bathroom was leaking terribly, all the floor was wet after taking a shower.. The floor is very old, still not renovated, furniture as well very old, also the light was very bad in the room. Suggestion - stay in the room with the balcony where day light reaches.

    The breakfast was nice - they had milk, cereal, bread, cheese, ham, pancakes.. So it was better than with other hotel experiences in Dominican Republic. The location is just amazing - walking distance to the whole Colonial area. Very safe and with a lot of restaurant, museums, places to see. The terrase is fabulous - very nice to have breakfast there in the morning. Bathroom is renovated (but also have negative aspect as it is mentioned above)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.8
    A good hotel for a very reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smog is a bit much in the city.The hotel was fine with underground parking a rooftop terrace with free breakfast and a very nice lobby. With good security.

    For the price everything was fine. The only drawback was that the room had no window but therefore it was quiet. Also this hotel is in a great location in the old part of town with much to see on foot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful place, great service, safe location. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the cable that was provided because every channel was in spanish with no english substitles. So I was unable to watch television.

    I love the service, the people, the hotel.I get my money's worth in the hotel. I am looking foward to stay there in another 6 months.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    I enjoy the atmosphere of the Zona Colonial.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They could stand to install European style shower heads and work on the plumbing. The Zona Colonial is a continued work in progress and I hope to see it grow for the people of this island.

    I enjoy the atmosphere of the Zona Colonial. The hotel sits in the middle of this.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Cozy romantic and so clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff kind and helpful. We received a warm welcome. At the room It was a beautiful ducks made with towels very creative with flowers. Make me feel romantic and welcome for our honeymoon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    5.0
    Booked on line they did not give me what I booked for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked for 2 queen beds on line bc I have 2 children 4 and 6 years old. I arrived and they brought me to a room with one bed. I told them this is not possible to sleep 4 in a queen bed. The only option they gave me was we could have axis to the room next to it...but not connected ...a whole other room room next to it. Problem being I can't leave kids alone and the whole point was to have a family vacation. We needed up having my husbsnd sleep in the other room and I slept with the kids. I did not sleep good bc of 2 kids all over the place and my husband was even in another room. No, not happy not what i wanted, not what i reserved. Never again staying here 😂

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    6.7
    Good location, nice staff. Be aware many rooms have no window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many rooms don't have a window, the lights in the room are bad, the breakfast is poor. It doesn't carry the standard regarding the price charged.

    The staff is very nice and friendly, the location is very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    3.8
    Watch out! Many rooms have no windows and they don't come with fridges!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no windows! They lied to me multiple times with the excuse that rooms with 2 beds do not have windows so they're quiet. This is not true as I found other rooms the next morning with windows. From looking at floor plans, most / many of the rooms do not have windows since they've blocked the central light well. I believe they false advertised as if a room doesn't have a window, this should be stated. Also, the upstairs bar in the photo is just a veranda with a kitchen added on. They're not well geared up for breakfast and didn't even want to make a cheese omelette. All omelettes had to be plain! The upstairs bar / restaurant veranda is only open for breakfast and a short time in the evening. I went there at 9.55 pm and it was closed. When I went there for breakfast, there was no obvious bar. So I think it's closed most of the time. Likewise, there are other hotels the same price with parking, windows and balconies. There was also no fridge in the room. Hotels which I stayed in which were 50% cheaper had better TV and provided a fridge. A fridge is very important if you have children and bottled water in a 35 C heat. The table shelf, which was the only table was also very week and had no support. We put a day pack on it and it fell apart. It had 3 puny screws to screw it into the side of the chesterdrawers used to rest the TV on. There was no actual support and it just came away - obviously not the 1st time.

    It had an OK shower, but you'd expect that for 103 USD

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    5.4
    Not impressed but the place has a lot of potential.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was dirty, mold in the shower curtains, the breakfast was pretty bad. The manager has to be more hands on.

    Good location, friendly staff, the building is beautiful colonial architecture, they are doing a good job remodeling.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    6.3
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No windows in the room, smell of weed in the corridors, people shouting at night, fire alarm rang at 4 am and kept going for 10 minutes, spent 80€ for a night, the breakfast was poor

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.9
    Good value for short (2 day) stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was ok the first day. By the 4th day the No variation was poor. BUtter or margarine was below par. Room was noisy

    AC worked great. Bed was comfortable but sheets kept coming untucked, need to be larger. Good elevator

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.8
    Great Location, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to get a room with an outwardly facing window/balcony. The rooms that have windows to the courtyard are very dark. My room key stopped working and they were not able to fix it, so I had to have a staff member open my door for me. It got annoying waiting for someone to be free to let me into the room each time. Breakfast is under staffed so they run out of certain foods until the man is free to refill it, which often took a while.

    The location is great. Walking distance to everything in the Zona Colonial. Very clean and nice aesthetic. Breakfast is included and pretty decent. The staff was courteous and gave good reccomindations of where to eat on the cheap.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Historic Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff could have been a little more personable and welcoming. They weren't horrible by any means, just not "over the top" customer service.

    I really loved the location and the rooms were pleasant. The staff working Breakfast was extremely nice as well as the ladies cleaning the rooms daily!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    8.8
    Roof top setting was a bonus with a view of the Colonial...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Roof top setting was a bonus with a view of the Colonial Zone. Short walk to the Sunday night music in the ruins or the Plaza España for dinner at one of many excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    7.5
    Roof terrace and locaion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise level in rooms facing street - heavy traffic upto 4.00 in the morning. Everyone hoots and plays loud music . On our return we asked for a room at the back Calle Archibispo Merino is one of the main narrow traffic routes in the Zona Colonial. do NOT use reception for taxi bookings much cheaper opposite from the Galeria Artisanal

    Roof terrace and locaion

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very uncomfortable and room is very noise come from street (maybe weekend). Breakfast is not good. It will be good to have a mini refrigerator at room.

    Location. As a genius booking client they allow us a early check in.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.5
    Everything was good, Miguel on lobby really nice guy, and very pleasant and help full, try to work things out for me, I.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was kind of dusty the shower look kind of old and need some work , plus after 12 midnight there's not hot water ( 3days no luck with that after midnight) and also the air conditioniner really needs to be fixed bad noise, I didn't mind honestly because I spend most of the night awake.

    The beds are really comfortable, not noise at all something that I really like bout it

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    7.9
    Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first night I was in an older room so I asked to changed to a newer room which was much more comfortable.

    Staff is nice, breakfast is good, and the location is perfect.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    4.6
    The location and the tarrace;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is overrated for what you pay, Is not really clean; a lot of noises during night time and day time, coming from outside and inside of the hotel, especially if you get a room near the reception and facing the patio of the hotel, during night time you even get lights in your room coming from the interior of the hotel. Old facilities.

    The location and the tarrace; is located in the Colonial Area, in a good spot if you want to stay in Barrio Colonial.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    5.8
    Budget hotel in heart of zona colonial
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot of renovation going on during our stay a little noisy

    Breakfast was pretty good stayed there a couple nights before off to punta Cana. Payed a little more on last night of Trip

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Balcony (1 adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff... Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Great location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms could be a little bigger.

    The staff was very friendly and always willing to help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Good breadfast, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breadfast, clean room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    Came for business, ended up turisting due to location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast needs some help

    parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    It was adequate well located and not expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower didn’t drain, air conditioning didn’t work, pillows were old and flat, faucet in bathroom didn’t have water.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    evry things
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room with Balcony (1 adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    evry things

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.3
    Great getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not as big as they look online

    Close to everything all the restaurants and bars shopping and historical sites

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    The location it’s safe to walk around anytime.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It will be nice to have a small fridge.

    The location it’s safe to walk around anytime.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    The beds were comfortable and the place was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait to get running water in the bathroom.

    The beds were comfortable and the place was quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.9
    Cozy inner city hotel for romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV could be bigger

    Breakfast was amazing! Toasted bread with butter, eggs with cheese and ham were incredible too!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    renovated big old hotel in Colonial original style
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cooler for our water bottles and food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    The hotel is in a good location and we have stayed here...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast options used to be better

    The hotel is in a good location and we have stayed here several times and had a good experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    It was centric to the Zona Colonial
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was centric to the Zona Colonial

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    My first visit to the Dominican Republic far exceeded expectations, but it was very hot and humid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little squeaky.

    The breakfasts were awesome, as was the rooftop breakfast area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.8
    Tiny non opening piece of glass for a window, bed sank in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny non opening piece of glass for a window, bed sank in the middle, horrible pillows and the whole building acts as an echo chamber all night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in the old city center with a beautiful roof terrasse
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses have been dirty

    The roof Terrasse The view to the monument

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: