Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Plaza Real Resort 3 stars

Avenida Boulevard, Juan Dolio, Dominican Republic

#26 of 32 hotels in Juan Dolio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 242 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Great family time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the employees where great like Miguel and Claritza. They treat you like family,always making sure that you feel good.

    The breakfast menu including with you reservations have to improve. They should have more variety to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    The comfort at room, the kitchenette had everything I need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast menu is too short. When I was there, they only had 2 meals.

    The comfort at room, the kitchenette had everything I need. The beach is basically at 5 minutes of the resort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.1
    Worthwhile if you want access to a very nice beach for a decent price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the fault of the hotel, but the place is surrounded by behemoth buildings with no view of anything but other behemoth buildings.

    Nice grounds, convenient bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    3.8
    At least dogs were allowed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pictures were not as they seem. Place was dirty and run down. They gave us the worst room since it was facing towards the street and the loud music of the bars did not let us sleep. It was probably the worst building in the hotel as well. The showers were disgusting and the towels were falling apart. I would probably consider going back to this hotel if I specifically ask to be given one of the rooms located in the back part of the hotel. The buildings looked a lot nicer and it was all better well taken cared of.

    The location was close to perfect. Breakfast was included but the amount of drinks were limited (you could only have a coffee or a juice -_-)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    2.5
    Horrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad WiFi. There’s some fishy stuff going on this so called resort. Just be careful if you’re a female. No Uber or taxis go here. So you’re basically stuck at this hotel. Don’t take any cabs from the hotel front desk they aren’t safe. Just call a cab company directly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    6.7
    Even though lodging is rudimentary, the place is ideal for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lodging is very rudimentary, but the quality/price ratio is high.

    Even though lodging is rudimentary, the place is ideal for kids because of pool and easy access to the beach. It is not the first time we stayed here, and the kids just loved it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    Kid - friendly place with easy access to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time we stayed close to the Havana lounge and an outside restaurant. I would not recommend this. There are quieter options within Plaza Real.

    This is a very nice family place that provides valu for money. It is already our 2nd time there. The kids love it; for adults it can become too noisy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    2.9
    A complete disappointment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pictures regarding the hotel is not what is shown on booking.com. So I felt completely deceived. As we were looking for the hotel as pictured we kept driving quite a while before finding it. After we couldn't find it we had to ask people and they told us the entrance. I was shocked. I was in no need to cancel so we took it. No towels, no soap, the kitchen doesn't carry any utensils. The bathroom was worst off all, never felt so bad in a toilet. Our room was above a nightclub, so we had to deal with the banging of the music all night long. As I'm very organized I prepare myself for any type of accommodation but as I was deceived by the pics I thought I was prepared. We made it through for one night. I will never go back or recommend this place. The pool was so dirty I could't believe there were some people swimming in it. The internet is very poor and you have to go in the lobby area sitting there with many others to have some internet. A total disappointment.

    The only thing I liked about the hotel is the garden.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    2.9
    Crap
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility was horrible. The swimming pool water was green. The place was full of mosquitoes due to the dirty pool water. Place look runned down, beat up. There was no wifi. It was horrible!!!

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.9
    Location it's perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glad I got one with balcony otherwise the back part side it's horrible and they do not give you a brazalete as a guess and after certain time we don't have acces to the beach .

    Glad I got one with balcony otherwise the back part side it's horrible and they do not give you a brazalete as a guess and after certain time we don't have acces to the beach .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.1
    It was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beach was horrible. Nothing to do with the property, but it was a private kind of beach, very clean and quiet but ultimately ruined by the corporate hotels.

    The property was great, very clean and spacious, a lot of stuff was missing specially in the kitchenette.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.2
    A short stay but everything I wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was very spacey. Bartender (Clarissa) was very friendly. Rudi (security) was very attentive and drove me to and from the golf course which was very close.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    6.3
    UT was good but I need to be excellent..in cleanliness and beautification..Price is good..reasonable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the cleanliness of the place.well that could be normal because there is a construcrion of rooms goin on.more entertainment inside the hotel.

    The plaza Real is good.they have that time a parking place for our car..good thing they are so nice and kind to animals,they let me in with my dog.thats was nice od the staff.I Like this place also because they have good/hot water facilities..the water is 24/7 service.I suggest that they improve the place.right after the construction of some rooms or restaurants.make it more beautiful and attracting tourist and people..thats all.but the price is just so good.Good luck to all of you there in Plaza Real Hotel.thank you.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    4.2
    The garden and Pool had been cleaned up since my last visit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The garden and Pool had been cleaned up since my last visit 3 weeks ago, the apartments are very let down, not clean at all, every thing is old, moldy and no comfort. The air conditioning didn t work and their are no cooking tools in the kitchen. As I only stayed a night before leaving for the airport I didn t mind that much, but I for sure wouldn t recomend the place for longer stays if you like a clean and friendly envirement.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.0
    The rooms need updating and care.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need updating and care. Very uncomfortable beds. Bathrooms need desperate attention.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    Poor breakfast (not in time ) .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast (not in time ) . Very bad internet .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    Beaches
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Beaches

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    My stay was ok the staf was friendly the cafe food was good, they hotel need repair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The structure need repair

    The cafe food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.6
    The layout of diferente of the plase
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food

    The layout of diferente of the plase

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    2.5
    Worst so called resort. It wasn't worth the price or hassle getting there. There were no Uber's
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towels unclean rooms bad service cold breakfast wifi wasn't working in the room only worked in the garden.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    4.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Cleaninless and poor comfort beds. Outdated furniture.

    Friendly staff. Cheap prices.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed

    I love this resort.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.1
    The location is very appropriate because in less than 100...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The look of the Facilities and the annoying music at the pool.

    The location is very appropriate because in less than 100 meter you have the beach.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    3.3
    Worset place ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was not clean, toilet leak everywhere

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    8.8
    Very good for the price and people were nice
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to evrything

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.8
    better a/c
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    better a/c

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need updating

    I love the location of this place

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    5.8
    Pool was nice, grounds were pretty with landscaping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was disappointing, even had tape on ceiling, bed was almost on the floor, tv old, reception was poor, wifi was poor, had kitchen but old and not furnished. We almost left. Also no one spoke English, at the hotel. Even with Google translate, they didn't seem to understand our questions.

    Pool was nice, grounds were pretty with landscaping

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    5.0
    The space at the apartments, the yard, the area and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    As soon as we walked into our room we encounter an invation of mosquitoes and front desk told me to use their insecticide, after I used it then big cockroaches started coming out in the kitchen area. This was the most disgusting thing that ever happened to me at a resort. I was very upset and asked them to change me to another room, they did it but the other one was also not well maintained and we saw 2 smaller cockroaches (one in the bathroom another one in the kitchen). Can't believe it. And on top of everything, the mattresses and pillows was super uncomfortable. A nightmare! This place have an amazing location, great space but the property maintenance is the worst thing I ever saw in my life. My message to the onwer is that if he attack the insects plague, do a deep cleaning in the rooms, change the mattresses & the pillows, and invest more money upkeeping the interior of the rooms... You guys can be charging a lot more per night. You guys need to put the maintenance of this place as the number one priority. This is a Hospitality business and this Resort is missing the most important things in hospitality, which are: cleanliness, comfort and customer service. Guys this place is a jewel that need a lot of work to shine and if you guys don't do the work I don't see your business with a bright future. Take advantage of all the positive stuff you guys have and fix all the bads. This can become an amazing place but is in your hands guys.

    The space at the apartments, the yard, the area and the location.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    Overall I was happy, just as an American I am spoiled rotten...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi not available in room to avoid getting attacked by insects

    Overall I was happy, just as an American I am spoiled rotten with WiFi. So having to go to the lobby was my only issue. Considering mosquitoes were destroying my legs.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    3.8
    Good location, but public beach access from the hotel closes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The apartment was neglected (some cockroach around), and the air conditioning stopped working in the middle of the night so nobody there to fix it or complain. Next morning the water simply ran out. WiFi only close to the lobby.

    Good location, but public beach access from the hotel closes at 7pm, and there were no warning about it.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    3.8
    Just the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just the location.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    4.2
    It a cheap hotel however you pay what you get for
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Everything. I'm happy that the hotel didn't give us a hard time giving are money back

    It a cheap hotel however you pay what you get for

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    5.8
    Area is good
    • Solo traveller

    Service there are better places

    Area is good

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    5.0
    staff , an comfort
    • Couple

    air conditioning didnt work, tv , most of the things out dated

    staff , an comfort

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    6.3
    Room was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I got food poisoning, salmonella from a hamburger that was cooked there

    Room was nice

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    6.3
    The area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Ac never Work

    The area

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    5.0
    cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    poor condition, power outages, wifi only in lobby

    cheap

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    2.9
    Nothing to day
    • Couple

    Bad experience I don't like at all

    Nothing to day

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.8
    staff, cleanliness
    • Group

    Not enough parking, wifi only really available in reception area

    staff, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    7.5
    Everything was ok for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beggars...,

    Everything was ok for the money. The locals will beg you to death but if you're firm in saying "no" you will be ok

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    9.6
    Excellent the price, the food very good
    • Solo traveller

    The smell at the shower mal olor

    Excellent the price, the food very good

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    4.6
    Close to the beach and it was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It needs to be renovated. the beds were too hard.

    Close to the beach and it was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothin work in that place

    Please don't send people to that garbage box. I am very disappointed

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    5.0
    pool, resort location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restroom, bed

    pool, resort location

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    7.9
    Love the Service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom needs a complete makeover.. It has broken shower and broken facuets..

    Love the Service! Great Staff! Very nice location..

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Plaza Real Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: